***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Xplode

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby Xplode » July 25th, 2013, 11:31 am

Fuzzle wrote:Oblivion was really good movie as well 8-)

yes loved this movie ,and ending scene
"firetruck you sally"

Postby X_Factor » July 25th, 2013, 12:04 pm

goalpost wrote:Only God Forgives:

1. Interesting characters, yet we get to know very little about them.
2. Some very vicious violence I've seen in a while
3. Minimal storyline and dialogue.
4. The familial relationships are quite disturbing.
5. I loved it completely.

started to watch it, felt like i was watching an indian movie
didnt bother to finish it

legend

Postby legend » July 26th, 2013, 12:44 am

just got home from watching the conjuring. Apart from typical trinis laughing and talking during a horror it was very well done; a mix of everything. If i had watched this alone on my screen at home i probably would have been feeling not the same after all that madness :skurry:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 26th, 2013, 9:46 am

see they banned this movie from a few countries: MANIAC with Elijah wood...they saying its to graphic..

Postby dougla_boy » July 28th, 2013, 11:40 am

Saw pacific rim at IMAX yesterday. Was besssssss. Them action and the 3D was awesome!

Postby A172 » July 28th, 2013, 1:14 pm

cot damn dat Pacific Rim

these feels

Postby A172 » July 28th, 2013, 1:21 pm

this scene in imax

jesus man

Postby shogun » July 28th, 2013, 7:52 pm

A172 wrote:cot damn dat Pacific Rim

these feels

8-) 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2013, 9:37 am

A172 wrote:this scene in imax

jesus man

nice shot....

Postby goalpost » July 31st, 2013, 11:54 pm

Not sure how many people on tuner are really into documentaries and dramatic films on the whole. I do try my best to see pure drama films, especially those released later in the year, since their quality are way better since Academy Awards "season" begin late in the year. Documentaries are more a catch and a miss most times, as I realize my patience with them is short.
Anyways, I caught two documentaries these last few days:

"56 Up"...Very intriguing premise. It started with 7 Up in 1964 and presented a group of children and their very different lives in England. Then it went to 14 Up in 1971 which presented these same group but their lives 7 years later. Now it's 56 Up and they're pretty much 56 years old. Not all have participated, I understand. The film as a stand alone isn't really impressive. I think watching all films would have more of an impact on me. But I do think the premise is pretty interesting and I will try my best to see all the films and make a better analysis of these films.

"Stories We Tell" - quite frankly the best film of 2013. It's directed by Sarah Polley and features quite an intimate account of her childhood and life on the whole. The film isn't fully a documentary since there is some recreation but still it stands as quite a very impressive film. It mightn't work for those who don't know Polley. But since her appearance in some 90's films like "The Sweet Hereafter" I considered her quite a talented actress. Then she turned to directing and churned out a damn brilliant film "Away From Her" and an almost as impressive "Take This Waltz". I guess the film resonated with me, because of the talent I know this young woman has. It's quite an emotional film and one that remains with me. Didn't think the film would've had this kind of impact on me, but say what it did.

Just my account of two very different films I saw over the past few days.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2013, 7:20 am

eet have ah nat geo thread and discovery ched^

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2013, 9:56 am

saw 2 guns,not bad....rel corruption in da movie doh...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2013, 9:56 am

saw 2 guns,not bad....rel corruption in da movie doh...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 9th, 2013, 7:18 pm

I enjoyed Oblivion...both the movie and soundtrack.

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Saw 2 Guns tonight, was real good, a must see.

Gawddamn Paula Patton's titties!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 11th, 2013, 1:48 am

off to google paula patton's titties!!!!!!!!

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » August 11th, 2013, 7:18 am

The Conjuring
A really good horror in a very long time >>>>

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2013, 9:27 am

K74T wrote:Saw 2 Guns tonight, was real good, a must see.

Gawddamn Paula Patton's titties!

nice titties indeed :D

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2013, 7:37 pm

Sooo nobody want to rate elysium ?

Saw it today in an empty imax. It was like the movie didn't stop. Just kept building and building. They managed to make a man seem like a monster.

The ease at which they portray the multi facet-ness of the characters is astounding , while still ramping the story and pace.

I realize now what makes Neil blombkamps story telling unrelatable for many people

Postby shogun » August 12th, 2013, 7:45 pm

Only hearing good things about Elysium. Can't wait to see it.

Postby ismithx » August 12th, 2013, 8:44 pm

good good.... now i know what to watch tomorrow lunchtime

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2013, 11:55 am

looking forward to escape plan...old heads again..

Postby Dizzy28 » August 14th, 2013, 12:54 pm

sMASH wrote:Sooo nobody want to rate elysium ?

Saw it today in an empty imax. It was like the movie didn't stop. Just kept building and building. They managed to make a man seem like a monster.

The ease at which they portray the multi facet-ness of the characters is astounding , while still ramping the story and pace.

I realize now what makes Neil blombkamps story telling unrelatable for many people

So it is not for the demographic that goes in the cinema and ploi and plax for the action?....Nice will take in in this weekend.

Postby dougla_boy » August 14th, 2013, 1:06 pm

So it is not for the demographic that goes in the cinema and ploi and plax for the action?....Nice will take in in this weekend.

he have a certain them he does portrait in he movies.

iicr he did District 9 and that was damn good

Postby ismithx » August 14th, 2013, 2:09 pm

co-signed. its the way his films make u think about humanity and their behavior

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2013, 7:25 pm

There is enough action to pacify that demographic
Leaving the cinema after district 9, I saw people who seemed to not know what they had seen.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 14th, 2013, 8:24 pm

<=xjemler=> wrote:The Conjuring
A really good horror in a very long time >>>>

No.

Postby 1UZFE » August 15th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Just saw "The Iceman" was a very good.
He was a rel gangster.....

Postby X_Factor » August 15th, 2013, 10:12 pm

saw a movie called TRANCE
its not bad

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » August 16th, 2013, 12:12 pm

The Conjuring was worth a watch
Trance was also a good watch
But I totally recommend Ghett'a Life (Jamaican)