Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

GuppyAteMyDog

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby GuppyAteMyDog » November 24th, 2012, 2:47 pm

Wazzup my trini fishkeepers !, if anybody is interested in large predatory fish or smaller fish like rams or apistos check me out on youtube !

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 26th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Have a candycane with 8 heads that i'm willing to part with. Green center with pink outer flesh.
PM me or call me @ 354-4003 if interested.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 28th, 2012, 9:28 am

was by Raj last night and i saw the new The Maxspect R420R aka Razor. Got to fiidle around with it over 2 of his reef tank............................ :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

the thing real sweet.............

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 29th, 2012, 10:04 am

Fishman wrote:

Yeah I am running a Reef Keeper Elite. It turns on and off my halides, dims my T5's for dawn dusk, controls the moonlights in tune with actual moon phase. Controls calcium reactor, pumps, skimmer, vodka dosing, fans, ATO and reports on PH, Temp etc. The best part is I can log on from anywhere and get the status of anything on it and it also sends emails if something is going wrong. Here are some pics of my equipment and a full tank shot.

had to bump this.................

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 29th, 2012, 10:15 am

I have four (4) Large Green jewel cichlids to get off my hands. sizes are 4"-5". They big, and lay eggs, but the other fish dont give them chance. Need them out my tank to make space for other fishes.

Either trade for peacock cichlids, large, non aggressive fish, or trade for money ($90 for one, $150 a pair)

Oh yea, there are three females, and one male.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » November 29th, 2012, 8:51 pm

I need help finding a broker that would help me import and clear a box of fish for my personal aquarium, any recommendations?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 29th, 2012, 10:56 pm

dont you need some special permit from the forestry/agriculture dept or whoever it is first ???

link

Postby link » November 30th, 2012, 7:35 am

u shud ctc someone who already has an established m.o. This will allow u to 'add' yr shipment to theirs & come in on same clearances.
Maybe Charran or others ?? they hve 'people' smoothing out the way (not breaking the law) to make import less frustrating (I did an order thru Charran & all I had to do was pay a dwnpymnt-their 'ppl' handle everything.
anyways...chk min agri & find out EXACTLY what u need to import fish...also where/what u CAN'T import .
rgds

link

Postby link » November 30th, 2012, 10:37 am

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... ntent=html

A man, his wife and two children were hospitalised after he tried to kill off a colony of Zoanthid corals in his reef tank.

According to PubMed.gov, the 37-year-old arrived at the local hospital emergency department with fever, hypotension and symptoms of a metallic taste in the mouth, nausea, headache, shivering and severe muscle cramps.

Symptoms appeared after he had tried to remove a colony of Zoanthids from his aquarium by pouring boiling water over them.

He, his 35-year-old wife and two 10-year-old twins all inhaled the resultant steam coming from the aquarium and had similar symptoms.

On physical examination, all family members had low blood pressure and fever with a temperature of 38.5°C. Blood analysis showed leucocytosis and an elevated CRP.

Palytoxin poisoning was diagnosed, although luckily the family recovered within 48 hours.

There is no specific therapy for or antidote to palytoxin poisoning and for this reason, treatment is supportive.

Practical Fishkeeping advises using extreme caution when handling these otherwise safe looking corals.

Palytoxin is present both in Palythoa and Zoanthus button polyps, both of which are widely available in the hobby.

The use of rubber gloves and protective eyeware is advised when handling them. Do not use boiling water.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 1st, 2012, 12:42 pm

Was by Raj just now because he bought in fish, corals & inverts.

Fish: yellowtail damsels, yellow damsels, sweetlips, yellow belly hippo tangs, triggers, dottybacks, pinkspot gobies, bluespot gobies

Inverts: Peppermint shrimp, cleaner shrimp, nassarius snails, orange turbo snails (bright orange shell)

Corals: Bubble tips, elegance, large hammers, frogspawn, grape, gonioporas, brains, mushrooms

Postby DVSTT » December 1st, 2012, 8:37 pm

Think I'm going to donate my pacu to wild fowl trust. It chewed through the power cords of 3 different beckett pumps :?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 1st, 2012, 8:45 pm

^^^^ donate it to LINK on d forum

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 2nd, 2012, 3:11 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Was by Raj just now because he bought in fish, corals & inverts.

Fish: yellowtail damsels, yellow damsels, sweetlips, yellow belly hippo tangs, triggers, dottybacks, pinkspot gobies, bluespot gobies

Inverts: Peppermint shrimp, cleaner shrimp, nassarius snails, orange turbo snails (bright orange shell)

Corals: Bubble tips, elegance, large hammers, frogspawn, grape, gonioporas, brains, mushrooms

have to go by him soon need some mushrooms inverts and gobies....after i get my nitrate problems down

netsket

Postby netsket » December 2nd, 2012, 10:24 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Was by Raj just now because he bought in fish, corals & inverts.

have to go by him soon need some mushrooms inverts and gobies....after i get my nitrate problems down

check and see if your test kit not bad. happened to me i was getting a nitrate problem and the test kit was old. changed the nitrate solution and problem solved.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » December 3rd, 2012, 12:48 pm

where can I get good quality Bosemani Rainbows? I checked W&S but he doesn't have any at the moment.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 3rd, 2012, 5:17 pm

netsket wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:

check and see if your test kit not bad. happened to me i was getting a nitrate problem and the test kit was old. changed the nitrate solution and problem solved.

well i have algae problems to so maybe its not the testkit

netsket

Postby netsket » December 3rd, 2012, 7:10 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
netsket wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:

well i have algae problems to so maybe its not the testkit

k well start feeding less and get a yellow tang, hermit crabs and turbo snails to remove the algae

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 3rd, 2012, 7:52 pm

Reefplanet wrote:

Why dont you solve your cyano and hair algae problem first before you get mushrooms, inverts and fish. Inverts in particular are very delicate. When you get the hair algae totally gone (and i dont mean just taking it out) then you can study that. Bad hair algae means a bad water issue and the light and excess feeding is just fueling the algae. Using tapwater is another issue that is also fueling it. You have weeks of water changes before you get that down. You also need to be running your skimmer 24/7. 2 fish in the tank dont require much feeding. Putting a tang, hermits and snails in there is just going to be a temp fix. You,re still going to have high nitrates. Water changes and cutting down on the lighting hrs will help.

Postby sharkman121 » December 4th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Have some purple montipora, neon green acropora, and frogspawn coral that needs a new home.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » December 4th, 2012, 2:33 pm

trying out a camera app....

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 4th, 2012, 3:40 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:

Why dont you solve your cyano and hair algae problem first before you get mushrooms, inverts and fish. Inverts in particular are very delicate. When you get the hair algae totally gone (and i dont mean just taking it out) then you can study that. Bad hair algae means a bad water issue and the light and excess feeding is just fueling the algae. Using tapwater is another issue that is also fueling it. You have weeks of water changes before you get that down. You also need to be running your skimmer 24/7. 2 fish in the tank dont require much feeding. Putting a tang, hermits and snails in there is just going to be a temp fix. You,re still going to have high nitrates. Water changes and cutting down on the lighting hrs will help.

I need to save up for a new skimmer all i have now is a nano skimmer but i need like a skimmer for a 20gal sump. Raj tell meh he not gettin any hermits again cause they eating the coral and snails so idk where to get. My emerald crab used to eat up all d algaes in the tank but since he died the algae just growing. The snails only work at night but idk what they do.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 4th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:

I need to save up for a new skimmer all i have now is a nano skimmer but i need like a skimmer for a 20gal sump. Raj tell meh he not gettin any hermits again cause they eating the coral and snails so idk where to get. My emerald crab used to eat up all d algaes in the tank but since he died the algae just growing. The snails only work at night but idk what they do.

Thats why i dont have hermits in my tank.

radiationkills

Postby radiationkills » December 4th, 2012, 8:44 pm

hello tuners, looking for some advice. i have a small tank at present with 4 silver dollar fishes and an upside down catfish and i want to upgrade to a bigger tank with more of these type of fishes. can you make some recommendations on where to get the fishes and aquarium. i checked two glass shops and the prices were really high. any help will be greatly appreciated.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 4th, 2012, 10:21 pm

Chai's in north and Petshop Boys in South.

devrat

Postby devrat » December 5th, 2012, 8:00 am

Setting up my first real aquarium, bought a penplax cascade 1000 filter, set it up, primed the pump water filled the filter but cannot seem to get it to work when plugged in.....any advice / help.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 5th, 2012, 8:55 am

Most likely it needs more priming. Its not just a matter of filling it with water.
1) Put a siphon bulb to suck from the outlet of the cannister filter
2) Ensure that the inlet to the filter is totally immersed in the water before you do the siphoning though (it is critical that ALL air is purged from the system for risk of damaging the internal pump)
3) When siphon starts sucking pure water out of the outlet of the filter, plug it in, and keep priming the siphon until the water picks up velocity all by itself.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 5th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Have a candycane with 8 heads that i'm willing to part with. Green center with pink outer flesh.
Also a pair of black & white clowns. All the orange on the body & head is all gone. 1 1/2".
PM me or text me @ 354-4003 if interested.

devrat

Postby devrat » December 5th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Kasey wrote:Most likely it needs more priming. Its not just a matter of filling it with water.
1) Put a siphon bulb to suck from the outlet of the cannister filter
2) Ensure that the inlet to the filter is totally immersed in the water before you do the siphoning though (it is critical that ALL air is purged from the system for risk of damaging the internal pump)
3) When siphon starts sucking pure water out of the outlet of the filter, plug it in, and keep priming the siphon until the water picks up velocity all by itself.

Got it working...thanks for the advice.

CSheppard

Postby CSheppard » December 5th, 2012, 11:04 pm

does anyone know where i can purchase large goldfish? preferably black moors and orandas

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 6th, 2012, 7:31 am

Ur two weeks late, I sold my 7" Oranda for $150 the other day. They usually sell for about $300. U will get (but not that large,) by Chai's Fish Farm.