Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby solarkh » January 9th, 2023, 12:48 am

IMG_0064.JPG

Postby MaxPower » January 9th, 2023, 12:52 am

DMan7 wrote:Fish Broth is the REAL thing. What fish do you all use for the broth? I use red fish which I find to be the tastiest fish for broth, although king fish is the best if you want a more meaty fish.

Grouper hoss.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 9th, 2023, 9:21 am

DMan7 wrote:Fish Broth is the REAL thing. What fish do you all use for the broth? I use red fish which I find to be the tastiest fish for broth, although king fish is the best if you want a more meaty fish.

I like redfish, red snapper, salmon, kingfish or carite in broth, but what I like to do is keep shark backbone when it butchered and freeze it. I usually add that to my broth and it packs it with extra flavour.

Have a couple in the freezer all now. Was planning to roast them off at high heat and add them to a ramen stock, but now y'all have me feeling for a good peppery fish broth with real lime juice

Postby timelapse » January 9th, 2023, 10:54 am

Was paninis for me on Sunday:
Italian seasoning air fryer boneless chicken with mushrooms and cheese .
Washed down with a 4 hour trip to a waterfall.

matix

Postby matix » January 9th, 2023, 8:20 pm

solarkh wrote:
IMG_0064.JPG

Looks good

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 12th, 2023, 9:08 am

Grouper hoss.

I never had grouper in my life. In fact I don’t think I’ve seen one or pieces to buy when I making my rounds na

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2023, 9:47 am

grouper is amazing in broth...and try frying a piece na....it bess bess bess

Postby timelapse » January 12th, 2023, 10:03 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Grouper hoss.

I never had grouper in my life. In fact I don’t think I’ve seen one or pieces to buy when I making my rounds na
Seafood ltd in Charlieville sometimes has grouper steaks.Or you can check tuner Ryantt

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2023, 10:26 am

Grouper is fairly common in Tunapuna Market's Fish section. But as with most Trinis I typically stick to the two mackerels - Carite and King Fish and every now and again salmon.

I wouldn't mind trying other fish like Grouper if my wife wasn't so picky.

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2023, 10:31 am

Yea tunapuna market has a nice fish section

Used to go there regular for gilbakka when my father was alive.

630 am Sunday morning before the crowd start

Postby Chimera » February 21st, 2023, 7:35 am

Catch about 20 of these in the backyard yesterday. Studying how to deal with them today
20230220_135551.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » February 21st, 2023, 7:39 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Catch about 20 of these in the backyard yesterday. Studying how to deal with them today
20230220_135551.jpg
Them ting aint good to eat
Put them in the fridge, send me a location and i will come help you dispose of them

snatman

Postby snatman » February 21st, 2023, 8:49 am

today is rice noodles,
stir fry chunky veg with pakchoi in oyster sauce,
crispy skin pork!

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2023, 9:32 am

bai, I have one big-ass mahi-mahi to deal with today.

gonna clean it and make some nice steaks, grill them and add a little lemon butter with just a hint of rosemary. The wife go figure out what she putting with it.

snatman

Postby snatman » February 21st, 2023, 5:26 pm

^ It come out good!
20230221_141550.jpg

Postby K74T » February 21st, 2023, 9:27 pm

Looks great...esp the pork

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2023, 9:52 pm

looking good
which technique you used on the pork?

snatman

Postby snatman » February 22nd, 2023, 9:34 am

Steam the pork till its fully cooked - get the fat to the texture you want it.
Steam til there's only a very slight glaze left in the pot.
Coat the pork with the glaze then roast - on a rack - in a convection oven at 450 for about 20-25 mins til proper colour and texture is achieved.

It doesn't work as well in a non-convection oven. Maybe an air fryer could work. I dunno. I don't have one.

I used riblet chops for this one. If you using belly, punch some pinholes on the skin after steaming for a better crunch.

pugboy wrote:looking good
which technique you used on the pork?

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 10:32 am

that’s a good way, steaming basically cooks at 220f. and get it to jelly like and easy to crisp after

i have tried most of the ways before and now just bake at same 220-240 in oven or air fryer until it like jelly and easy to punch holes then use 365 in the air fryer.
your way is good i that the meat doesn’t burn, i have to watch out in case it dries out and get stuff during that initial cook

snatman

Postby snatman » February 22nd, 2023, 11:10 am

Yeah, after many attempts myself, the way I described works best for me.
With some other methods, you often end up with dried out/burnt areas or an inconsistent finish.

While the method I use is not traditional, I end up with a consistent product that doesn't require too much monitoring.

I do the same with my Chinese style chicken too, except that i brush on regular cooking oil before roasting. That also comes out pretty decent. And almost indistinguishable from fried.

pugboy wrote:that’s a good way, steaming basically cooks at 220f. and get it to jelly like and easy to crisp after

i have tried most of the ways before and now just bake at same 220-240 in oven or air fryer until it like jelly and easy to punch holes then use 365 in the air fryer.
your way is good i that the meat doesn’t burn, i have to watch out in case it dries out and get stuff during that initial cook

RedVEVO-Remix

Postby RedVEVO-Remix » March 12th, 2023, 10:34 am

Grande Roasted Leg of Lamb with basil and fragrant mint and tart cranberry jelly - on the side. Huge pot of beef corn soup with green fig - no dumplings ! Putin inspired tossed salad with green olives, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, celery, kale and finely cut baby pak choy. Stir fried bodi with mushrooms and carrots in grape seed oil with secret syrian spices . Biden inspired salad - grapes and feta cheese and pickles. Shepherd’s pie and sides of yuca immersed in fresh garlic and olive oil. Yuca ( cassava) . Grilled vegetables - eggplant, pumpkin , sweet potatoes , boil corn on the cob with real English butter. Grilled large whole tomatoes with jack pepper cheese inserts. Cold Watermelon slices and passion fruit juice with lots lots and lots ice, cold pineapple slices and massively cold ( 2 cases ) Modelo - Corona ( 1 case ) also for the latinas ! Music by Chacal and Lenier with dancing since life is good ! Venezuelan Ice box cake which is similar to a Pineapple Upside Down Cake with smooth and rich Coconut ice cream served with lots lots and lots fruit cocktail - along with hot steaming Black Hong Wing coffee with Brandy . And strong Cuban cafe con Leche with Cohiba for the men. Good times still rollin with the familia ! Lots lots and lots Family today - It’s Ma Moses Birthday - Saludos !

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 12th, 2023, 10:40 am

ChefGPT yes.
Enjoy it pallie.

I making a simple chicken peleau with fresh pigeon peas and a coleslaw.

Kid getting pasta salad and baked chicken

Postby De Dragon » March 12th, 2023, 12:35 pm

Rice, dhal, duck, mudda in law and smoke ah rin

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2023, 12:42 pm

air fryer roast fowl, strimps in ketchup ginger sauce, stew pork and jasmine rice
watercress for the separator

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2023, 2:54 pm

Baked chicken, red beans, a little bit of potato, green salad.

Doing it simple and light this weekend. Tbh, I does fed up of the extras sometimes. Next week i going back to bare bones basics. Dumplin, lentil peas and stew yardie. Who eh like dat could stay hungry I don't care :drinking:

Postby Chimera » March 12th, 2023, 5:36 pm

Dominos veggie pizza

Postby gastly369 » April 9th, 2023, 4:44 pm

Lil quick ting today and some bare fruit oj
IMG_20230409_121401-01.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2023, 5:19 pm

gastly369 wrote:Lil quick ting today and some bare fruit oj
IMG_20230409_121401-01.jpg
Papayoooooo

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2023, 9:58 am

made potato salad, baked chicken and some Jamaican style rice n peas.
Did a shaved cucumber noodle salad on the side with some soy/pineapple/lime dressing