Re: BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Postby Yorkshirelass » July 21st, 2011, 10:22 am

TTASA's constitution is
TTASA Management

it's individual
financial members

Affliate member groups
(eg: TTUNDRA/ V8 club/ TTRA?)
(not sure what role TTASA trustees play in this system)

Ideally it should be

TTASA Management

eg: TTKA/TTRC/CARS/TTORMAT/ASA/TTMF
(2 Members from each Exec)

Individual Members

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 21st, 2011, 11:21 am

professor wrote:'Oh and by everyone joining we (TTRC and TTKA) have to give up our NSO status, something we have actually worked damn hard at maintaining so don't think the TTASA executive is the only ones giving something up for the benefit of others' Quote from rcadiz.

Please tell me I have the wrong information, I don't want to think that Robert, who I normally would believe is "spinning" words.

I was told that the MSYA lawyer has admitted that the Rally Club and the Karting club were made NSO's in error, as, they are not affiliated to the International body (As reqd to be an NSO) and would only remain so for the rest of the financial year, then the only NSO would be TTASA. Is this true Robert, or did someone lie to me ?

NSO Situation

Professor thanks for the confidence that i do not spin words and usually my statements can be taken as facts.

TTRC - NSO for Rally since 1986
TTKA - NSO for Karting since early 2000's (under Roger Boynes, when Gary Hunt was President of Karting)

It is fact that the MSYA has admitted 'now' that appointing more than 1 NSO for motorsport was in fact not the right way to go. What was probably left out of that conversation however is the fact that the Director of Sport has said that the TTRC and TTKA have both done justice to their sporting disciplines since being appointed, and are considered by the Ministry to be examples to other NSO's. Also by removing NSO status from TTRC and TTKA, that there is a major risk of these sports suffering unless an equal and fair solution is adopted at the top. The MSYA WILL NOT SIMPLY REMOVE NSO STATUS AT THE END OF THE YEAR. THIS WILL ONLY HAPPEN WHEN WE ARE ALL IN AGREEMENT If it was so simple as some have suggested than don't you think the NSO situation would have been dictated by the MSYA already?

MSYA Sport Code - It is stated that in order to be an NSO you are required to have affiliation to the World Body (or an international equivalent of sorts). In our case it is the FIA. There is no debating who the ASN is so the answer is yes (and i have stated it before) that the MSYA wants everything under 1 NSO. This is what we are in negotiations for.

However we will state again for everyone to read:
- The Organizations TTRC, TTKA, and CARS are good run outfits that have been more stable than TTASA administratively, and have produced quality championships in the last 5 years and counting. This at a time when TTASA has endured complete turmoil at the top (3 Presidents in the last 4 yrs, infighting, resignations, AGM's with no quorums, this one not talking to this one, having to bring lawyers into meetings etc. etc.). These are simply facts - this is not bashing anyone but people need to admit that there has been trouble in TTASA for a number of years recently.

Why then must we join as affiliates, have no voting rights and have to answer to an Executive that we did not have any choice in determining? Our organizations have proven track records with transparent administrations, and we have earned the right to have a say. Furthermore our organizations represent the majority of competitive members right now so why would we not be allowed to have representation at the top.

professor

Postby professor » July 21st, 2011, 12:07 pm

The MYSA cannot dictate who is the NSO for motor sport, TTASA is the only one affiliated to the international body; FIA.
Yes, I agree with what Robert said about the state of TTASA for the past few years, however, I think the problem was compounded by people working in the background; Gary Hunt, both before and during his short lived political life. This is the real culprit, hopefully, his last political act was walking on the highway to oblivion.
Let me comment on one more thing, some of the same past TTASA presidents who have been called all sorts of names by prominent promoters, are now seem to be hand in glove in assisting the said promoter, any comments Rawle? God did say we need to forgive.
I would let you know when I forgive Gary Hunt for what he did to Motor Racing.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 21st, 2011, 12:10 pm

Question:
In its present set up how can TTASA consider itself to be representing all of motorsport, if there are no representatives from all the disciplines of said motorsport at top level assisting in decision making?

Haven't the TTRC and TTKA and CARS not earned a right to have a say as to how we move forward?

Does TTASA think we are incompetent or that they know what's best for our disciplines and speak on our behalf to the MSYA and other authorities. I will give you an example - At the last FIA/NACAM conference when the discussion of a Regional NACAM Karting Race of Champions was suggested, the hosts asked all the delegates what classes of Karts are run in each island. Trinidad's response was 'all classes', evidently TTASA executives were not knowledgeable enough to speak on that. In addition when we were breaking off into groups to discuss regional motorsport, TTASA says that there affiliate for Rallying (TTRA - a navigational and fun rally association) is not here so a discussion on rallying would be impossible. Imtiaz is a friend but i am sure even he would be laughing at the prospect of being asked to discuss a regional Stages Rally Championship with Barbados and Jamaica. And of course this was said while i am actually present at the meeting. And this is not sour grapes, it is simply me telling you all what actually happened as recently as March of this year.

Of course you are probably going to see a response from TTASA saying that i had no business being at the meeting because i am not FIA, etc. etc. etc. fact is i was invited and had the permission of the head of NACAM to attend, even if it was just as an observer.

My point is - We would be a lot better off as a country if TTASA just admits that we can add value to top level motorsport by being allowed representation.

Postby tr1ad » July 21st, 2011, 12:12 pm

rcadiz wrote:Question:
In its present set up how can TTASA consider itself to be representing all of motorsport, if there are no representatives from all the disciplines of said motorsport at top level assisting in decision making?

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 21st, 2011, 12:24 pm

professor wrote:The MYSA cannot dictate who is the NSO for motor sport, TTASA is the only one affiliated to the international body; FIA.
Yes, I agree with what Robert said about the state of TTASA for the past few years, however, I think the problem was compounded by people working in the background; Gary Hunt, both before and during his short lived political life. This is the real culprit, hopefully, his last political act was walking on the highway to oblivion.
Let me comment on one more thing, some of the same past TTASA presidents who have been called all sorts of names by prominent promoters, are now seem to be hand in glove in assisting the said promoter, any comments Rawle? God did say we need to forgive.

Thanks Professor, i think both you and i have come a long way and have established a mutual level of understanding on the issues.

AutoSport has been the topic of much discussion and unfortunately the issues that continue to plague the relationship between ASPL and TTASA are more of a personal nature than an administrative one. Its been a long history of right and wrong doings on both sides.

Question again - The issue with Gary Hunt has also been a long tainted one for TTASA, food for thought however - if TTASA was not a 'members club' and was an actual Governing Body with an Appeals Court put in place to settle inter-club and member grouses, then Gary would have taken his case to the Circuit Racing Body, not against TTASA as the host of the racing. TTASA would have been the mediator as the governing body. This is part of the problem when you have the governing body hosting events. Yes there would have been problems but probably nowhere near the courts if the governing body was in a position to act neutrally and step in as the appeals court.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 21st, 2011, 1:05 pm

professor wrote:Let me comment on one more thing, some of the same past TTASA presidents who have been called all sorts of names by prominent promoters, are now seem to be hand in glove in assisting the said promoter, any comments Rawle? God did say we need to forgive.

My critical comments were on the issues. That being addressed, we move on, and even worked together when requested, for the interest of the sport. But let us also observe, said past presidents and management members being thrown in the doghouse as soon as the new team took office. Is this a standard rule? Why are members resigning? And I would repeat what one PP said in my presence and the presence of two other PP, did this new team work real hard to undermine all of the recent PP?

sparky

Postby sparky » July 21st, 2011, 3:20 pm

I think the real problem is ONE OF TRUST AND ONE OF CONFIDENCE can you guys find a new platform that is neutral to all,where trust and confidence could grow .

link

Postby link » July 21st, 2011, 3:37 pm

rcadiz wrote:
professor wrote:The MYSA cannot dictate who is the NSO for motor sport, TTASA is the only one affiliated to the international body; FIA.

Thanks Professor, i think both you and i have come a long way and have established a mutual level of understanding on the issues.

AutoSport has been the topic of much discussion and unfortunately the issues that continue to plague the relationship between ASPL and TTASA are more of a personal nature than an administrative one. Its been a long history of right and wrong doings on both sides.

Question again - The issue with Gary Hunt has also been a long tainted one for TTASA, food for thought however - if TTASA was not a 'members club' and was an actual Governing Body with an Appeals Court put in place to settle inter-club and member grouses, then Gary would have taken his case to the Circuit Racing Body, not against TTASA as the host of the racing. TTASA would have been the mediator as the governing body. This is part of the problem when you have the governing body hosting events. Yes there would have been problems but probably nowhere near the courts if the governing body was in a position to act neutrally and step in as the appeals court.

:roll: :roll:

link

Postby link » July 21st, 2011, 3:37 pm

AutoSport wrote:
professor wrote:Let me comment on one more thing, some of the same past TTASA presidents who have been called all sorts of names by prominent promoters, are now seem to be hand in glove in assisting the said promoter, any comments Rawle? God did say we need to forgive.

My critical comments were on the issues. That being addressed, we move on, and even worked together when requested, for the interest of the sport. But let us also observe, said past presidents and management members being thrown in the doghouse as soon as the new team took office. Is this a standard rule? Why are members resigning? And I would repeat what one PP said in my presence and the presence of two other PP, did this new team work real hard to undermine all of the recent PP?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 21st, 2011, 3:49 pm

Link will forever remain in never never land, and hopes to keep everybody there, so that some silly person can believe that it MUST take seven years to form a federation.

And Sparky you are right, it is a matter of Trust and Confidence and I say loudly the majority has neither Trust nor Confidence in this current TTASA management - did any of us outside cause the recent resignations of two management members?

How can you Sparky have Trust and Confidence when to this day you cannot get any confirmation of the grand event carded for next weekend at Camden?

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » July 21st, 2011, 4:06 pm

link wrote:
AutoSport wrote:

What a sensible responces from the Vice President of TTASA.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 21st, 2011, 6:28 pm

AutoSport wrote:.....I say loudly the majority has neither Trust nor Confidence in this current TTASA management....
I can only speak for myself. I have neither trust nor confidence in TTASA (the organisation itself, not just the management)! TTASA in it's current form is incapable of operating as a proper NSO. TTASA is not representative, it is not accountable and it's management structure is questionable at best.

As for the drag racers. Those whom I have been in recent contact with are willing 'to sacrifice' their long term goal (getting a permanent, properly run 'home'), just to have 'a place to race now!'
In 2008 when I boycotted an event because I didn't believe we (the drivers) were being fairly treated (a position shared by many at our informal meetings in Freeport) I was looked upon with scorn and contempt. I was told in no uncertain terms by my closest associates (also drivers) that 'I am not a true racer!' They continued on, stating "A true racer will only want to race, no matter what! Once we have a place to race that is all that matters!" Three years later and I have received apologies from all these persons. But it seems as if nothing has changed. The carrot is again being dangled in front of the horse and the horse has begun to walk... right off the edge of the cliff.

Russellgold

Postby Russellgold » July 21st, 2011, 9:29 pm

so is on d 29th the racing begins
4 nites of pure street lagal cars

link

Postby link » July 22nd, 2011, 1:41 am

AutoSport wrote:Link will forever remain in never never land, and hopes to keep everybody there, so that some silly person can believe that it MUST take seven years to form a federation.

And Sparky you are right, it is a matter of Trust and Confidence and I say loudly the majority has neither Trust nor Confidence in this current TTASA management - did any of us outside cause the recent resignations of two management members?

How can you Sparky have Trust and Confidence when to this day you cannot get any confirmation of the grand event carded for next weekend at Camden?

AutoSport wrote:

That being addressed, we move on

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 22nd, 2011, 9:26 am

dragaholic wrote:
link wrote:
AutoSport wrote:

What a sensible response from the Vice President of TTASA.

smell

Postby smell » July 22nd, 2011, 9:38 am

Man should change he name from link to blink yes......

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 22nd, 2011, 10:39 am

lmao.

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » July 22nd, 2011, 11:27 am

In the words of the Vice President

"‎30/31Jul is definately OUT as of now....after strategy meeting tonite, will post details....sori folks...but, on the bright side...little more time to fine tune things :)"

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » July 22nd, 2011, 12:05 pm

So its not official as everyone's saying races on the 30/31st? The wait continues once more.....
Back to street racing for others i guess

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 22nd, 2011, 2:33 pm

Probably just a gimmick/scam to get people to join ttasa?

Postby wagonrunner » July 22nd, 2011, 2:48 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Probably just a gimmick/scam to get people to join ttasa?

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 22nd, 2011, 3:27 pm

Yorkshirelass wrote:In the words of the Vice President

"‎30/31Jul is definately OUT as of now....after strategy meeting tonite, will post details....sori folks...but, on the bright side...little more time to fine tune things :)"

have faith guys... something will come up to unleash the beasts!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 22nd, 2011, 4:38 pm

JoeBama wrote:
Yorkshirelass wrote:In the words of the Vice President

have faith guys... something will come up to unleash the beasts!

:lol: it'ss friday, i not even going to bother to try to paint the bigger picture for ya hahaha

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 22nd, 2011, 7:12 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 22nd, 2011, 8:54 pm

I think they have nothing... show us something in writing and confirm that TTASA has Camden for motor racing.. Plz any TTASA member show us some proof... because talks are you guys have nothing and just playing the game of jump on my ship and try to keep us afloat...

Postby tr1ad » July 22nd, 2011, 9:17 pm

nah allyuh eh need that... join up with them quick so you all can race

i swear i hearing flute music in the background somewhere

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 22nd, 2011, 10:59 pm

bahahahaha

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 22nd, 2011, 11:51 pm

Is CARSTT Affiliated with TTASA..??

professor

Postby professor » July 23rd, 2011, 8:04 am

southside crew wrote:I think they have nothing... show us something in writing and confirm that TTASA has Camden for motor racing.. Plz any TTASA member show us some proof... because talks are you guys have nothing and just playing the game of jump on my ship and try to keep us afloat...

TTASA in a real catch 22 situation, if they hustle to pull off a meeting and something happens, woe be on them, now they trying to put things in place, meet all the requirements for a meeting, is a set of fight down, men want to see documents etc.

I remember signing up for an event that did not come off due to the non approval by police, I accepted the promoters explanation, other people said it was because they could not get insurance. Whatever the reason, it did not come off, end of story. I am sure I had more authority to ask to see the insurance, as I paid my entrance fee, more so than a lot of people who are not members of TTASA or even went to the meeting where the details of the document were read out.
I find this thing real simple, if Autosport, TTASA, or whoever have a race meeting and you don't like them, don't go.
If people paid the same critical attention to the politics of the country, we might not be squabbling over a track right now.
And on the lighter side; If men paid attention to their women, a lot of them might not have time to fight TTASA, or get horn.