Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

DrunkenMaster16

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 17th, 2013, 1:50 pm

Too busy to care, Jack vs aunty kam kam. I will be arguing and fighting when they pull back out the bsl/ dog bill bullsh!t.. smoke and mirrors. Another day in the banana republic.

Postby sMASH » July 18th, 2013, 9:58 am

if the sole purpose of the insurance is to ensure that any person injured by a dangerous dog would get medical care, why don't we just pay additional health surcharge plans for each dog?

that way, the same medical care i am forced to pay for out of my salary, and must access unless i want to go private, is available to the person.

or, does clico get first dibs on dog insurance?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 20th, 2013, 2:22 am

Has any insurance company come forward to give an idea of what the premium for "Dog insurance" is going to be?

Why couldn't the insurance be included in the the $500 license fee? So you pay $500 to operate a 3000lb killing machine for 3 years, but you have to pay $500 a year to keep your dog - seems legit

Postby pioneer » July 20th, 2013, 9:31 am

I saw on a fb group someone said it mightttt be around $750 yearly

anilramlal81

Postby anilramlal81 » July 20th, 2013, 2:20 pm

what going on with this dog act now

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 20th, 2013, 2:39 pm

On the back burner as Jack has taken the spotlight... next fire truck / family, cousin, friend contract... usual bs they'll bring the act up again to steal the spotlight.

Basically it has passed and is waiting to be proclaimed, the ministers have been told the act is flawed. They are supposedly reading suggestions, talking to people etc to get info and or idea's to better the act. But same sh!t different day.

Don't study it, they cyah even enforce the cell phone law, seat belt law(child seat law), litter laws, turtle poaching, out of season hunting.... the list can go on and on and on...

Postby pioneer » July 20th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Meanwhile fishermen and lifeguards running a mock on turtle meat, outright disgusting chit goin on right now - nothing being done besides some idiot magistrate handing down $750 fines and business goes on as usual.

Also the Veterinary Association is distancing themselves from this entire thing, they want no part of being forced to certify the breed of any dog, and lineage is very subjective among MANY other issues they have such as not being consulted etc.

Postby toyolink » July 23rd, 2013, 9:55 am

ingalook wrote:Has any insurance company come forward to give an idea of what the premium for "Dog insurance" is going to be?

Why couldn't the insurance be included in the the $500 license fee? So you pay $500 to operate a 3000lb killing machine for 3 years, but you have to pay $500 a year to keep your dog - seems legit

I was advised by my homeowners insurance carrier that their is built in coverage capped at $250,000 which would respond to incidents within my compound.
The insurance exe. noted however that presently the local insurance companies are in discussions to figure out how exactly to tailor coverage which addresses the requirements of the 'proposed' law.
If the act is proclaimed at this time with the requirement of specified insurance cover,quite simply every owner would be in default.
I intend to write my insurer to at least demonstrate my intention to comply with the law and have a formal response which supports what I was told.
I suggest others the same course of action I am taking.

Wali

Postby Wali » July 25th, 2013, 2:40 pm

could someone shed some advice on the following:

I have a mixed Dog Rot and Pit i was told not sure, i tried calling to get insurance and i was told i have to cover the property.
The problem with that is they wont cover the place cuz the house is a semi wooden structure and the place is not mine i am renting.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 25th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Wali wrote:could someone shed some advice on the following:

I have a mixed Dog Rot and Pit i was told not sure, i tried calling to get insurance and i was told i have to cover the property.
The problem with that is they wont cover the place cuz the house is a semi wooden structure and the place is not mine i am renting.

Tie the dog to a tree in the middle of nowhere and leave......seems to be the latest trend. :|

Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Don't do anything, this bill will not become law any time soon.

Government has bigger problems to worry about at the moment.

Plus even IF it becomes law, they have zero means of proving your dog is mixed with pitbull.

Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2013, 9:49 pm

They are relying on Vets to determine and certify the breed of a dog, the Veterinary Association is in strong opposition to this as there is no way to determine the breed of a dog in Trinidad. They have outright said they are not certifying anything.

Relax yourself and go about your life.

Wali

Postby Wali » July 26th, 2013, 4:40 pm

TriniVdub the dog is a member of my fam so i am not goin to tie him and leave him.

Pioneer i read that article where the Vet association said that so i will wait a bit and see what happens. Thanks.

racebreed

Postby racebreed » July 27th, 2013, 9:46 pm

I have been listening to people say all kind of crap about pitbull,when ask if they ever own 1 No. I does shut them up immediately, because you can't judge something you never own or had hands on interaction with. I have 3 pit,one being a bully and the next 2 rednose, I don't care what people say pitbull are the best I love my dogs and they are the most loving animals to me and my family.my friends they would come and my dogs would play with them and they wouldn't even bother with people or who passing in the road. What i hate are those idiots who have the dogs and don't know how to treat them,socialise them,play with them or even have them sit watch TV with them. So guess peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all who really love their dog/dogs.

Postby gt4tified » January 17th, 2014, 4:43 am

Thread update....the promised amendment Bill was introduced in Parliament last Friday. For all who are interested, here is the link to the amendment bill:

http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/b2014h01.pdf

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 17th, 2014, 8:18 am

Guess they really trying to solve all the recent murders... this will cause law abiding citizens to become "criminals"... Great Job Powers that be, your making trinidad safer! No more dangerous dogs to shoot people daily...

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 17th, 2014, 10:45 am

So we have to go and register our dogs now?
How have my dogs made the list now?they are staffordshire bull terriers and they must be close to the only 2 on the island, they have lived here for 8 years of there lives they were 7 months and 19 months when they moved here with me.
they have never attacked a person or showed aggression ever.
so how can they be classed as dangerous.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 17th, 2014, 10:54 am

i still find it funny that most trinis don't even know what a pure pitt is
a man watch my apbt the other day and kill he dead is a pothound just because she doesn't look like this

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 11:07 am

Oh boy...look how bandits have open and free access to your premises now

“(3) Where a class A dog injures or kills a person or
animal or causes the death of a person or animal while on or
outside private premises, the Court may order the seizure and
destruction of that dog where the attack was unprovoked or
was encouraged or incited by another person to attack the
person or animal injured or killed thereby.”

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 11:30 am

Then it says

Section 20 of the Act is amended by repealing
subsection
(2) and substituting the following subsection:
“(2) It shall be a defence for a person charged with
an offence under this section to establish that

(a)
the other person was committing a criminal
offence against the person charged;
(b)the other person was committing a criminal
offence against the spouse, thechild or any other
person under the care of the person charged
;
or
(c)the person charged had reasonable cause to fear
an attack on himself, his spouse, his child or any
other person his care.”

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 17th, 2014, 1:54 pm

This is from the revised Dog Act for 2014,
SCHEDULE Class A Dogs
1.American Pit bull terrier
2.American Staffordshire terrier
3.Staffordshire bull terrier
4.Alano Español
5.American Bulldog
6.Boston Terrier
7.Bull Terrier
8.Cane Corso
9. Cordoba Fighting Dog
10. Dogo Argentino
11.Dogue de Bordeaux
12. English Bulldog
13. French Bulldog
14. Japanese Tosa
15. Perro de Presa Canario
16. Fila Brasileiro

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 17th, 2014, 4:11 pm

So

Our Gov't of Trinidad and Tobago has deemed

(boston terrier)

more dangerous than

(Rottweiler - thats not even on the list)

makes sense huh?

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 4:16 pm

Once Rotts and german shephards safe. Bess

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 17th, 2014, 6:19 pm

Bezman wrote:So

Our Gov't of Trinidad and Tobago has deemed

(boston terrier)

more dangerous than

(Rottweiler - thats not even on the list)

makes sense huh?

but bez they didn't hear about the blue bully killed by the golden retriever on cuavas???

Doberman's? Ridge back? German shepherds? Akita's? Sorry my dog is a rabbit unless the government does a dna test to prove he isn't bugs bunny's 12th cousin fifth removed.

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 6:21 pm

How much these people get paid to come up with this rubbish?

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 6:25 pm

Poor dogs yes...look how dangerous dem is nah

Postby pioneer » January 17th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Postby Spitfir3 » January 18th, 2014, 2:09 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:This is from the revised Dog Act for 2014,
SCHEDULE Class A Dogs
4.Alano Español
5.American Bulldog
6.Boston Terrier
7.Bull Terrier
8.Cane Corso
9. Cordoba Fighting Dog
10. Dogo Argentino
11.Dogue de Bordeaux
12. English Bulldog
13. French Bulldog
14. Japanese Tosa
16. Fila Brasileiro

wow what a failure of a list...it might be easier to fine a diamond in the ground than some of those dog breeds listed....not to mention one of those breeds is extinct and a couple are relatively harmless

but i guess this explains why i see rottweilers by nearly every ones house now

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 18th, 2014, 5:53 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
TrinbagoMan wrote:This is from the revised Dog Act for 2014,
SCHEDULE Class A Dogs
4.Alano Español
5.American Bulldog
6.Boston Terrier
7.Bull Terrier
8.Cane Corso
9. Cordoba Fighting Dog
10. Dogo Argentino
11.Dogue de Bordeaux
12. English Bulldog
13. French Bulldog
14. Japanese Tosa
16. Fila Brasileiro

wow what a failure of a list...it might be easier to fine a diamond in the ground than some of those dog breeds listed....not to mention one of those breeds is extinct and a couple are relatively harmless

but i guess this explains why i see rottweilers by nearly every ones house now

Not to mention minister glen (who is a vet) family used to bred them, and still owns them.

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Aren't some of those dogs extinct?

Like people just need 5 CXC to work in the AG office?