the trick is to ask for the pieces without the piece of back and neck

so lets see the feasability of this and others

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby AllTrac » June 3rd, 2012, 12:55 pm

got this in pricemart for $92
80cals
13g of carbs, 4g of which is fiber, no sugar added.

If someone unwrapped this and gave it to me, by just the taste alone i would of thought that its some high cal unhealthy frozen treat, it tastes really good.
Remember the key is moderation.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 3rd, 2012, 9:08 pm

Another modification to alltrac's shake.

2 tbsp peanut butter (planters) @ 180 calories
1 cup skim milk - 110 calories
4 oz boiled beetroot @ 50 calories
1 cup ice.

The peanut and beet gave it an earthy taste, but it was really filling - plus the beetroot has its share of health benefits.

Necessity is the mother of invention aka I was out of bananas ;)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 3rd, 2012, 11:14 pm

what be the carb count in one ah dem shake?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 3rd, 2012, 11:18 pm

You taste the beet VD or it just adds colour and blends in with no flavour?

Also like a dash of cinammon or bitters in my punches.

Postby AllTrac » June 4th, 2012, 5:50 am

sounds good vexx dog, ill try it when i make my grocery run, i dont usually keep beet root.

~Vēġó~ wrote:what be the carb count in one ah dem shake?

Carbs
1 scoop designer whey - 2g
2 tbsp peanut butter - 6g
8oz milk - 12g
4 oz boiled beetroot - 2g
Total = 22g

Protein:
1 scoop designer whey - 18g
2 tbsp peanut butter - 8g
8oz skimmed milk - 8g
4 oz boiled beetroot - 1g
Total = 35g

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 4th, 2012, 7:06 am

Beetroot lends a very earthy flavour by itself.
It's not like the commercially available beetroot punches that are loaded with condensed milk and sugar.

If you've ever had boiled beetroot by itself, the punch tastes similar - which is why i chose to mix it with peanut.
Perhaps some natural fruit could have added some extra sweetness, maybe a banana beetroot punch?

Postby r3iXmann » June 4th, 2012, 7:30 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Beetroot lends a very earthy flavour by itself.
It's not like the commercially available beetroot punches that are loaded with condensed milk and sugar.

If you've ever had boiled beetroot by itself, the punch tastes similar - which is why i chose to mix it with peanut.
Perhaps some natural fruit could have added some extra sweetness, maybe a banana beetroot punch?

Beets are used to make sugar in some parts of the world

Postby AllTrac » June 4th, 2012, 7:55 am

i threw in some strawberry recently with the banana, tasted good.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 4th, 2012, 8:23 am

r3iXmann wrote:

Beets are used to make sugar in some parts of the world

yes, sugar beet around october/november time its harvested,
when you smell that you know that summer is truly over smells good though.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 4th, 2012, 10:54 am

Sugar beets are a relative of the blood-red beetroot that we use
Different composition in terms of sugar content etc.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugar_beet

icefox

Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Postby icefox » June 4th, 2012, 11:35 am

Can any one explain 2 me, how do u read an understand d nutrion facts dat is printed on d label of most food an drink packages. Like wen it say based on a 2000 cal diet and carbs is 22g - 5% an so fort, an sugar is dis an dat, u understand where I'm getting at, wat am I lookin for how am I calculating dis, plz help

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2012, 12:36 pm

icefox wrote:Can any one explain 2 me, how do u read an understand d nutrion facts dat is printed on d label of most food an drink packages. Like wen it say based on a 2000 cal diet and carbs is 22g - 5% an so fort, an sugar is dis an dat, u understand where I'm getting at, wat am I lookin for how am I calculating dis, plz help

The values are approximate and the percentages on the label are part of the RDA(recommended daily allowance). In your example that 22 g is 5 % of the amount recommended for normal daily intake.

Postby r3iXmann » June 4th, 2012, 1:27 pm

where sells almond flour besides vanilla bean?

Postby AllTrac » June 4th, 2012, 11:19 pm

Check xtra foods.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » June 5th, 2012, 8:57 pm

AllTrac wrote:btw, this weekend I made some chicken burgers using some grounded up chicken breast i tore up in the magic bullet. Added one egg to it,, cut up some mushrooms, green pepper, jalapenos, onion and garlic, dashed some seasoning in there. Mixed it all up and fried it in 2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Was extremely fulling without the guilt.

Just tried these, grilled instead of fried. Tastes great!!! Very juicy and not dried out at all. Good tip man.

Anyone was able to locate the boneless, skinless chicken breasts wholesale? Been looking around for these as well.

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2012, 9:23 pm

i jus boiled 125g of breast in salt and garlic tryin to force it down!!

what was your time like?
i made 27secs

Scoop

Postby Scoop » June 5th, 2012, 10:34 pm

chicken breast with just some jerk rub and blackpepper on the george foreman...twas good

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 6th, 2012, 10:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:i jus boiled 125g of breast in salt and garlic tryin to force it down!!

what was your time like?
i made 27secs

The trick to maintaining a diet is to make it sustainable.
If you have to force yourself to stick to it, you'll not last too long. Make little changes over time.
Boiled chicken? A little seasoning and creativity can go a long way without caloric overload.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 7th, 2012, 2:12 am

X why yuh have to force it down??? make the thing taste good nah man...I also use garlic but I add black pepper, basil, parsley, fine thyme, pudinah, salt, onion and ginger.....and it tastes damn good when it boil down.

Have to get me a grille though to change up the prep....

Postby X_Factor » June 7th, 2012, 10:29 am

i never liked the chicken breast....
and i dont have much time to grill and sear etc..
so its easiest to drop it in a small pot, put water, salt, garlic and seasoning and let it boil

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2012, 10:36 am

breakfast this morning:
3 egg whites
1 whole egg
chopped up some plemento and a cup of mushrooms
grated some carrots
shredded cheese
mixed it all up, threw in a couple dashes of paprika and salt
added 2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil in the frying pan
Fried it up.

Then fried up 3 slices of of extra lean turkey salami
for some added fiber I added 2 outter leaf lettuce and washed it down with a glass of water and orange flavor metamucil.

Very low carb count breakfast, fulling enough for me and has lots of protein and good fats.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 7th, 2012, 1:15 pm

I drink a Peanut Punch before every sweat as a meal replacement, but I think i'm having it too often. Tolerance getting a bit low on it. :(

Any other ideas as a meal replacement before cardio-like activity?

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2012, 2:13 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:I drink a Peanut Punch before every sweat as a meal replacement, but I think i'm having it too often. Tolerance getting a bit low on it. :(

Milo.
just buy one pack of the 250ml and try it before work out. Sometimes i take a pack before i do my jump training. It provides me with the right amount of carb/protein ratio (4:1) i need to get a boost of energy to do my plyometrics.

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 7th, 2012, 5:19 pm

good stuff here man, we r really becoming a more health conscience society...

Alltrac, the place in barataria i tink is Agards Nuts, he sells a wide range of nuts and seeds...on mornings the place is packed with nuts vendors who sell on the highway,so his prices r rel good...

gonna try that pizza out for sure, keep them recipes coming... :D

Postby De Dragon » June 7th, 2012, 10:05 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:I drink a Peanut Punch before every sweat as a meal replacement, but I think i'm having it too often. Tolerance getting a bit low on it. :(

Milo.
just buy one pack of the 250ml and try it before work out. Sometimes i take a pack before i do my jump training. It provides me with the right amount of carb/protein ratio (4:1) i need to get a boost of energy to do my plyometrics.

Supligen is full of calories/sugar etc. Try LIGHTLY sweetened Milo, or Ovaltine.

Postby sharkman121 » June 7th, 2012, 10:15 pm

De Dragon wrote:Supligen is full of calories/sugar etc. Try LIGHTLY sweetened Milo, or Ovaltine.

agreed, so is nestle peanut punch and choc nut. Your best bet is what i do have a protein shake drink everyday whey powder or casein. Very little calories and lots of protein.

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2012, 10:19 pm

AllTrac wrote:

Milo.

Supligen is full of calories/sugar etc. Try LIGHTLY sweetened Milo, or Ovaltine.

eh? who said supligen?