Rowlee Mudda song ...

Re: Rowlee Mudda song ...

Postby Rovin » January 4th, 2018, 12:01 pm

so ppl on fb saying making jokes how because is a song about somebody mooma is why they cancelled chutney soca monarch ....... :lol:

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2018, 12:16 pm

An idiot coulda see that coming

Rovin's Audio wrote:so ppl on fb saying making jokes how because is a song about somebody mooma is why they cancelled chutney soca monarch ....... :lol:

kstt

Postby kstt » January 4th, 2018, 12:56 pm

Chutney Soca Monarch cancelled. Considering the family connection with Southex and Faris and that Massive Gosein was allowed to register to compete; do you think this song was the main reason and not the reason given?

I think the government fearful the song catches on like "Bye Bye Kamla Bye Bye"

Postby hydroep » January 4th, 2018, 2:39 pm

"Rowlee Mudda Count" may have something to do with it but the Government would never admit to that.

In any case there's no stopping that song. Even mih usually clueless 80-year old neighbour knows about and likes it too bad. Right now it bigger than "Go nah, Manning go nah" and it's not even election season. I can see the opposition latching onto it when the time comes. "Massive" go be set for life by the time it runs its course.

Postby matr1x » January 4th, 2018, 3:05 pm

Cancel carnival on a whole

Postby The_Honourable » January 4th, 2018, 3:46 pm

kstt wrote:Chutney Soca Monarch cancelled. Considering the family connection with Southex and Faris and that Massive Gosein was allowed to register to compete; do you think this song was the main reason and not the reason given?

I think the government fearful the song catches on like "Bye Bye Kamla Bye Bye"

That was my first thought when i heard the news. Very high chance Massive would have won CSM 2018 wit that song. It's catchy and will grow on you. Don't think is THE reason but a major one.

If the economy goes further south, that song will be the anthem for 2018 till election season.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » January 4th, 2018, 4:44 pm

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2018, 4:55 pm

matr1x wrote:Cancel carnival on a whole
I second that.

Would be demonstration against the crime as well.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2018, 5:13 pm

sMASH wrote:
I second that.

Endorsed

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 4th, 2018, 7:03 pm

Cancel soca monarch abd carnival one time....what good for peter good for paul...u cant be one sided so...cancel everything

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2018, 7:22 pm

Cancelling CSM is a move in the right direction.
Paying persons millions to sing a bag of sheit

Postby mero » January 4th, 2018, 7:29 pm

Thinking you sound edgy cuz you say things like ban Carnival<<

Postby SR » January 4th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Should cancel soca monarch as well take the money and modernise dimache graaaa from black and white 50s to present day. The event and the commentry needs to go to pasture

Postby MaxPower » January 4th, 2018, 8:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
sMASH wrote:
I second that.

Endorsed

This is way forward.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 4th, 2018, 11:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
sMASH wrote:
I second that.

Endorsed

This is way forward.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2018, 3:36 am

Ppl now seeing the light that carnival is B.S. and a waste of money.

Bann carnival for a few years

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 5th, 2018, 5:53 am

All carnival does promote is more drinking and driving, even more robberies cuz men want $ for clothes and fete etc etc...people bawling is the greatest show on earth and one pack ah sheit....a handful of farrin ppl does visit and we make a big thing of it...

Is one set ah sufferers who does take carnival loan participate on mon and tues..people trying sell this product and is failure right through

Postby mero » January 5th, 2018, 9:12 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All carnival does promote is more drinking and driving, even more robberies cuz men want $ for clothes and fete etc etc...people bawling is the greatest show on earth and one pack ah sheit....a handful of farrin ppl does visit and we make a big thing of it...

Is one set ah sufferers who does take carnival loan participate on mon and tues..people trying sell this product and is failure right through
Explain how is it "failure right through"? On your logic bess we ban Christmas too

But ahhh yess, the I don't have any friends irl and I'm just too socially awkward and funny looking irl/daddy never let me go anywhere growing up, so I'll just try super hard to be that edgelord poster who classes everyone who likes or chooses to participate in Carnival activities and spend dey money how they choose as poor, dunce and suffering in an attempt to hide my inner insecurities crew.

Postby Les Bain » January 5th, 2018, 9:39 am

Are you a carnival promoter, mero?

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2018, 10:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All carnival does promote is more drinking and driving, even more robberies cuz men want $ for clothes and fete etc etc...people bawling is the greatest show on earth and one pack ah sheit....a handful of farrin ppl does visit and we make a big thing of it...

take ah bounce dey hoss ...... 8-)

Postby Rovin » January 5th, 2018, 10:59 am

but staying on topic if this song is not allowed then d CSM is a bigger waste than usual ......

Postby meccalli » January 5th, 2018, 12:22 pm

mero wrote:But ahhh yess, the I don't have any friends irl and I'm just too socially awkward and funny looking irl/daddy never let me go anywhere growing up, so I'll just try super hard to be that edgelord poster who classes everyone who likes or chooses to participate in Carnival activities and spend dey money how they choose as poor, dunce and suffering in an attempt to hide my inner insecurities crew.

You sound like you personally overcame such adversity to become a successful carnival participant. I would like to hear about the process involved.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2018, 12:36 pm

mero wrote:

Explain how is it "failure right through"? On your logic bess we ban Christmas too

But ahhh yess, the I don't have any friends irl and I'm just too socially awkward and funny looking irl/daddy never let me go anywhere growing up, so I'll just try super hard to be that edgelord poster who classes everyone who likes or chooses to participate in Carnival activities and spend dey money how they choose as poor, dunce and suffering in an attempt to hide my inner insecurities crew.
Mero,

Are you one of those folk who wish tobe seen in the popular fetes ?

Do women use you to get into fetes for drinks and food ect?

Postby mero » January 5th, 2018, 2:11 pm

Ahh the 2nr Edge Lord empire strikes back. Zoom ignore this post cuz you proudly hate Carnival and women for whatever hidden traumatising zoom reasons but idgaf

My like or dislike or Carnival is irrelevant. People are entitled to spend their money however dey like to get how much ever satisfaction they want. Just like almost every vice, carnival and feteing is dead money

Ent ppl vice is installing expensive hard pong which always need tweaking , fassing up yuh car, bulling hoes 3 times a week, travelling every year, buying the latest device every year, eating kfc and roti every day, smoking a oz of weed a week, liming and buying drinks anytime dey balls scratch?

So why the wish for once a year carnival where trinis actually tolerate and like each other to be banned? Does it make you edgelords feel more cultured and higher classed than Trinis who do? If you don't like carnival daiz u do something else

Or this is a subtle "a certain type of people does play carnival so lewwe ban it for the giggles " thing?

Postby maj. tom » January 5th, 2018, 2:23 pm

spot on comment! exactly right!

And people conveniently want to forgot history when they make such statements about banning things. Some people don't like a certain culture, so ban it! If it ain't your thing, well stay home and have a rest day. Lots of other people thrive on their social lives, that's their thing. We're discussing this exact issue in this entire thread about Freedom of expression and censorship, and then you see these very same folks calling themselves out in a different manner. So what they really believe in?

Also, every single country in the world has some sort of Carnival, whether it be Easter-associated or Summer-season associated.
Last edited by maj. tom on January 5th, 2018, 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » January 5th, 2018, 2:29 pm

Lol at the haters hating on carnival. Hoss i does party all over the world. Nothing compares to we carnival vibes. It’s something trinis can really be proud of.

What allyuh doing is typical of small minded selfish trinis. You seeing people having fun, and apparently that does get yuh vex. Them ppl hadda be dunce. Man grow up, there are tones of smart successful people partaking in the carnival.

And the man who think is a handful of people coming down. Hoss is tens of thousands of people coming down for carnival. Try booking a hotel for carnival weekend, them hotels jacking up their prices by 2-3x and they still getting booked out.

Carnival is best thing for we economy yet men wanting to ban it for a few years cuz of crime. Lol at that dotish correlation. It have crime because it have drug wars dude, nothing to do with carnival.

No but you hate carnival because you too beta to get a sweet wine.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 5th, 2018, 2:45 pm

You are very correct mero.

Ah have ah friend whose main income for the year is when carnival comes around because he is an ole mas organizer, trains moko jumbies and etc. Yeah he does guest lectures and participates in alot of other events but if he misses carnival he would be in trouble..

There are other aspects to carnival other than fete and thing.. allyuh wouldn't know because allyuh not involved in allyuh culture.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 5th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Daran wrote:Lol at the haters hating on carnival. Hoss i does party all over the world. Nothing compares to we carnival vibes. It’s something trinis can really be proud of.

What allyuh doing is typical of small minded selfish trinis. You seeing people having fun, and apparently that does get yuh vex. Them ppl hadda be dunce. Man grow up, there are tones of smart successful people partaking in the carnival.

And the man who think is a handful of people coming down. Hoss is tens of thousands of people coming down for carnival. Try booking a hotel for carnival weekend, them hotels jacking up their prices by 2-3x and they still getting booked out.

Carnival is best thing for we economy yet men wanting to ban it for a few years cuz of crime. Lol at that dotish correlation. It have crime because it have drug wars dude, nothing to do with carnival.

No but you hate carnival because you too beta to get a sweet wine.

What if I tell you that historically the Carnival period is not even in the top two biggest time for arrivals into Trinidad for the year??

Unlike the ones who calling for banning it, I don't mind it being around however when people make unqualified statements about Carnivals benefits it rankles me. Yes it generates some level of activity but no independent entity has ever done a true cost/benefit taking into account what Government really spends - security, infrastructure, loss of productivity, disbursements to various interest groups etc vs what income is actually derived.

Postby Les Bain » January 5th, 2018, 3:17 pm

mero wrote:My like or dislike or Carnival is irrelevant. People are entitled to spend their money however dey like

Your justification could stop right there and it would be fine.

What's odd is your specific profile of the people suggesting a Carnival ban. You seen a little short of accusing zoom and the like of posting in /hm/ and collecting anime. What's up with that?

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2018, 5:26 pm

Carnival does more harm than good.
Sure ppl make money from it.

The negative effects are unplanned pregnancy.
Dead money.
A carnival mentally all year round.
Angry ppl
Little kids learning to wine
Increased crime to run up to carnival.
A drop in productively
New diseases coming in
Fights and crime .