3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

lighthammer

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby lighthammer » April 22nd, 2011, 6:43 am

Somehow I feel fresh and clean, just from watching this..... :D :D :D

Rensh - I get fed up of loading pages with huge pics, having to wait approx 30 mins for the page to load. So I just posted the smaller versions.... I think I go start posting bigger versions from now.

Postby tr1ad » April 22nd, 2011, 7:38 am

good stuff all around fellas
keep it up

one day i might shoot something other than cars/sport and post here
then again i might try my hand at photoshop, but i doubt as i like my shots to look as they were taken in front of the camera

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 22nd, 2011, 11:18 am

^^ post ting post ting!!

Postby tr1ad » April 22nd, 2011, 12:22 pm

i would, but i don't really shoot anything besides motorsports really

went to a friend's wedding, decided to walk with camera

these are straight off the memory card, only used watermark factory to add a tiny watermark in the corner, no editing whatsoever, not even cropping

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 22nd, 2011, 12:23 pm

thats the kinda shots i like!
no editing!

Postby MG Man » April 22nd, 2011, 1:42 pm

that's what I do........I don't edit cuz I too lazy to even try to learn

Postby RBphoto » April 22nd, 2011, 10:37 pm

1 sigh.... look, there are people who like to edit the bejesus out of their picture, and there are some who don't. I personally edit about 50% of my shots, at the very least the black point and to adjust white balance. These are considered to be critical adjustments, by most professionals that ALL their pictures have to go through. Other critical adjustments are sharpening, saturation and contrast (but I adjust curves, so I don't touch contrast)

If you are going to spend $500.00 to print 16"X20" or bigger, then pay > $1500.00 to frame it, you are going to have to spend some time behind the computer optimizing the image to make a decent print.

I say edit to your heart's content. No amount of editing will salvage poor composition, poor technique, or poor lighting. Talent, passion, discipline, (or lack thereof) will show in the finial image.

I went to my third rally a few Sundays ago for a small lime, and the first time I took my camera. Took a few shots of cars coming around a corner.. was meh. The really spectacular shots were those from people who put themselves within inches of the vehicle, got in close and got a unique point of view. No amount of photoshop would make my picture look like theirs. The final image speaks for itself.

Cid

Postby Cid » April 23rd, 2011, 12:41 am

crossdrilled wrote:1 sigh.... look, there are people who like to edit the bejesus out of their picture, and there are some who don't. I personally edit about 50% of my shots, at the very least the black point and to adjust white balance. These are considered to be critical adjustments, by most professionals that ALL their pictures have to go through. Other critical adjustments are sharpening, saturation and contrast (but I adjust curves, so I don't touch contrast)

If you are going to spend $500.00 to print 16"X20" or bigger, then pay > $1500.00 to frame it, you are going to have to spend some time behind the computer optimizing the image to make a decent print.

I say edit to your heart's content. No amount of editing will salvage poor composition, poor technique, or poor lighting. Talent, passion, discipline, (or lack thereof) will show in the finial image.

I went to my third rally a few Sundays ago for a small lime, and the first time I took my camera. Took a few shots of cars coming around a corner.. was meh. The really spectacular shots were those from people who put themselves within inches of the vehicle, got in close and got a unique point of view. No amount of photoshop would make my picture look like theirs. The final image speaks for itself.

very well said........some ppl do as if editing is a crime....

Postby ismithx » April 23rd, 2011, 8:16 pm

Cid wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:1 sigh.... look, there are people who like to edit the bejesus out of their picture, and there are some who don't. I personally edit about 50% of my shots, at the very least the black point and to adjust white balance. These are considered to be critical adjustments, by most professionals that ALL their pictures have to go through. Other critical adjustments are sharpening, saturation and contrast (but I adjust curves, so I don't touch contrast)

very well said........some ppl do as if editing is a crime....

immortal

Postby immortal » April 23rd, 2011, 9:34 pm

Learning to use the manual settings on a Canon HF S100 camcorder. Unedited

Postby shogun » April 24th, 2011, 8:08 am

Loving that first pic @ tr1ad.

just a couple sunset pics.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2011, 10:36 am

If you could get the shot un-edited and it came out perfect - then 'nuff respect to you.

If you could rescue a shot via editing and make it print-worthy - then same respect to you.

That is all.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 24th, 2011, 4:00 pm

^^ i have learned to accept those words really..

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » April 25th, 2011, 12:11 am

A couple more shots I've taken:

Also, to who ever pointed me towards FroKnowsPhoto on youtube, (I cant remember who posted the link and I'm to lazy to look), thanks a mil, his vids are super informative. The rest of you guys should check them out if you haven't already.

Cheers.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 25th, 2011, 7:31 am

Gavin Howey has some great vids as well

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 25th, 2011, 10:00 am

I woke up at my usual 5:00am this morning and started getting ready to work when it hit me that today is a holiday (*d'oh*!!).

Had nothing to do for the rest of the morning, so I decided to go bother the doggies. Needless to say, they didn't really share in my enthusiasm for waking up early.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 25th, 2011, 10:16 am

Here's a mock-up shot I did when I first started getting into off-camera lighting. Was walking through a department store in the UK when I saw a pic of Chanel No. 5 and got inspired to try the same with my old bottles of cologne.

This was a combination of both proper setup for lighting as well as a small amount of editing. Very simple setup - just aimed the light onto the white background to get the backlit effect through the bottles, and I had to edit it to increase contrast due to the flooding of light.

Image Info:
- Nikon D40
- Nikon SB600 x2, both were snooted (put a hollow tube over them to direct the light)
- Off-camera flash controlled cheap e-bay triggers and manual mode, trigger mounted on the speedlight mount of the D40.

Here's the setup shot:

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 25th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Aswome work there man, off camera lighting is the next frontier I want to venture off into.. Gotta find some time to add more landscape/lifestyle material to my portfolio, Ive got more motor sport stuff than anything else 0_-

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 25th, 2011, 4:58 pm

Small stuff...... in the forest. No post editing.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2011, 9:11 pm

^^ that white flower is epic.
Great shot, esp. unedited :D

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 26th, 2011, 9:43 pm

thanks lighthammer.
That shot of the bottles, like i was watching a page in a magazine.

Postby shogun » April 26th, 2011, 9:58 pm

^So true. Even the use of the reflective surface, to display the bottles, was spot on. lighthammer obviously had been paying attention, to product advertising.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 4:30 am

phototrini.com guys, I am having trouble signing up.. Can any of the mods from that site take a look at the 'register' page? I cannot see any image to obtain the 'confirmation code' required to complete the process..

Thanks..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2011, 6:34 am

^^ try a different browser?

i did and got through..used the new firefox.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 28th, 2011, 6:48 am

Chrome this morn

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2011, 8:16 am

Last edited by sMASH on April 28th, 2011, 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 8:25 am

I tried both Chrome and IE8, no luck..

Postby SUPAstarr » April 28th, 2011, 9:21 am

no luck for me either on IE9 an chrome for phototrini

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 6:05 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ try a different browser?

i did and got through..used the new firefox.

I just tried firefox, no luck there also..

Does anyone have or know a temp code I can use to get through? Who are the mods for phototrini?

Postby gastly369 » April 28th, 2011, 7:28 pm

little someting ah try