Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby Chimera » February 11th, 2022, 8:08 pm

He trusts in mark of the beast and men named robindranath
Last edited by Chimera on February 11th, 2022, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » February 11th, 2022, 8:13 pm

Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Stop this notion of vaccines....I haven't had a vaccine since the age of 5 never experienced any of these so called illnesses which are no longer around. Never had a covid vaccine and never had covid . To each his own

No.

You are uninformed.

Worldwide data gathering presents reality as completely opposite to your statement.

hover11 wrote:I telling you my PERSONAL EXPERIENCE and you telling me I wrong..... HOW?

hover11 wrote:Stop this notion of vaccines
never experienced any of these so called illnesses which
are no longer around.

Never had a covid vaccine and never had covid

You commented on MMR vaccines (for measles, mumps and rubella).

Those three viruses are definitely "still around."

You are uninformed.
Ok Adnj close to 30 years without the virus I will be fine without them....natural immunity doesn't exist anymore? Yall take a vaccine for EVERYTHING ok good luck with that
Wait, you don't believe in ANY vaccines now hover?
Personally, I don't have a problem with traditional vaccines. Just my personal experience, I haven't had one from since the age of 5 I'm doing fine now. All is well. This forcing of vaccines on ppl must stop.
You're doing fine now because not only did you get the required vaccines at 5, but because all the other people around got vaccinated for various other diseases.

I thought it was me alone who realised that. Apparently this wasn’t general knowledge or these companies have been scamming us since then
The medical community refers to people that benefit from, but refuse to participate in, widespread community vaccination, vaccine free-riders or vaccine free-loaders.

Making vaccine refusal less of a free ride

Like other public goods, such as lighthouses, street lights and national defense, herd immunity is vulnerable to the “free rider” problem. We discuss four conventional responses to the free rider problem (participation mandates, exclusion, incentives, and social norms). ...

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4162060/

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » February 11th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Heart-disease risk soars after COVID — even with a mild case

Even a mild case of COVID-19 can increase a person’s risk of cardiovascular problems for at least a year after diagnosis, a new study shows. Researchers found that rates of many conditions, such as heart failure and stroke, were substantially higher in people who had recovered from COVID-19 than in similar people who hadn’t had the disease.

What’s more, the risk was elevated even for those who were under 65 years of age and lacked risk factors, such as obesity or diabetes.

“It doesn’t matter if you are young or old, it doesn’t matter if you smoked, or you didn’t,” says study co-author Ziyad Al-Aly at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, and the chief of research and development for the Veterans Affairs (VA) St. Louis Health Care System. “The risk was there.”

Al-Aly and his colleagues based their research on an extensive health-record database curated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. The researchers compared more than 150,000 veterans who survived for at least 30 days after contracting COVID-19 with two groups of uninfected people: a group of more than five million people who used the VA medical system during the pandemic, and a similarly sized group that used the system in 2017, before SARS-CoV-2 was circulating.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586- ... 1644526939

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » February 11th, 2022, 9:54 pm

adnj wrote:Heart-disease risk soars after COVID — even with a mild case

Even a mild case of COVID-19 can increase a person’s risk of cardiovascular problems for at least a year after diagnosis, a new study shows. Researchers found that rates of many conditions, such as heart failure and stroke, were substantially higher in people who had recovered from COVID-19 than in similar people who hadn’t had the disease.

What’s more, the risk was elevated even for those who were under 65 years of age and lacked risk factors, such as obesity or diabetes.

“It doesn’t matter if you are young or old, it doesn’t matter if you smoked, or you didn’t,” says study co-author Ziyad Al-Aly at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, and the chief of research and development for the Veterans Affairs (VA) St. Louis Health Care System. “The risk was there.”

Al-Aly and his colleagues based their research on an extensive health-record database curated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. The researchers compared more than 150,000 veterans who survived for at least 30 days after contracting COVID-19 with two groups of uninfected people: a group of more than five million people who used the VA medical system during the pandemic, and a similarly sized group that used the system in 2017, before SARS-CoV-2 was circulating.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586- ... 1644526939

Ardehali cautions that the study’s observational nature comes with some limitations. For example, people in the contemporary control group weren’t tested for COVID-19, so it’s possible that some of them actually had mild infections. And because the authors considered only VA patients — a group that’s predominantly white and male — their results might not translate to all populations.

Terrible study ... The only point you managed to make here is that you love to post data from flawed studies.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 11th, 2022, 9:57 pm

st7 wrote:the virus is sentient

gasp

Postby st7 » February 12th, 2022, 12:00 am

in other words, he's a massive sufferer

Postby hover11 » February 12th, 2022, 1:33 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:He trusts in mark of the beast and men named robindranath
Yawn you getting rel STALE now like seriously, come with something new na, same shite right through

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2022, 8:07 am

Covid-19 finds it harder to spread at certain temperatures, US study finds

Covid-19 finds it harder to spread when temperatures are between 17°C and 24°C, a study by researchers in the US has found.

The findings offer a more complex picture than some previous studies, which indicated that lower temperatures were likely to result in more transmission.

“There was a lot of speculation back in 2020 that suggested that Sars-CoV-2, the virus that causes the outbreaks, would go away during summers. And we were not sure that was going to be the case,” said Antarpreet Jutla, associate professor at the University of Florida and the senior author of the study.

“We found out there were times when this viral activity decreases. This coincided with when we had very mellow temperatures — very pleasant climatic conditions.”

We found out there were times when this viral activity decreases. This coincided with when we had very mellow temperatures

When the ambient temperature — the temperature of a person’s surroundings — is in the comfortable range of 17°C to 24°C, people spend more time outdoors.

Above and below this temperature range, people are more likely to be indoors, which has a two-fold effect on virus transmission, the study showed.

Indoors, people tend to be around others, which promotes the transmission of the virus, and they are more likely to breathe air in a “mechanically controlled environment” because of devices like air conditioners.

With these mechanical systems, the air is often drier and as a result is more likely to contain virus particles, the researchers said.

https://www.thenationalnews.com/uae/hea ... udy-finds/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 12th, 2022, 1:25 pm

adnj wrote:Covid-19 finds it harder to spread at certain temperatures, US study finds

Covid-19 finds it harder to spread when temperatures are between 17°C and 24°C, a study by researchers in the US has found.

The findings offer a more complex picture than some previous studies, which indicated that lower temperatures were likely to result in more transmission.

“There was a lot of speculation back in 2020 that suggested that Sars-CoV-2, the virus that causes the outbreaks, would go away during summers. And we were not sure that was going to be the case,” said Antarpreet Jutla, associate professor at the University of Florida and the senior author of the study.

“We found out there were times when this viral activity decreases. This coincided with when we had very mellow temperatures — very pleasant climatic conditions.”

We found out there were times when this viral activity decreases. This coincided with when we had very mellow temperatures

When the ambient temperature — the temperature of a person’s surroundings — is in the comfortable range of 17°C to 24°C, people spend more time outdoors.

Above and below this temperature range, people are more likely to be indoors, which has a two-fold effect on virus transmission, the study showed.

Indoors, people tend to be around others, which promotes the transmission of the virus, and they are more likely to breathe air in a “mechanically controlled environment” because of devices like air conditioners.

With these mechanical systems, the air is often drier and as a result is more likely to contain virus particles, the researchers said.

So it's not that the virus is affected by the lower or higher temperatures - but rather human behavior changes at these temperatures that reduce or favour transmission

Postby hover11 » February 12th, 2022, 2:01 pm

In reversal, FDA puts brakes on COVID shots for kids under 5

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/in-reversal-fda- ... s-under-5/

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2022, 3:27 pm

adnj wrote:Covid-19 finds it harder to spread at certain temperatures, US study finds

So it's not that the virus is affected by the lower or higher temperatures - but rather human behavior changes at these temperatures that reduce or favour transmission

It's still both and it's complicated. At room temperature, many viruses (including SARS-CoV) survive longer in drier air or air that is very humid. For a tropical environment, the cooler, drier air of an air conditioned space would be more conducive to transmission. That same space may also see more persons in an area, less ventilation and be a better blade for transmission still.

This is not necessarily new information.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2863430

[img]https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2863430/figure/f1/?report=objectonly[/img]

[img]https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2863430/figure/f2/?report=objectonly[/img]

Postby paid_influencer » February 12th, 2022, 3:40 pm

hover11 wrote:In reversal, FDA puts brakes on COVID shots for kids under 5

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/in-reversal-fda- ... s-under-5/

poor kids

Postby paid_influencer » February 12th, 2022, 3:42 pm

plenty police on harris promenade. idk what they think was happening. we pushback, pecefully

Postby hover11 » February 12th, 2022, 4:22 pm

SOON, YOU MAY NEED TO GET A FOURTH SHOT

Time to get that next booster
FB_IMG_1644697307343.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » February 12th, 2022, 4:26 pm

hover11 wrote:SOON, YOU MAY NEED TO GET A FOURTH SHOT

Time to get that next boosterFB_IMG_1644697307343.jpg

2 doses alone is lol

1 dose 'one and done' is more lol

fellas, boost allyuh self and keep up-to-date on your covid vaccine
fark_jNO5iSRMcnuiYS8DB0fxPldYNzQ.png

Postby bluefete » February 12th, 2022, 4:53 pm

COVID Booster Loses Potency After 4 Months, Fauci Says 'There May Be the Need' for Fourth Dose

WTAF? Dem really mad. I will take one booster MAX. I done after that.

Live with the virus is what we have to get to.

I wonder which Big Pharma Fauci have shares in?

Postby st7 » February 12th, 2022, 11:17 pm

why these things concerning you?

Postby MaxPower » February 13th, 2022, 12:04 am

bluefete wrote:

COVID Booster Loses Potency After 4 Months, Fauci Says 'There May Be the Need' for Fourth Dose

WTAF? Dem really mad. I will take one booster MAX. I done after that.

Live with the virus is what we have to get to.

I wonder which Big Pharma Fauci have shares in?

blues, i agree.

I am following the protocols strictly and i have taken the vaccine AND the booster.

I am NOT taking no other shots.

I have done my part and i will continue to follow the protocols.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2022, 1:20 am

If you have cancer and you take chemo and then some months later the doctors test you again and realise you need more chemo - do you say nah doc the cancer needs to understand that I've done my part, do you have shares in the chemo company?

You only take meds or vitamins once?

Postby matr1x » February 13th, 2022, 4:24 am

Duane, the difference is, the covid vaccine isn't terribly effective.

But for the manufacturers...it's a gold mine.

They are not hopping off that train anytime soon.

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2022, 6:44 am

matr1x wrote:Duane, the difference is, the covid vaccine isn't terribly effective.

Yours is just another argument against widespread vaccine in a string of many deficient arguments stretching back two years.

Last edited by adnj on February 13th, 2022, 6:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2022, 6:45 am

Ivermectin papers slapped with expressions of concern

A journal has issued expressions of concern for a pair of 2021 meta-analyses purporting to find that ivermectin is an effective treatment for Covid-19 after data sleuths raised questions about some of the research in the studies. 

As we reported last fall, one of the two papers – “Ivermectin for Prevention and Treatment of COVID-19 Infection: A Systematic Review, Meta-analysis, and Trial Sequential Analysis to Inform Clinical Guidelines” – began to wobble when data central to its conclusion were retracted from the journal Viruses. That article has been cited 37 times, according to Clarivate Analytics’ Web of Science, making it a highly-cited, “hot” paper. 

The other article was titled “Review of the Emerging Evidence Demonstrating the Efficacy of Ivermectin in the Prophylaxis and Treatment of COVID-19” and was written by a group led by Pierre Kory. Kory is a controversial Wisconsin physician whose ideas about how to treat the infection, and particularly ivermectin, have made him a darling of ivermectin proponents like Joe Rogan.

Kory’s group lost a different Covid-19 paper last November over problems with the data, and a paper similar to the one now subject to an expression of concern was removed from a Frontiers journal last year.  

https://retractionwatch.com/2022/02/11/ ... f-concern/

Postby hover11 » February 13th, 2022, 6:49 am

st7 wrote:

why these things concerning you?
Aye hush yuh mouth and go and take yuh booster na sheep... be a good little sheep :S

Postby hover11 » February 13th, 2022, 6:51 am

matr1x wrote:Duane, the difference is, the covid vaccine isn't terribly effective.

They will never give up that gravy train...pharmaceutical industry is booming more than it has in years

Postby matr1x » February 13th, 2022, 7:20 am

hover11 wrote:

They will never give up that gravy train...pharmaceutical industry is booming more than it has in years

From where we been gathering data, those vaccines are doing nothing. The dip might just be seasonal, or poor data

Postby matr1x » February 13th, 2022, 7:21 am

adnj wrote:

Yours is just another argument against widespread vaccine in a string of many deficient arguments stretching back two years.

Covid might kill you. Injecting poison will kill you.

See the difference?

Postby hover11 » February 13th, 2022, 7:24 am

When people like myself were trying to warn people we were called all sorts of anti-science, anti-vaxxers conspiracy theorists who love to spread propaganda.

Wait until a whole set of people start to feel the REAL effects of the clot shot lab juice death jab vaccine in the future.

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2022, 7:35 am

Pharmaceutical industry would make more money if they didn't have vaccines though.

Uses alot more medicine to care for a sick covid patient than to prevent them from getting sick.

It's not bayrum and coconut water and wonder of the world they using to treat sick people.

Its medicine made by the same pharmaceutical companies.

Postby Kenjo » February 13th, 2022, 7:42 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pharmaceutical industry would make more money if they didn't have vaccines though.

Uses alot more medicine to care for a sick covid patient than to prevent them from getting sick.

It's not bayrum and coconut water and wonder of the world they using to treat sick people.

Its medicine made by the same pharmaceutical companies.

The Medicines might be derived from wonder of the world leaf but it’s the pharmaceutical companies to figure out how many leaves to get the exact concentration . Bush medicine is bad but the persons recommending it usually can’t reproduce the concentration or not even know the concentration required

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2022, 7:46 am

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:

Covid might kill you. Injecting poison will kill you.

See the difference?

Poisons kill.

I haven't seen any evidence that shows that there are any WHO-approved COVID vaccines that are poisonous.

No one has.