The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

AGENT RORO

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby AGENT RORO » November 15th, 2012, 10:04 pm

Got the update about two weeks ago but didn't install it, is it really heavy on the battery as reported?

Postby S_2NR » November 15th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Two weeks ago? This leaked today bro and its too early to comment on battery. Rom is still settling in.

Postby ismithx » November 15th, 2012, 10:20 pm

the galaxy y installs apps to sd card by default.... its a nice phone btw.. the only complaint is the screen isn't clear in bright sunlight

Postby Trini Hookah » November 15th, 2012, 10:24 pm

ismithx wrote:the galaxy y installs apps to sd card by default.... its a nice phone btw.. the only complaint is the screen isn't clear in bright sunlight

Brightness settings doh exist on Gingerbread orr :|

Postby gastly369 » November 15th, 2012, 10:26 pm

anyone has one .. thinking of buying one to mess around with $40US on amazon

Postby Trini Hookah » November 15th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Why not just use Blue Stacks?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 15th, 2012, 10:35 pm

S_2NR wrote:Two weeks ago? This leaked today bro and its too early to comment on battery. Rom is still settling in.

Not talkkng about for s2's. Should have said for an S3

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 15th, 2012, 11:01 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Two weeks ago? This leaked today bro and its too early to comment on battery. Rom is still settling in.

Not talkkng about for s2's. Should have said for an S3

depends on how much you use the phone and what you use it for. if you have it for auto brightness and you are in a bright environment (screen gets brighter) and you are playing game or running some 4G, you will need to charge by about 4-5pm (providing you start about 8am). the screen brightness is what consumes most of the battery, if it is set on kinda low, will last you till late evening.

only thing that rapes my battery is waze, that will take my full 100% and kill it in around 3hrs continuous use with the 4G on

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 15th, 2012, 11:50 pm

:mrgreen:
Last edited by AGENT RORO on November 15th, 2012, 11:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby maj. tom » November 15th, 2012, 11:55 pm

Read about the Firefox OS today. Open source and free. Linux based and compatible with newer devices out. Should be a refreshing option to Android. In a couple of years it may be big like Android if Google would endorse and supports it. I don't think Mozilla has the resources like Google to push it mainstream.

casper

Postby casper » November 16th, 2012, 7:31 am

anyone in here utilizing the voice chat feature on whatsapp yet???

its just like BBM voice that RIM now rolling out :lol:

once again RIM keep playing catch up....sad :(

Postby Trini Hookah » November 16th, 2012, 7:42 am

casper wrote:anyone in here utilizing the voice chat feature on whatsapp yet???

This could of been posted in the BBM ched, Apple ched, or windows mobile ched....what's the problem?

casper

Postby casper » November 16th, 2012, 8:02 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

This could of been posted in the BBM ched, Apple ched, or windows mobile ched....what's the problem?

yuh drink some rum this morning or wat? u not making much sense

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 8:04 am

lollll

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 16th, 2012, 8:06 am

Postby Trini Hookah » November 16th, 2012, 8:11 am

casper wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

yuh drink some rum this morning or wat? u not making much sense

Because like BBM voice, it's also in Beta.

And how am I not making sense? I'm saying as it's a multi-platform app, you could have fit that comment into any of the stated threads :roll:

casper

Postby casper » November 16th, 2012, 8:55 am

yea but i didnt feel to...why me not feeling to post it in the apple or RIM thread bothering u?? :?

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2012, 10:03 am

ismithx, sd card nearly empty, its the phones internal memory it seems to use.

I find that real odd that a phone has a sd card and you have no control over how your storage is used, in fact phone internal memory being used up first.

Postby Stephon. » November 16th, 2012, 10:22 am

Wam to vramps and casper boy. Please don't fight I love you both so much :(

Postby ismithx » November 16th, 2012, 10:45 am

nervewrecker wrote:ismithx, sd card nearly empty, its the phones internal memory it seems to use.

I find that real odd that a phone has a sd card and you have no control over how your storage is used, in fact phone internal memory being used up first.

go to applications in the settings menu, check the apps and see if they say

Move to SD - means it is on the phone
Move to Phone - means it is on the SD card

if the move to SD is greyed out it means the app must be installed on the phone....

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2012, 10:49 am

move to sd card is greyed out.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 16th, 2012, 11:56 am

Stephon. wrote:Wam to vramps and casper boy. Please don't fight I love you both so much :(

*hugs*

nerve you have to root and install app2sd (if I remember correctly) Check on XDA for your device. Had to do that with my Charm because internal memory was low, after that it worked like a...

Wait for it...

Charm :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2012, 12:00 pm

Whole week I been meaning to walk across to digicel and cant reach yet *sigh* i'll call them yes. Wanna make sure rooting wont void the warranty.
If it does i'll wait a few months to make sure nothing wrong with the phone and then root.

Anything out of the way to expect when rooting btw?

Postby Trini Hookah » November 16th, 2012, 12:08 pm

Just make sure the battery isn't low when rooting, that's all.

Oh, it's root, then partition the memory card, THEN select partition on app2sd then you're good to go.

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Came across a couple youtube vids on how to do it, havent checked out any yet.

Sounds easy though.

You guys running antivirus stuffz btw?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 12:32 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Whole week I been meaning to walk across to digicel and cant reach yet *sigh* i'll call them yes. Wanna make sure rooting wont void the warranty.
If it does i'll wait a few months to make sure nothing wrong with the phone and then root.

Anything out of the way to expect when rooting btw?

Read your warranty/corntak na :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2012, 12:43 pm

Paper does say one thing and when you take a product back to the retailer is a next story. I pefer hear what they have to say about that specific process as its more or less pointless in having external memory and cant use it.

Buh dan, my bithpapah say trinidadian...you supposed to know we read korntrack and instruckshion manual last.

Postby S_2NR » November 16th, 2012, 12:53 pm

Why so paranoid? :lol:

Rooting is small thing. And reversible.

Postby ismithx » November 16th, 2012, 1:22 pm

you can erase all traces of rooting on the galaxy y. check xda developers. also, the version of gingerbread it comes with has google's apps2sd by default, so if your apps cannot be moved to the sd card, then most likely that is how they were designed. with the unofficial apps2sd you may be able to successfully move the apps, but leave the widgets as they need to be on the phone

Postby stev » November 16th, 2012, 1:36 pm

galaxy y users....u can install cyanogen mod 7 on phone. full guide and latest build here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1647208

there are also other builds....i installed it on my girl's galaxy y and it works well....u get the option of installing or moving apps to the SD card that you normally cant move....this solved the memory problem.

note that there is a cyanogenmod 9 for the galaxy y but i dont advise on installing it just yet....it slows down the phone, u get a lot of launcher force closes and the phone heats up after 5 mins of use :lol: plus d camera not working on it yet.