2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RASC » October 11th, 2015, 9:22 am

Its not only productivity.
The profile of the country will be significantly increased. Downstream industries to service and maintain the rail services... Reducing of the fuel subsidy further-reducing our carbon footprint... I mean the list goes on. Not in the mood to really extrapolate.

The mood I was getting from this convo was somehow setting a dead line as to when this will be paid off as if it were a house or something-so I just wanted to set the record straight. Don't think of it as that kind of investment...

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 11:27 am

RASC wrote:Sigh:

You guys need to take a minute and think about this.

Do you really think one of the main objectives for ticket pricing etc is to REPAY for the cost of the rail?

Which rail network y'all know that runs at a PROFIT?

The profit and advantages of such a system is to be felt in OTHER WAYS, y'all use some grey matter and figure it out.

London Underground and the many Private rail networks in the UK.
But then again those workers are productive and have little Government interference.

Racket Rail will be another Caroni, Wasa, CAL ect.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2015, 12:03 pm

Do we have any state enterprises that make money except for oil and gas?

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 12:17 pm

drchaos wrote:Do we have any state enterprises that make money except for oil and gas?

Only medical doctors whose education was funded by the government and now they raping the population with prices for their private practise and and mafia ransom when it comes to operations. Chaos I tell yuh!

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 12:21 pm

Daran wrote:Rasc, we all know the benefit is in reduced transport time leading to increased productivity(supposedly).

But the ticket cost should at least pay for its operating cost and maintainance.

Have recipients of political handouts ever paid for the cost and mtce of what they received - specific and general? Houses, roads, education, healthcare, transport, etc?

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 12:22 pm

drchaos wrote:Do we have any state enterprises that make money except for oil and gas?

NO,

That's why I always say, governments should not be running businesses.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 12:45 pm

RASC wrote:Sigh:

You guys need to take a minute and think about this.

Do you really think one of the main objectives for ticket pricing etc is to REPAY for the cost of the rail?

Which rail network y'all know that runs at a PROFIT?

The profit and advantages of such a system is to be felt in OTHER WAYS, y'all use some grey matter and figure it out.

meaning, that it would run at a loss just like other state owned companies, become too much of a burden for taxpayers to bare, and so we will then sprang it to someone else for 500million dollars and then, suddenly, like magic, they will be able to turn a profit. after they benefit from the free advertising, marketing and endorsement by the government over the years while under it's control, and thus be the controller of a major public resource. once it's privatised the new owner will now have major political clout being the controller of a major transport hub.

but future perception and conjecture aside. can the increase in transport efficiency of persons(not sure if rail can be used to transport goods as well), reduction in cars on the road and the gas they consume really bring any benefit to GDP? or will it just create a hole in the bucket scenario sucking more money in taxes than it generates? all to keep the works and infrastructure sector pumping?

have a great suggestion to keep the works and infrastructure sector really pumping.

pave all the fackin roads that need pavin!

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 12:50 pm

PNM have some weak budget Debaters, most of them can't even speak and reading fully from their speech writers.
PNM Will be hammered in any upcoming debates.

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2015, 12:51 pm

Like how PP get hammered in the elections? :wink:

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 12:55 pm

K74T wrote:Like how PP get hammered in the elections? :wink:

Don't worry when racket rail come u will end up eating grass and begging to get rid of PNM. Expect ur food bill to go up by 25% by end of year.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2015, 1:25 pm

York wrote:

Only medical doctors whose education was funded by the government and now they raping the population with prices for their private practise and and mafia ransom when it comes to operations. Chaos I tell yuh!

State education takes you through medical school then it stops there. What about cost of exams, travel expenses to do exams and courses, postgrad training costs and continuing medical education? All of this can rack up to hundreds of thousands of dollars in addition to years of putting off/taxing your family life, social life and sanity.
Next thing is why are doctors special targets in your rant? What about every single course offered under gate ...
What about lawyer's who charge thousands for a signature or who get paid millions of tax payer money in commissions of inquiry that result in no action being taken.
Every profession who benefited from free education in this country is free to set up their own private enterprise and set there prices ...

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 11th, 2015, 1:27 pm

NO,

That's why I always say, governments should not be running businesses.

True. Oligarchies, Cartels and Cabals should run business. Them know better.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2015, 1:49 pm

How about public and private partnerships!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 1:53 pm

drchaos wrote:How about public and private partnerships!

tstt

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2015, 2:42 pm

Racket rail would have support service industries, maintence, electrical, drivers etc. When the maxis and taxis go out of business, u have drivers unemployed, mechanics and their trades men unemployed, parts place buss, and the support food businesses to cater for them.

Essentially ur shifting the workforce to a different group of people. But, he support for the rail gonna employ less persons. I see it in the industry, for all the 10's of thousands of USd a day one plant brings in, only about a 60 locals on average need to support it. Sometimes u need more, some times like at night and on weekends and holidays u only need about 5.

Rather than have a system where many people can get a little employment and everyone ears little to live, we would have specialist labor with limited salaries.

The racket rail would be quite effective in moving people, but we don't have monies for that now.
With roads nearly any one csn use them at anytime to do anything to go anywhere. The usefulness and flexibility is tremendous. U have a lot of returns on investment there.
Racket rail, not so much as compared.... Compared.

At this time, while we get accustomed to low fossil fuel revenues, and higher cost of livings, lets keep the small men employees and eating. When we settle we could pay for racket .

Like the blimps. We don't have pipe dreams, we have blimp dreams.

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 5:24 pm

Dr Chaos,

I've made special mention of lawyers in my rants, maybe on other threads. Like Israel Khan and others who were paid $10M for "advice to the AG" on the Jack Warner extradition, WTH!!

Doctors on this thread was addressed to you specifically, you guys have hit it big. What is the current total value of cars you currently own? Always on the new car threads. Some lawyers make a shitload of money but doctors generally are far over paid. You want between $100-$500 to see a patient for 15 minutes. That's $400 to $2000 per hour, TAX FREE. Were it not for government allowing you to do this and insurances companies, this would have been more in check. Damn dregs of humanity...saving the lives of people my foot , more sucking blood. Vampires!!!

My son had an operation, was supposed to have been done in the hospital but was only being postponed. I took him privately to get it done, the estimate was $40k but went up to $45k when it was actually done. The insurance company estimated it should have cost $35k. So the doctor sucked $10k in blood. And they make sure to limit the number of operations in the hospital so this will occur. The surgeon charged for a 4 hr operation, $5000 per hour. Is that the going rate?

What say you?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 11th, 2015, 5:47 pm

sMASH wrote:Racket rail would have support service industries, maintence, electrical, drivers etc. When the maxis and taxis go out of business, u have drivers unemployed, mechanics and their trades men unemployed, parts place buss, and the support food businesses to cater for them.

eh ? You mean maxi men too stupid to ply the new routes to and from the rail stations ?

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Productivity not going to increase. Ppl will leave an hour later to reach to work for the same time...late.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 11th, 2015, 7:36 pm

York wrote:Productivity not going to increase. Ppl will leave an hour later to reach to work for the same time...late.

I think you'll find an extra hour's sleep plus not being stressed in traffic for two hours, does wonders for ones's productivity in work.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2015, 8:24 pm

York wrote:Dr Chaos,

I've made special mention of lawyers in my rants, maybe on other threads. Like Israel Khan and others who were paid $10M for "advice to the AG" on the Jack Warner extradition, WTH!!

Doctors on this thread was addressed to you specifically, you guys have hit it big. What is the current total value of cars you currently own? Always on the new car threads. Some lawyers make a shitload of money but doctors generally are far over paid. You want between $100-$500 to see a patient for 15 minutes. That's $400 to $2000 per hour, TAX FREE. Were it not for government allowing you to do this and insurances companies, this would have been more in check. Damn dregs of humanity...saving the lives of people my foot , more sucking blood. Vampires!!!

My son had an operation, was supposed to have been done in the hospital but was only being postponed. I took him privately to get it done, the estimate was $40k but went up to $45k when it was actually done. The insurance company estimated it should have cost $35k. So the doctor sucked $10k in blood. And they make sure to limit the number of operations in the hospital so this will occur. The surgeon charged for a 4 hr operation, $5000 per hour. Is that the going rate?

What say you?

Considering the stress they go through to study. 5000 a hour isnt enough

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 11th, 2015, 8:57 pm

Why are people so sure that increased productivity will be achieve with the Rapid Rail?

If you do want to increase productivity why not institute electronic time cards in public office and make your pay directly related to the hours of work much like the private sector?
Why not encourage the use of Flexitime systems that allow you to work from home of from a satellite office?

Look at PTSC....why is it they don't have a proper system of maintenance? The existing transit system seems to be very difficult to maintain...why are we burdening ourselves with another one?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2015, 10:13 pm

York wrote:Dr Chaos,

What say you?

What ah go tell yuh hoss .... deal with it!
:mrgreen:

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2015, 10:22 pm

So, he racket rail will come with its own new passengers?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 11th, 2015, 10:29 pm

Trinidad and Tobago is about big business and profiteering. .. people tend to believe in political parties but the science is political parties are basically well oiled pr firms designed to fool. .. follow the money trail and find out what is governance. .

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 11:11 pm

I have dealt with it, it's just money. Justice is another issue. So drive your fancy expensive cars but that's just not happiness. Time, freedom and leisure they dont have and money can't buy it for them. They are slaves to their profession. It must be really depressing to be in constant contact with sick, suffering people all the time.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 12th, 2015, 12:39 am

York wrote:I have dealt with it, it's just money. Justice is another issue. So drive your fancy expensive cars but that's just not happiness. Time, freedom and leisure they dont have and money can't buy it for them. They are slaves to their profession. It must be really depressing to be in constant contact with sick, suffering people all the time.

"So the doctor sucked $10k in blood" and then "it's just money" ...
Sounds like a tantrum, one minute the unhappy (slave to his money and profession) doc is taking what is most precious from you. Then its nothing really, just some old cash I had lying around.

From your statement doubt you have ever worked with the sick and/or suffering. You should try it, even if its voluntary or for profit. It is the most rewarding thing for your soul you can ever do!

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 12th, 2015, 12:59 am

Does the hypocratic oath mention money? Can anyone post it up?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 12th, 2015, 1:40 am

Money is sort of not really mentioned in the modern oath that doctors take now.

Old one was long and weird and made you swear on Apollo (sun god) and stuff, dunno if it mentioned anything about remuneration packages.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 12th, 2015, 3:13 am

If the pnm government serious,then they should launch investigation into all these corrupt unc personnel and try to recover all the squandered money. But it seems as if it a code amongst thieves and each term in power, one tries to steal more money than the previous administration

York

Postby York » October 12th, 2015, 10:06 am

UNC cyar beat back PNM - manning and Calder hart. why dont we deal with that first?