Val

Re: Anybody into watches?

Postby Val » April 8th, 2014, 11:08 am

They are not the only watches that allow band replacements

Postby Monk BANzai » April 8th, 2014, 6:43 pm

...watching all dese Sawatee collections here.... lemme try ah ting.... meh humble collection of watches (mostly gifts to me). Only purchase is the Invicta with the Orange face. Have another one in a yellow box. And i does rock a Kenneth Cole as meh daily.

Did find a cheap watch box pon the Amazon Christmas dey..so i put all meh ghifs in one box now.

doh be too harsh eh...im a virgin.

:oops:
watch box.jpg

aidan

Postby aidan » April 26th, 2014, 5:58 pm

the nautica in the top row second from the left real sweet!

Anton

Postby Anton » June 11th, 2014, 10:44 am

Hey fellas, trying to decide on a new everyday beater. I'm in the field often and need something that can take some abuse. My budget is around $300 US
My two final contenders are:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000EQU15O/ref ... QL5MUY7ML0

and

http://www.amazon.com/Casio-PRG250-1B-B ... 0&sr=1-306

Opinions?

Val

Postby Val » June 11th, 2014, 10:59 am

What features do you need?

Anton

Postby Anton » June 11th, 2014, 12:59 pm

Basic time. The instrumentation stuff is great but I have specialized equipment with me to cover that most of the time.( the ABC sensors are nifty though. Lol) Need something that will stand up to slogging through the swamp, hiking through forests and exposure to seawater. It also has to look presentable enough for the occasional meeting.

Val

Postby Val » June 11th, 2014, 1:11 pm

The seiko skx 779 with metal strap is perfect for that, but the citizen will hold up well too except the rubber strap over time will fail. If you are going to be in briny water a lot I suggest going titanium, depending on your budget you can look at Casio oceanus

Anton

Postby Anton » June 11th, 2014, 1:33 pm

^^ I was considering the Seiko "Black Monster", it is an excellent contender. Aesthetics wise it closely resembles the edifice I currently use daily. The Oceanus is out of my price bracket right now though.

Val

Postby Val » June 11th, 2014, 2:22 pm

It's a very tough watch, I hike with it a lot. Only thing is that the bezel gets hard to turn in Sandy water, so tough to time yourself.

Val

Postby Val » June 11th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Consider also the Orient mako or ray

Postby rollingstock » June 11th, 2014, 10:07 pm

Anyone ever used one of the Casio solar watches? If, are they reliable?
Thinking of purchasing one for work.

http://www.amazon.com/Casio-AQ-S810W-1A ... port+watch

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 12th, 2014, 12:39 am

damn good price

Postby rollingstock » June 12th, 2014, 2:00 am

^ It is, may just buy it for the price.

Postby Redman » June 12th, 2014, 7:32 am

Yes
I have the gw3000 since 2010 NO ISSUES-I changed the band last week

Its accurate and its a g shock-caught my son pounding a 'nail' with it and it hasnt given any issues.

It will last long because when you put it down after a while it stops.
Conserving battery life until you pick it up.

As you pick it up it resets to the correct time and date.

So its a great primary wear watch

Val

Postby Val » June 12th, 2014, 8:03 am

That's not a gshock. It has tough solar movement which is different, it self corrects ever so often to ensure alignment of hands. But that watch appears to be a decent buy.

Postby ismithx » July 13th, 2014, 5:12 am

rollingstock wrote:Anyone ever used one of the Casio solar watches? If, are they reliable?

I actually just got one eh

the black and orange version. looks nice on my (small) wrist, as it is nicely slim for a watch of that size. And it's pretty light as well. Mine came dead in the box and it took half a day to charge tho

10/10 no regrets

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 13th, 2014, 6:22 am

I got A 3230 g-shock frogman since 2010. Never changed battery or took it off and it never gave any trouble

Val

Postby Val » July 13th, 2014, 7:29 am

Just ordered an eqs500db1a1. Lowest price its been on amazon for a while

Postby ismithx » July 13th, 2014, 7:38 am

looks sweet but too complicated

Val

Postby Val » July 13th, 2014, 8:06 am

Lol. You should see some of my others then. Image

Postby rollingstock » July 13th, 2014, 8:42 am

ismithx wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Anyone ever used one of the Casio solar watches? If, are they reliable?

I actually just got one eh

the black and orange version. looks nice on my (small) wrist, as it is nicely slim for a watch of that size. And it's pretty light as well. Mine came dead in the box and it took half a day to charge tho

10/10 no regrets

Ordered 2 through Raptor, collected Thursday. Really light and comfortable and fits my small frame just right, I have a G-shock over 10yrs and wore it about twice, felt like strapping my laptop to my wrist.

I can be a little less cautious at work now, at $400 a pop no big loss if it get damaged, still mourning the damage done to my old watch, but my fault going to work with a genuine Sunborn :(

Postby ismithx » July 13th, 2014, 9:50 am

yeah, the watch is so light that once it's charged, I'll wear it all day even when I'm home

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 13th, 2014, 11:27 am

whats the word with armitron watches?...

Postby ismithx » July 13th, 2014, 12:53 pm

the sport watches look fresh enough, but I don't like their interfaces

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 13th, 2014, 4:58 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:...watching all dese Sawatee collections here.... lemme try ah ting.... meh humble collection of watches (mostly gifts to me). Only purchase is the Invicta with the Orange face. Have another one in a yellow box. And i does rock a Kenneth Cole as meh daily.

Did find a cheap watch box pon the Amazon Christmas dey..so i put all meh ghifs in one box now.

doh be too harsh eh...im a virgin.

:oops:

nice...i also hav my own collection but not good enough to post here 0X

killercow

Postby killercow » July 13th, 2014, 5:18 pm

I'm looking to buy a new watch.
Does anyone know of a reliable brand watch with the following specifics:

Silver analog
Glow-in-the-dark (radium hands)
Day & date @ 3:15
Waterproof

Any suggestions will be helpful.

Val

Postby Val » July 13th, 2014, 5:26 pm

killercow wrote:I'm looking to buy a new watch.
Does anyone know of a reliable brand watch with the following specifics:

Silver analog
Glow-in-the-dark (radium hands)
Day & date @ 3:15
Waterproof

Any suggestions will be helpful.

Ball

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » July 13th, 2014, 7:32 pm

One of my classic styles.

TISSOT COUTURIER AUTOMATIC
IMG_0181.JPG
IMG_0180.jpg

kstt

Postby kstt » July 14th, 2014, 8:34 am

where in Marabella/Gasparillo or environs I can get a watch battery changed?

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:42 am

where can i buy watch batteries for my calculator ?