3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

guru

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby guru » July 21st, 2011, 3:55 pm

lol. It looks like the bird keeps asking for bacon. i real laffing.

Bacon wrote:Tried my hand with some manual focus in manual mode for the first time yesterday...

This was the outcome...

Criticisms welcomed :)

I don't normally post multiple shots of the same subject but they kinda different (ish)

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2011, 11:17 am

^local

now start to play around with effects on picasa...

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 22nd, 2011, 3:09 pm

^^.....in luv!!...

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 22nd, 2011, 3:22 pm

the blue in the projector makin it look alive yes.. nice...

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2011, 10:30 pm

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 27th, 2011, 4:23 pm

I'm thinking about getting another flash as a slave. I saw on B&H had some cheaper flashes for under $100us...has anyone every used these or want to recommend something.

I currently have a canon speedlite ex....

Postby shogun » July 27th, 2011, 4:46 pm

Great shots R. Mutt

not bad, if you're a beginner there Anoojra.

Postby Stephon. » July 27th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Biggest noob question in the world here, how do you guys get the person in the pic to look so clean, yet the background look so blurry :?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Stephon. wrote:Biggest noob question in the world here, how do you guys get the person in the pic to look so clean, yet the background look so blurry :?

Adjust you apature to be wide open (eg f/3). The link below explains it in more detail, what camera you use? I maybe able to give you a walk-through on doing it.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Phot ... ounds.aspx

ISO: 100
Exposure: 1/25 sec
Aperture: 5.6
Focal Length: 47mm

ISO: 100
Exposure: 1/160 sec
Aperture: 9.0
Focal Length: 271mm

Teasers from Island Riders Family day

Links to FB & Picasa albums, like my pics on fb if you cheak them out :)

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 1055006392

https://picasaweb.google.com/nitrus2nv/ ... a_jufjtKQ#

Postby Stephon. » July 27th, 2011, 10:17 pm

lolwide open? It's not one of those expensive cameras it's a point and shoot. :lol: Fujifilm FinePix S2700 12.2MP - I'm guessing now that the effect it only possible with professional cameras? :?

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » July 27th, 2011, 10:18 pm

noob thing...taken with a blackberry, edited
firephoto.jpg
this one wasnt edited tho
IMG00193-20110401-934.jpg
Last edited by kar_freak on July 27th, 2011, 10:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Stephon. » July 27th, 2011, 10:21 pm

kar_freak wrote:noob thing...taken with a blackberry, edited

Well, I know how to edit/blur the background with photoshop obviously :lol:
I was just playing around with my dad's camera and wondered if it could be done

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 27th, 2011, 10:35 pm

can be done with any camera once you have the right aperture and distance between you and your subject

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 27th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:lolwide open? It's not one of those expensive cameras it's a point and shoot. :lol: Fujifilm FinePix S2700 12.2MP - I'm guessing now that the effect it only possible with professional cameras? :?

nope.
more than possible with that camera.

easiest way is to try this.

since i'm assuming the camera is in auto,

zoom in to about 1/2 of your range and compose your image.
half press the shutter release to focus on the object that you want sharp.
most times this will keep the subject in focus and throw the background out.

works better if you use longer focal lengths on closer objects imo.

this is not the "best" way to do this, but i find that it is certainly the easiest.

*edit*
just took a quick snap to illustrate.

taken using the sx20is which is comparable to the fuji that you have. full optical zoom at a distance of about 2.5" (*edit* meant feet) in auto.
IMG_2108.JPG
Last edited by Firewall on July 27th, 2011, 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Stephon. » July 27th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Sooooo is there a setting/mode I should put it on?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 27th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:I'm thinking about getting another flash as a slave. I saw on B&H had some cheaper flashes for under $100us...has anyone every used these or want to recommend something.

if you plan to buy a 7D, it can control your speedlite ex remotely without needing another flash as a master.

Postby Stephon. » July 27th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Firewall wrote:
Stephon. wrote:lolwide open? It's not one of those expensive cameras it's a point and shoot. :lol: Fujifilm FinePix S2700 12.2MP - I'm guessing now that the effect it only possible with professional cameras? :?

nope.
more than possible with that camera.

easiest way is to try this.

since i'm assuming the camera is in auto,

zoom in to about 1/2 of your range and compose your image.
half press the shutter release to focus on the object that you want sharp.
most times this will keep the subject in focus and throw the background out.

works better if you use longer focal lengths on closer objects imo.

this is not the "best" way to do this, but i find that it is certainly the easiest.

*edit*
just took a quick snap to illustrate.

taken using the sx20is which is comparable to the fuji that you have. full optical zoom at a distance of about 2.5" in auto.
Now seeing this post, thanks I'll try it out

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2011, 4:54 am

there are online depth of field calculators and simulators
you can try this one, choose aperture mode and play with the aperture slider
and see the background change

http://camerasim.com/camera-simulator.html

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 28th, 2011, 4:56 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I'm thinking about getting another flash as a slave. I saw on B&H had some cheaper flashes for under $100us...has anyone every used these or want to recommend something.

if you plan to buy a 7D, it can control your speedlite ex remotely without needing another flash as a master.

yeh that's the plan actually....that's why i wanted to get another flash so i'd have two :D

Postby RBphoto » July 29th, 2011, 11:39 pm

I think I need to buy a macro lens.
DSC_8256FB.jpg
Any port in a storm

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 3rd, 2011, 7:01 am

got my new battery grip yesterday :D

Postby RBphoto » August 3rd, 2011, 8:11 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:got my new battery grip yesterday :D

Could use a lil more contrast and the WB is off...

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2011, 8:15 am

noisy too, must have been taken with a cellphone

Postby Razkal » August 3rd, 2011, 8:49 am

i'm pretty sure he was just displaying the new gear as opposed to featuring it in a photo though :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 3rd, 2011, 9:02 am

blackberry pic....canon 7d on the way :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 10:22 am

@aaron 2nr - congrats on the new grip! It'll make a world of difference in your photography, esp portraits.... plus it'll definitely help in keeping the camera a lot more steady.

I got a grip for my Nikon D200 after watching Joe Mcnally demonstrate how to keep your camera steady for hand-held low light shots.

Postby gastly369 » August 3rd, 2011, 10:43 am

took out these

^^ is about 2.5inch btw .. duno wth it is up to now

still ah toy business .. but just bought it to take pics of small projects i did etc

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 3rd, 2011, 10:54 am

lighthammer wrote:@aaron 2nr - congrats on the new grip! It'll make a world of difference in your photography, esp portraits.... plus it'll definitely help in keeping the camera a lot more steady.

I got a grip for my Nikon D200 after watching Joe Mcnally demonstrate how to keep your camera steady for hand-held low light shots.

Had a grip on my 40d thats why i made sure and got one for the 7d lol....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 11:40 am

^^ good good... proceed unto awesomeness...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 11:45 am

From our recent Off Road & Navigational rally event.....