Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby tr1ad » October 29th, 2010, 9:28 am

yup.....

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 6:45 pm

So... SE fans getting there wishes answered finally!
Sunday!

http://blogs.sonyericsson.com/products/2010/10/29/xperia-software-update-2/

XPERIA Software Update

Today I can confirm that we will start the roll-out of the Android 2.1 based updates for Xperia X10, X10 mini and X10 mini pro now this coming Sunday. The roll out will start in the evening European time.

So far I have received confirmation that the generic kits for the Nordic countries will be the very first ones out on Sunday evening and then there will be more kits coming already during Monday and then the roll-out will continue throughout the month of November.

As said earlier these updates will give you some features introduced by Android 2.1 and the Xperia X10 will also get HD-video recording in 720p with continuous auto focus.
The changes in user experience after the update is a mix of things added or changed going from Android 1.6 to Android 2.1 and things changed or improved by us directly.

As a re-cap – The key changes for the different products are the following:

Xperia X10:
• HD video recording with continuous auto-focus for high quality videos
• Upgrade of the Android platform to Android 2.1
• New back up and restore application, with extended content back up
• 5 homescreens for apps, widgets, shortcuts and folders
• Social phonebook which automatically syncs contact pictures from Facebook and shows when your friends are online

Xperia X10 mini and X10 mini pro:
• Improved Bluetooth functionality with support for sending and receiving pictures, contacts and more
• New backup and restore application with extended content back up
• Automatic synchronization of your contact pictures between Facebook and your phone book
• Improved ways of handling pictures, audio, text and numbers in your messages
• Upgrade of the Android platform to Android platform 2.1

In most markets, your phone will automatically let you know with a notification when the update is ready for your specific software version and then you will be guided to how to perform the update using the PC Companion software. In that process, because of this being a big update, you will also be guided through some steps to be able to backup personal data before the update and then restore it when the update is finished. Find out more at www.sonyericsson.com/update

IMPORTANT: As I’ve pointed out previously here on the blog the software upgrade will be done in a phased roll-out which means that different “kits” gets the update at different times. This to secure quality in all networks and countries. So don’t get paranoid if your phone isn’t updated in the very first days – it will come!

What we mean by a “kit” is a different configuration, i.e. color of the phone, bundled accessories but most importantly in this case different software configurations. The difference in software between different kits is mainly related to included settings, applications, network configuration etc – all this to comply to different legal and network requirements. All of these different kits need separate approvals based on market and network, hence the phased roll-out.
I will try to keep track of which versions that get released continuously and will post updates when new markets or “kits” become available. Feel free to share your findings in the comments section here when you get the update for your phone!

Postby r3iXmann » October 29th, 2010, 6:50 pm

un éclair :mrgreen:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 29th, 2010, 9:17 pm

y 2.1 and not 2.2 though? that kinda sux...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 29th, 2010, 9:19 pm

The PlayStation Phone: new photos, more details!

We've gotten our hands on some more images of the PlayStation Phone, and gleaned a few more juicy details about the handset. Firstly, as you can see in the photos, the model in question does indeed seem to be codenamed "Zeus" (as we reported on the 27th). Furthermore, the handset pictured is running Android 2.2, though apparently there are multiple devices out there with different versions on board (including at least one packed with Android 3.0). Based on what we know, there's little chance the phone will launch with Froyo -- but it's clear these have been worked on for some time with various versions of the OS.

The device appears to have an 8GB microSD card slotted, and at least 512MB of internal storage (though we're hoping it's the 1GB we've heard would be present). As you can see from the pictures in the gallery below, the device isn't exactly thin -- we surmise that the handset is around 17mm thick, or slightly thicker than HTC's Touch Pro 2 (and funnily enough, about the same as the PSPgo). From a design standpoint, the device seems to have more in common with BlackBerry handsets than previous Sony Ericsson phones; that smoky chrome bezel which surrounds the device is definitely giving us Torch flashbacks. As always, we're hard at work digging up more info on the phone (and potentially more images), but for now, just sit tight and enjoy the exclusive photos in the gallery below.

http://goo.gl/IfUk

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 9:55 pm

mitch wrote:y 2.1 and not 2.2 though? that kinda sux...

there are reasons why i left SE... that was one... always late :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 30th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Facebook phone? :|

hopefully not, but just way better Facebook integration for Android at long last...

What's on Facebook's mind? Mobile event set for November 3rd

Facebook's made no official push into the smartphone universe -- to date, we've been left using various mobile apps to connect with J. Timberlake, Marky Z. and the rest of the crew, but it looks as if the preeminent social networking site of our generation (ahem) is just about ready to clear the air on at least one issue. The invite above recently landed in our inbox, requesting our presence at "a mobile event at Facebook HQ" in Palo Alto, California. Naturally, we'll be on hand from NorCal bringing you the blow-by-blow, and we're interested to know what you think will be on deck. Will we finally see the Facebook phone that it quickly shot down? The Nexus Two with a borderline-criminal amount of Facebook integration? The resurgence of using pastel colored tin cans to connect Jane and Joe? Whatever the case, we're sure It's Complicated.

http://goo.gl/0nJA

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » October 31st, 2010, 9:45 am

The web's buzzing with talk of the Nexus Two!

Getting excited.

Postby r3iXmann » October 31st, 2010, 10:04 am

anybody having issues with android market? i can browse but i cant download anything :?

just seems to time out and say 'download unsuccessful'

Postby DFC » October 31st, 2010, 10:07 am

yep i am having issues with it too.

Also am looking for an app to download files on my android.

Recently i tried downloading an mp3 but it only streamed.

And any apps for facebook chat?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 31st, 2010, 10:39 am

^lots of apps available for fb chat. beejive, im+, meebo, ebuddy to name a few...

Postby Greypatch » November 1st, 2010, 10:11 am

been hearing talk about the Google Nexus 2 now

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 1st, 2010, 3:39 pm

i use a torrent app for my music/video files
music downloader pro or lite seems like what you looking for.

*Got a moto milestone last week (rooted + upgraded 2.2) haven't touched meh other phones since, ohh the screen sweeeeeeet!

achillies

Postby achillies » November 1st, 2010, 6:40 pm

r3iXmann wrote:anybody having issues with android market? i can browse but i cant download anything :?

just seems to time out and say 'download unsuccessful'

the android market is undergoing some upgrades

http://goo.gl/tgCD

Postby r3iXmann » November 2nd, 2010, 10:12 pm

so the modding bug bite meh :|

installed a hacked-oem eclair update

then i rooted

been at this sheit for like 4 hrs now installing/playing with all kinda thing :mrgreen:

achillies

Postby achillies » November 3rd, 2010, 5:56 pm

New Facebook app peeps

http://goo.gl/AQETD

Also for those on Twitter, there has been an update

http://goo.gl/X2pGf

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 3rd, 2010, 8:18 pm

The Twitter update is nice. Facebook still sux...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 3rd, 2010, 10:40 pm

Gingerbread Menus Will Look Cleaner and Crisper

Android looks set to grow up, if a hidden Gingerbread screen contained within the updated Google Maps is anything to go by. The UI looks slightly more styled, with the lines separating options gone amongst other small changes.

In the image above, Gingerbread is on the left, and Froyo is on the right. The screen was discovered by a Freenode IRC member Canadiancow, who found it in the Google Maps 4.60 update APK.

While it doesn't give much more away about Gingerbread, the buttons look crisper and some shading has been added to the menu.

We're still not too sure just when Gingerbread is expected, but considering Google has already erected their sweet friend outside their Californian HQ, my guess is that it's not going to be too long.

http://goo.gl/2lG3R

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 4th, 2010, 12:15 pm

not doubting eh but that looks just like my 2.2 fryo maps (minus hifi) but the resolutions shading and curved corners on the buttons is exactly what is in fryo now.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2010, 4:46 pm

Gingerbread is on the left...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2010, 9:57 pm

Droid 2 Global launching on November 11th?

Recent intel suggests that Motorola's Droid 2 Global will be coming in two colors -- kind of a strange choice for a phone being tagged as "business-grade" -- and now, it looks like we can expect to see at least one of those colors on next Thursday, November 11th. Specifically, the leak we've got here calls out the blue version of the phone (probably the same blue on the Droid 2 of old); the white model isn't mentioned, so it's unclear whether Verizon's planning on holding that one back for a bit longer. We suppose it's possible that the white looks just a little too much like the pricey R2-D2 edition for Big Red's comfort, so they might want to give the spunky little astromech droid a bit more exclusivity before hauling in another white model (with better radios, no less). Seeing how the Droid Pro looks targeted for a week later on the 18th, this might be the very first CDMA / GSM dual-mode Android phone on the market -- so who's excited?

http://goo.gl/BxtTg

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Why the Android Facebook App Has Sucked, Historically

The Android Facebook app has, until recently, always been gangly and malnourished compared to its iPhone counterpart. Why? Google bought out the sole dude who worked on it for Facebook. "It was kind of frustrating," says the Zuck.

http://goo.gl/0yn1e

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 5th, 2010, 4:35 pm

So who using whatsapp?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 5th, 2010, 9:59 pm

Google's Android platform turns 3, Gingerbread due on 11 November

The Android platform was born on this day three years ago, on 5 November 2007, and the first device based on the platform was introduced nearly one year later, on 22 October when the T-Mobile G1 saw daylight for the first time.
However, the story began back in 2005 when Google acquired the Android Inc. Then, it was only a matter of time for the Android platform to show up. Now, a few years later, this is one of the fastest developing operating systems.
The Android OS hasn't stop improving since Day One. Cupcake, Donut, Eclair, Froyo… Those are all sweets but at the same time these are the names of the numerous Android updates released over the years. And rumor is the next one, Android 2.3 a.k.a. Gingerbread, is about to be launched in a week, on 11 November.
As for the applications compatible with the Android platform, currently, there are more than 100 000 apps over at the Android Market and their number is continuing growing and growing.

achillies

Postby achillies » November 6th, 2010, 5:59 am

mitch wrote:So who using whatsapp?

'm using whatsapp, i find it much better and faster than pingchat, i tried KiK, but I hated that notification it gave that i'm not connected when i'm not on WiFi

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 7th, 2010, 3:10 am

Plz view the following link if you want to upgrade your SE X10a from 1.6 to 2.1. I have done it and trust me its worth it.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ost8944043

Postby tr1ad » November 7th, 2010, 10:21 am

mitch wrote:So who using whatsapp?

how it working on your N1?
i installed it on mine but not one thing happen, no contacts nothing

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 7th, 2010, 10:24 am

only installed it friday gone. working good so far except i think it running down mih battery life even more now...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 8th, 2010, 4:12 pm

Open Handset Alliance member confirms Android 2.3 is Gingerbread, coming soon to Nexus One

For an "Open" Handset Alliance, Google has been keeping its cards rather close to its chest when it comes to the oft-discussed Gingerbread flavor of Android, specifically whether it would be another point release or could it be spicy enough to knock us up to 3.0. Now it's looking confirmed that Gingerbread is indeed 2.3, with Alvaro Fuentes Vasquez, member of the leadership team at the Open Handset Alliance (and who shall now be known as "The Gingerbread Man"), delivering this tweet:

Prepare your Nexus One (Developer version) for Android OTA update 2.3 (Gingerbread) in the next few days :-D

That's some good news for many N1 owners, and of course means it's time for those who possess other Android handsets to start with the hoping and the waiting.

http://goo.gl/oYkix