Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2013, 11:36 am

cacasplat3 wrote:it needs to be registered once it has its own means of propulsion, this includes electric bikes. in the long run, it might be cheaper to get a 50cc scooter (honda ruckus, yamaha zuma etc.), and they are much much cheaper than you think.

one question though

if I get it registered, they gonna do what give me a number plate?
And will this mean I have to get insurance aswell?
I was hoping to avoid the high insurance and all that jazz with a motor.

Will I also require a class 1 license?

all this would defeat the purpose of why I want to do this project. Was to avoid going to get yet another license and pay over $2k in insurance.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 23rd, 2013, 11:41 am

if its registered it needs to carry a plate and insurance.....if its bike, u will also need a class 1.
now that is what is required........what people do is a whole different story, i've seen a few bicycles around with engines......in san do there are a couple of them.....i think ian artherly still has one or two for sale, electric and gasoline powered.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2013, 12:14 pm

Here what I go just buy a Chinese motorbike yes lol and they pretty cheap also

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 24th, 2013, 7:45 am

Aye guys, I am hearing a creaking noise when I pedal on my bike. It seems to be coming from the area where the two pedal arms are joined; the centre area, ( best I could describe it).

What could be causing that noise?

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 24th, 2013, 8:03 am

You need a new bottom bracket most that come with bikes don't last long also your crank arms may be damaged, I'd recommend buying a hollow tech 2 crankset for Xmas [WHITE SMILING FACE]️

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 24th, 2013, 10:14 am

kind of a big jump there, small sound....buy a crankset..lol
the bearings in the bottom bracket could be on their way out...
does it make the sound when u are off the bike?
it could be a number of things.....i got a noise only when pedalling.....it turned out to be the seatpost clamp clicking everytime my weight distribution changed....
have a look here.....it should give you some ideas, because trust me, its really hard to find noises on a bike

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 24th, 2013, 12:36 pm

I always used to get the creak when a bottom bracket was failing.

Postby eliteauto » November 24th, 2013, 1:24 pm

Not trail but still such fun and skill, the soundtrack makes it feel 80's

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 24th, 2013, 1:53 pm

danny's the man.....that entire vid is impressive, but i spat out some orange juice when he did the flip on the train station at 4:48

thanks for sharing.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 25th, 2013, 11:41 am

Hey Cacasplat, I have a problem.
I have the Jet 9 RDO and I just got the Santa Cruz Solo Carbon / 5010 Carbon.
Sick bike.
29" still easier to pedal though. :lol:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » November 25th, 2013, 12:24 pm

seriously man ,so which one yuh selling ?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 25th, 2013, 12:39 pm

none. love them both. lol.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 25th, 2013, 2:37 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:kind of a big jump there, small sound....buy a crankset..lol
the bearings in the bottom bracket could be on their way out...
does it make the sound when u are off the bike?
it could be a number of things.....i got a noise only when pedalling.....it turned out to be the seatpost clamp clicking everytime my weight distribution changed....
have a look here.....it should give you some ideas, because trust me, its really hard to find noises on a bike

:shock: My Word!!

Thanks for that vid. I am much wiser now :)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 25th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Porn Star wrote:Hey Cacasplat, I have a problem.
Sick bike.

unless u mean a spending problem.....i don't really see a problem. :lol: :lol:

anybody riding during the week? my ibis needs to see some dirt.... been a month since i last took it out....

hindian

Postby hindian » November 25th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Question, I noticed that there are a lot of products online for preventing bicycle flats, does anyone here use any of them? I saw one by the name of Slime or something of the sort. Also, anybody running tubeless tyres? Do they make sense? Are there any advantages or disadvantages to them?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » November 25th, 2013, 4:03 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:
Porn Star wrote:Hey Cacasplat, I have a problem.
Sick bike.

unless u mean a spending problem.....i don't really see a problem. :lol: :lol:

anybody riding during the week? my ibis needs to see some dirt.... been a month since i last took it out....

i looking to go tomorrow evening im on vacation this week, shout meh.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 25th, 2013, 4:37 pm

time you looking at to be there?

hindian, i use tubeless tires and wheels....its a bit more convenient without having to mess with tubes when mounting tires, its lighter overall, you can run much much lower pressures for the sake of traction. but inflation is a bit more difficult when u need to get the bead to seat. biggest advantage for me? it leaks slowly if punctured, unlike tubes which loose air quickly....and if you do manage to mangle a tire that will not hold air on a trail, u simply remove the tubeless air valve and use a normal tube in the tire.

slime is a sealant that some people use to mount non tubeless tires on tubeless wheels.....it seals up the porous sidewalls of non tubeless tires. it also acts as a bit more protection in the event of small punctures, it will seal them up.

i run a little bit of tire sealant (continental revo) in my tubeless tires just to have a bit of puncture protection as well. the first day i took the bike out, there was no sealant, i punctured one tire in two places.....it leaked soo slowly i didn't realise it till i got home....poured in a bit of sealant, inflated the tire, and it sealed it up in about a second.

pornie also has tubeless wheels on his niner.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » November 25th, 2013, 5:37 pm

around 3, what time you looking at ?

hindian

Postby hindian » November 25th, 2013, 6:02 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:time you looking at to be there?

hindian, i use tubeless tires and wheels....its a bit more convenient without having to mess with tubes when mounting tires, its lighter overall, you can run much much lower pressures for the sake of traction. but inflation is a bit more difficult when u need to get the bead to seat. biggest advantage for me? it leaks slowly if punctured, unlike tubes which loose air quickly....and if you do manage to mangle a tire that will not hold air on a trail, u simply remove the tubeless air valve and use a normal tube in the tire.

slime is a sealant that some people use to mount non tubeless tires on tubeless wheels.....it seals up the porous sidewalls of non tubeless tires. it also acts as a bit more protection in the event of small punctures, it will seal them up.

i run a little bit of tire sealant (continental revo) in my tubeless tires just to have a bit of puncture protection as well. the first day i took the bike out, there was no sealant, i punctured one tire in two places.....it leaked soo slowly i didn't realise it till i got home....poured in a bit of sealant, inflated the tire, and it sealed it up in about a second.

pornie also has tubeless wheels on his niner.

Cool thanks for the info there, I'm trying to get back into the hobby as I haven't ridden a bike in about 6 years and I gave away all my gear so I'm rebuilding a frame to start back. My brother has a Haro 26" I'm trying to buy off him but he ain't make up his mind yet lol.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2013, 11:57 am

bike inn has the Fuji absolute 1.4 for $4500

what you guys think? will I feel a big difference between riding this and a Nevada 1.6 29 mountain bike for $4k?

I studying what difference does this make compared to a mountain when riding on the road.

http://e28-535i.com/upload/S5031334.JPG

I am concerned about the thin tires though. With my fat 260lbs arse the tires may get puncture easily. And from my experience no tube patch is good enough to hold my weight because I does require full pressure and when I sit on a bike with patched tube it usually leaks

I does have to buy new tubes and they don/t last long

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 30th, 2013, 12:06 pm

bike inn have some bike for 17k too
I want it D:

EFFECTIC DESIGNS , is bess u get solid rubber tires :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Boy I wish they does actually sell solid rubber tires yes.
Due to my obesity all them tires does get hole cause any little thing does puncture the tire.
But I am not familiar with expensive tiers. Maybe ones like these road bikes don't get puncture?

My lard arse is the problem.

ow BTW mikes bikes has specials on specialized hard rock bikes the mechanical disk brake one has been reduced from $3800 to $2800. Sadly they only have green colors.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » November 30th, 2013, 4:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ow BTW mikes bikes has specials on specialized hard rock bikes the mechanical disk brake one has been reduced from $3800 to $2800. Sadly they only have green colors.

if you know how long them have those green bikes there, the other colors in that model come and gone and those green ones still there and its a bright green as well :shock:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2013, 6:01 pm

ROFL I eh want that bright green I rather spend $1000 extra for a black LOL

I patch my bike tube yet again decided to go to a tire man who does fix tires on cars. Second patch didnt even put the wheel on the bike as yet and bam it gone flat once again

The tire don't have anything poking it so I guess its black magic or something.

You all think that Fuji Nevada 1.6 29er can get flats?

it looks thick and tough as hell. I fraid the road bike thin tiers. Its smooth and looks incredibly weak like anything can puncture it. The mountain bikes has big grips. My biggest problem is flat tiers due to the obesity combined with all them mash up wind screen and broken beer bottles we have on the roadway shoulders in this country. Getting thin is one thing but at 260 and 5,11" it means no bike is designed to take my weight and all them broken glass and nails in the road eh helping.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » November 30th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2013, 9:22 pm

how hard are you inflating your tires ?
low pressure gets punctured much easier in general.

ot, how often do you guys wash your bikes ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2013, 9:57 am

Hmm that looks good I was looking at some puncture proof tiers on amazon those gator skins look good. Making me reconsidering the Fuji Absolute 1.4 over the Nevada 1.6 29er

Question is there any real world difference in getting this absolute 1.4 vs the 1.6 nevada?

Someone told me since the 1.4 absolute is much lighter it will be easier to pedal due to thinner wheels than the mountain nevada.

The real question is since i packing 100 extra pounds of fat here will those little 7 pound even matter?
I feeling hard to put put $4500 for that absolute 1.4 when i could spend $4k on the 1.6 nevada

I can't believe they don't have cheaper absolute bikes. I doh want to pay $2000 just for a carbon fork come on man. Bike inn real disappointing. And they refuse to be honest and say if they will get more in the new shipment. Is always some story about them have no idea what does come in the container infact them eh have a clue if they does get a aero plane, car, bike or a missile.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2013, 11:11 am

None whatsoever,
whatever bike you use you still have to pedal it and your lungs have to provide the oxygen fuel.
Until they sell bikes that come with legs, heart and lungs dont fall for the hype.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 1st, 2013, 12:21 pm

i'd get a mountain bike and get some thinner/smoother tires for the 26" wheels and rde on the road....tons of them available with puncture resistant designs from Maxxis, continental michelin etc.
i personally have the Maxxis overdrive tires on my cannondale F7, they have maybe over 700km on them (without a puncture), and they show very little sign of wear.........they do ride a bit rougher than the fatter knobby tires due to the much higher pressure, but they roll much much smoother and quieter, and they allow much easier acceleration......almost feels like cheating....lol

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » December 1st, 2013, 12:28 pm

i have specialized nimbus armadillo tyres on my cannondale never had a issue . very quick on smooth roads