PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » September 18th, 2010, 10:27 am

gracen wrote:The GTX 295 discontinued????

can't seem to find it on newegg or amazon

Yeah ebay is the place to look for one. Though discontinued they still kick A$$.

I have a EVGA Co-Op version mehself. It real nice.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 18th, 2010, 10:54 am

Virus wrote:Saw a couple on ebay get yourself a paypal account and fall in the mix 8-) Or beg a certain other man in the thread for his to buy

*sigh*

comparing the gts 295 to the gtx 480

they are both powerful, with the 295 having a slight power advantage..

the noticeable difference wud be the texture and detail quality, the gtx 480, or all fermi cards for that matter are DAMN CLEAN!! my goodness!!!!!!

http://techgage.com/article/taking_a_de ... itecture/2

hence why i ended up with 2 gtx 480s

Virus

Postby Virus » September 18th, 2010, 1:24 pm

Chiney we cant compare those two cards mainly cause of the senario we are dealing with

I recommended a dual gpu card to replace the fact of having a main gpu and seperate physx card since gracen was about to waste time and money with 3 x cards which in turn would not function efficiently when more funding could be put towards maybe a better mobo and a single gpu in the hopes of selling later and upgrading to 2 x cards running at 16x.

Yes a 480 would blow a 295 out of the water because of the cleaness because at the time of the 200series cleaness wasnt a big deal it was about fps which brought along the sli battles and questions like would 2 x 280's be faster than a single 295 or 2 x 260 C216 being faster than 1 x 285

But what the heck i like that comparison old school vs new school and they still holding there own. So that means U ready to sell the card ?

BTW i going with a 470sc and a c216 as a physx i didnt see the need for a 480 just yet

Postby Morpheus » September 18th, 2010, 3:02 pm

Not trying to turn this into a NFSU2 thread eh. But anyone tried this method? pLAN. I tried it and it works. I tried the tunngle thingie and didnt get through.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 3:16 pm

yea i already got a paypal account ill check ebay

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 3:21 pm

like i reply a lilll to late i shudda refresh page first

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Virus wrote:Chiney we cant compare those two cards mainly cause of the senario we are dealing with

I recommended a dual gpu card to replace the fact of having a main gpu and seperate physx card since gracen was about to waste time and money with 3 x cards which in turn would not function efficiently when more funding could be put towards maybe a better mobo and a single gpu in the hopes of selling later and upgrading to 2 x cards running at 16x.

Yes a 480 would blow a 295 out of the water because of the cleaness because at the time of the 200series cleaness wasnt a big deal it was about fps which brought along the sli battles and questions like would 2 x 280's be faster than a single 295 or 2 x 260 C216 being faster than 1 x 285

But what the heck i like that comparison old school vs new school and they still holding there own. So that means U ready to sell the card ?

BTW i going with a 470sc and a c216 as a physx i didnt see the need for a 480 just yet

What you're saying there is very correct, i was going to waste time and money iza a good thing i found out about the X4 slot, thought i could have done Physx with it like hardwarecunuks said or wat ever their name was

Anways i found something else, it's and EVGA P55 SLI, it does 2 way SLI with Physx but it still bifurcates, so im looking at the x58s

This is very interesting also:

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/08/ ... 16_vs_x8x8

BTW Guys i found the EVGA dual CPU mobo lol

Code: Select all

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Classified-SR-2-Motherboard/dp/B003QOSVL2/ref=sr_1_1?s=gateway&ie=UTF8&qid=1284838901&sr=8-1

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 18th, 2010, 5:01 pm

yep the evga SR2 is a beast of hardware

and no virus.. u need to let go of that gtx 295! LOL!!

as for wat u wait..yeh gracen was gonna waste time

as for comparing..

that was a personal opinion....

big review company still use the 295/2xx to compare against the 4 series, the only difference is the

( http://techgage.com/article/taking_a_de ... itecture/2 )

fermi's are powerful cards yes... but the 295 still stands it ground... for big review site's/companies to still use the old GPUs in benches, it is still worth mentioning IMO for a friendly comparison.

but like i told someone already, why dig into old technology, they makin new cheaper

if gracen decides on the x58 platform.. and then homie buy a gtx 460 or a gts 450 ... then another later on...

man go be in de dance!

also..the new 480s have improved way of controllin phyx processing eh...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 5:38 pm

was the best deal on a 3x SLI on the web that mobo and CPU alone is a good bit of money

X58 chipset motherboard build is pretty expensive :shock:

the RAM i can use Corsair XMS RAM but it still kinda expensive rofl

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 18th, 2010, 6:05 pm

anyone has ever had experience dealing with cyberpower, thinking of building this PC http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gamer_Dragon_8000/ from them, I've read a lot of review some bad and some good. I also checked Better Business Bureau where they got a rating of B+, which is more than Dell.

Pic of what I'm looking at

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 18th, 2010, 7:04 pm

yeh it is

but in the long run u good for some yrs too

but den again, budget is everything eh

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 7:21 pm

yup budget decides everything

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 18th, 2010, 7:29 pm

TriniVdub wrote:anyone has ever had experience dealing with cyberpower, thinking of building this PC http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gamer_Dragon_8000/ from them, I've read a lot of review some bad and some good. I also checked Better Business Bureau where they got a rating of B+, which is more than Dell.

dealt with them alrdy

twice.. 2 gaming laptops

good hardware

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2010, 7:53 pm

TriniVdub wrote:anyone has ever had experience dealing with cyberpower, thinking of building this PC http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gamer_Dragon_8000/ from them, I've read a lot of review some bad and some good. I also checked Better Business Bureau where they got a rating of B+, which is more than Dell.

Code: Select all

[img]http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/images/cs/ap970/01_400.jpg[/img]

was seriously thinking of buying from them... but then i realized its even better to just build it from scratch. Warranty actually upholds better from the brand u buy from than having to go thru them or iBuyPower and from the reviews that actually had returns the support was crap. Just look for deals from evga, like all the gpu's with ....-AR are lifetime support etc.

What made me stop was a guy on pcguide, he got one from them and was all happy n dandy for about a month, then something died and he couldn't figure out what it was, I never saw it resolved as i stopped following it (about over a month passed and by that time i had my pc parts,etc.)

Buy parts bai :)

Postby bushwakka » September 18th, 2010, 10:29 pm

looks nice, but wat is the advantage of going with them as opposed to buying the parts and building it urself?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2010, 10:37 pm

its cheaper to build it and you come out better

Postby bushwakka » September 18th, 2010, 10:39 pm

^well, what i asking is why wud he go with them.....

maybe they warranty the whole pkg? maybe they get better prices on the individual parts so it may come out close to building it urself? i dunno

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 9:04 am

oh ok

right now i fightin up with COD4 in tunngle i downloadin 1.6 and 1.7 patch now, already applied the cracked map servers

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 12:10 pm

Ok, i got it working now

Im Ronaldo lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2010, 12:37 pm

well
once yall have a cod4 server running
i a surely in that

havent pwned in a long time!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Chiney wrote:well
once yall have a cod4 server running
i a surely in that

havent pwned in a long time!

Is that a threat? rofl :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2010, 1:04 pm

u familiar with =I.C.E= clan ?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 1:19 pm

nope. who are they?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2010, 2:02 pm

:D:D:D:D:D

u will see

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 2:09 pm

hmmmm sounds deadly rofl

am gona have to level up some more, im a lance corp rofl!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2010, 2:10 pm

doe really matter to me nah

fun is everything
once i get a mp5... i good

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 19th, 2010, 2:46 pm

MP5 is good eh but i find it kinda weak, the machine gun is good to but it has alot of recoil, so im gona be usin the AK47 :evil:

Virus

Postby Virus » September 19th, 2010, 10:15 pm

Chiney wrote:u familiar with =I.C.E= clan ?

I beats tru a good few ah allyuh already, not bad not bad at all

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2010, 10:32 pm

waz yuh name for online multi?

mine is =I.C.E=LTchiney

Virus

Postby Virus » September 19th, 2010, 10:52 pm

VirusTT