The Religion Discussion

Alpha_2nr

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2010, 11:03 am

MG Man wrote:they are precious in his sight

Edited for Unkle's failing faculties.

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 11:07 am

who you calling unkle? back in my day I'd crack yer cornfoundit hide wid meh buggy whip
***grabs walker and shuffles off hastily***

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2010, 11:22 am

... somebody limin with kurmaman

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 7th, 2010, 11:41 am

^ hmmmmmm....1kurma

Sita Ram bai

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 11:42 am

who are you, and what have you done with triniangie?

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2010, 11:42 am

seta rum boidawgboiinjanboi

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 11:49 am

BUTTOCKS

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 7th, 2010, 12:47 pm

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 1:21 pm

jesus will take away your innernetz

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 7th, 2010, 1:46 pm

the aliens will come again.....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2010, 2:09 pm

MG Man wrote:who you calling unkle? back in my day I'd crack yer cornfoundit hide wid meh buggy whip
***grabs walker and shuffles off hastily***

Ole-Man-MG FTL :drinking:

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 2:26 pm

I'd smack you upside the head...jus lemme remember where I put that darn bottole o' Aleeve first

d spike

Postby d spike » September 7th, 2010, 3:39 pm

You young 'uns jes' cut that out...

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 3:59 pm

heeeeeeeeey who you callin young?
Jus cuz you helped draw up the plans for Columbus' ship

d spike

Postby d spike » September 7th, 2010, 4:29 pm

Kasey wrote:^^man eh no what to say, so his rebuttal is: he, and some ppl he make up, in 'Stalemate'. LAWD!!!

dOUBT that the small cords were made from bulls penis?

I think that Bluefete, like most Trinis, just happens to flap his jaw with his brain in Neutral, from time to time... He probably doesn't even know what a bull-pistle actually looks like, or thinks that the name is just facetiously given...
If the Hebrews, or any Semitic people for that matter, saved bulls' penises after butchering an animal, it would have been for food. As a source of protein, it would have been far too valuable to use as cordage. Fibrous plant material and hair were used to produce rope for the common man's use. Leather thonging was known, but not commonly used in that part of the world, as animal hides were far too valuable for such an application. Bridles for beasts of burden, for example, were made from hair.

Kasey wrote:There will always be doubt that the bible and the story of Adam and Eve is true, I guess we are at stalemate on this.

Whether the bible is "true" or not, is far too vague a point to argue - unless one is a fundamentalist, in which case the answer is, 'Yes, it is'. The bible is simply a collection of sacred writings, taken from a variety of sources, spanning centuries. Some parts are obviously fictitious - and this is said by the very people who wrote and treasured them... even those who later compiled those stories have, over time, come to admit such a thing. (Of course, the fundamentalists, of whom not a trace existed a few hundred years ago, know better :lol: )
The point is not whether the stories are true or not.. but what is taught by those very stories. The point of the story about the boy who cried 'wolf', is liars are not easily believed. The fact that no little boy actually pulled such a stunt, does not negate either the lesson or its importance.
Job and Jonah are Talmudic fables. The story of Job teaches that sometimes God allows things to happen that we may not understand... Jonah shows that God is forgiving in ways we might not agree... Whether or not the scripted events took place, does not change these points, neither are they lessened in any way.

The Garden of Eden story tries to explain why man's relationship with God is the way it is, and why humans are... well... human :lol: (it attempts to explain the source of our inherent frailties and shortcomings, how a being created in perfection could, at the same time, be damaged goods).

d spike

Postby d spike » September 7th, 2010, 4:49 pm

MG Man wrote:heeeeeeeeey who you callin young?
Jus cuz you helped draw up the plans for Columbus' ship

Don't blame me for that crap. I never touched any of them.
I just sat on some crates on the dock with the other old fogeys, and we yelled advice at young Chris while he salvaged and repaired those old tubs.
I personally told him to cut holes in the hulls right where they were moored, so when they sank, he and his lads wouldn't have far to swim to reach home.
(And I was right. Only one returned in one piece - and that was no more than just a large open dory that Chris had to deck himself.)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2010, 8:13 pm

ah find megadoc1 get quiet

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2010, 8:44 pm

Free Will vs. Predestination: Can’t Anyone
Give Me a HARD Problem to Solve?

Image My dachshund's namesake

Lately a couple of trouble-making readers have been asking my opinion on
the question of free will vs. predestination. For some time now I have
struggled mightily to ignore their queries; when finally forced by etiquette to
acknowledge them, I suggested, in hopes of distracting them, that they
upgrade their cable service, or invest in pets.
"You can watch Chinese soccer matches!" I tried. "And a dachshund can be
so much fun! They look like sausages--with free will!"
But, alas, they stayed on topic. "Stop trying to get out of it!" they responded

Choke up your opinion on predestination!"

The problem is that I've never been too interested in trying to suss out the
exact relationship between my free will and the idea of God's already
knowing my whole life. Once I tried to do some reading on the matter, but
right away bumped into words like "determinism," "Calvinism," and
"Arminianism."

So I ran out and bought a dachshund, which I named Emanuel Swedenborg.

And now determined readers are back at it. So let me solve the whole
question of free will vs. predestination, so that I can go back to watching
Chinese soccer.

Now then. I am sure I have free will. To prove it, I will now do an imitation
of Daffy Duck.
There. I did it. There's no way God could have predicted I would do that.

Ha! And now I just did an imitation of Daffy Duck imitating Road Runner!
And---ow. I think I hurt my throat.
But the point is: I decided to do that larynx-traumatizer all by myself.
There's no way that in any Book of Life written before time there's an entry
that says: "5:43 a.m. July 25, 2007. San Diego, California. Dork on couch
does imitation of Daffy Duck imitating Road Runner."

This proves, beyond question, that I have free will.

Except I don't want to have free will. Which is to say, I don't want to be able
to surprise God. A God so stuck in temporal time that he has to wait to see
what will happen next doesn't sound like a very inspiring, very All-Knowing
sort of deity. That sounds like ... me watching TV.

So forget that. God knows all. Period. That's not debatable.

So God did know I was going to wrench my poor little throat box!
And yet, he didn't stop me. How ... kind of him.
Okay, so what do we have here?

I think I have free will---but in actuality I don't, because God, knowing all, is
perfectly aware ahead of time of everything that I'll ever do, say, or think
Moreover, he causes me to do, say, and think everything I do. Because if he's all-knowing, then he must be all-powerful, since anyone who is all- knowing butnot all-powerful is just ... a nerd.

Say, you know what I think?
I think I'll take little Emanuel Swedenborg for a walk.

Okay, fine. I'll continue. Here is what I really think:

When we're outside of God's grace---when we've chosen to be Fallen Independent Types---we have free will, because we've then placed ourselves outside of God's purview. But when we're with God---when we've surrendered ourselves to the reality of
God's presence within us---then we don't have free will, because then our
will is subsumed by the larger will of God.

There. Done. That was easy.
How is it that Augustine, St. Thomas Aquinas, and all those other brainy
theologians never thought of that?

Losers.

You know, sometimes I think Preeminent Theologian Types really just keep
pretending all of this stuff is so hard, so that they don't have to go out and
get real jobs. Then again, many philosophers and theologians were working
before the invention of television. Clearly, keeping themselves amused was more of a challenge for them than it is for, say, me.

Blog:JohnShore .com

Very interesting concept.

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2010, 9:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What about the poor starving children who have been affected by water borne disease and are dying in pangs of hunger and pain beyond belief and the parents who must watch their children die from starvation and sickness? Why did God take them there?

Suffering is caused by sin. This is a burden we are all condemned to carry, in different ways, until we die.

In this mortal world, it is Satan who is fighting a battle to keep us all in misery. He has messed up the economics of the world.

For all the talk about evolution, evolutionists have NO answer for the suffering that exists in the world nor how this suffering will end.

God gives us hope and the promise of an eternal, brighter future beyond death.

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2010, 9:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ah find megadoc1 get quiet

After his mega battles with you all, he has gone to get some much needed rest.

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » September 7th, 2010, 9:05 pm

bluefete wrote:
For all the talk about evolution, evolutionists have NO answer for the suffering that exists in the world nor how this suffering will end.

Natural selection, only the strong will survive, suffering will never end.

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2010, 9:10 pm

MG Man wrote:cuz he's mysterious
but Duane, didn't you know:
but Jesus still loves the little children
all the children of the world
red
yellow
black
white
they are precious in his sigh

Was this for Jesus' benefit or for ours?

How do we treat children who are physically and mentally challenged? How many of us interact with them regularly?

Do we see them as "objects" to be scorned or to be loved?

How do we even treat "normal" children?

God allows for a wide range of children to exist. How we deal with them is more important than pondering the reson why God put them there.

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » September 7th, 2010, 9:12 pm

-----
Cartoon20100728.jpg

d spike

Postby d spike » September 7th, 2010, 9:39 pm

bluefete wrote:Free Will vs. Predestination: Can’t Anyone
Give Me a HARD Problem to Solve?

Image My dachshund's namesake

Lately a couple of trouble-making readers have been asking my opinion on
the question of free will vs. predestination. For some time now I have
struggled mightily to ignore their queries; when finally forced by etiquette to
acknowledge them, I suggested, in hopes of distracting them, that they
upgrade their cable service, or invest in pets.
"You can watch Chinese soccer matches!" I tried. "And a dachshund can be
so much fun! They look like sausages--with free will!"
But, alas, they stayed on topic. "Stop trying to get out of it!" they responded

Choke up your opinion on predestination!"

The problem is that I've never been too interested in trying to suss out the
exact relationship between my free will and the idea of God's already
knowing my whole life. Once I tried to do some reading on the matter, but
right away bumped into words like "determinism," "Calvinism," and
"Arminianism."

So I ran out and bought a dachshund, which I named Emanuel Swedenborg.

And now determined readers are back at it. So let me solve the whole
question of free will vs. predestination, so that I can go back to watching
Chinese soccer.

Now then. I am sure I have free will. To prove it, I will now do an imitation
of Daffy Duck.
There. I did it. There's no way God could have predicted I would do that.

Ha! And now I just did an imitation of Daffy Duck imitating Road Runner!
And---ow. I think I hurt my throat.
But the point is: I decided to do that larynx-traumatizer all by myself.
There's no way that in any Book of Life written before time there's an entry
that says: "5:43 a.m. July 25, 2007. San Diego, California. Dork on couch
does imitation of Daffy Duck imitating Road Runner."

This proves, beyond question, that I have free will.

Except I don't want to have free will. Which is to say, I don't want to be able
to surprise God. A God so stuck in temporal time that he has to wait to see
what will happen next doesn't sound like a very inspiring, very All-Knowing
sort of deity. That sounds like ... me watching TV.

So forget that. God knows all. Period. That's not debatable.

So God did know I was going to wrench my poor little throat box!
And yet, he didn't stop me. How ... kind of him.
Okay, so what do we have here?

I think I have free will---but in actuality I don't, because God, knowing all, is
perfectly aware ahead of time of everything that I'll ever do, say, or think
Moreover, he causes me to do, say, and think everything I do. Because if he's all-knowing, then he must be all-powerful, since anyone who is all- knowing butnot all-powerful is just ... a nerd.

Say, you know what I think?
I think I'll take little Emanuel Swedenborg for a walk.

Okay, fine. I'll continue. Here is what I really think:

When we're outside of God's grace---when we've chosen to be Fallen Independent Types---we have free will, because we've then placed ourselves outside of God's purview. But when we're with God---when we've surrendered ourselves to the reality of
God's presence within us---then we don't have free will, because then our
will is subsumed by the larger will of God.

There. Done. That was easy.
How is it that Augustine, St. Thomas Aquinas, and all those other brainy
theologians never thought of that?

Losers.

You know, sometimes I think Preeminent Theologian Types really just keep
pretending all of this stuff is so hard, so that they don't have to go out and
get real jobs. Then again, many philosophers and theologians were working
before the invention of television. Clearly, keeping themselves amused was more of a challenge for them than it is for, say, me.

Blog:JohnShore .com

Very interesting concept.

"Very interesting concept"????
More like "absolute bull"!
This mistaken fellow does not appreciate the concept of time. Man can do whatever he wants - this is the concept of free will - God just happens to know what his choice will be... God is not a finite being as we are, and so, is not constrained by time as we are.

Who is the "we" that think that it is possible that the Hebrews in the time of Jesus were using the marriage tackle of bulls as rope? Would it, by any chance, be the same group who (when they were Hindus) were distraught over the depiction of blue-skinned aliens called 'avatars'?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 7th, 2010, 10:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ah find megadoc1 get quiet

themegadoc is here its just that I am getting to like demonstrating Gods power while preaching it more than just speaking about it, that way people only have to question themselves
and what they think they know,
anyone here would like to experience a personal encounter with God?

sparky

Postby sparky » September 7th, 2010, 10:53 pm

I think the only two people who really had free will would be Adam and Eve, they were made perfect and had free will to choose. As for the rest of mankind, there is no free will in their natural state because of sin. The only choice is inherent in our sinful nature which is to sin, so i believe however in a sinful state outside of Grace no free will can be exercise. However when one comes into Grace free will is now an option because choice is available. On the matter of Predestination a person would be Predestine according to the choices made example, if a person accepts Grace in submitting his or her will to the will of God then the predestination would be life eternal, if a person does not accept Grace then he or she would be predestine to eternal death. This is my personal view on the subject i could be wrong

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 7th, 2010, 11:09 pm

bluefete wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What about the poor starving children who have been affected by water borne disease and are dying in pangs of hunger and pain beyond belief and the parents who must watch their children die from starvation and sickness? Why did God take them there?

Suffering is caused by sin. This is a burden we are all condemned to carry, in different ways, until we die.and this is where Jesus comes in, when his body was beaten and ripped it was for our healing and health so once you become a child of God sickness becomes a trespasser in your life and must be cast out , ALL who believe in Jesus Christ have this power

In this mortal world, it is Satan who is fighting a battle to keep us all in misery. He has messed up the economics of the world.

For all the talk about evolution, evolutionists have NO answer for the suffering that exists in the world nor how this suffering will end.no answer for ridding oneself of sin either and thats most important

God gives us hope and the promise of an eternal, brighter future beyond death.and his name is Jesus Christ

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 11:13 pm

bluefete wrote:
MG Man wrote:cuz he's mysterious
but Duane, didn't you know:
but Jesus still loves the little children
all the children of the world
red
yellow
black
white
they are precious in his sigh

Was this for Jesus' benefit or for ours?

How do we treat children who are physically and mentally challenged? How many of us interact with them regularly?

Do we see them as "objects" to be scorned or to be loved?

How do we even treat "normal" children?

God allows for a wide range of children to exist. How we deal with them is more important than pondering the reson why God put them there.

you are beyond deluded
I done

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 7th, 2010, 11:55 pm

how would an "intellectual" sound like to a woman healed after
being crippled from an accident since 1987?
23 years of wheel chair

praise be to God in the mighty name of Jesus Christ

Isaiah 29:14
Therefore once more I will astound these people with wonder upon wonder; the wisdom of the wise will perish, the intelligence of the intelligent will vanish."

1 Corinthians 1:19-20
For it is written: "I will destroy the wisdom of the wise; the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate."
Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 8th, 2010, 1:25 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
i suppose yuh goin to tell me that vid is real ? :lol: :lol: