COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 107 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Saw a farmer in Europe dump a ton of milk due to no carriers available to take it to distributors.

I have been saying that we need to start planning now for a Post C-19 world. What you wrote has much truth.

toyolink wrote:I sincerely hope that Gov't has a task force presently working on addressing such things as our food and essential supplies security come Sept/Oct this year.
The fact of the matter is in the next 3 months or so importation of goods and supplies to keep us going will become extremely difficult because of major supply chain breakdowns and the level of demand from more powerful and larger countries.
Yes, today many countries are reporting over supply of some produce due to inability to get to market or lack of.
However after this comes a period of low production or no production since in the case of agriculture, replanting etc. just isn't a present priority.
Medical and other supplies is a whole mess with the prospects of global production levels returning to mid 2019 levels looking very bleak.
The countries which are first in the queue with prepaid orders and contracts may be best able to endure the turmoil that is on the cards.
Already automotive supplies coming out of Asian markets have fallen away and we may be faced with unavailability and of course price adjustments.
The Gov't needs to do many critical activities in parallel at this time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 8:43 pm

Plan A...get your papers in order and look at life outside Trinidad and besides murica. Besides food security, how long can we really sustain ourselves on $20 oil prices???

Plan B: try all how for plan A to work...there will be an increase in criminal activity...I am 110% sure about this

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2020, 8:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Plan A...get your papers in order and look at life outside Trinidad and besides murica. Besides food security, how long can we really sustain ourselves on $20 oil prices???

Plan B: try all how for plan A to work...there will be an increase in criminal activity...I am 110% sure about this

Plan 3-line

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2020, 8:47 pm

They're dumping milk so they won't inflate the market and collapse farmers. Milk demand has drastically been reduced as restaurants have closed. You won't imagine how much milk coffee houses would use per day. Canada is doing the same. 5 million liters of milk dumped per week.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-52192190

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Read an article the Dutch have 1 billion kilos of potatoes with no buyers

Food has never been a problem in this world. Allocation of resources has been.
maj. tom wrote:They're dumping milk so they won't inflate the market and collapse farmers. Milk demand has drastically been reduced as restaurants have closed. You won't imagine how much milk coffee houses would use per day. Canada is doing the same. 5 million liters of milk dumped per week.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » April 7th, 2020, 9:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Plan A...get your papers in order and look at life outside Trinidad and besides murica. Besides food security, how long can we really sustain ourselves on $20 oil prices???

But Gladiator was saying now is the time to not migrate and for all people abroad to come back to Trinidad.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 9:30 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

But Gladiator was saying now is the time to not migrate and for all people abroad to come back to Trinidad.

Post covid 19 bredda man...othet countries will bounce back...not so sure about here

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2020, 9:39 pm

We might have to vote back in NAR when this is over for the next elections.

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2020, 9:42 pm

as long as capitalism alive and well, we will have food.

that said, prepare for a great depression.

Postby Gladiator » April 7th, 2020, 9:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Post covid 19 bredda man...othet countries will bounce back...not so sure about here

As I said.... for the next 3-5 years keep your tail in T&T... we can still plant provision, catch fish, eat mango and suck cane. Outside there is dog eat dog. They will bounce back eventually but if things goes South those bigger countries would be hell on earth.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 10:11 pm

No change
FB_IMG_1586311856595.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 10:14 pm

The curve flat then

Postby 88sins » April 7th, 2020, 10:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:as long as capitalism alive and well, we will have food.

that said, prepare for a great depression.

at least for those that can afford it

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2020, 10:32 pm

pugboy wrote:The curve flat then

Perhaps. But remember that the CMO warned that this is now the most dangerous time for local infections to get loose. Because some front line people were infected and he was very concerned about local spread. He was emphasizing that now is the time to be very strict about the quarantine and the preventative measures.

Only time will tell if we are going to get out of the worst predicted part of this more or less unscathed. If we follow the rules.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/local-sp ... 1c81e420f7

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » April 7th, 2020, 10:43 pm

FB_IMG_1586313779075.jpg

Thoughts?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 10:48 pm

There's a whole thread on this topic brah. Check that out for thoughts. Some of the usual suspects there
Carbon12 wrote:
FB_IMG_1586313779075.jpg

Thoughts?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » April 7th, 2020, 11:29 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

The conversation was about post covid 19.

Gladiator wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

As I said.... for the next 3-5 years keep your tail in T&T... we can still plant provision, catch fish, eat mango and suck cane. Outside there is dog eat dog. They will bounce back eventually but if things goes South those bigger countries would be hell on earth.

You have to be delusional if you think the west will take 5 years to recover. I'm talking about from the perspective of someone who has legal papers to live in a western country (green card/papers) etc. This is the only way you can legally migrate to the US (without asylum etc).

Postby shogun » April 7th, 2020, 11:33 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:No change FB_IMG_1586311856595.jpeg

This usually updated at 10pm, right?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 11:58 pm

There are three updates daily- 10am, 4pm and 10pm.
shogun wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:No change FB_IMG_1586311856595.jpeg

This usually updated at 10pm, right?

Postby shogun » April 8th, 2020, 12:16 am

Thanks man.

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2020, 12:22 am

Bro... Do whatever the firetruck yuh want. Is your azz to catch.... Not mine
Kewell35 wrote:

The conversation was about post covid 19.

Gladiator wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

You have to be delusional if you think the west will take 5 years to recover. I'm talking about from the perspective of someone who has legal papers to live in a western country (green card/papers) etc. This is the only way you can legally migrate to the US (without asylum etc).

screwbash

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 107 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby screwbash » April 8th, 2020, 6:08 am

dem first world looking so dotish up dey that wen this finish with them dey go beg for migrants to come live in dey country. god doh sleep. we go be heading to the far east instead of the wild wild west, dis time hop sing go be the boss.

Postby Redman » April 8th, 2020, 6:40 am

Recovery time would based on what is left when this is done.
And bounce back to what?
From what level.

Many things will have to change...everywhere.

California is saying that the shut down has cost them about 30% of their GDP.

As one of the largest economies in the world....it might well be indicative.

How long can TNT or any other country trade % GDP vs possible deaths ?

X % GDP vs Y lives. Pick one.
That's the undeniable equation....all govts have to Decide.

Postby adnj » April 8th, 2020, 6:45 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Read an article the Dutch have 1 billion kilos of potatoes with no buyers

Food has never been a problem in this world. Allocation of resources has been.
maj. tom wrote:They're dumping milk so they won't inflate the market and collapse farmers. Milk demand has drastically been reduced as restaurants have closed. You won't imagine how much milk coffee houses would use per day. Canada is doing the same. 5 million liters of milk dumped per week.
How the products are processed and sold has changed. Chain restaurants tend to buy fresh products in bulk. Food packagers that supply groceries do not have the production capacity.

------------

The bulk size products are normally sold to the cooking industry. Now that restaurants are all closed due to COVID-19 and social distancing orders, there’s a surplus in fluid milk, which drives the price down.

“It’s just how you’re getting your food and how you’re purchasing your food has changed and the supply chain hasn’t been able to keep up and change over night like that,” Link said.

Some farmers says because the demand for fluid milk is so low, milk trucks and processing companies are not taking the product at all. They say because milk has such a short shelf life, this means farmers could potentially have to dump out perfectly good product before it spoils.

[URL]https://www.woodtv.com/health/coronavirus/dairy-farmers-left-with-surplus-may-dump-product/
[/URL]

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2020, 7:25 am

They could give it away

Postby hydroep » April 8th, 2020, 7:52 am

Joaquin Phoenix and PETA go be happy...:|

PETA: 12 Reasons to Stop Drinking Milk

Postby aaron17 » April 8th, 2020, 7:56 am

https://youtu.be/zQNU6Bm6pkY

Ppl get infected again...maybe its a rapid test..idk

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2020, 8:52 am

Workers face 'catastrophe' with four out of five worldwide having had their jobs affected by coronavirus

Four out of five workers worldwide have had their jobs affected by the coronavirus pandemic.

Of the 3.3bn-strong global workforce, 81 per cent have had their workplace fully or partly closed, says United Nations agency International Labour Organisation (ILO).

The outbreak is expected to eliminate 6.7 per cent of working hours worldwide during the second quarter of 2020, equivalent to around 195m full-time workers losing their jobs.

Staff in the retail, manufacturing and accommodation and food sectors are hit worst. The Americas and Europe have the highest number of staff in these sectors.

ILO director-general Guy Ryder said: 'Workers and businesses are facing catastrophe, in developed and developing economies.

'We have to move fast, decisively, and together. The right, urgent measures could make the difference between survival and collapse.'

A swift recovery in the second half of 2020 and measures to boost demand for labour could lessen the lasting impact, the ILO said.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/money/marke ... virus.html

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2020, 9:16 am

Adjustments.JPG

Postby maj. tom » April 8th, 2020, 9:21 am

It always could be worse eh. It could be like 1918 with 50 million dead.

I feel like all this is just training for humanity for something greater and more catastrophic to come in the 21st century.
I mean, what if one day your grand-children wake up and a small asteroid has hit somewhere to cause a mini-extinction event several times the size of 1883 Krakatoa? Within a year life would be so different from what we used to call civilization.