Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby Little Prodigies » September 27th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Thinking bout buying a Lumia yes...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 27th, 2012, 6:11 pm

littlegeniuses wrote:Thinking bout buying a Lumia yes...

Price too high in my opinion... And if wanted a nokia... Like I will have to go for the Samsung instead. The ativ. I already a part of the Samsung s3 family. Windows phone is my next step.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 27th, 2012, 6:22 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Price too high in my opinion... And if wanted a nokia... Like I will have to go for the Samsung instead. The ativ. I already a part of the Samsung s3 family. Windows phone is my next step.

I'm thinkin the same thing too.. i can see myself moving over to ah windows phone
I'm liking windows 8 on my PC now and most of my stuff is microsoft based so a wp8 phone will fit in real nice with me.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 27th, 2012, 8:46 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

the european prices listed so far for the 920 yuh mean?

they havent anounced prices in US and stuff yet... ad u can always get the 820...

did samsung post prices for the Ativ as yet?

edit: from wpcentral.com

The Lumia 920 Windows Phone 8 smartphone is available to pre-order on eBay from highly recommended user never-msrp (99.5%). The listing is for the matte-black version and is set at $899.99 with a release date of "end of October", though the specified shipping date is October 1-15.

mother fcuk :cry:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 27th, 2012, 9:04 pm

Ahh sheit, was hoping it would be in the 699 range....dammit, will wait till it drops

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 28th, 2012, 9:09 am

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/09/ ... -adoption/

This review expresses exactly what I think.

casper

Postby casper » September 28th, 2012, 10:13 am

i ent go lie the yellow or the red nokia lumia 920 rellllllllllllllll tempting me but i love my s3 though...that nokia is just simply amazing aesthetically...specs wise it seems to be on par with all the other handsets out there so nothing mind blowing about thespecs but i'm loving the physical look and the window 8

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 28th, 2012, 11:43 am

the matte grey is the one calling to me... thats very sexy

and yea specs are pretty much level across the board

but throw in the wireless charging, super sensitive screen and camera...

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 28th, 2012, 11:46 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/09/nokia-lumia-premium-pricing-will-hinder-windows-phone-adoption/

This review expresses exactly what I think.

yea i dont understand these prices... nokia still has a decent name in europe so i guess charging current market prices for a top tier product makes sense to them...

hopefully US prices will be a bit less crazy

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2012, 12:55 pm

original_lollybob wrote:. . . .but throw in the wireless charging, super sensitive screen and camera...

What exactly is all the hype about the wireless charging? When my Me2 phone is charging with a conventional wired charger, if it rings I can answer it and still have it charging. What happens with the wireless charger? When you lift the phone off it stops charging. Wow!

Other than that, the Lumia 920 is a phone I would not mind spending more than $300 on.

Postby ismithx » September 28th, 2012, 4:34 pm

well like you could afford a lumia now, bmobile have it for 1500 or so

Postby M_2NR » September 28th, 2012, 5:31 pm

ismithx wrote:well like you could afford a lumia now, bmobile have it for 1500 or so

it is already "outdated" though. I was expecting a firesale like what HP did globally with the Touchpad :lol:

casper

Postby casper » September 28th, 2012, 6:45 pm

I really loving that friggin lumina jred my god

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 28th, 2012, 6:47 pm

i want mine in black thank you very much.

casper

Postby casper » September 28th, 2012, 6:49 pm

I want something different like the red or the yellow...it....so...sexy

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 29th, 2012, 6:27 pm

Bought a lumia 800 today, after seeing the prices for the 920 i said f*ck that, ill buy the 800 and cool mehself for awhile. So far so good.

BTW anybody who the 800 got the dreaded battery problems that im reading online? And if you did what did you do to fix it?

Postby ismithx » September 29th, 2012, 7:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:
ismithx wrote:well like you could afford a lumia now, bmobile have it for 1500 or so

it is already "outdated" though. I was expecting a firesale like what HP did globally with the Touchpad :lol:

nokia is quality, doh expect cheap.... even the ancient n95 superphone fetching two hundred US easy

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 29th, 2012, 8:40 pm

trini mk5 wrote:Bought a lumia 800 today, after seeing the prices for the 920 i said f*ck that, ill buy the 800 and cool mehself for awhile. So far so good.

BTW anybody who the 800 got the dreaded battery problems that im reading online? And if you did what did you do to fix it?

Yupp

Updated to the latest firmware

U should be running 8773.12220

Check http://www.nokia.com/global/support/sof ... kia-lumia/

Have fun.. It's a cool phone

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 14th, 2012, 2:12 pm

http://conversations.nokia.com/2012/11/ ... dtmte6c347

words with friends and draw something available

Postby foss » December 23rd, 2012, 9:20 pm

guys I need some assistance.

How can I get contacts that have been backed up on Nokia Suite onto a new Nokia Lumia 610?

I've tried everything !

Original phone was a nokia 1616. Since it lacks connectivity ports, etc... I copied contacts onto sim and transferred to nokia E71.

Downloaded nokia Suite which recognizes the E71. Contacts synced and backed up.

Now trying to get these contacts onto the new Nokia Lumia is where I'm getting hell.

The lumia does not work with Suite at all.

I copied contacts onto nokia skydrive with hopes I'd be able to access them. Nothing.

I downloaded Zune...but that appears to be just for music.

Any assistance pls............

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 23rd, 2012, 10:12 pm

What version of Nokia Suite do you have? The latest version is 3.6.36. If I remember correctly, this latest update was supposed to allow Suite to work with the Lumia phones.

Postby foss » December 23rd, 2012, 10:20 pm

have that version.

if I go to add a new phone it does not find the lumia.

had no problem with loading the E71 nokia on it and backing up contacts.

Lumia does not seem to be compatible

Postby DVSTT » December 23rd, 2012, 10:47 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:. . . .but throw in the wireless charging, super sensitive screen and camera...

What exactly is all the hype about the wireless charging? When my Me2 phone is charging with a conventional wired charger, if it rings I can answer it and still have it charging. What happens with the wireless charger? When you lift the phone off it stops charging. Wow!

Other than that, the Lumia 920 is a phone I would not mind spending more than $300 on.

you do know that it's dangerous 2 talk on a cell when it's charging. You could get badly burnt

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 23rd, 2012, 11:12 pm

does the 610 have the contacts transfer option like it does on the lumia 800? If it doesn't, u can probably transfer it by bluetooth. At least that was the option i used when i transfered my contacts over from my e71 to the 800

Postby foss » December 23rd, 2012, 11:22 pm

It does have the transfer option. But only for Bluetooth transfers.

And the e71 does not connect with the Bluetooth of the lumia. Because the Lumina runs v4.0

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 23rd, 2012, 11:59 pm

hmmm strange. I guess google didnt return any answers?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 24th, 2012, 12:04 am

DVSTT wrote:you do know that it's dangerous 2 talk on a cell when it's charging. You could get badly burnt

Haven't gotten burnt in the last 12 years. Will write my obituary now though. Thanks.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 24th, 2012, 11:33 am

foss wrote:guys I need some assistance.

How can I get contacts that have been backed up on Nokia Suite onto a new Nokia Lumia 610?

I've tried everything !

Original phone was a nokia 1616. Since it lacks connectivity ports, etc... I copied contacts onto sim and transferred to nokia E71.

Downloaded nokia Suite which recognizes the E71. Contacts synced and backed up.

Now trying to get these contacts onto the new Nokia Lumia is where I'm getting hell.

The lumia does not work with Suite at all.

I copied contacts onto nokia skydrive with hopes I'd be able to access them. Nothing.

I downloaded Zune...but that appears to be just for music.

Any assistance pls............

Contacts need to be on the phone...

Weird that the lumia won't connect to the e71