Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Morpheus » May 10th, 2016, 6:50 am

Valid. I catch meh tail with a manual car while wearing safety boots. Space and feel was real different. Had to take them off. Had no problem in an automatic

neexis

Postby neexis » May 10th, 2016, 6:52 am

TriP wrote:at Corinth - PBU 9797 driving at 50km in right lane

daas dais u?

BRZ

Re: 24/7 highway patrol

Postby BRZ » May 10th, 2016, 7:54 am

Said this countless times, ERECT 2 or 3 Security towers on the Beetham and Major North south highway with Direct Hotlines to them, Joint Army and police 24 hour Monitoring, Safer for everyone.

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2016, 7:58 am

Police leave the station, drive down the road and patrol. Its been going on forever. It's called patrolling a beat.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 10th, 2016, 8:00 am

I never say keep your opinions to yourself. Just... Make them more palatable nuh

And yeah I can understand safety boots with a manual. I don't know why y'all would even attempt that :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How many sigs y'all aiming for?

I think once it's reaches 10,000 suppose to be brought to parliament by the minister, but then again this is Trinidad.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:08 am

'If 50 per cent of the population are routinely breaking the law it's actually the law that needs looking at.'

Quote from the British transport minister as they are about to change their speed limits to 130 kph from 110 kph on their motorways.

Postby joker » May 10th, 2016, 9:41 am

Accident at 80kph just before Macaulay underpass....corolla...lady driver.

Postby desifemlove » May 10th, 2016, 10:03 am

PapaC wrote:Don't we have that already?

we don't. if you count police stopping for roti or doubles on highway then, no.

Postby desifemlove » May 10th, 2016, 10:04 am

adnj wrote:Police leave the station, drive down the road and patrol. Its been going on forever. It's called patrolling a beat.

How many they does ketch? how many people does get tickets? i hardly see police on the road, and only when dey does feel like it. or when fellas selling pepper roti on the roadside....

Postby BrotherHood » May 10th, 2016, 10:40 am

Like I lucky to not get caught yes. I does still cruise at my 100-110 km/h safely. That 80km/h is extremely slow, boring, and distracting as I have to constantly keep watching the speedometer. It also causes an uneasy and uncomfortable driving experience. Additionally, I have found that I tend to zone off while trying to drive at and below 80km/h. Did it last week and I cannot cope.
I hope the petition which I signed does have some effect on deliberations toward raising the maximum allowable legal speed limit.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 10:45 am

BrotherHood wrote:Like I lucky to not get caught yes. I does still cruise at my 100-110 km/h safely. That 80km/h is extremely slow, boring, and distracting as I have to constantly keep watching the speedometer. It also causes an uneasy and uncomfortable driving experience. Additionally, I have found that I tend to zone off while trying to drive at and below 80km/h. Did it last week and I cannot cope.
I hope the petition which I signed does have some effect on deliberations toward raising the maximum allowable legal speed limit.

Wait till they start checking areas with 50 kph limits. How will you ever manage to stay awake at that speed? Maybe you should travel?

Re: RE: Re: 24/7 highway patrol

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2016, 10:53 am

desifemlove wrote:
adnj wrote:Police leave the station, drive down the road and patrol. Its been going on forever. It's called patrolling a beat.

How many they does ketch? how many people does get tickets? i hardly see police on the road, and only when dey does feel like it. or when fellas selling pepper roti on the roadside....

Then you're talking about something other than adding police presence. You're talking about police not doing community patrols and improper management of the police constables by the senior officers.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 10th, 2016, 11:19 am

BrotherHood wrote:Like I lucky to not get caught yes. I does still cruise at my 100-110 km/h safely. That 80km/h is extremely slow, boring, and distracting as I have to constantly keep watching the speedometer. It also causes an uneasy and uncomfortable driving experience. Additionally, I have found that I tend to zone off while trying to drive at and below 80km/h. Did it last week and I cannot cope.

Same here. I does feel like I driving drunk and sleepy, drifting from side to side. Zero alertness and you have to keep checking vehicles, on your sides that not passing you.

Postby BrotherHood » May 10th, 2016, 11:44 am

Worse yet with that 50km/h. Tried it on the main roads. It is possible and quite comfortable according to the amount of cars on the road and the conditions at the time. However, at night at let's say on the Southern Main Road, Ariapita Avenue, Queen's Park Savannah for example, it is iritating and I suffer same problems as with trying to stay at and below 80km/h on the highway.

On one night while obeying the law and staying within the 80km/h limit from Valsayn to Mausica, policeman by himself in one of those Chevrolet Cruze vehicles, with no apparent emergency or flashing lights forced me to go into the middle lane as he rode my bumper and wanted to pass. Clearly he crossed 80km/h. After that I was like f**# this sh**.

neexis

Postby neexis » May 10th, 2016, 12:48 pm

Have you tried texting while driving or watching videos on YouTube? I have found these to be highly effective in keeping me awake on the road.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 12:58 pm

neexis wrote:

Have you tried texting while driving or watching videos on YouTube? I have found these to be highly effective in keeping me awake on the road.

Better yet pornhub on the road.

Postby DVSTT » May 10th, 2016, 1:09 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
neexis wrote:

Better yet pornhub on the road.

There's an idea.

Postby DVSTT » May 10th, 2016, 1:26 pm

drchaos wrote:'If 50 per cent of the population are routinely breaking the law it's actually the law that needs looking at.'

Quote from the British transport minister as they are about to change their speed limits to 130 kph from 110 kph on their motorways.

Thinking politicians do exist.

Postby nervewrecker » May 10th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Wait till they start checking areas with 50 kph limits. How will you ever manage to stay awake at that speed? Maybe you should travel?

Level tickets shared today in Mayaro for this.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:50 pm

In was doin 65 in a 50 zone and police cruze passed me normelz

redrum

Postby redrum » May 10th, 2016, 7:28 pm

What statistics or evidence is being used to determine that speed is the cause of road fatalities. I have also heard the Transport Minister say that the nations highways are not designed for speeds over 80km per hour. To me it seems as a desperate and foolish attempt to generate revenue at the expense of citizens...
Wouldn't it be ironic if more accidents are caused by people falling asleep at the wheel while driving at 80km per hour..

SRASC

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby SRASC » May 10th, 2016, 7:37 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:13 pm

Soooo first this guy reports that no one asked for the speed limit to be reviewed so he is not going to review it.

Now he says it is constantly under review and the are collecting data from speed camera's ... Yet when pressed about how old and relevant his "scientific data" is he starts dodging sensible questions and baffling people will bull$h!%

This is what passes for a politician in sweet T&T.

Also you can't use the fact that only 1 person has died since implementation of speed guns to justify this nonsense. its just been 1 week ...

SRASC

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby SRASC » May 10th, 2016, 8:49 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:54 pm

He probably drives a pickup lol

But here you have it folks ... sensible thinking from an expert.

Postby zoom rader » May 10th, 2016, 9:00 pm

I warned ppl that this government is one step forward and two steps back.

Welcome to 1969

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 10th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Lol@ all who say slow is more dangerous because you fall asleep, if you cannot concentrate while driving then you probably should NOT have a drivers permit.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 10th, 2016, 9:44 pm

Is Hinds the minister of Ambiguous terms and changing the subject?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 10th, 2016, 9:47 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I never say keep your opinions to yourself. Just... Make them more palatable nuh

And yeah I can understand safety boots with a manual. I don't know why y'all would even attempt that :lol:

Driving a manual with safety boots is doable..just takes some getting used to..slippers on the other hand..pressure..saw higher up that people were lane-blocking..not sure if anyone saw the posts on Facebook calling for pickup drivers to carry out a similarly coordinated activity on Friday in an attempt to frustrate people (and the powers that be, I guess) into raising the speed limit.