hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby pioneer » November 21st, 2013, 6:36 pm

From what I hear "hunters" does be providing protection for the weed planters and their fields.

None of them actually hunt.

Postby joker » November 21st, 2013, 9:27 pm

LOL..... I saw an Iguana bout 8lbs .....yesterday .....he suffered a broken foot ....but it still taste bess....and I saw a manicou ...last night ....but it was feminine ....so it will see the end of time...
Weed planters ....lol....hunters do not venture tru de fields.....

Postby 88sins » November 22nd, 2013, 9:06 am

joker wrote:LOL..... I saw an Iguana bout 8lbs .....yesterday .....he suffered a broken foot ....but it still taste bess....and I saw a manicou ...last night ....but it was feminine ....so it will see the end of time...
Weed planters ....lol....hunters do not venture tru de fields.....

:roll: :out:

GRIM

Postby GRIM » November 22nd, 2013, 4:05 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Close-eye-on-hunting-ban-for-Christmas-232931741.html

‘Close eye on hunting ban for Christmas’

Story Created: Nov 21, 2013 at 9:00 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 21, 2013 at 10:40 PM ECT
A series of operations would be implemented this Christmas to ensure the hunting ban is not breached, Minister of Water Resources and the Environment Ganga Singh said yesterday.
Singh said he could not divulge the precise measures which would be put in place.
He said since the ban had been imposed, Government had a cross-agency approach to implementation.
This included the use of Petrotrin police, Chaguaramas Development Authority estate police, Forestry rangers, game wardens and WASA estate police. He said further measures would be instituted during the Christmas season.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 22nd, 2013, 5:23 pm

Stay away from Edward Trace.

Place lock down tighter than a thong.

Postby joker » November 22nd, 2013, 5:46 pm

^^ there are other access routes ....lol.....

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 22nd, 2013, 6:06 pm

joker wrote:^^ there are other access routes ....lol.....

Trust me.
You dont want to go eeeeen. Are you Capt Cowlesser? 8-)

Postby joker » November 22nd, 2013, 6:10 pm

I was there...2times this week ....:???:

Postby pioneer » November 22nd, 2013, 6:23 pm

Delivering mail doesn't count joker

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 22nd, 2013, 6:25 pm

joker wrote:I was there...2times this week ....:???:

You passed through to go Goudron or Guaya?

Postby joker » November 22nd, 2013, 7:02 pm

I passed to collect packages....

avenall

Postby avenall » December 23rd, 2013, 12:43 pm

Is shooting crab with a pellet gun in a river or shooting fish with a pellet gun illegal

Postby joker » December 23rd, 2013, 3:52 pm

It illegal. I was now told so ..and I thought it was legal....

Postby desifemlove » December 24th, 2013, 9:25 am

So dey not importing from Guyana or wherever?

Postby j.o.e » December 24th, 2013, 9:54 am

So the wild meat from Guyana has a "Made in Guyana" tag?. If I get caught with it in my possession how do i prove it's imported?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » December 24th, 2013, 10:46 am

Joker you mind explaining, is it because of the ban or was it always like that.

[quote="joker"]It illegal. I was now told so ..and I thought it was legal....[/quote]

Postby joker » December 24th, 2013, 10:54 am

I am not sure ....but a CoP tell me that yesterday ....honestly I thought it was legal ...I will get comfirmation from game wardens 2moro ...

GRIM

Postby GRIM » December 24th, 2013, 11:02 am

it should be illegal, after all it will be like dumping lead into waterways

Sabot

Postby Sabot » December 24th, 2013, 11:15 am

joker wrote:I am not sure ....but a CoP tell me that yesterday ....honestly I thought it was legal ...I will get comfirmation from game wardens 2moro ...

Between the police and the game wardens the wildlife act and the amendments to same are a grey area it seems. No one seems to know anything much about when to charge or whats legal and what isn't. The amendments to the act forbids the hunting of any wildlife though since the three schedules were removed for two years. The schedules are what dictates what are classified as game animals, pests/vermin etc. Anything outside of that was illegal even without a ban. Crabs and fish are not affected by the ban since they may fall under the fisheries act and from there you may be guided accordingly.

Postby joker » December 24th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Game warden says it can go both ways ....if you in the mangrove or near a river. Where there are manicou and iguana ....and you have no crabs .....90 % u will get ur pellet gun siezed and you will be charged even if u dont have the carcass of the game ....

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 24th, 2013, 4:33 pm

The ban is needed. Trinidad has the longest hunting season on the world from what i was told.
People who are familiar with the forest and wildlife say that the population decrease of animals have led to inter breeding in mammals which have led to deformities and other issues within species.
Importing wild meat is a bad idea also, because who is gonna check to make sure that the animals killed didnt have any disease and its being imported to here for ppl to buy?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » December 24th, 2013, 10:15 pm

joker wrote:Game warden says it can go both ways ....if you in the mangrove or near a river. Where there are manicou and iguana ....and you have no crabs .....90 % u will get ur pellet gun siezed and you will be charged even if u dont have the carcass of the game ....

Fair enough, its illegal to be found on forested state lands with any device capable of killing animals. Blowgun included in the act too btw:lol:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » December 24th, 2013, 10:33 pm

trini mk5 wrote:The ban is needed. Trinidad has the longest hunting season on the world from what i was told.
People who are familiar with the forest and wildlife say that the population decrease of animals have led to inter breeding in mammals which have led to deformities and other issues within species.
Importing wild meat is a bad idea also, because who is gonna check to make sure that the animals killed didnt have any disease and its being imported to here for ppl to buy?

Like someone showed you a five legged agouti or something? What are the issues exactly you were told? Besides having a long season we also have plenty talk and no action especially when it comes to enforcing laws. A ban would not be required if the current wildlife laws were enforced. Under the current laws you can have guns, dogs, cars, boat or whatever seized and forfeited to the state if hunting illegally, have you ever heard of this being meted out? Everything about this ban is based on infactual incorrect data anyways and we would be no better off when its done since hunting is still happening. Men holding up manicou for sale normal in the east by the roadside. I called the hotline to report dogs chasing on my property..after five attempts someone answered and acted like i was bothering her...where they hunting?, how much people? what they hunting? how long they hunting? Better they ask me the dogs names too...i am also still waiting for someone to show up to check as promised. Look at whats happening with the oil spill. In another country ppl would have been fired or resigned and be charged even. Here however they will talk and pose for papers and countless dead fish and animals later when its cleaned up they will pat themselves on the back for a job well done and continue like normal. Yet they care about the environment /rant

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 25th, 2013, 12:09 am

Sabot wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:The ban is needed. Trinidad has the longest hunting season on the world from what i was told.

Like someone showed you a five legged agouti or something? What are the issues exactly you were told? Besides having a long season we also have plenty talk and no action especially when it comes to enforcing laws. A ban would not be required if the current wildlife laws were enforced. Under the current laws you can have guns, dogs, cars, boat or whatever seized and forfeited to the state if hunting illegally, have you ever heard of this being meted out? Everything about this ban is based on infactual incorrect data anyways and we would be no better off when its done since hunting is still happening. Men holding up manicou for sale normal in the east by the roadside. I called the hotline to report dogs chasing on my property..after five attempts someone answered and acted like i was bothering her...where they hunting?, how much people? what they hunting? how long they hunting? Better they ask me the dogs names too...i am also still waiting for someone to show up to check as promised. Look at whats happening with the oil spill. In another country ppl would have been fired or resigned and be charged even. Here however they will talk and pose for papers and countless dead fish and animals later when its cleaned up they will pat themselves on the back for a job well done and continue like normal. Yet they care about the environment /rant

Still dont see your point....but having talked to someone who is well informed about the hunting business and is also a game warden for chaguramas area (excuse the spelling) the amount of wildlife has dwindle by more than 60% over the last 20 years.
The reason why there were so few Game wardens is because the last administration got rid of them. I think there were 300 now there are something like 13 or so for the entire country. But this administration is supposed to re instate the original group plus they would be working with WASA police who can make arrest but cannot lay charges, they would detain then call in the game wardens to lay charges. Its a start and a welcomed start.
Say what u want.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 25th, 2013, 1:28 am

joker wrote:It illegal. I was now told so ..and I thought it was legal....

how could that be illegal?

konartis

Postby konartis » December 25th, 2013, 1:34 am

avenall wrote:Is shooting crab with a pellet gun in a river or shooting fish with a pellet gun illegal

its definitely not, and if joker say he talked to a cop and tell him that, then he need t back into training...

konartis

Postby konartis » December 25th, 2013, 1:37 am

Sabot wrote:
joker wrote:I am not sure ....but a CoP tell me that yesterday ....honestly I thought it was legal ...I will get comfirmation from game wardens 2moro ...

Between the police and the game wardens the wildlife act and the amendments to same are a grey area it seems. No one seems to know anything much about when to charge or whats legal and what isn't. The amendments to the act forbids the hunting of any wildlife though since the three schedules were removed for two years. The schedules are what dictates what are classified as game animals, pests/vermin etc. Anything outside of that was illegal even without a ban. Crabs and fish are not affected by the ban since they may fall under the fisheries act and from there you may be guided accordingly.

each set of laws has interpretation for the said act...that is what guides you....99% of game wardens haven't a clue about the laws....they just look to seize ur meat and sell it after...

Postby joker » December 25th, 2013, 4:43 am

konartis wrote:

lewwe go shoot some crab in woodland nuh ....?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » December 25th, 2013, 9:44 am

trini mk5 wrote:
Sabot wrote:

Still dont see your point....but having talked to someone who is well informed about the hunting business and is also a game warden for chaguramas area (excuse the spelling) the amount of wildlife has dwindle by more than 60% over the last 20 years.
The reason why there were so few Game wardens is because the last administration got rid of them. I think there were 300 now there are something like 13 or so for the entire country. But this administration is supposed to re instate the original group plus they would be working with WASA police who can make arrest but cannot lay charges, they would detain then call in the game wardens to lay charges. Its a start and a welcomed start.
Say what u want.

I kinda have a lil idea about the hunting business myself. Point is that they, the gov, can do what they want but without the willpower, proper planning and know how, all of which they are foreign to, enforcement of the latest and best laws will fail...such as the current ban. What they are good at is hiring friends and family to "eat ah food positions". A ban would be welcomed if it was justified, planned properly and was done in a way to ensure enforcement. For the last point you need buy-in from the stakeholders including hunters and poachers. Ask your partner where he was when every weekend of the closed season you could be hearing hounds chasing on the hills from on the trap n skeet range in tucker valley. What did they do about it? Did they make any attempt to apprehend and charge anyone or do they even know about it? I'm from the other end of the country yet I have heard and seen poachers in the closed season hunting with dogs in chag so please don't say they weren't aware. The CDA along with forestry do nothing to track and measure wildlife populations which is what the hog hugging minister is claiming to do now based on inaccurate data forms from forestry returned by hunters over the years. What your partner is telling you is based on nothing but speculation. In any event the NW peninsular is a wildlife reserve and hunters cannot hunt there so what is he saying? The amount of game wardens is 12 and it was earlier this year they attempted to recruit honorary game wardens. That figure was supposed to be about 300. I know of one right now with a lappe leg in his fridge....many others were complaining to the media about no stipends so we can see where the government willpower and environmental concerns lie.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 25th, 2013, 6:08 pm

joker wrote:
konartis wrote:

lewwe go shoot some crab in woodland nuh ....?

you have to understand that shooting of crab and fish is not illegal boy....as someone told you above, its having the weapons on the lands that are prohibited to hunting, even if you not hunting game/wild life....