What's on the menu this Sunday?

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby SMc » April 10th, 2023, 10:11 am

Lamb neck cooked Ossobuco style (except with red wine and added mushrooms), mashed potato, some green beans and a salad...probably the rest of the red wine to go with it

Postby 88sins » April 10th, 2023, 10:51 am

SMc wrote:Lamb neck cooked Ossobuco style (except with red wine and added mushrooms), mashed potato, some green beans and a salad...probably the rest of the red wine to go with it

Where you get the lamb neck bro? I need about 40 lbs.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2023, 11:35 am

Xtra foods does be selling that all the time.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 10th, 2023, 11:42 am

I feel like i see it in pricesmart too

Postby 88sins » April 10th, 2023, 2:12 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Xtra foods does be selling that all the time.

Will check them tomorrow, thanks.

*KRONIK* wrote:I feel like i see it in pricesmart too

I does be in POS branch regular, but never see neck there. I does see chops and leg, but not neck.

Birthday coming up soon, and the clan coming to ketch dey health :lol: , so daz why I need so much. Daz one of d cutters.
Ever had slow smoked, bbq finished lamb neck? Last time I make that it nearly had fight for the last few pieces. We ketch meh nephew draggin tongue with d neck bone and he eh business, it dat good.

Postby 88sins » April 10th, 2023, 2:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Xtra foods does be selling that all the time.

Will check them tomorrow, thanks.

*KRONIK* wrote:I feel like i see it in pricesmart too

I does be in POS branch regular, but never see neck there. I does see chops and leg, but not neck.

Birthday coming up soon, and the clan coming to ketch dey health :lol: , so daz why I need so much. Daz one of d cutters.
Ever had slow smoked, bbq finished lamb neck? Last time I make that it nearly had fight for the last few pieces. We ketch meh nephew draggin tongue with d neck bone and he eh business, it dat good.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2023, 5:54 pm

i’ve bought it many times in pricesmart pos
a cheaper alternative to oxtail and pretty much taste similar and texture

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2023, 5:55 pm

how do you get it soft?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2023, 9:42 pm

lamb neck?
I cooked it before stewed, but I let it go low and slow in a heavy pot with plenty liquid. Like nearly 2.5 hours.
High heat to brown sugar and initial drop in with the aromatics and base herbs, but then immediately dropped heat to low.

Postby Dave » June 11th, 2023, 1:33 pm

Simple today...
BBQ lamb and chicken with home made garlic sauce, cream potatoes, fry plantains, fry rice and callaloo
1240343305.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » June 11th, 2023, 2:56 pm

Dave wrote:Simple today...
BBQ lamb and chicken with home made garlic sauce, cream potatoes, fry plantains, fry rice and callaloo1240343305.jpeg

I see a Caribbean dietician do a calorie breakdown of fry plantain last week. I refused that type of negativity in my life.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 11th, 2023, 3:57 pm

dhal, rice and duck.
request by mrs.

Made some curry marinated grilled shrimp skewers for kiddo, because I cooked the duck with habanero, cayenne, thai chilis so it had more kick than a bruce lee documentary

Postby MaxPower » June 11th, 2023, 5:36 pm

Sada roti and eddoes choka

Curry duck cutters with insane pepper

Dahl rice smoke herring

Pineapple chow

Coconut ice cream and sponge cake

Typing now and my belly like it bubbling……

Postby Rovin » June 11th, 2023, 5:50 pm

^^^ dise when yuh too lickrish .... :lol:

dave plate looking good, kinda like d stuff vevo use to copy\paste, all it needs is some piece of bush to garnish & it good to go ... :P

solarkh

Postby solarkh » June 11th, 2023, 7:52 pm

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230611/6ccb9c3fc02db84205d0362099a6c129.jpg[/img]

As per wifey request

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 6th, 2023, 4:56 pm

In São Paulo this weekend for some business so I decided to visit the only Jamaican restaurant in the country. The only Caribbean one too, aside from a Hatian restaurant, I think. Met the owner, talked with him for a bit, thought it was cool to meet a Trini living in Brazil. He originally came here on a medical scholarship, saw an opportunity and took it, now he has this main restaurant, and two Jerky's Express branches in other parts of the city. He is definitely representing the Jamaican identity abroad and he has been quite successful. Got a half jerk chicken, rice and peas, seasoned fries and macaroni salad. Split a piece of black cake afterwards. I don't even like black cake, but it was something close to home so I went for it. Definitely felt like I was back in the Caribbean from the first bite. Everything ended up running me 185 TTD with drinks and dessert, which is definitely on the pricier side here. Place was almost full on a Sunday, mainly of curious Brazilians coming from all over to try "churrasco Jamaicano".

Screenshot_20230806_173418_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20230806_174204_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230806_174235_Gallery.jpg

Postby gastly369 » August 20th, 2023, 2:12 pm

Lil mauby and some Q today
IMG_20230820_140512.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » August 20th, 2023, 2:16 pm

gastly369 wrote:Lil mauby and some Q today
IMG_20230820_140512.jpg
Sames dawg

Minus the more-bee

Postby gastly369 » August 20th, 2023, 2:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
IMG_20230820_140512.jpg
Sames dawg

Minus the more-bee
Found a bottle while looking for bbq sauce ah say why not...

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2023, 3:28 pm

Dhal, rice, bhaji, curry layers and I made some fresh lime pepper sauce to blaze on top.

Kiddo eh about that curry today so I make some honey soy grilled shrimp skewers for her

wing

Postby wing » August 20th, 2023, 6:34 pm

Imagine the children deciding what they want and don't want and parents enabling that.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 20th, 2023, 7:20 pm

gastly369 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
IMG_20230820_140512.jpg
Sames dawg

Minus the more-bee
Found a bottle while looking for bbq sauce ah say why not...
Is only right

Postby *KRONIK* » August 20th, 2023, 7:21 pm

wing wrote:Imagine the children deciding what they want and don't want and parents enabling that.
Lol

I woulda collect a slap and hadda eat some crix in my days

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 20th, 2023, 7:42 pm

Only rich people allow their children to dictate terms in the household. Those children who you typically find in prestige schools.

Postby maj. tom » August 20th, 2023, 7:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I make some honey soy grilled shrimp skewers for her

Shrimp does cook so fast, I fraid to grill it. And I worried if the heat won't penetrate it deep enough to kill the bacteria. I did a ziplock bag sous vide shrimp already in some sweet and sour sauce that I reduced on the stove first and it was perfect.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 20th, 2023, 8:22 pm

On vacation in São Paulo for a month and decided to skip cooking today and go out with the wife for all you can eat burgers, fried chicken, fresh potato chips and ice cream. Total cost with drinks was 144 BRL ( 196 TTD ).

Screenshot_20230820_212132_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211309_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211248_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211221_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211158_Gallery.jpg

Postby gastly369 » August 20th, 2023, 8:50 pm

triniterribletim wrote:On vacation in São Paulo for a month and decided to skip cooking today and go out with the wife for all you can eat burgers, fried chicken, fresh potato chips and ice cream. Total cost with drinks was 144 BRL ( 196 TTD ).

Screenshot_20230820_212132_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211309_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211248_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211221_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230820_211158_Gallery.jpg
Price not bad

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2023, 9:53 pm

wing wrote:Imagine the children deciding what they want and don't want and parents enabling that.

Nah. I do all the cooking and on Sundays I ask em what they want and make a menu around that. During the week is eat whatever I make.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2023, 9:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I make some honey soy grilled shrimp skewers for her

Shrimp does cook so fast, I fraid to grill it. And I worried if the heat won't penetrate it deep enough to kill the bacteria. I did a ziplock bag sous vide shrimp already in some sweet and sour sauce that I reduced on the stove first and it was perfect.

I use a lightly oiled stovestop griddle. high heat, 2 min per side for medium /large shrimp. Avoid turning more than that. Leave it, flip, leave and remove to dish. Cooks perfectly and with the little char marks for extra flavour. Not rubbery at all. The skewer actually makes it easy to cook the batches. When you remove it,
Lightly drizzle some lime juice for a pop of flavour

Postby Chimera » August 20th, 2023, 11:56 pm

Had some goat and rice for lunch

Saw breadfruit like hell in the market this morning so tonight me and some padnas roast some breadfruit and salmon,king fish, blue catfish

20230820_195348.jpg
20230820_190339.jpg