"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Re: "Official" GARY GRIFFITH & POLICE related matters thread ...

Postby Redman » April 24th, 2020, 4:15 pm

If you need law to do what is sensible....then nothing else need to be said.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2020, 5:01 pm

Doing what is sensible has nothing to do with being illegally and unlawfully forced and threatened to do what is sensible .

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2020, 5:07 pm

If they decide it's better and safer for us not to use social media as Stuarty said once then they can out the police to tell us to stay off social media because it's causing too much bacchanal? That's a creeping dictatorship.

Lots of dictatorships started with small infringement if rights. Why does a policeman with no lawful authority decide what's important to me when he stops me in the roadblock?

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2020, 5:14 pm

we have some of the ingredients for that creeping dictatorship already with stuey and gg

Postby Redman » April 24th, 2020, 7:14 pm

rspann wrote:If they decide it's better and safer for us not to use social media as Stuarty said once then they can out the police to tell us to stay off social media because it's causing too much bacchanal? That's a creeping dictatorship.

Lots of dictatorships started with small infringement if rights. Why does a policeman with no lawful authority decide what's important to me when he stops me in the roadblock?

So you worried about a creeping dictatorship from the people who trying to avoid suspending everyone s constitutional rights?

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Stopping people in the road and sending them back home is not a suspension of constitutional rights ?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 24th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Redman wrote:If you need law to do what is sensible....then nothing else need to be said.

You ever hear the saying... if you give people an inch they will take a mile... while i get the need to stay at home... i am an adult... a human being... a tax payer... i have rights... all human beings have rights... thats what separates us from the animals... the only time government and the police can take away my right to freedom of movement and enjoyment of private protery is under an SOE... they can call... what stopping them... the fact that they will look like hypocrites? Till then i dont care what the ministers and TTPS say... their role is to carry out the law of the land... not to run a dictatorship... TnT is not the only country where people are taking the government to court for infringement on their human rights... and you know what those people will win... yoyr rights are only scaled back during an SOE... anything else is a violation of human rights

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Redman wrote:If you need law to do what is sensible....then nothing else need to be said.

So because garee say we need a law to do the sensible thing that make it so? How does he know that people are not out doing the needful? Everywhere non essential is closed ,so where were so many people going ? How does one get forms filled for grants ? How does one access groceries pharmacies , banks , check on relatives get gas etc ? Or are we supposed to be inside the house all the time ?

I don't understand how you not seeing people can protect themselves and do the right thing without being railroaded by unlawful means . Even the state solicitors office agreed it wasn't law .

Why were Stuart , garee , Alexander et al trying to make it sound lawful but are now saying that it had nothing to do with COVID , it was regular policing .

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2020, 8:17 pm

If UNC was in power PNM ppl and dem would sing a different song.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 24th, 2020, 8:21 pm

^preach it brother

Postby Gladiator » April 24th, 2020, 9:23 pm

rspann wrote:

So because garee say we need a law to do the sensible thing that make it so? How does he know that people are not out doing the needful? Everywhere non essential is closed ,so where were so many people going ? How does one get forms filled for grants ? How does one access groceries pharmacies , banks , check on relatives get gas etc ? Or are we supposed to be inside the house all the time ?

I don't understand how you not seeing people can protect themselves and do the right thing without being railroaded by unlawful means . Even the state solicitors office agreed it wasn't law .

Why were Stuart , garee , Alexander et al trying to make it sound lawful but are now saying that it had nothing to do with COVID , it was regular policing .

It makes you feel that something else is going on...

Postby The_Honourable » April 24th, 2020, 9:47 pm

Boy... it would have been a different song and more! Pretty sure the race card woulda play.

Postby Redman » April 25th, 2020, 7:35 am

rspann wrote:

So

I thought it obvious that sensible would include what you are describing spann.

The challenge here is how to find a balance, between allowing what is necessary but keeping a lid on the virus.

You say let us self regulate, but you manage your business by staying on top of the employees.

The consequences here could be devastating....isn’t it worth the effort?

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 25th, 2020, 8:45 am

Read the Law Association's statement re. police sending persons back home

Postby Redman » April 25th, 2020, 9:36 am

rspann wrote:Stopping people in the road and sending them back home is not a suspension of constitutional rights ?

In comparison to the the suspension under an SOE...it's not.In the context of managing the virus spread...that is a convenient stretch.

What do you suggest to manage the spread?

How would you do it?

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2020, 10:37 am

I would emphasize on the dangers , the methods of prevention , and keep driving home the advice to stay at home as much as possible unless it's critical. I would use the TV stations to educate and have programmes explaining the spread and ways of stopping it all day. The US press is doing it and it's a good start.

Postby zoom rader » April 25th, 2020, 10:50 am

Ryan197912 wrote:Read the Law Association's statement re. police sending persons back home
Please post so folks can learn

Postby Redman » April 25th, 2020, 11:58 am

rspann wrote:I would emphasize on the dangers , the methods of prevention , and keep driving home the advice to stay at home as much as possible unless it's critical. I would use the TV stations to educate and have programmes explaining the spread and ways of stopping it all day. The US press is doing it and it's a good start.

All that happening already.

They will fine tune the on road issues.

Postby The_Honourable » April 26th, 2020, 1:34 am

CoP: State the facts please - Not comments to sensationalize stories

Postby De Dragon » April 28th, 2020, 3:49 pm

It is surprising that JUHN Scarfy and Co. ,deathly afraid of a SOE call, even though it would achieve all the requirements for Covid-19 spread prevention, would risk lawsuits when that is their singular condemnation of it under the last admin.
It is also surprising to have a career military officer turned CoP with such a thin skin. To vent once in a while is understandable, given the frustration and inability to achieve any sort of reduction in crime (by your own deadline date to boot). At least GG is keeping his promise of not chasing every passing car. The trouble is he keeps chasing the same ones over and over and over again

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2020, 9:54 am

Gary real rustle some jimmies in his article on Wired 868 Sunday. He essentially say the army men who participated in the Black Power movement are not heroes but committed treason and are a disgrace. Needless to say he was bashed all over in the comments.

But growing up I always wondered what made Lasalle, Shah and the boys different from Abu Bakr.

https://wired868.com/2020/04/26/griffit ... ting-them/

antlind

Postby antlind » April 29th, 2020, 10:12 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Gary real rustle some jimmies in his article on Wired 868 Sunday. He essentially say the army men who participated in the Black Power movement are not heroes but committed treason and are a disgrace. Needless to say he was bashed all over in the comments.

But growing up I always wondered what made Lasalle, Shah and the boys different from Abu Bakr.

Gary is correct IMHO. Both acts can be classified as treason.

Postby Redman » April 29th, 2020, 10:19 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Gary real rustle some jimmies in his article on Wired 868 Sunday. He essentially say the army men who participated in the Black Power movement are not heroes but committed treason and are a disgrace. Needless to say he was bashed all over in the comments.

My understanding from one of the named individuals was that the officer class at that time was a WFT-just exploiting their offices ,abusing state resources, drunken parties DDI using CG boats etc.

They felt they were doing the right thing.

What was the result?
Was it a grab for power?

I think TnT society has stated what they think and moved on-GG should be so guided.

Shahs take on it.

http://www.trinicenter.com/1970/

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 10:30 am

if persons were wrong and still being given opportunities to bray then we do need to pull them up and call them up at all times

for example the media should never give bakr the celebrity status he enjoys
for over a decade everyday the papers headlines used to be crimes committed by “ex muslimeen”
yet they never take him to task on that but continue to treat him like a celebrity

Postby maj. tom » April 29th, 2020, 10:39 am

From the military stand-point, Gary is right. That was treason and the UK would have had a long history of such cases regarding the Irish Troubles and how they deal with treason. Which would have been taught at the Sandhurst Academy. From the civilian view in the day, they were heroes.

But there are so many other complicated factors to consider, which the law would have had to acknowledge when it was over. The global nature of the spirit of revolution at times were different in 1970 vs 1990. Civil Rights as well as a lot of Independence People's Revolution movements like Saddam and Ghaddafi were making news. Hence the difference between Abu and Shah. Those who did not live through the period and experienced POS riots directly really can't comment on the right or wrong of it. A lot of the population outside POS only experienced it through radio and newspapers and political platform persuasions and would have real limited and biased views of the whole situation.

Would like to hear some experiences of the tuners who experienced it though, and were aware of the deeper issues of what was going on in the country at the time.

Further reading for context: http://www.trinicenter.com/1970/Blackpower5.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Power_Revolution
https://wired868.com/2016/04/23/tts-197 ... -response/

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2020, 10:45 am

maj. tom wrote:From the military stand-point, Gary is right. From the civilian view in the day, they were heroes.

But there are so many other complicated factors to consider, which the law would have had to acknowledge when it was over. The global nature of the spirit of revolution at times were different in 1970 vs 1990. Civil Rights as well as a lot of Independence People's Revolution movements like Saddam and Ghaddafi were making news. Hence the difference between Abu and Shah. Those who did not live through the period and experienced POS riots directly really can't comment on the right or wrong of it. A lot of the population outside POS only experienced it through radio and newspapers and political platform persuasions and would have real limited and biased views of the whole situation.

Would like to hear some experiences of the tuners who experienced it though, and were aware of the deeper issues of what was going on in the country at the time.

Further reading for context: http://www.trinicenter.com/1970/Blackpower5.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Power_Revolution
https://wired868.com/2016/04/23/tts-197 ... -response/

Everybody's hero is someone else's villain
What matters is who wins in the end so the victor can lead the narrative

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2020, 4:17 pm

Police stop sale of pre-packaged doubles at service station

Police have stopped the sale of packaged ‘deconstructed doubles’ as well as other pre-packaged meals at a local service station due to the current COVID-19 regulations.

Andre James, Manager of St Christopher’s Service Station, said the doubles, which had been sold hot and packaged for safety, had been a hot seller but had to be stopped after officers visited them on Monday.

The service station was told by officers that the prepared meals, including their hot meals made in-house, were similar to what a restaurant would do and restaurant-type food was not permitted.

However, they were allowed to sell other Grab N’ Go items such as sandwiches.

James said although the development was disappointing, it showed that innovation is a good way to develop a product into something different while still maintaining health and safety requirements.

“In a way we helped ‘The Original Fat Boy Doubles’, who had a great idea, he was able to show that it is possible to diversify and adapt to a changing market.”

The doubles had been sold in a container with the bara and channa kept separate so that customers could assemble their doubles themselves, to maintain freshness. The meal also came with condiments.

James said that around 250 packages (about 1,000 doubles) were sold on Monday morning before the sale of the items were stopped.

He added that they look forward to health and safety regulations which would help to guide food preparation guidelines for restaurants during the post-COVID-19 phase, as everyone would need to adapt to the ‘new normal’.

“Everyone has to change the way they do certain things. From inception, we stood out in terms of our health and safety measures. We were one of the first service stations to offer customers disposable gloves to pump their gas and we have always kept a clean, friendly, and secure location."

He also thanked customers for their support.

“Most people on social media had a positive response and we appreciate their support, including our new patrons, as they always come first.”

The company later issued a statement via social media saying they were happy to comply with regulations and thanked 'The Original Fat Boy Doubles' for his innovative product.

National Security Minister Stuart Young told Loop News he was not aware of this specific incident but said in unrelated circumstances there have been reports of restaurants trying to sell meals via other measures to get around the COVID-19 regulations:

"I have been told that some restaurants are operating and claiming that they are selling pre-packaged food, curbside pick up, and even frozen food service, this is an obvious attempt to get around the regulations which clearly state that restaurants are supposed to be closed. Persons should not breach the regulations which are measures designed to protect the population against the spread of COVID.”

According to the latest COVID-19 public health regulations, Clause 5 states: "For the avoidance of doubt, street vending of food and beverages and all retail food services (including restaurants in-house dining and take-away services) except discount stores, markets, supermarkets, fruit stalls or shops, vegetable stalls or shops, bakeries and ‘parlours’ for the provision of food or other necessities or life, shall be closed for operation during the period set out in regulation 10.”

For more information on St Christopher’s Service Station visit them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/St.Christopherstt/

Source: https://www.looptt.com/content/police-s ... ce-station

Postby eliteauto » May 4th, 2020, 4:26 pm

May 4th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE

Commissioner of Police, Gary Griffith, has offered an apology on behalf of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, after police officers stopped the sale of pre-packaged food items at two establishments in Woodbrook today.
In the first instance, police officers stopped the sale of packaged "deconstructed doubles" as well as other pre-packaged meals at St Christopher's Service Station, Wrightson Road, Woodbrook.
Police officers also ordered the kitchen at Massy Stores Limited, French Street, Woodbrook, to be closed and that the sale of pre-packaged food items be stopped.
Commissioner Griffith said this was done in error. When he was made aware, the CoP reminded the relevant officers in the particular Division of the regulations of the Public Health Ordinance which allow for the preparation and sale of such pre-packaged items.
According to Regulation 10 of the Public Health [2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)] (Regulations, 2020), "street vending of food and beverages and all retail food services (including restaurants in-house dining, delivery and take-away services), except discount stores, markets, supermarkets, fruit stalls or shops, vegetable stalls or shops, bakeries and “parlours”, for the provision of food or other necessities of life, shall be closed for operation during the period set out."
CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS UNIT
May 4th, 2020

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 4:34 pm

I like the 280c ttps pic you have they

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2020, 4:37 pm

Court clothes... check