pugboy wrote:allyuh never hear about junior doctor shifts in a hospital
paid_influencer wrote:pugboy wrote:allyuh never hear about junior doctor shifts in a hospital
my point is what Hinds is doing might be even more intensive than that
AlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure but you can't blame her because the corruption in there can't be controlled. Rolwey can stop crime either because it's big business.
White color crime fueling the black color crime. People have to eat when morning come. Crime paying the bills.
pugboy wrote:at expense largely of indian business owners and chinee groceriesAlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure but you can't blame her because the corruption in there can't be controlled. Rolwey can stop crime either because it's big business.
White color crime fueling the black color crime. People have to eat when morning come. Crime paying the bills.
AlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure.
Habit7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure.
Based on what metric?
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:I agree that she doesn't sound as confident as GG or as intellectual as Williams. Frankly, she makes me wonder if she bought all her degrees. But we are currently experiencing a 30% reduction in murders. That is SoE kinda results. I cant say if it is a direct result of her work or not. But why the hate for her though? She is the only CoP in recent time that is experiencing successive years of reduction in murders. Why move her?
Is it that ppl want to hear Sheriff Gary but murders still increasing?
Or Reno 911 but the murders going down?
So wait...
Murder toll in Jan 2022 (52) was less than the murder toll in Jan 2023 (61) yet the year 2022 ended up being the highest murder toll in local history.
The murder toll this january is less than the murder toll last year january and men ready to beat up dey chest and want praise?
WET STEUPZ...
Let's wait a 3-6 months and we can judge a lil better. If it improves, we can be a bit more optimistic. If not, she's a failure.
Firstly Jan 2022 we were in COVID lockdown. There was limited gathering of ppl, limits on beaches and rivers, vaccines for travellers and other things. I think that Jan 2021 and Jan 2022 are outliers or should be counted as an SoE.
Secondly, Erla was not CoP in Jan 2023 so that is irrelevant to the assessment of Erla.
Thirdly, this is jumping in at page 3 when the conversation started at page 1. I said I have issues with Erla based on how she appears. But based on 2023 stats and the Guardian comparison of her against other CoPs, I don’t see what’s so bad. I agree we should let 3-6 months pass in 2024 to further assess it. But based on 2023, what is so bad with Erla?
Is it that I must parrot UNC’s talking points that Erla and Hinds must be fired and if you cite stats it makes you a PNM? Be objective, yes she sounds like she is along for the ride, but judging her by the same stats you will judge every other CoP, what stats shows that she is failing?
I don’t know if she is directly responsible for any decrease in 2023 but if there was an increase wouldn’t it be fair to hold her accountable?
I am here to deal with facts, not personalities.
pugboy wrote:at expense largely of indian business owners and chinee groceriesAlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure but you can't blame her because the corruption in there can't be controlled. Rolwey can stop crime either because it's big business.
alfa wrote:Habit7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:Erla is clearly a failure.
Based on what metric?
Tell us your metric on why she is not, because with several travel advisories against us and a murder rate of over one per day I'm genuinely curious
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:I agree that she doesn't sound as confident as GG or as intellectual as Williams. Frankly, she makes me wonder if she bought all her degrees. But we are currently experiencing a 30% reduction in murders. That is SoE kinda results. I cant say if it is a direct result of her work or not. But why the hate for her though? She is the only CoP in recent time that is experiencing successive years of reduction in murders. Why move her?
Is it that ppl want to hear Sheriff Gary but murders still increasing?
Or Reno 911 but the murders going down?
So wait...
Murder toll in Jan 2022 (52) was less than the murder toll in Jan 2023 (61) yet the year 2022 ended up being the highest murder toll in local history.
The murder toll this january is less than the murder toll last year january and men ready to beat up dey chest and want praise?
WET STEUPZ...
Let's wait a 3-6 months and we can judge a lil better. If it improves, we can be a bit more optimistic. If not, she's a failure.
Firstly Jan 2022 we were in COVID lockdown. There was limited gathering of ppl, limits on beaches and rivers, vaccines for travellers and other things. I think that Jan 2021 and Jan 2022 are outliers or should be counted as an SoE.
Secondly, Erla was not CoP in Jan 2023 so that is irrelevant to the assessment of Erla.
Thirdly, this is jumping in at page 3 when the conversation started at page 1. I said I have issues with Erla based on how she appears. But based on 2023 stats and the Guardian comparison of her against other CoPs, I don’t see what’s so bad. I agree we should let 3-6 months pass in 2024 to further assess it. But based on 2023, what is so bad with Erla?
Is it that I must parrot UNC’s talking points that Erla and Hinds must be fired and if you cite stats it makes you a PNM? Be objective, yes she sounds like she is along for the ride, but judging her by the same stats you will judge every other CoP, what stats shows that she is failing?
I don’t know if she is directly responsible for any decrease in 2023 but if there was an increase wouldn’t it be fair to hold her accountable?
I am here to deal with facts, not personalities.
Covid? Well guess what? With some of the Covid lockdowns in 2022, we STILL ended up with the highest murder toll in local history.
My example flew over your head. It wasn't about Erla. My point is that you can't study one month this year with a lower murder count with one month for the same period last year with a higher murder count and bawl success.
Erla is bad. I never said she was THE worst, but she is bad. She's a bit better than Jacob, but she's still bad. Is like an exam, Jacob gets 2/20, Erla gets 6/20, yes Erla did better than Jacob, but they both still failed.
alfa wrote:LOL this T&T since 2003. She failed because in one year she didn’t change 2 decades of the status quo? Ok.
Interestingly this is the same metric people use to say PNM is performing
pugboy wrote:so what about the metric of public confidence ?
Why do you continue to come here with "facts" and "metrics" and "logic," ... This is a forum of emotional outbursts, insults, name calling and Kamla worshipping. It's too early for the good Friday bobolee.Habit7 wrote:pugboy wrote:so what about the metric of public confidence ?
Great. Please show us this quantifiable that is void of bias.
Mmoney607 wrote:Gary was a huge failure. But Gary didn't appoint himself, Keith Rowley appointed him. But you max, want another five years of Rowley so he could do that kind of dotishness again.
alfa wrote:Metric metric me arse metric. We have one of the highest murder rates in the world (40 per 100000) but because it seems to have went down slightly this year under Erla people here are saying she's not a total and abject failure and that she cannot change the status quo from since 2003. Statistics while accurate do nothing to appease and reassure the population when you have more people dying than there are days in the year. That sounds like something a politician will use, specifically a PNM politician. Might as well blame Kamla one time
...wing wrote:...pugboy wrote:tbh it is difficult to compare over the years
crime has evolved, methods to acquire guns
increased drug market
pugboy wrote:i am guessing them embassy gonna soon reverse all them warnings they send out each month about bad crime here
POLICE Commissioner Erla Harewood-Christopher has been ordered to reopen the screening process for police recruits so that males shorter than 167 centimetres can apply.
Justice Robin Mohammed made the order on January 8. In a landmark ruling, the judge held that the police service regulation which restricted men below 167 centimetres from applying to the police service was discriminatory.
He said the regulation impugned the rights to equality of treatment by a public body and protection of the law and was not “saved law” preventing it from being challenged. Mohammed also declared regulation 3 (1) (f) was incompatible with the Constitution and granted an order of mandamus for the State to take all steps to exclude that height requirement from the recruitment process.
Regulation 3(1)(f) which deals with recruitment says in the case of a male, a trainee must be of good physique and at least 167 centimetres tall.
In ordering the commissioner to reopen the recruitment process, Mohammed said he was cognisant that the police service was engaged in recruitment at the beginning of the year to fulfil a Cabinet mandate to increase the police force by 1,000 for 2024, a tripling of the normal intake.
The judge’s order will now widen the pool of prospective candidates applying to become police officers.
In his budget speech in October 2023, Finance Minister Colm Imbert spoke of the introduction of 1,000 new recruits for 2024, a move welcomed by the Police Service Social and Welfare Association.
The judge’s orders were made in a ruling in favour of Renaldo Marajh, who wanted to apply to the police service but could not because of his height.
For his distress and inconvenience, Marajh will receive a total of $400,000 to be paid by the State, which also has to pay his legal bills fit for one senior counsel and two junior counsel.
Mohammed’s declaration follows a similar ruling by another judge in October 2023, which declared the police service’s tattoo policy for recruits unconstitutional.
Marajh was represented by Anand Ramlogan, SC, Kent Samlal and Vishaal Siewsaran.
In the claim before Mohammed, Marajh, 31, of Ben Lomond Village, Williamsville, said he was 160 centimetres tall.
In October 2020, he applied to the police service but the Police Academy told him he was not eligible because he did not meet the height requirement, so was “disqualified by law.”
He said the regulation was unfair and discriminatory.
“I am a healthy, fit young man who would like to contribute to and serve my country yet, I am disqualified from doing so on account of my height.
“It was always a dream and ambition of mine to become a police officer to protect and serve the citizens of my country.
“I feel frustrated and distressed when I see police officers who are not physically fit with pot bellies and the like wearing the very uniform that I have been deemed incapable and unworthy of wearing purely on account of my biological and physical features.”