PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 23rd, 2012, 6:00 pm

I had to end up opening up the case and disconnecting and reconnecting the card reader. It works now :)

Thanks for the help though :)

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 23rd, 2012, 6:45 pm

Hey, I need some assitance with regards to getting my PC to startup and shutdown @ certain times.... for instance: startup @ 6AM and shutdown @9PM then to run a program @ startup... Any assistance would be greatly appreciated...

Postby M_2NR » July 23rd, 2012, 7:49 pm

napster16 wrote:Hey, I need some assitance with regards to getting my PC to startup and shutdown @ certain times.... for instance: startup @ 6AM and shutdown @9PM then to run a program @ startup... Any assistance would be greatly appreciated...

google is your friend.
My advice, Use Task Scheduler (reason being: it's built in, heck i had to use it to disable windows media center updater from polling my pc at 3am which caused it to wake up for itself).
http://www.anotherwindowsblog.com/2011/ ... -time.html
Good luck.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 24th, 2012, 3:52 am

Sigh.....
Anyone know's where I can get the 200mm LED case fans....the Cooler Master fans. Apparently mine overvolted(Case's electrical system was pre-wired) and now my front and side panel LEDs are blown.

They lit up green(colour supposed to be blue) and they went blank

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2012, 5:15 am

Amazon :P
Seriously I think it's obvious now not to bother with local stores yes. Last time I went in a store and they said NZXT was premium grade fans :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 24th, 2012, 5:27 am

17US for one fan :cry:

Used the exact same ones showed in the picture for the LED. When I tested them after I blowed the bulbs...the supply that blowed it was 10V and the supply where the other LEDs are working on is 9V. I highly doubt that the supply that blowed it was for 2 pin fans with the exact same colour wires and connectors as the LED power.

Currently testing them and the LEDs are working individually....so apparently the circuitry is messed up :cry:

Can't believe I missed up my Megaflows :cry:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2012, 9:43 am

M_2NR wrote:Amazon :P
Seriously I think it's obvious now not to bother with local stores yes. Last time I went in a store and they said NZXT was premium grade fans :|

NZXT do have some high end fans...did you check the models/specs of the ones they where telling you about?

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2012, 10:13 am

Chiney wrote:

NZXT do have some high end fans...did you check the models/specs of the ones they where telling you about?

yea it was the cheap ones.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 24th, 2012, 10:31 am

M_2NR wrote:yea it was the cheap ones.

Which are? The white bladed ones that come stock with the case?

They actually silent running but the airflow very low, cyar cool anyting modern these days nah.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2012, 10:38 am

M_2NR wrote:
Chiney wrote:

orr cool cool

im gonna do a white and black theme my next build ina silverstone TJ case.. these will be the fans of choice

http://www.amazon.com/200mm-Performance ... =nzxt+fans

http://www.amazon.com/Technologies-FX-1 ... =nzxt+fans

http://www.amazon.com/NZXT-FX-120MM-Ent ... =nzxt+fans

Elyon

Postby Elyon » July 24th, 2012, 10:44 am

Chiney wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
Chiney wrote:

orr cool cool

im gonna do a white and black theme my next build ina silverstone TJ case.. these will be the fans of choice

TJ11? :D

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2012, 12:32 pm

I was watching the NZXT Phantom mid atx I think.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2012, 2:49 pm

Elyon wrote:
Chiney wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
Chiney wrote:

orr cool cool

TJ11? :D

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 24th, 2012, 4:35 pm

Replaced the LEDs in the fan....everything's all good now :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 24th, 2012, 5:10 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Replaced the LEDs in the fan....everything's all good now :D

Where u get leds to buy?

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 24th, 2012, 5:14 pm

One more thing, I want to use a .bat to type 'F5' while powerpoint is open to run the slide from the beginning... how's this one executed?

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2012, 6:00 pm

Guys, problem. I now try to switch on and I get a loud screech and no power up. I switch off the ups and switch one, tried to turn on the pc again and same story.
Did it a few times to try and diagnose where the noise coming from, sounds like the power supply at the top back end. Any suggestions guys? Anyone ever encounter such? Is it the ps?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2012, 6:07 pm

i did once

the psu went BOOM after..
im serious

a capacitor blew the F.. UP!

try another to confirm

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 24th, 2012, 6:08 pm

^^ i agree also this happend twice to me.

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2012, 6:35 pm

So is defiantly the ps the problem rite? Just buy another one and swap?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2012, 7:13 pm

lemme ask a question here

those powersupplys that comes with cases when you buy them how good is it?

i heard they are buggy :shock:

i wanna change my case to one with led fans :oops:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 24th, 2012, 7:20 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:lemme ask a question here

those powersupplys that comes with cases when you buy them how good is it?

i heard they are buggy :shock:

i wanna change my case to one with led fans :oops:
None of them Good yes... if you think it really have the amount of watts stated by a Watts meter the most you might get is about 100-150.

LED PSU are okay but makesure your system have a proper air circulation system.

Router people I upgraded my Asus RT-N56U to the New RT-N66U and boy its been working flawless.

Longer range this router goes 1/4 signal the good thing about it, you can upgrade the antenna to get longer range and set the TX power of the router higher to match the antenna.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2012, 7:25 pm

i was checking in a store somewhere i cant remember, but they have some nice cases with led fans and stuff with the fans pre wired into the case so its just a matter to swap in the parts from my current case.

that airflow that comes with the case and the fans loaded should be pretty good right?

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2012, 7:35 pm

My last ps last bout 5 years and it was working when I take it out. Sold it with my board and the ram.

This one is a 700 watt bought from e-city and it barely last a year.

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2012, 7:41 pm

what brand?

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 24th, 2012, 7:51 pm

nervewrecker wrote:My last ps last bout 5 years and it was working when I take it out. Sold it with my board and the ram.

This one is a 700 watt bought from e-city and it barely last a year.

mustiff??

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 24th, 2012, 8:14 pm

napster16 wrote:One more thing, I want to use a .bat to type 'F5' while powerpoint is open to run the slide from the beginning... how's this one executed?

:bump:

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2012, 8:27 pm

I donno the brand of the one I sold, maybe in showing up in the pics of the merchandise I posted in the misc section, something about motherboard, power supply and ram was the topic (same topic I ask trac to lock months ago and like he forget the lock or lost the key).

The brand I got in the new system is an X-tech or something, that's good stuff or not?

Postby ismithx » July 24th, 2012, 8:40 pm

M_2NR wrote:so now, hear the latest, my flash drives show up as unrecognized :|
They only show up when i plug them in as soon as my computer loads. IF they are plugged in while booting, Win7 doesn't boot.
In win8, load up fine, no issues. :lol:

i have that same problem with my laptop: win7 64 bit...

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2012, 9:14 pm

ismithx wrote:
M_2NR wrote:so now, hear the latest, my flash drives show up as unrecognized :|
They only show up when i plug them in as soon as my computer loads. IF they are plugged in while booting, Win7 doesn't boot.
In win8, load up fine, no issues. :lol:

i have that same problem with my laptop: win7 64 bit...

Same OS here.
i tried reinstalling chipset drivers. I not sure if it's fixed or not. I eh really caring too much though, PC working normal otherwise.