Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 6th, 2012, 7:47 am

Anyone ever saw lobster available for sale?

Interested in setting up a lobster tank :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 6th, 2012, 9:05 am

^^^^Raj sometimes brings in the purple ones. He also has some big local ones.
Your filtration system has to be good and alot of rockwork or media with heavily populated bacteria. Its just like maintaining a reef tank.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 7th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Netsket, these are the corals i'm going to sell or trade by raj.
Maze brain.jpg
Maze brain.jpg (68.12 KiB) Viewed 2340 times
Multi-color Acans.jpg
Multi-color Acans.jpg (73.4 KiB) Viewed 2340 times
Acan.jpg
Acan.jpg (72.86 KiB) Viewed 2340 times

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 7th, 2012, 8:24 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^^^Raj sometimes brings in the purple ones. He also has some big local ones.
Your filtration system has to be good and alot of rockwork or media with heavily populated bacteria. Its just like maintaining a reef tank.

Strangely enough, I went by raj and didn't even know till after someone saw some pics I took :lol:

It was by him I saw the idea in action, think ill have to let him guide me on this.

netsket

Postby netsket » December 8th, 2012, 11:14 am

lancer3 wrote:Image

trying out a camera app....

nice. love that piece of driftwood.

HondaB20B wrote:Netsket, these are the corals i'm going to sell or trade by raj.

nice. maze brain looking good.

netsket

Postby netsket » December 8th, 2012, 12:16 pm

WTB. Reef Frags

Always looking for coral and mushroom frags for my reef tank. Let me know what you have to sell. Preferably LPS frags. Also interested in inverts.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2012, 11:28 pm

look at these mushrooms
Supermanzoom[1].jpg
Supermanmushrooms4-29-07[1].jpg
rico2d[1].jpg
rico1[1].jpg
IMG_1665a[1].jpg
IMG_1150-F-L[1].jpg
DSC_0328[1].jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2012, 11:32 pm

2 more
yuma1[1].jpg
yuma1[1] (2).jpg

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 9th, 2012, 5:54 pm

i want one of those

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 9th, 2012, 6:07 pm

heard the prices start at 50US for the less colorfull ones and go as high as 150US
they're only 1 - 1 1/2" dia.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 9th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Got a tank approx. 150 gallons outside with two pacus (both about 6inches). Currently there is no filtration system and the water has become very dirty. Would like to put in one, but I need some advice on one suited for my application. Willing to build one if required.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 10th, 2012, 8:30 am

^^there are many options that are at hand. Best thing to do is to Google DIY Filter systems and see what you come up with, if you want to do it yourself. A simple bucket filter will be the cheapest (<$1000 total).

If you want to buy one, then the cannister may be your best way forward, but for that size tank, a cannister filter will be expensive (round $2500).

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 10th, 2012, 8:56 am

@ Kasey-Thanks a lot found these two that were done;

1) http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariu ... hp?t=60394
2) http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/diy- ... pond-6350/

Can you recommend where I can get the pump and probably pricing.

Thanks.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 10th, 2012, 11:49 am

^^Yup, two effective designs. Whichever is easier for you to make by all means go ahead. Just some things to consider when making a filter (in my experience):
1) Make sure you can take it apart easily!! You want to be able to clean, modify, or just re-use this some time in the future
2) How to clean your filter media (use media that is easily cleaned and/or re-useable)
3) The right placement (put it in a spot easily accessable for ease of maintenence)

The pump can any right-spec'd submersible pump. Ensure you have flow rate from the pump (rule of thumb is multiply your tank capacity by 7 and use this as your pump flow rate)
e.g. You have a 150 gallon tank. So 150 * 7=1050 (round this off to 1000).
So you have to look for a 1000GPH submersible pump (you may be able to get away with a smaller one due to ur current stock level of only two Pacus).

Finally, look for a good brand pump. Magdrive, Marineland, and Rio are pretty decent pumps for the prices. If u want I have a RIO 840GPH brand new that I am not using. Gimme $600 and take it (paid $800)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2012, 2:15 pm

Why not 2 hang on filters on either side of the tank. Should run you about $1000-1200

3pO

Postby 3pO » December 10th, 2012, 3:31 pm

anyone know where i can get branching live rock

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2012, 3:51 pm

Branching liverock????
explain...........

3pO

Postby 3pO » December 10th, 2012, 4:18 pm

live rock that kinda looks like branches ,,not like boulders

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2012, 11:26 pm

3pO wrote:live rock that kinda looks like branches ,,not like boulders

you mean finger coral? Thats not live rock?
If you're going to use that to try to cycle a tank it will crash before you even start. Thats actual coral. What do you actually want it for? is it to put in a cycled tank already. Remember there is a particular reason why you use live rock in tanks.

Not trying to bash you but this is an interesting read if you're now starting up your tank.
http://www.liveaquaria.com/PIC/article. ... 23#title_7

3pO

Postby 3pO » December 11th, 2012, 3:47 pm

it is not finger coral that i am referring to , it is more like dead staghorn coral not actual live coral ,i am planning to cycle this rock to add to an already existing reef tank .
http://spsholic.com/entry/MRkangTank
this is the type of aquascape i am trying to create

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 11th, 2012, 4:16 pm

Is branching liverock . You know how liverock is dead coral and limestone well the branching corals that die that turn into live rock it is live rock but looks like dead branching coral.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2012, 8:02 pm

3pO wrote:it is not finger coral that i am referring to , it is more like dead staghorn coral not actual live coral ,i am planning to cycle this rock to add to an already existing reef tank .
http://spsholic.com/entry/MRkangTank
this is the type of aquascape i am trying to create

Or ok, well thats not branching live rock. You want dead branching coral. You may have to go Toco or down the islands and get it. Use the reefsafe putty and glue the broken finger coral into the design you want. i Did that to a good size piece of them already.

The tank pic is nice

kl122

Postby kl122 » December 11th, 2012, 9:01 pm

anyone have killifish? i am doin research on them, i find they r very unique and colorful...you can order the dehydrated eggs from ebay and hatch dem yourself....im looking at ordering 120 eggs for my first attempt..

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 12th, 2012, 2:09 pm

I want to know some of allyuh opinions on USING RAIN WATER IN A REEF This is a question no need to quarrel and ting just give an opinion. I read a lot of comments on this about acid rain and what pollutants it have in it but is trinidad rain polluted? maybe?

3pO

Postby 3pO » December 12th, 2012, 4:12 pm

rain water contains nitrates because of the nitrogen cycle and it has air pollution in trinidad because of the industries and what not , so that might precipitate and fall in your rain , but who really knows ,until somebody try it

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 12th, 2012, 7:38 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I want to know some of allyuh opinions on USING RAIN WATER IN A REEF This is a question no need to quarrel and ting just give an opinion. I read a lot of comments on this about acid rain and what pollutants it have in it but is trinidad rain polluted? maybe?

Ey try it man, you never know. Nothing wrong with d rain water. Ent people does drink it and in any case it falling in the sea? It have no industry in d country. Pass it tru some charcoal and yuh good tuh go.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Still have the pair of all black clowns.
PM me

netsket

Postby netsket » December 15th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I want to know some of allyuh opinions on USING RAIN WATER IN A REEF This is a question no need to quarrel and ting just give an opinion. I read a lot of comments on this about acid rain and what pollutants it have in it but is trinidad rain polluted? maybe?

I used to use rain water when I was cycling my liverock. No complaints, only that it was the dry season and I didnt have enough water. Got a RODI system now.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 15th, 2012, 2:29 pm

lol cool i dont have an RODI system ...i will collect some rain water and experiment with it.
Honda maybe yuh could trade it by raj for corals or sell it. maybe some petshop might buy it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 15th, 2012, 5:36 pm

hey guys i have ah padna wit ah few alligator gars he needs gone...he heading out the country and wants to get rid of dem before they die at the hands of his parents...PM me for info...