The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » April 11th, 2011, 9:45 pm

Just a little follow up on what firstchoicett & M_2NR were talking about

CutYourSim is offering a permanent and "legit" remote unlock for any iPhone on any carrier for $169.99.

-----
We are now able to offer the first permanent remote iPhone unlocking solution. It is very easy, and can be done with three simple steps.

Our turnaround time is typically anywhere from 2-5 days for the iPhone. It may be quicker, but please expect this time frame.

The solution we offer is a permanent solution. Jailbreaking, or unauthorized hacks are NOT required. This unlock will carry on forever, you can now update your phone to the newest version without worrying about waiting for an unauthorized unlock to be released.

The unlock will work with any iPhone version, and any baseband version, no need to worry about updating to the latest version anymore, your phone will be unlocked forever!!!!!

We offer great support, we will help you with the unlocking process with our outstanding support response time. Buy with confidence!

100% Guaranteed to Work! This method is 100% Guaranteed, and the only time we will offer a refund is if you provide video proof that the phone did not get permanetly unlocked with our method.

This does NOT affect your warranty status, because this is an official iPhone unlock.
-----

Chronic tweets, "it's actually legit, they are somehow whitelisting the IMEIs, not totally sure how it works... iPhone is being repaired now so can't test, but I know @CutYourSim is legit thru past dealings. I'm positive his unlock offerings are legit."

MuscleNerd notes, "The well-established online unlockers for other cellphone brands are suddenly today selling iPhone unlocks..obviously something opened up. This "grey market" access into Apple's database has been around (in the UK for instance) for a while, but typically only brick&mortar stores"

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2011, 9:51 pm

i believe cutyoursim is fairly legit. In terms of cutting your sim they were quite supportive when the iPhone 4 dropped and i contacted them on twitter.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 12th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Decided to revamp the initial thread post a little.

Postby M_2NR » April 12th, 2011, 12:48 pm

I'll add something extra to it... iClarified unlock and jailbreak wizard and chpwn caniunlock site ;) and how to find out my baseband.

When i get some time ill try to sift through all the pages and extract vital info.

If you want u can also link the beginner's guide i wrote.

EDIT: lol i just added some and it seems we both were editing same time >_>

these are the links to add ;)
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=2543
http://www.iclarified.com/jailbreak/index.php
http://www.iclarified.com/unlock/index.php
http://caniunlock.com/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 12th, 2011, 3:26 pm

Apple's next desktop operating system release will tone down much of the Aqua user interface and change how screen captures handle windows' drop down sheets.

The most obvious Aqua gloss stripped from Mac OS X Lion involves scroll bars, which are replaced with iOS-like, grey segments that disappear when not in use. The Finder and Mail also drop the use of bubbly, colorful toolbar and source-list icons, indicating a general preference for simpler, monochromatic icons similar to those used in iPad apps.

Also missing are the Aqua pill buttons in the upper right corner of windows in the Finder and certain other apps, which currently display or hide the window's toolbar. These have been replaced by the Full Screen control used in apps that support that mode.

Across the interface, while Aqua highlighting still exists, much of the "blue gel" has been dialed down. For example, the standard Font panel uses a plain slider control rather than a blue bubble.

A variety of rounded buttons are now replaced with more squared off rectangles, and popup menus now lack a blue button selection indicator, as the Cell Background control in the Table panel from TextEdit indicates.

Image Image

The standard print sheet also demonstrates the more square and conservative use of Aqua highlights used throughout the interface (with the help button now lacking a purple fill).

The screen shots below also show another new feature of Lion: screen shots of a drop down sheet now include the window they are connected to, rather than just capturing the sheet itself.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 12th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Interesting

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 12th, 2011, 4:55 pm

Does it bother you that you cannot continue playing a game on your iPad right where you left off on an iPhone? It always frustrated me that Game Center, Apple’s social network for games, only keeps record of your achievements and leaderboards but not other game data pertaining to your progress and current state of the game.

Unfortunately, until a system-wide sync of app data across all iOS devices via cloud iTunes takes off – if ever – it’s just a pipe dream. Well, not for Angry Birds developer Rovio Mobile. These guys are aware enough of the issue to come up with a solution of their own. They call it Angry Birds Sync and it’s coming soon to a platform near you…

The Appera pointed at a Rovio tweet confirming they’re “working hard” on the sync feature. It should be ready “before summer” and it’ll keep all Angry Birds devices in sync. Possibly even across platforms like Windows, Macs and iOS gadgets. Eat that, Apple!

Rovio also promised an “amazing” Easter-themed update to Angry Birds Seasons with 15 new levels for iPhone and iPad gamers. They posted a screenshot of the upcoming release, included below, and confirmed via their Twitter channel that the upcoming Angry Birds for Facebook app will include three Easter levels.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 13th, 2011, 10:43 am

Apple could launch an Internet-connected high-definition television set by the end of 2011, entering the lucrative $100 billion LCD TV market, a new report claims.

Analyst Brian White with Ticonderoga Securities has been at a China electronics trade show this week, and said in a note to investors that he picked up "data points" that point toward a "Smart TV" launch by Apple, possibly by the end of the year.

"Our research suggests this Smart TV would go well beyond the miniature $99 second-generation Apple TV that the company released last fall and provide a full-blown TV product for consumers," White said.

He went on to say that although Apple has long been projected by company watchers to enter the HDTV market, the Mac maker now appears to be "moving down this pace at a faster pace than the market expected."

"The combination of Apple's powerful ecosystem, industrial design savvy, powerful brand and ability to reinvent product categories could make Apple a powerful force in the TV world over the next few years," he said.

The biggest pusher of a prospective Internet-connected HDTV from Apple has been analyst Gene Munster of Piper Jaffray. Munster has repeatedly forecast that Apple will introduce such a product in the coming years, with a starting price of around $2,000.

Such a product could be paired with a subscription service to iTunes, allowing users to access content and services at a flat subscription rate that would negate the need for a cable box and digital video recorder. However, White's note gave no indication of potential features of such a product. Apple also has a great deal of experience with high-definition displays on its iMac desktop, including its big-screen 27-inch iMac, first released in 2009.

Earlier this year, Apple revealed it had invested $3.9 billion of its cash reserves in securing key components for products. Many have assumed that money has gone toward securing displays for its range of products, including the iPhone and iPad.

But Munster said in February he believes that $3.9 billion investment is just more evidence of a forthcoming Apple HDTV. He believes Apple could build a television set up to 50 inches in size, though he predicted earlier this year that such a product would not launch until the end of calendar year 2012 at the earliest.

------

Lending even more support to rumors of a later-than-usual launch for the fifth-generation iPhone, a new report cites a key component supplier as saying Apple doesn't plan to begin production of the iPhone 5 until September.

Avian Securities issued a note to investors on Monday in which it revealed the alleged plans for a September production start. The report said the latest information is "consistent" with other findings the organization has heard in recent months.

The information also supports a report from March, which claimed that Apple is not yet aligning part suppliers for the iPhone 5. That overseas report claimed that the fifth-generation iPhone wouldn't debut until Apple's 2012 fiscal year, which begins in late September.

In addition, Avian also claimed in its note that it has heard that Apple has a lower-priced iPhone with less expensive internal components in the company's roadmap. However, the handset is currently a "placeholder," and specific components and production timing remain unknown.

If Apple does in fact introduce a low-cost handset with limited features, Avian said it does not see the product being introduced until very late in 2011, or more likely in 2012.

Rumors have continued to swirl that Apple plans to introduce a contract-free iPhone, particularly to increase sales in prepaid handset markets like China. Apple Chief Operating Officer Tim Cook said in an interview earlier this year that his company is planning "clever things" to compete in prepaid markets.

In February, both Bloomberg and The Wall Street Journal reported that Apple is working on a smaller and cheaper iPhone that it could sell contract-free. But those reports were followed up by The New York Times, which claimed that Apple is in fact not working on a smaller iPhone. However, it did state that Apple has explored opportunities in developing a cheaper handset.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 1:30 pm

dunno if this was posted before

This Sim Card Will Unlock Your iPhone 4, No Jailbreaking Required

Yesterday we told you about a service that will unlock your iPhone 4 by altering its IMEI number.
While that sounds good, at $180 it's pretty expensive and there's no guarantee Apple won't be able to reverse it later.
But there's another cheaper way to unlock your iPhone without jailbreaking thanks to a special sim card 9 to 5 Mac found.
The card comes from Rebel SIM Card and will allow you to load any sim you want into your iPhone 4. It comes in two flavors:
The cheaper option has an tiny antenna that awkwardly sticks out the side. But for around $17 more, you can get a sim special tray that replaces the one that comes with your iPhone.
Rebel SIM Card is based in the UK, so everything is priced in British pounds. The cheaper card will cost you around $48 USD and the SIM tray replacement will cost around $65 USD.
The cards are compatible with iPhone 4s running iOS 4.0+. Check out the product page to make sure your phone is compatible.

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/how-to-u ... z1JQR1WBOX

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 13th, 2011, 6:01 pm

Apple's line of Mac computers saw great success in the U.S. in the first quarter of calendar 2011, growing 9.6 from 2010, while the rest of the American market fell 10.7 percent and netbook maker Acer tumbled 42.1 percent.

Apple earned an 8.5 percent total share of the U.S. PC market, selling an estimated 1.375 million units in the first quarter of 2011, according to research group IDC. Apple's market share was well up from the 7 percent it saw in the first quarter of 2010.

The 9.6 percent growth from Apple well outpaced the market average, though rival Toshiba grew even faster, at 10.4 percent year over year. Apple finished just behind Toshiba, in fourth place in the U.S.

Sales for the top company, HP, slid 2.4 percent from 2010, while Dell sunk 11.8 percent. HP represented 27 percent of sales, while Dell took 23.1 percent.

Coming in at fifth, Acer tumbled a whopping 42.1 percent, garnering an 8.3 percent share of the market with 1.331 million units sold.

Acer and its line of low-cost, low-power netbooks have struggled since Apple introduced the iPad last year. In March, Acer revealed its plans to "overhaul operations" and focus on profit margins rather than market share.

Worldwide, PC sales were down 3.2 percent year over year. HP and Dell were No. 1 and No. 2, respectively as well, though both saw their total sales dip from a year ago. HP commanded 18.9 percent of the market, while Dell took 12.8 percent in the first quarter of calendar 2011.

In the global market, Acer took third, and its 15.8 percent its drop in sales was not as drastic as seen in the U.S. Lenovo came in fourth, garnering 10.1 percent of sales, while Toshiba was fifth at 6 percent.

"The U.S. and worldwide PC market continues to work through a difficult era that we expect will continue into next quarter, but will start to improve in the second half of the year," said Bob O'Donnell, program vice president with Clients and Displays at IDC "Slower than expected commercial growth in the first quarter failed to offset the ongoing challenges in the consumer market. While it's tempting to blame the decline completely on the growth of media tablets, we believe other factors, including extended PC lifetimes and the lack of compelling new PC experiences, played equally significant roles."

Glad to be part of that 9.6% Apple. :D

Postby M_2NR » April 13th, 2011, 8:12 pm

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/49963/?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

got 2. Fake or not. Good price. It should be OEM and probably real. If not, still a good price.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 15th, 2011, 12:13 am

iOS Firmware shows some new firmware in the queue for you folks with relatively new iOS devices.

As stated earlier this week, the update fixes iPad 3G connectivity issues as well as iPad Facetime issues as well. We’ll see how it does with battery life. Apple states: This update contains improvements and other bug fixes including:

Fixes an issue that occasionally caused blank or frozen video during a FaceTime call
    Fixes an issue that prevented some international users from connecting to 3G networks on iPad Wi-Fi + 3G
    Contains the latest security updates

------

Apple has already demonstrated a variety of changes on the way for Mac OS X Lion's Dock, Dashboard, Exposé, and Spaces, but there are a variety of interesting details about how these components will work together, and how new multitouch gestures will make them effortlessly available.

One of the biggest new features of Mac OS X Lion is the rethinking of how Dashboard, Exposé and Spaces work. These features, originally added to Mac OS X 10.3 Panther, 10.4 Tiger and 10.5 Leopard, respectively, are now being freshly presented in Lion with a direct influence from iOS.

A previous report on the new Dock, Finder and Desktop outlined some of the iOS-influenced changes Apple will be making in Lion, which mirror the upward borrowing of features that has occurred between iPhoto and Aperture, as well as iMovie 6 and the new Final Cut Pro X.

The iOS redesign of Mac OS X

In particular, Dashboard is being transformed from a nebulous widget layer that appears above the Mac desktop into a utility area that slides in from the left of the desktop, much like the iOS controls that slide in from the left of the multitasking bar to present volume, brightness, audio playback controls, and a screen orientation lock.

Secondly, Exposé is being made more accessible. Rather than having four Exposé modes (tile all windows, tile windows of one app, hide all windows to show desktop, and show Dashboard) invoked by key commands or mouse buttons, Lion improves upon Snow Leopard's multitouch gestures to make tapping into Exposé even easier.

In Snow Leopard, Apple made Exposé's F9 "all windows" mode accessible with a 'four fingers down' trackpad gesture, and the F11 "hide all windows, show desktop" mode available with 'four fingers up.' The same gesture when made right or left invokes the App Switcher. The company is experimenting with similar gestures for iOS.

Lion takes this a step further by renaming and enhancing Expose's F9 "all windows" mode under the new moniker Mission Control, which further integrates Spaces and Dashboard, showing both all open windows and all alternative desktops (including Dashboard) within any parallel Spaces being used

Changes in Lion System Preferences

As part of a trend that appears to feature multitouch gestures over mouse button clicks, the Exposé panel of System Preferences now presents a single hot key menu for each function (set by default to F9, F10, F11 and F12), with a list of options that no longer include invoking the various Exposé modes with the secondary or middle mouse button. Gestures for invoking Exposé features can be configured from the Trackpad pane.

An additional option has been added to the Active Screen Corner menus which now lets users invoke Launchpad from one of the corner hotspots.

Additionally, Spaces is no longer an "expert" feature that must be turned on manually. In Lion, it's always on, and made more accessible to novice users though the iOS-like use of Full Screen Apps, which take up an entire Space. So rather than juggling a variety of virtual desktops (an idea that is often confusingly complex, particularly for less technical users), Spaces is now a very visual tool for moving between a number of Full Screen Apps, much more akin to the iPad.

Power users can continue to manage multiple Spaces configured with specific apps, and more easily switch between them using Mission Control. But even users who have a hard time conceptualizing different virtual desktops can now take multiple apps (such as Mail, Safari, Preview, iCal, and so on) Full Screen and easily swap between them, just as one might jump between iOS apps running in the background.

[Rest of article here and here]

------

RedSn0w 0.9.6rc12 (Windows, Mac) is capable of performing a tethered jailbreak of iOS 4.3.2 if pointed to the iOS 4.3.1 firmware, according to MuscleNerd.

last week's redsn0w can JB 4.3.2 (if you point it at 4.3.1 IPSW) but that's a tethered JB (doesn't imply anything about @i0n1c's untether)

We are still waiting for news on the status of an untether. In the meanwhile, if you must update, make sure to save your SHSH Blobs.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 15th, 2011, 12:29 pm

iPhone security expert and hacker Stefan Esser has just confirmed that his 4.3.1 untethered exploit still exists in iOS 4.3.2, which means that we will soon have full untethered jailbreak on iOS 4.3.2 for all devices.

Apple has been nice. I just verified that the untether vulnerability is not fixed in iOS 4.3.2 – my Ipad 1 is running untethered jailbroken

Of course the public untether binaries will not work with iOS 4.3.2 – I have to generate new untether binaries with new dyld/kernel offsets

I won’t be able to create all the untether binaries before sunday, because I will be on planes

Postby Ted_v2 » April 15th, 2011, 2:43 pm

got an iphone 2g 8gb....it unlocked i tink ....it on the digi network as well(heard it needs to be unlocked to work on dat network)

my problem is on the wifi network i am on i can surf the web normal.....but i cannot update my phone nor download appS. :( on cydia

any1 knows how to fix dis?

i need msn messenger n facebook app badly :(

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 2:48 pm

having a prob with a 3g,

stuck on itunes with usb chord screen

used ireb to enter DFU mode, tried to restore on itunes but i get error 2003 or 2015

tried to use redsn0w to boot tethered, it gets stuck with a pineapple on the screen

any advice?

used tiny umbrella and it says 4.2.1 firmware

Postby M_2NR » April 15th, 2011, 4:21 pm

im sure its not 2013 or 2015 and it is 1013 and 1015 :lol:
That means baseband isnt updated (if its 1013 and 1015).
Why u booting tethered :?
Use tinyumbrella and press kick out of recovery ;)
should boot after.

you dont get messenger and facebook of cydia sound boy 64. You need an apple ID see the first page for the link to create one. SRASC posted a link to the guide for it.
Do it and you will be able to use the AppStore to download free apps.
Follow the guide properly so that u can have a NO Credit Card Option.
Good luck

Postby Ted_v2 » April 15th, 2011, 5:11 pm

M_2NR wrote:im sure its not 2013 or 2015 and it is 1013 and 1015 :lol:
That means baseband isnt updated (if its 1013 and 1015).
Why u booting tethered :?
Use tinyumbrella and press kick out of recovery ;)
should boot after.

you dont get messenger and facebook of cydia sound boy 64. You need an apple ID see the first page for the link to create one. SRASC posted a link to the guide for it.
Do it and you will be able to use the AppStore to download free apps.
Follow the guide properly so that u can have a NO Credit Card Option.
Good luck

Ok thanks :mrgreen:

Postby Ted_v2 » April 15th, 2011, 5:21 pm

it not working :( :( any1 have any to lend me? just to download 2 free apps

Postby Ted_v2 » April 15th, 2011, 6:20 pm

got through :$

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 7:00 pm

lol ended up getting it to work with a custom firmware for 4.2.1 and restoring tru itunes

i had tried the kick out of recovery with tinyumbrella before but it just would go back to itunes boot screen

Postby M_2NR » April 15th, 2011, 9:31 pm

There is also a recovery kicker outer thing that is bundled with tiny now. U could have tried that.

To get rid of those errors on the whole before restoring any device (besides iPad 2) you are supposed to be in a pwned DFU mode. IReb would have been the easiest way to get that. Then custom firmware it ;) u could use redsnow as well to put the device in this state to but redsnow mostly requires u to have the said fw ipsw.
I just remembered it. :oops:

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 9:40 pm

i used Ireb to get in pwned DFU

lol my major mistake was..... (and i`m pretty ashamed to admit it) that i was trying to use the legit 4.2.1 firmware (uncustomized) downloaded from apple with itunes and redsn0w.

Postby M_2NR » April 15th, 2011, 10:37 pm

ent u on 06.15? shouldnt matter if u are :) i dont get how TU didnt kick it out, unless u gots an old version

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 10:43 pm

yeah it was on 6.15, tiny umbrella 4.30.05

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 12:32 am

hrmm... odd. I know it supposed to kick it out of recovery but oh well.

In any case i did a little write up on my blog because you are not the only one who had this same problem.

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/general-downgrading-information-of-iphone-software-and-errors-you-may-encounter/

and for anyone wanting info about the iPhone 4 unlocks available right now, I made a little post on it:
http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/iphone-4-unlock-since-when/

ok, not really little but it goes in detail on what is happening til today.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 12:02 pm

Have fellas charging $1800 locally to unlock the iphone 4 yes...wtf

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » April 16th, 2011, 12:39 pm

saddd yess
when u can go directly to

http://www.superpaddy.nl/

and do it for alot less lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 16th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Any fixes for error 6?

I cant seem to figure it out

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 6:04 pm

getting error 3194 and 2005 off of itunes trying to restore a 3gs :(

Owner was selling the phone and decided to just click "reset" to wipe all her ifno

Used IREB to get into DFU
Then trying custom firmware with itunes, no luck

also tried redsn0w but the process sticks on "exploiting with limera1n"