2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Polydor

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby Polydor » October 2nd, 2012, 2:49 pm

toyolink wrote:The new Minister Of Finance clearly didn't demonstrate an ability to exercise critical thinking when it came to this particular adjustment.
A big banker and senior exe. don't have a gut feeling about being led down a flawed justification?
Why doesn't the gov't consider a regulated approach for the sale of diesel by issuing some form of licsence to qualify for subsidised prices with preference given to 'goods',public transport and heavy industrial vehicles and equiptment.This must be based on an application process with 'T' registration not facilitating automatic qualification.
Weed out the luxury liners!

^^^ to add to that all vehicles licensed with "T" plates should be charged a yearly fee for use of roads as they do the most damage.

my $0.02 :|

Postby pioneer » October 2nd, 2012, 2:53 pm

That would require them to actually THINK about a policy, why would they do that?

Postby toyolink » October 2nd, 2012, 2:56 pm

On a lighter note 'planass' comes in all different forms and clearly is abbrev. of 'plan the ass'.

Postby TRAE » October 2nd, 2012, 3:12 pm

Polydor wrote:
toyolink wrote:The new Minister Of Finance clearly didn't demonstrate an ability to exercise critical thinking when it came to this particular adjustment.
A big banker and senior exe. don't have a gut feeling about being led down a flawed justification?
Why doesn't the gov't consider a regulated approach for the sale of diesel by issuing some form of licsence to qualify for subsidised prices with preference given to 'goods',public transport and heavy industrial vehicles and equiptment.This must be based on an application process with 'T' registration not facilitating automatic qualification.

^^^ to add to that all vehicles licensed with "T" plates should be charged a yearly fee for use of roads as they do the most damage.

shoulda keep that 2cents to yourself or better justify your statements

Postby TRAE » October 2nd, 2012, 3:13 pm

tr1ad wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
the 43% increase in the price basically signals to super and diesel users....brace allyuh MC

re think that, if diesel goes up say by 100%.... who exactly feeling the full brunt of that, not the owners of such, would be everyone else

highway taxis go charge double

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 3:13 pm

TRAE wrote:
Polydor wrote:^^^ to add to that all vehicles licensed with "T" plates should be charged a yearly fee for use of roads as they do the most damage.

Oh GOARRRR.
he dunno about yearly inspection. low him nah.

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 3:32 pm

TRAE wrote:
Polydor wrote:

:lol: :lol: go easy na !

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 2nd, 2012, 3:34 pm

If wicked Patrick did this all now woulda be riot.

I like how people tightening they belt and just saying "wey we go do?" :|

All plebs get in allyuh section

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 3:41 pm

^^^Um...

Patrick did do this a couple years ago

Postby TRAE » October 2nd, 2012, 3:53 pm

sorry, i had chestburn there... back to the regularly scheduled program

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 4:01 pm

TRAE wrote:sorry, i had chestburn there... back to the regularly scheduled program

eh heh?
step into a freezer, lemme see the difference

Postby Morpheus » October 2nd, 2012, 4:39 pm

Morpheus wrote:My humble CK4. Rubbing shoulders with Audis and BMWs according to the PM. Therefore I can afford to pay the hike. :roll: Well yes.

I guess they have no clue about high compression engines. VVL, VVT, MIVEC, VTEC, GDI unite!! :lol:

IMG00577-20121002-1253.jpg

My bad with the +98 I mentioned earlier. Dunno where I got that :lol:

:| :cry:

Wha'm no love for the gdi folks :(

:lol: Hard luck man. I'm not familiar with GDI tech. :|

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 5:15 pm

orlyuh done yet? seven days pass? we gorne back to we droid self and paying the $5.75 yet?

Postby RASC » October 2nd, 2012, 5:25 pm

Toll Roads to be introduced?

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 5:30 pm

RASC wrote:Toll Roads to be introduced?

Heard something like that today.

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 5:32 pm

RASC wrote:Toll Roads to be introduced?

Yip!

Postby rfari » October 2nd, 2012, 5:33 pm

tr1ad wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
the 43% increase in the price basically signals to super and diesel users....brace allyuh MC

re think that, if diesel goes up say by 100%.... who exactly feeling the full brunt of that, not the owners of such, would be everyone else

**simultaneous forked lightning and thunder**

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 2nd, 2012, 6:08 pm

turboconch2 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Can somebody confirm for me the recommended fuel for a HR15DE engine, please?

Super from manual,90/91

That's not quite correct, that 90/91 octane they talking about? Is actually the AKI (Anti-knock Index), which is the average of the RON and MON.
So this AKI, is what's displayed on gas pumps in other countries. But in Trinidad, they only display the RON on the pumps.
So back to the point I was making.... What they calling premium in Trinidad, has a RON of 95, and an MON of 85...the average of these two figures is 90.

So there you go. You need the "premium" gas..

Hope I ain't confuse anybody :lol:

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 2nd, 2012, 6:11 pm

acesinghit wrote:if a vw gti still ran okay on the dyno with regular grade fuel vs the recommended premium grade fuel, a drop of a few hp and ft-lbs of torque is not all that bad, it means good news for vw owners in tt since most of the vehicles besides the diesel versions are simply 1.4 and 1.8 turbos.

Based on the article via link below, we would not encounter any problems with the switch to super.

http://blogs.insideline.com/roadtests/2 ... power.html

Don't confuse the AKI with RON. There's a big difference.

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2012, 6:32 pm

penal sando taxi prices already gone up, they all start working with premium unleaded.

I waiting to hear sando - pos price hike :lol:

Postby eliteauto » October 2nd, 2012, 6:57 pm

some Premium cars are not so Premium it seems

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 7:01 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
tr1ad wrote:we the members of the 6% taking premium to a new level yo!

Lmao according to kamla. Everyone in this thread with the exception of TRAE and nervewrecker drives an audi / BMW :lol:

so sorry..... apparently you didn't get the memo

WE are the 6% almera and lancer don't count...

premium thing yo

subaru
audi
bmw
benz
mazda
evo
range
Tiida
represent!!!

0X

So this list is actually accurate! :lol:

Postby tr1ad » October 2nd, 2012, 7:03 pm

need i say more

didn't put the tida cuz ..... well crossdrilled only premium by proxy

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 7:17 pm

Some of that info was retrieved from http://www.cars.com . Most US gas stations dont have 95 RON gasoline so it doesnt relate to cars which can be of different specifications.

In addition they refuse to include the year of manufacture for those models, which can range many different specs.

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2012, 7:30 pm

sooo, in 2013, WHEN the subsidies for the other fuels go up, what allyuh goh do den, run to the cng?

all the subsidies are being reduced, it just made public relations sense for the premium alone to be effective with the budget.

btw, prices would go up on every thing when the subsidies are removed, but it is necessary evil to be economically safer.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 2nd, 2012, 7:33 pm

ah boy!! ah could still buy meh fkn range rovah!!!!!

taxi drivers hadda be fkn mad to send up prices...

Budget 2k13....How the money was Divided...

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 7:40 pm

Share as needed...if repost..merge and stop whining...

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2012, 7:42 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:ah boy!! ah could still buy meh fkn range rovah!!!!!

taxi drivers hadda be fkn mad to send up prices...

nervewrecker wrote:penal sando taxi prices already gone up, they all start working with premium unleaded.

I waiting to hear sando - pos price hike :lol:

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2012, 7:46 pm

Question: Why have they been pushing CNG instead of LPG? Propane and butane in LPG would have much more energy than the methane you get in CNG so would be better for the small engined cars we have here.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 2nd, 2012, 7:47 pm

^^^pete if I were to tell you that more than 20 years ago I saw a youth man (back then) hook up ah lpg tank in he 120Y and was running that normal normal what yuh go say man? Back then I was like wtf?

yeah nerve, is that self I was referring to...them heartless....greedy fkrs will lose out more in the end...