"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

anthonyanthony

Re: "Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Postby anthonyanthony » April 4th, 2024, 8:58 pm

A few days ago I saw a police vehicle just fly thru a round about no lights no siren

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2024, 7:27 am

erla will outlaw dashcams just now
watch and see

Postby Chimera » April 5th, 2024, 2:28 pm

She mite say recording police is a danger to national security

Postby bluefete » April 6th, 2024, 10:22 am

So, if there was no video, the police would have continued on their deliberate mis-information.

Cops to be sent for retraining after ‘misinforming’ driver

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cops-to ... e_vignette

The_Honourable wrote:This police being a$$ of the day

Postby maj. tom » April 6th, 2024, 10:38 am

You didn't hear the argument in front the JSC how the body cam battery doesn't last long enough in Trinidad only 1 hour? The same Axon body cam lasting 12 hours that cops wear everywhere else in the world though.

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/03/29/senior-cop-tells-jsc-bodycam-batteries-run-down-too-fast/

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2024, 11:14 am

Record as much as you can for your protection…cameras and phone calls.

Police more concerned with making law abiding citizens lives hell rather than criminals.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2024, 11:50 am

heinz will pass a law stating that police allowed to seize footage on the spot to “assist in investigations”

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 6th, 2024, 1:45 pm

So this is the new trend now with police in trinidad..once they are caught doing something wrong..breaking various laws instead of being charged and fired they are sent to be retrained..I looked at the video, the officer falsely accused the man wrt cell phone usage, use abusive or insulting language, made threats to the man the man via various charges and broke various traffic laws. I think the victim should be compensated and the officers make a public apology .

Postby maj. tom » April 6th, 2024, 2:02 pm

Nah is the same all over the world. The most consequence police does ever face is suspended with pay, and if it eh look too good is a transfer and some training. The leaders need it to be so, the dogs protect the pigs on the Animal Farm.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2024, 3:13 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:So this is the new trend now with police in trinidad..once they are caught doing something wrong..breaking various laws instead of being charged and fired they are sent to be retrained..I looked at the video, the officer falsely accused the man wrt cell phone usage, use abusive or insulting language, made threats to the man the man via various charges and broke various traffic laws. I think the victim should be compensated and the officers make a public apology .

The public apology is a great idea as part of standard protocol in situations like this.
Once officers know they have to make a public video apology for their misactions I think there will be a lot more care going forward.

Also these days dashcams are a must.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 6th, 2024, 7:24 pm

I also believe that citizens we must also have bodycams for situation like this.

This is a frightening trend the police cannot be trusted any more..so if you are pulled over in a traffic stop.. not a road block..you have to think if the police by looking at you may be trying some unlawfully or see an opptunity to try something.

If you are a woman well then you really have to be worried.

I am also not hearing the various activist groups , the various religious groups calling for these officers to be fired

Postby 16 cycles » April 7th, 2024, 7:39 am

bluefete wrote:So, if there was no video, the police would have continued on their deliberate mis-information.

Cops to be sent for retraining after ‘misinforming’ driver

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cops-to ... e_vignette

The_Honourable wrote:This police being a$$ of the day

they did not address the officers trying to pin a charge of using a cell phone on the driver...

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 11th, 2024, 9:33 pm

I am looking at some body cams on Amazon but it's says these do not ship to your location

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2024, 9:36 pm

You may have to use a skybox company.
But it's a bodycam for you to wear as a civilian?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 12th, 2024, 6:50 am

Some are about half the size of a phone while others are smaller and clip on

Postby MaxPower » April 12th, 2024, 8:42 am

maj. tom wrote:You may have to use a skybox company.
But it's a bodycam for you to wear as a civilian?

Imagine having your bodycam on while making a police report.

Such professional footage.

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2024, 8:49 am

i don’t think they allow recording in police stations
could be wrong

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 12th, 2024, 5:56 pm

According to the person from professional standards unit of the police service when she was on beyond the tape, no recordings is allowed in the station from members of the public...but Alexander said you could do it in a secret way...

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2024, 6:50 am

anthonyanthony wrote:According to the person from professional standards unit of the police service when she was on beyond the tape, no recordings is allowed in the station from members of the public...but Alexander said you could do it in a secret way...

So, the cameras in the stations are all dummy cameras, there just for show, and they don't work at all and we're never meant to work? Or is it that police alone can record video footage inside the station?

Just because they may not like you recording what doing inside the station, or because a particular person says it's not allowed, that doesn't mean you are not legally allowed to do so.

Postby maj. tom » April 13th, 2024, 7:58 am

Civilian bodycams are going to be essential for every interaction with any government authority.

Postby maj. tom » April 13th, 2024, 11:33 am

Erla’s job up for grabs
Applicants invited for post of Police Commissioner

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/erlas-job-up-for-grabs-6.2.1974810.111de46bc6

With days left to go before the one-year contract of Commissioner of Police Erla Harewood-Christopher comes to an end, the Police Service Commission (PolSC) has opened applications for the position.

The advertisement appeared in the daily newspaper yesterday with a headline that read ‘Job Opportunity, Commissioner of Police’—and provided details of the position, including the job summary which listed the qualifications and experience being sought.

Under the heading, Guide for Applicants, the eligibility requirements as to what was needed when making an application were outlined.

The closing date for applications, which must be submitted online only, was listed as 4 pm on May 3.

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 11:47 am

the tardiness of that shows that they planned to give her the ol 1 year extension again
but she is close to age so something need to be done soon
rowlee must be working hard to figure which crony to pick
he ain’t want to make a next biggest mistake of his life again

Postby maj. tom » April 13th, 2024, 2:05 pm

Election year, suddenly somebody may be effective in reducing the numbers for poll time.

Re:

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2024, 2:30 pm

maj. tom wrote:Election year, suddenly somebody may be effective in reducing the numbers for poll time.

That's the hope of the population
PNM however couldn't give a fart in a hurricane about crime.
Just looking for a new lackey to toe the chief bobbie-head line

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 2:33 pm

the man admit he himself does interfere with the ful approval process the other day

imagine if one morning he get up and say it have too many cars on the road and want to cut back how many ppl get a drivers license

Postby Habit7 » April 13th, 2024, 7:53 pm

pugboy wrote:the tardiness of that shows that they planned to give her the ol 1 year extension again
but she is close to age so something need to be done soon
rowlee must be working hard to figure which crony to pick
he ain’t want to make a next biggest mistake of his life again

The Police Service Commission is the one that advertises the CoP job.
The Cabinet is the one that grants her an extension because she is beyond the retirement.
The two entities are not the same.

Was GG expected to be crony and do the will of Rowley? So Rowley is supposed to be 100% responsible for crime but the head public servant responsible for crime prevention and law enforcement, Rowley should choose must not be one he best can work with. Especially since he is chief person responsible for crime policy and legislation?

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 8:37 pm

well rowlee done say he is the one who does do final approval of the ful

its pretty obvious now that the cop is micromanaged by rowlee….

Postby alfa » April 13th, 2024, 9:23 pm

pugboy wrote:well rowlee done say he is the one who does do final approval of the ful

its pretty obvious now that the cop is micromanaged by rowlee….

Correct is right. In his last conversations with the PM meeting, he explicitly chided Justice Seepersad saying it was not the position of his govt to arm the citizenry. Isn't that supposed to be the sole and independent decision of the COP? What govt have to do with that? Man sell himself out and the idiots in the crowd too dumb to pick up on it or even care. It's clear that Erla is a lapdog and stooge of the PNM.

Postby Habit7 » April 13th, 2024, 9:56 pm

You all are making yourselves out to be caricatures of misreading headlines.

A man from Tobago applied for a gun and for years it hasn't been approved. He went to court and our nation's favourite High Court judge ruled in his favour and said the CoP must approve or deny in 30 days. The judge then went on beyond his jurisdiction to not just adjudicate the law but to suggest what govt policy and legislation should be. We have in our democracy the Executive, Legislative and Judicial and they should never cross. The judge said that in light of crime, guns should be more freely available.

In response to the judge, Rowley said firstly you are wrong to cross your remit, secondly that is not his govt policy nor does he intend to bring any legislation to make legal guns more accessible.

In the same vein, the UNC is campaigning right now that if elected into govt they will make legal guns more accessible because as govt, they have the power to do that as opposed to the PNM that has rejected doing that.

So how could you all so poorly interpret that to mean, "well rowlee done say he is the one who does do final approval of the ful"

Ok so you don't like Rowley, but when you make an asinine comment against him, you make him look reasonable and you look dotish.

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2024, 10:05 pm

i recall clearly rowlee stating that he and his govt policy was to limit the numbers of fuls granted and they would not be allowing everybody who applied to get

ie he himself or his govt and not erla are the ones doing final approval to satisfy the limited numbers
he clearly said thousands were not to be approved like with gg

go lookup the meeting yourself and utilize you comprehension skills before you embarrass yourself