"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Re: "Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Postby Chimera » April 22nd, 2024, 3:20 pm

Rowley don't want any more FUL issues in fact he wanna take back all that Gary gave out

Postby mero » April 22nd, 2024, 4:18 pm

WE WANT MARK HERNANDEZZZZZZ

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 4:50 pm

who would want to work and get instructions from heinz on a monday morning

who would want to come in a press conference to talk about reducing crime yet be told to not
lock down the hotspots of heinz voters

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 7:02 pm

pugboy wrote:who would want to work and get instructions from heinz on a monday morning

who would want to come in a press conference to talk about reducing crime yet be told to not

Fret not because in Trinidad and Tobago, neither the PM nor the MoNS can instruct and CoP to do anything.
The govt’s role to ensure that the CoP is outfitted and financed to carry out their role. To match the govt’s legislative policy with the TTPS execution.

The TTPS is independent and is overseen by the independent Police Service Commission.

The CoP can act within their role from locking down any neighbourhood to arresting a sitting minister as was the case with Marlene. No PM or MoNS can tell the CoP how much or who to grant FULs.

Postby alfa » April 22nd, 2024, 7:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:who would want to work and get instructions from heinz on a monday morning

Fret not because in Trinidad and Tobago, neither the PM nor the MoNS can instruct and CoP to do anything.
The govt’s role to ensure that the CoP is outfitted and financed to carry out their role. To match the govt’s legislative policy with the TTPS execution.

The TTPS is independent and is overseen by the independent Police Service Commission.

The CoP can act within their role from locking down any neighbourhood to arresting a sitting minister as was the case with Marlene. No PM or MoNS can tell the CoP how much or who to grant FULs.

Oh no not you/this again :?

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 7:22 pm

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Oh no not you/this again :?

Yes me, here everyday and upon request on public holidays.

Postby bluefete » April 22nd, 2024, 7:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The CoP can act within their role from locking down any neighbourhood to arresting a sitting minister as was the case with Marlene. No PM or MoNS can tell the CoP how much or who to grant FULs

Bwahahahahahahahahaaaa.

So yuh saying Gary dida lie on the PM? Yuh wukking real hard for that balisier money.

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 8:16 pm

like you didn’t watch the video i sent where the pm said he has a policy of containing the number of fuls issued

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 8:19 pm

bluefete wrote:So yuh saying Gary dida lie on the PM? Yuh wukking real hard for that balisier money.

Lie about what?

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 8:28 pm

Here is where the PM had to ask the CoP to give a Tobago man a gun dealer license because the Tobago Rifle Club complained to the PM that there is no gun dealers in Tobago.

GG himself said he was never pressured into doing it. Why? Because the PM cannot instruct the CoP to do anything. He can only ask and the CoP can say yes or no. Listen to GG yourself.
https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/gri ... 75d45.html

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 8:35 pm

And since some of allyuh don't want to accept facts from me because of my bias. Listen to PP natsec expert Garvin Heerah.

“The CoP is responsible for the TTPS, in totality. The minister is responsible for ensuring the TTPS is resourced, outfitted and funded with all the requirements, which includes manpower to do their job. He can’t tell them how to do their job, but he can question and evaluate if the job is being done to the people’s, his or the Government’s satisfaction. Both roles rely on each other for a common goal, a unified effort and a joint vision. This should be the restoration of safety and security for T&T.”
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/on-hind ... 2aab6d8c32

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 22nd, 2024, 8:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The PM could manipulate the choices for who gets to be COP though...yall prefer that gobar ent

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 8:58 pm

a sheep’s is a sheep’s unless is a blogger

Postby alfa » April 22nd, 2024, 8:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

The PM could manipulate the choices for who gets to be COP though...yall prefer that gobar ent

I believe this may have happened already, maybe not by the PM himself but definately involving political interference. Didn't Erla place nearly last on the merit list? I prefer to believe someone made a call rather than everyone in the independent selection panels being total idiots to choose her. All this talk about the Pm cannot instruct anyone to do anything, just remember someone at the top instructed someone to hire a dunce like Reshmi some years ago so don't say it can't happen but rather it's not supposed to happen

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 9:03 pm

allyuh actually debating if the pm does make a call
doh take that chain up

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 22nd, 2024, 9:05 pm

Just remember the entire bliss seepersad episode

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 9:12 pm

and everybody suddenly resign helter skelter like cockroach that get baygon

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just remember the entire bliss seepersad episode

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2024, 9:19 pm

ah fine i ain’t getting no rebuke about how rowlee say he does squeeze how many fuls get signed off
the silence is deafening
#sayitisntso

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2024, 9:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The PM could manipulate the choices for who gets to be COP though...yall prefer that gobar ent

The COP is chosen by the parliamentary majority controlled by the PM. It is PolSC who makes the list. If they change the list it on their volition. If Bliss Seepersad got information on one the candidates she could either act on it or not. But it is not the PM manipulating the choices.

pugboy wrote:a sheep’s is a sheep’s unless is a blogger
Who is a sheep and who is blogger?You constantly posting nonsense like the ‘PM should do a criminal sting operation’ or ‘the minister instructing the CoP.’ And all I am simply telling you is that the ppl you are talking about cannot legal perform what you claiming should or did perform.

Humble yourself and say “bless” nah.

alfa wrote:Didn't Erla place nearly last on the merit list? I prefer to believe someone made a call rather than everyone in the independent selection panels being total idiots to choose her. All this talk about the Pm cannot instruct anyone to do anything, just remember someone at the top instructed someone to hire a dunce like Reshmi some years ago so don't say it can't happen but rather it's not supposed to happen

Erla Christopher, love her or hate her, topped the merit list. https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... f.amp.html
Reshmi was put to the head of the SIA, that was a political appointment. Nothing like the CoP which is chosen from parliamentary majority which comes from a list of candidates made by the Police Service Commission.

You all can have more theories and conspiracies than the Covid19 thread. But dont vex with me if I just tell you what the law says. If I am wrong, show me. But some of you all reacting like I just told you Santa Claus is not real.

Postby The_Honourable » April 23rd, 2024, 1:29 am

ermm... we all know Rowley intercepted bliss seepersad to withdraw the merit list over the FUL allegations leading to a public uproar and embarrassment at president's house. Seepersad is in court with respect to that matter while the FUL scandal so far turned out to be a flop.

Erla who was chosen by rowley in the parliament scored low on the short list somehow came first on the merit list, which was compiled by a pro pnm police service commission, who was chosen by a pro pnm president, who was chosen by rowley.

Rowley himself who stated that Erla was the "highest grade candidate" turned out to be just as bad as pensioner jacob which confirms the belief to many that the pro pnm PSC more than likely fixed the merit list for Erla to be first. By appointing her, she's "beholden" to rowley, pnm looks good for approving the first female CoP, and avoids debating Gary altogether in parliament.

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 5:52 am

“what the laws says” and what happened is 2 diff ting

lewwe not try to diverge and ignore the facts
which happened, wrong is wrong

doh come and ask for vid of rowlee saying he was the one who pull back bliss from doing she wuk either
i ain’t have time today to look for that vid

Postby 16 cycles » April 23rd, 2024, 11:43 am

pugboy wrote:“what the laws says” and what happened is 2 diff ting

like extraditing someone without an extradition request

pugboy wrote:doh come and ask for vid ................
i ain’t have time today to look for that vid

May 18th 2023
She, however, failed to say whether she had given permission to police officers to go to Barbados to carry out the “extraction.”

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/top-cop ... mas-fiasco

14th April 2024
In an address to the Barbadian Parliament on May 9, 2023, Attorney General Dale Marshall, SC, said he recognised Barbados’ officers had “fallen short” of the law by acting without an extradition request. “I can confirm that no request was made for the extradition of Mr Thomas.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/04/14/mark-w ... s-debacle/

appreciate BiM for being open and honest about it

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2024, 12:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:ermm... we all know Rowley intercepted bliss seepersad to withdraw the merit list over the FUL allegations leading to a public uproar and embarrassment at president's house. Seepersad is in court with respect to that matter while the FUL scandal so far turned out to be a flop.

Erla who was chosen by rowley in the parliament scored low on the short list somehow came first on the merit list, which was compiled by a pro pnm police service commission, who was chosen by a pro pnm president, who was chosen by rowley.

Rowley himself who stated that Erla was the "highest grade candidate" turned out to be just as bad as pensioner jacob which confirms the belief to many that the pro pnm PSC more than likely fixed the merit list for Erla to be first. By appointing her, she's "beholden" to rowley, pnm looks good for approving the first female CoP, and avoids debating Gary altogether in parliament.

If the PM had a report on one of the candidates he had to act. One man said the PM should have done a sting, that is nonsense. As I said before, the PM cannot instruct the CoP, but he sure can pass on his report to the PolSC and their subsequent action is theirs. Nevertheless, 8 officers have been arrested so far in the FUL scandal you call a flop https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/8-cops- ... 3841e2066f

I don't know where you get info on how much Erla scored on the shortlist, but as I refuted, she topped the merit list. Paula Mae Weekes was appointed UNANIMOUSLY by the Electoral College. So to call her a PNM president is disingenuous. The process to appoint a CoP is constitutional meaning that it was one approved by a special majority. So to call those appointed by the constitutional process pro-PNM or pro-UNC is disingenuous as well. By that logic, nobody can be a CoP without political affiliation. GG was appointed CoP as a former UNC minister without the votes of the UNC Opposition. Was he a pro PNM CoP?

The Guardian independently assessed commissioners since 2004 and Erla topped several areas over Jacob. But both Erla and Jacob had better stats than Gary. memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=25113
I really don't care about UNC talking point speculations about the PolSC, so please don't repeat them as fact. And again Erla Christopher was appointed unanimously by the Lower House, both PNM and UNC were proud to appoint the first female CoP. So don't try to politicise the process now.

pugboy wrote:“what the laws says” and what happened is 2 diff ting

lewwe not try to diverge and ignore the facts
which happened, wrong is wrong

The problem is you keep saying things without facts.

"well rowlee done say he is the one who does do final approval of the ful"
"if rowlee had a couple brain cells
all he had to do was send somebody to a gun dealer and do a sting operation"
"who would want to come in a press conference to talk about reducing crime yet be told to not
lock down the hotspots of heinz voters"

You keep saying things the govt did or can do, which they have no power to do. And when nobody has responded to your claim that, "well rowlee done say he is the one who does do final approval of the ful" Gary Griffith has not said anything, the press hasn't recorded it, LATT, PSWA, Opposition, nobody. If any PM says they are involved in approving FULs it would be a scandal, but sadly only you heard him say that. And when I asked can you cite and quote him, you have to act like I want video evidence for everything. Unlike allyuh I don't get my news from Kick Out the PNM. I have my obvious bias, but I try and support it by fact. You have your bias too, but if the facts not supporting it just admit nah. Of course, politicians X or Y can do anything, but you cant accusing of doing something wrong because you feel they did it.

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2024, 2:46 pm

but the man woke up a wednesday and had a political meeting in the night where he said he interferes with the ful numbers granted

unless he just saying that to rile up the many tuners who waiting on ful applications and erla really too busy

Postby The_Honourable » April 23rd, 2024, 9:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:ermm... we all know Rowley intercepted bliss seepersad to withdraw the merit list over the FUL allegations leading to a public uproar and embarrassment at president's house. Seepersad is in court with respect to that matter while the FUL scandal so far turned out to be a flop.

If the PM had a report on one of the candidates he had to act. One man said the PM should have done a sting, that is nonsense. As I said before, the PM cannot instruct the CoP, but he sure can pass on his report to the PolSC and their subsequent action is theirs. Nevertheless, 8 officers have been arrested so far in the FUL scandal you call a flop https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/8-cops- ... 3841e2066f

I don't know where you get info on how much Erla scored on the shortlist, but as I refuted, she topped the merit list. Paula Mae Weekes was appointed UNANIMOUSLY by the Electoral College. So to call her a PNM president is disingenuous. The process to appoint a CoP is constitutional meaning that it was one approved by a special majority. So to call those appointed by the constitutional process pro-PNM or pro-UNC is disingenuous as well. By that logic, nobody can be a CoP without political affiliation. GG was appointed CoP as a former UNC minister without the votes of the UNC Opposition. Was he a pro PNM CoP?

The Guardian independently assessed commissioners since 2004 and Erla topped several areas over Jacob. But both Erla and Jacob had better stats than Gary. https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/me ... le&u=25113
I really don't care about UNC talking point speculations about the PolSC, so please don't repeat them as fact. And again Erla Christopher was appointed unanimously by the Lower House, both PNM and UNC were proud to appoint the first female CoP. So don't try to politicise the process now.

After all that bachannal and talks of a well oiled ful machine, 8 officers arrested. Some have offences unrelated to FUL... woopie... let's see what happens in a few years.

Weekes didn't walk in the electoral college and nominated herself. She was chosen by Rowley, given the benefit of the doubt, became president, and is now one of the most unremarkable presidents we had. She will only be remembered by the merit list fiasco instigated by rowley.

So PolSC decided to put Erla first, she and all was given the benefit of the doubt and became CoP. Guess what? still will go down as one of the worst Commissioner of Police we ever had. Will people have confidence in the PolSC choosing a CoP who will ACTUALLY tackle our runaway crime?

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2024, 10:34 pm

Everything you said there is your opinion, opinion that even contradicts measurable stats.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2024, 1:33 pm

011ac9dc-03bc-4bb0-91e6-1193a230d1e7.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » April 25th, 2024, 2:28 pm

pappy reaction !! :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2024, 4:48 pm

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2024, 4:49 pm

there is another separate law afaik
gg spoke about it and that having to be remedied as well, not just the particular law heinz referring to