Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

greenlime100

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby greenlime100 » January 22nd, 2013, 6:42 pm

So buy the korallias or the vortechs cause them like 100us

I would've invested in the vortechs before if I knew better. My korallias doing the job but I cant say it impressed me. In time I will surely get the vortechs.

Some reviews also say he Tunze is another great brand, will do some more reading and decide between the two.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 22nd, 2013, 6:45 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Tunze-Turbelle-Na ... +powerhead is this good enought for my 30gallon or to little?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 22nd, 2013, 7:08 pm

[url]http://www.tunze.com/149.html?&L=1&C=US&user_tunzeprod_pi1[predid]=-infoxunter052[/url]

says for 10 to 55gal but,
After installing my korallias, i found that the flow wasn't what I expected, preferred a greater flow. The power was rated for my tank but after doing some reading, I learned that the power heads do not specify if the flow rate is for saltwater or freshwater. in this link http://www.hydor.com/prodotti/show/famprod/46/list/14 you can see what im talking about
So maybe you could take one slightly bigger. Personal preference I guess.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 22nd, 2013, 7:11 pm

From the first link just remove [/url from the address, dont know why its showing like that.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 22nd, 2013, 7:40 pm

Reefplanet wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Tunze-Turbelle-NanoStream-Pump-6015/dp/B0054S8NNE/ref=sr_1_2?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1358893406&sr=1-2&keywords=tunze+powerhead is this good enought for my 30gallon or to little?

get 2 pumps and put it on opposite sides. you need to learn how to bounce water flow from powerheads off glass and rocks to give you the circulation you want. a 30 gal tank is small.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 22nd, 2013, 7:47 pm

so it will be good i guess i could buy 2. I read that this pump makes waves and thing

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 22nd, 2013, 8:05 pm

Reefplanet wrote:so it will be good i guess i could buy 2. I read that this pump makes waves and thing

Tunze is a great pump. Keep in mind that they make two different types of pumps. 1) is a constant speed power head which is what the 6015 is. 2) is a controllable power head. The controllable power heads take an input from a controller to change speed and this can generate waves. The input is a 0-10 V signal.

The only control you can do with option one is on/off with a timer or controller like the apex or Reef Keeper.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 22nd, 2013, 8:11 pm

Is the controllable one more expensive or the same thing.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 22nd, 2013, 8:11 pm

Mentioning apex and reef keeper controllers.... any of you all have any? Just want to know if its really worth the $$

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 22nd, 2013, 9:14 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Is the controllable one more expensive or the same thing.

Definitely more expensive. The controllable Tunze price falls more in line with Vortech pricing.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 22nd, 2013, 9:29 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Mentioning apex and reef keeper controllers.... any of you all have any? Just want to know if its really worth the $$

I couldn't run my tank without one. It controls my lights, pumps, vortech's, calcium reactor, kalk reactor, ATO etc. not to mention I can log in from anywhere and see what's going on with it. I used to use the RKE Reefkeeper, but switched to the Apex as it has better support and seems to be progressing better in terms of modules.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 22nd, 2013, 9:53 pm

fishman, whats your bioload right now.........
yellow tang
powder blue tang
purple tang
hippo tang
mandarin
flame hawk...........

d@v3

Postby d@v3 » January 22nd, 2013, 10:01 pm

you guys know where have german blue rams, electric blue and golden rams for sale....

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 22nd, 2013, 10:12 pm

check fishybizniz in trincity some where there

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 22nd, 2013, 10:18 pm

d@v3 wrote:you guys know where have german blue rams, electric blue and golden rams for sale....

you know raj also have a wide variety of chiclids right?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 22nd, 2013, 10:19 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Mentioning apex and reef keeper controllers.... any of you all have any? Just want to know if its really worth the $$

From what I saw apex is one of the best systems out there, the system has been out a while tho, pretty expensive so I contacted them and they said they should have some new stuff fall 2013.

d@v3 wrote:you guys know where have german blue rams, electric blue and golden rams for sale....

Fishy Business only has some bolivian rams right now, you can give him a call to make sure, I know he occasionally gets golden and electrics in.

d@v3

Postby d@v3 » January 23rd, 2013, 6:50 am

thanks guys @(reefplanet, hondab20b and mojo so dope ) i'll give them a try

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 23rd, 2013, 7:43 am

HondaB20B wrote:fishman, whats your bioload right now.........
yellow tang
powder blue tang
purple tang
hippo tang
mandarin
flame hawk...........

All those above plus Royal Gramma, Two Clowns and a Copperband Butterfly.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 23rd, 2013, 8:01 am

mojosodope wrote:

From what I saw apex is one of the best systems out there, the system has been out a while tho, pretty expensive so I contacted them and they said they should have some new stuff fall 2013.

Definitely one of the top controllers. If you really want the best, check out Profilux. Its really expensive though. Neptune is constantly brining out new stuff for the Apex. Neptune just announced a water on the floor sensor and launched an Android App for it as previously they only had an IOS app.

Postby meccalli » January 23rd, 2013, 8:08 am

Hey guys, if i would like to keep a small saltwater setup for fingerling mullet, pinfish- for bait really lol. What would be the most basic equipment that be necessary? Seems a fish only system would be what i'm aiming for.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 23rd, 2013, 4:08 pm

meccalli wrote:Hey guys, if i would like to keep a small saltwater setup for fingerling mullet, pinfish- for bait really lol. What would be the most basic equipment that be necessary? Seems a fish only system would be what i'm aiming for.

im no expert but a powerhead, filter, sand if u want, lights nothing to fancy...research the habitats of bait fish and try to mimic that maybe you could put some rocks to...oh and one more thing a tank loool!

On that note i had an idea of making a low and wide tank like 48" length or large, 48" wide and 12" high to make a tidal pool tank...add in some rocks( alot if possible) maybe putting the rocks in a way that they separate the tank alittle, some sand, light, powerheads maybe a wave maker and a power head to take out water and fill it back in the tank like a cycle to mimic tides. Add some starfish urchins crabs snails clams seaweed and algae and a few fish like bait fish dem little fish that hang out in tide pools.

just an idea i had that i want to know if allyuh like it..i not making it now prolly in the future but i find it real cool and not a lot of people have it and if you youtube it not much videos have it and if they do they make it real crappy!

link

Postby link » January 23rd, 2013, 6:39 pm

mojosodope wrote:South Beach aquariums got in some alligator gars and stingrays, I saw he has some pretty rare plecos in stock again.

sheit...now see this...goin' up there nOW !!
tks

Postby meccalli » January 23rd, 2013, 7:17 pm

Thanks Reef, I'll have to do some more research. The idea of a tidal tank is pretty awesome too!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 23rd, 2013, 7:35 pm

Fishman wrote:
yellow tang
powder blue tang
purple tang
hippo tang
mandarin
flame hawk...........

Thought the copperband wasnt reefsafe or is it reefsafe with SPS only

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 23rd, 2013, 7:43 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
I would've invested in the vortechs before if I knew better.

Trust meh, yuh go like yuhself with them.................... waves, tidal changes and undercurrent......... long with the other features. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 23rd, 2013, 8:00 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Fishman wrote:
yellow tang
powder blue tang
purple tang
hippo tang
mandarin
flame hawk...........

Thought the copperband wasnt reefsafe or is it reefsafe with SPS only

They are not reef safe with LPS. I lost my red open brain to it. It was a necessary evil for me though as I had a very bad aiptasia problem. I was aiptasia free after a month of the butterfly.

CSheppard

Postby CSheppard » January 23rd, 2013, 8:02 pm

anyone know how to deal w/ ich ? my oranda has most of the symptoms. Havent seen ich treatment anywhere though. Would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 23rd, 2013, 8:02 pm

if i had money like that

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 23rd, 2013, 8:11 pm

CSheppard wrote:anyone know how to deal w/ ich ? my oranda has most of the symptoms. Havent seen ich treatment anywhere though. Would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

old school method pal.................SALT

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 23rd, 2013, 8:21 pm

Reefplanet wrote:if i had money like that

Then you would just be a reef junkie like me :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: