THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 22nd, 2013, 3:09 pm

8030 days alcohol free (not counting cough medicine)
6935 days smoke free (not counting second hand smoke)

I see lots of men smoking mentholated cigarettes. Since when "ladies cigarettes" have become so popular?

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2013, 3:21 pm

You mean menthols? Or u mean those zero-nicotene menthol flavoured clove cigs?

Honestly though, I think you truly quit when you stop counting.

pluggie

Official Quitter Support Thread (Smoking, Drinking )

Postby pluggie » October 29th, 2013, 4:20 am

yo 2nrs

I've been smoking for over 18 years now and tried to quit several times but never got past one month...
There are lots of methods out there that claim to help like patches, ecigs, pills etc etc etc ...
I've been using a pill called champix for about 3 weeks already and stopped after the fourth day... It’s a wonderful pill except there are some very facked up side effects which usually goes away after the first week...

Smoking and alcohol addiction is a very serious thing and should be treated similarly to the addiction of the stronger drugs... Don't want to create a long write up; everyone on 2nr knows the effects of these substances and the dangers of it...

Are there other guys on tuner which have stopped smoking / drinking or want to stop ? Please post what methods worked for you and state your challenges...For the guys that tried different things and no success please state your experiences....

Note- This is not a thread for quitting pulling skin, taking plick in yuh battam etc so if thats your addiction please create another ched :D :D :D

nismaniac

Re: Official Quitter Support Thread (Smoking, Drinking )

Postby nismaniac » October 29th, 2013, 4:42 am

My ole drinkin padna Vega should have some tips. He stopped a few yrs back and going strong.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 29th, 2013, 4:55 am

stopped drinking for about 4 years when I was in early 20's but started back a few years ago... I never had a drinking addiction or anything but just decided to stop anyways... you would never catch me drinking during the week nor would you catch me drinking by myself lol... My only drinking problem is that when I go out planning to have a few beers (4-6 drafts) it always keeps extending to about 10 drafts and more... lol ...

Postby joker » October 29th, 2013, 6:53 am

Champix?... will that work for marijuana?

and what are the side effects?

Postby K74T » October 29th, 2013, 7:04 am

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » October 29th, 2013, 8:05 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:8030 days alcohol free (not counting cough medicine)

Not counting bay-rum as well huh?... :lol:

I agree with Hook on the counting thing...

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 29th, 2013, 8:32 am

if mods can merge please merge, didn't mean to create unessary threads ...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 29th, 2013, 8:34 am

pluggie wrote: My only drinking problem is that when I go out planning to have a few beers (4-6 drafts) it always keeps extending to about 10 drafts and more... lol ...

The only problem i see you have there is not being realistic.
How can anyone say they going to have ONLY 4-6 drafts??

Is ewe crazee?

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 29th, 2013, 9:28 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
pluggie wrote: My only drinking problem is that when I go out planning to have a few beers (4-6 drafts) it always keeps extending to about 10 drafts and more... lol ...

The only problem i see you have there is not being realistic.
How can anyone say they going to have ONLY 4-6 drafts??

Is ewe crazee?

Thats the target I set when going out with the wifey for dinner and a few castle drafts :) Its usually planned to be a quite evening then suddently turns out to be beerfest lol...

When the intention is meant to be beerfest then thats a different story :lol: :lol: :lol: ... 4-6 drafts is just to get the piss flowing lol

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2013, 10:59 am

:lol: well the thread isn't about drinking, but I hear you on that oui

You'll feel you only going for a beer and yuh riding out quick.
Suddenly is "ear nuh, yuh cyar stannup on one foot inno", and is another.
Then a nex man buy a rounds and is another.
But yuh cyar drink a odd number, so is another...and so it goes.

It all starts off when the will is weak eh.
I know how it is, so when I know I just killing time, I have just one or two if d ole talk sweet, have a water, and roll out. Not even enough for a buzz, far less a piss. The important thing is that you self-regulate.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 29th, 2013, 11:05 am

I dont go into a bar expecting NOT to drink - more than i planned on drinking.

Only way to stop smokking is to stop.

We all have the power within us to do it, it's a question of if you're ready to.

Al them patches, aides,etc., is an illusion to make yourself believe that you're trying to give one a feeling of self satisfaction that you've tried.

IMO

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » October 29th, 2013, 4:50 pm

A close family member of mine in his early forties had smoked for about 25 years...many times tried to quit over the years as they all do..till he got the ultimate wakeup call...a heart attack.. He was attended to immediately thank God. He got over the worse from after going to heart doctors..angiogram and eventually stent surgery, which were by no means cheap by any measure.

He ended quitting cold turkey by force and is in better health overall by incorporating a healthy new lifestyle..though he has to take all this heart medication now...Plavix etc, etc.

As Red Sleeper said, Only way to stop smoking is to stop.

Because where he may have been "lucky" to see another day, you may not be...

And in the same way, you might get "knocked down"..it isn't easy as getting right back up...u may have to suffer for it for a long time...

I'm sure you don't want to have you and your family go through that.

Peace.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 30th, 2013, 1:40 am

For sure guys (Red sleeper and Turbo M) You really need to make up your mind to want to stop. A lot of times people try to stop but deep down inside don't really want to stop (if that makes sense) so you always go back to smoking eventually..
In my case what drove me to attempt quitting this time around ; went to play indoor soccer with some youngsters in my area a few weeks ago and for the first time in my life I felt like I am loosing breath, felt like I'm burnt out and all the other lame feelings... A few years ago (3-4) I would go off the field at half time take a smoke and run back on normal normal... Even as a teenager and in early 20's in Trinidad I was very involved in soccer and cricket and never was fitness an issue with me... I know I'm getting older and this stuff is common but your boy join MMA classes and started taking pills to quit smoking the next week lol..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 30th, 2013, 7:09 am

787 days smoke free.....

ModMania

Postby ModMania » October 30th, 2013, 7:31 am

Pluggie

What pills u taking?

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 30th, 2013, 7:44 am

ModMania wrote:Pluggie

What pills u taking?

champix

Not sure if this particular brand is available in Trinidad , I bought it in South Africa but I'm sure there is better brands available in Trinidad, you just need to find out from your doctor..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 30th, 2013, 8:11 am

pluggie wrote: A lot of times people try to stop but deep down inside don't really want to stop (if that makes sense).

Makes more sense than ppl realise!!! :(

Postby Sky » October 30th, 2013, 12:46 pm

The physical addiction is nothing compared to the psychological.
I call BS on physical withdrawal symptoms. If anything, your body's glad that's over.

Srs question tho.
When I go places where I can't smoke for over 6 hours or so, apparently the extra newfound oxygen gets me kinda.......... high. Any way to deal with that?

Postby Hook » October 30th, 2013, 1:32 pm

Stay high.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 30th, 2013, 1:32 pm

Dont go to places that you cant smoke and worse yet, for more than 6 hours.

Postby pioneer » November 7th, 2013, 10:33 pm

So cig prices have gone up drastically

Dunhill lights from $24 to $28

After this pack I done.

Postby joker » November 7th, 2013, 11:04 pm

Marijauna demand will go up in the comming weeks ....man saying no roll on ....fat man/ spliff only

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 8th, 2013, 1:19 am

pioneer wrote:So cig prices have gone up drastically

Dunhill lights from $24 to $28

After this pack I done.

WTF soo expensive !!! whats the price of du maurier now ???
if I remember correctly I think i paid $20 or $21 last year when I came home...

Postby desifemlove » November 8th, 2013, 7:20 am

lulzz..

Hitler back from the dead and lives in Trini?

let people smoke nah man....

Postby sharkman121 » November 8th, 2013, 7:26 am

Ok, day 1

Postby Hook » November 8th, 2013, 9:37 am

Welcome, sharky.