The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Re: The Deals Thread (Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Christmas,

Postby pete » November 5th, 2013, 9:39 am

Logitech Folio for iPad.. think I'll get that for my dad yes.

*edit* Wait.. that starts in 17 mins, thanks for the heads up!

Postby DFC » November 5th, 2013, 1:29 pm

guys is end of this month too late to order my christmas gifts from amazon?

Postby pioneer » November 5th, 2013, 1:34 pm

Not really, once it reaches your skybox there are like 3-4 daily flights from MIA to POS.

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2013, 6:42 pm

I see best buy will have a 55" LG tv for $500

if that is dropped off at a skybox bound for trinidad

will the local custom officers end up valuing the tv for the usual price of 1k plus usd?

Postby S_2NR » November 18th, 2013, 6:53 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:I see best buy will have a 55" LG tv for $500

will the local custom officers end up valuing the tv for the usual price of 1k plus usd?

most likely yes.
they would think u doctor the invoice aka being a smartman.

Postby AllTrac » November 18th, 2013, 8:28 pm

make sure yuh take out yuh insurance for the entire trip for the full amount eh, I know real bad mind loaders. Hear men who working dey talk about them thing like is ah joke for them.

Ah eyeing a canon g10 handycam, hoping it would drop at least 100-200us on black friday

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2013, 9:12 pm

there are other alternatives, check PAS cargo, amerijet, caribbean shipping agencies for something that large/heavy

Postby Trini Hookah » November 18th, 2013, 9:17 pm

AllTrac wrote:make sure yuh take out yuh insurance for the entire trip for the full amount eh, I know real bad mind loaders. Hear men who working dey talk about them thing like is ah joke for them.

Ah eyeing a canon g10 handycam, hoping it would drop at least 100-200us on black friday

Now THAT is camera..

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2013, 8:27 am

any good deals yet

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 22nd, 2013, 12:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:

most likely yes.

This is what most people do! Somebody right by me here doing that ever since, then the "duties" always working out to be so much less.

That whole system is a big sham and full of corruption (just like every other system in this country).

But what's new!

Postby pioneer » November 22nd, 2013, 12:41 pm

How to doctor an invoice?

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2013, 12:47 pm

if i buy something on sale but the invoice has both the sale & original price how does customs calculate duty/vat? on the sale price or the original price?

Postby pioneer » November 22nd, 2013, 1:06 pm

Most retailers just invoice the price you paid

Postby cinco » November 22nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

pioneer wrote:Most retailers just invoice the price you paid

most customs officers just charge you the price they feel

Postby pete » November 22nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

Invoice would look something like this

Customs should just charge duty on the final price

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2013, 3:06 pm

Amazon have some laptops with windows 7 ( doh like windows 8 ) so might buy 1 if they have Black Friday sale

Postby wagonrunner » November 22nd, 2013, 3:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:

most likely yes.

price paid on an invoice > the value of an item.

They have to go with the invoice cost. which is why so many redact their invoices.

Postby pete » November 22nd, 2013, 3:15 pm

Not always. They can assign any value they want. They can use the invoice as a guide but if it's really much lower than they think it should be they can either look up the price online or just use a higher value.

Postby S_2NR » November 22nd, 2013, 3:17 pm

S_2NR wrote:

most likely yes.

price paid on an invoice > the value of an item.

They have to go with the invoice cost. which is why so many redact their invoices.

Lol @ u saying customs has to do anything

Postby wagonrunner » November 22nd, 2013, 3:22 pm

pete wrote:Not always. They can assign any value they want. They can use the invoice as a guide but if it's really much lower than they think it should be they can either look up the price online or just use a higher value.

That doesn't make it the (price i paid) which is the only price I'm paying duty on (according to the law). Has nothing to do with the value of what is purchased, just the price paid for it.
I have in the past told the skybox i'm not paying because the duty on the item exceeded the cost I paid for the item. And suddenly customs figures got reworked on the spot to my invoice price.

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2013, 4:11 pm

pete wrote:Not always. They can assign any value they want. They can use the invoice as a guide but if it's really much lower than they think it should be they can either look up the price online or just use a higher value.

customs doh know about black friday prices or wha?

http://247wallst.com/special-report/2013/11/19/the-nine-best-deals-on-black-friday/3/

1. Element 50” 1080p LED HDTV
> Pct. discount: 61.8%
> Retailer: Target
> Black friday price: $229.00
> Was: $599.99

Target plans to offer the Element 50-inch flat-screen TV at a more than 60% discount, which constitutes savings of nearly $400. According to Gottadeal.com, 50-inches is the new “sweet spot” for TV display size. The same TV is available at Wal-mart, which also offers a smaller-sized 40-inch Element for considerably less, $178.

Read more: The Nine Best Deals on Black Friday - 24/7 Wall St. http://247wallst.com/special-report/201 ... z2lPItXo9J
Follow us: @247wallst on Twitter | 247wallst on Facebook

Postby pioneer » November 22nd, 2013, 5:57 pm

Hopefully if pios gets into customs he can link up all his tuner bros

For a price

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » November 23rd, 2013, 6:41 am

pioneer wrote:Hopefully if pios gets into customs he can link up all his tuner bros

For a price

:mrgreen:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » November 23rd, 2013, 6:56 am

pioneer wrote:Hopefully if pios gets into customs he can link up all his tuner bros

For a price

under cover bjs? i hear leggo lips does make toes curl.......

Postby Trini Hookah » November 23rd, 2013, 9:06 am

shaq090 wrote:

For a price

Is only so much man yuh could really like inno

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 24th, 2013, 1:26 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

For a price

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 24th, 2013, 6:17 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

For a price

Somebody wants u all for himself....:?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 24th, 2013, 9:01 pm

when does the sale begin? or is it one day only?

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2013, 9:42 am

^ d real day is this Friday 29th Nov. but some would start giving deals before