Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 8:25 pm

if u had covid then u have to wait 3 months. but if u fully vaxxed plus got covid then that infection acts as a natural booster - from recent studies u have very good immunity

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2022, 8:27 pm

What happens if you are asymptomatic and take the 3rd shot tho? Extreme side effects?

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 8:27 pm

all the AZ finish so that option is out for those who got AZ (myself included). sinopharm probably not very good as a booster and well if pfizer boosters causing issues then the only one left is J&J i guess.

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 8:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What happens if you are asymptomatic and take the 3rd shot tho? Extreme side effects?

not sure.

did your friend swell up within minutes at the vaccine site while being monitored or this happened later on?

but i have 2 weeks to decide which 1 i taking as the booster- these pfizer stories have me rethinking taking pfizer as i was planning to do. :roll:

Postby adnj » February 1st, 2022, 8:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What happens if you are asymptomatic and take the 3rd shot tho? Extreme side effects?
You are more likely to have more severe side effects after a prior vaccination or a COVID infection. An mRNA vaccine will typically cause more severe side effects, also.

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2022, 8:35 pm

At home in the night the side effects hit
Body pains and fever so bad she couldn't come out of bed for 2 days.

Then 3rd day she vomit all day
Had to take a gravel injection and she couldn't even keep down a gravol tablet

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 8:39 pm

adnj wrote:
You are more likely to have more severe side effects after a prior vaccination or a COVID infection. An mRNA vaccine will typically cause more severe side effects, also.

and the mrna gives the best immune response as a booster - so it's really 'no pain no gain' ?

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2022, 8:42 pm

wha madness i reading. AZ->Pfizer is the best option. go get it and thank the person giving it to you. it safe as far as we know.

AZ->pfizer performs better against the new variants than even 2x Pfizer. I have a graph attached from a preprint but I don't have the link right now. There's a theory that the heterogeneous vaccines create more broad b-cell differentiation, making it more 'future-proof' against new variants. that theory could be completely wrong, or right. Nobody knows, this is early days in the pandemic and all these vaccines are relatively new.
FGLvzCOVgAEdPHM.jpeg

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2022, 8:51 pm

I think the majority of locals have sinopharm as their first two shots tho

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 8:54 pm

i'm also wondering if you will have a similar response as family members taking the same vaccine as u all have similar dna?

asking this as me and 2 of my siblings years ago all had an allergic reaction to ibuprofen - i dont think that is just coincidence. had to have some family gene/dna involved there.

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » February 1st, 2022, 8:57 pm

drchaos wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Parents of small children! watch out for Omicron!

https://www.sltrib.com/news/2022/01/21/utahs-covid/

I was going to post this same article, but I saw the photos in it and noped straight out

:drinking:

Nah, according to Hoover, Dr. Falsi and the anti vax brigade, iz only old and unfit getting Covid and deading :roll:

Too much fat clogging up your brain tubby!

Children still remain the rock bottom, lowest risk group for covid. So low that the studies for the vaccine couldn't find enough mortality data for their trial so they went with antibody response.

It's great that your lard filled obese rear end views are in direct opposition to Dr. Bratt.

If your shoelace dick had the ability to get an erection and produce children, you'd think differently if one of them died from Covid, you utter facking moron.

... Wrong forum bro, there is a LGBTQ thread on on the site somewhere where you can talk about your love of other mens penises to your hearts desire.

My kids both under 6 actually had covid, 2 antigen positive test 7 days post exposure to a PCR positive relative.
3 days of snotty noses, and they took longer naps than usual.
During the 3 days they ate well and played as normal. No long lasting symptoms post.

So ... get your facts straight Mr. Penis-Breath.
P.S shoe laces are 28 to 34 inches long. :lol:

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2022, 8:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I think the majority of locals have sinopharm as their first two shots tho

if 60+, remember they need a third shot to complete their primary series. The additional primary dose is not a booster.

Postby adnj » February 1st, 2022, 9:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:wha madness i reading. AZ->Pfizer is the best option. go get it and thank the person giving it to you. it safe as far as we know.

AZ->pfizer performs better against the new variants than even 2x Pfizer. I have a graph attached from a preprint but I don't have the link right now. There's a theory that the heterogeneous vaccines create more broad b-cell differentiation, making it more 'future-proof' against new variants. that theory could be completely wrong, or right. Nobody knows, this is early days in the pandemic and all these vaccines are relatively new.

It is not just a theory.

Repost
Heterologous Prime-Boost Vaccination

Shan Lu
Published online 2009 Jun 6.

Summary

An effective vaccine usually requires more than one time immunization in the form of prime-boost. Traditionally the same vaccines are given multiple times as homologous boosts. New findings suggested that prime-boost can be done with different types of vaccines containing the same antigens. In many cases such heterologous prime-boost can be more immunogenic than homologous prime-boost. Heterologous prime-boost represents a new way of immunization and will stimulate better understanding on the immunological basis of vaccines.

Introduction

It is not unusual that multiple immunizations are required for many vaccines to be successful. For pediatric population, up to five immunizations may be needed, as is the case for Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis (DTP) vaccine, which is given three times during the first six months after birth, followed by a fourth dose in the second year of life, and a final boost between four and six years of age. Still, some of the vaccines need additional boosts even in adults who have already received the complete immunization series, for example, the Tetanus-diphtheria (Td) vaccine, for which a boost is recommended every 10 years throughout a person’s lifespan. While it is not entirely clear why some vaccines require more immunizations than others, it is well accepted that multiple immunizations (i.e. “prime-boost”) are critical for even the most successful vaccines. This principle applies to live attenuate vaccines (e.g., oral polio vaccine), inactivated vaccines (e.g., hepatitis A vaccine), recombinant protein subunit vaccines (e.g., hepatitis B vaccine) and polysaccharide vaccines (e.g., Haemophilus Influenzae type b vaccine). For these vaccines, the prime-boost is “homologous” because the same vaccines given in the earlier priming immunizations are used for subsequent boost immunizations.

Over the past decade, studies have shown that prime-boost immunizations can be given with unmatched vaccine delivery methods while using the same antigen, in a “heterologous” prime-boost format. The most interesting and unexpected finding is that, in many cases, heterologous prime-boost is more effective than the “homologous” prime-boost approach. The rapid progress of novel vaccination approaches, such as DNA vaccines and viral vector-based vaccines, has certainly further expanded the scope of heterologous prime-boost vaccination .

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3743086/

viewtopic.php?p=10237164#p10237164
Last edited by adnj on February 1st, 2022, 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2022, 9:40 pm

evolution is a theory bro

also a car

Postby matr1x » February 2nd, 2022, 5:41 am

Sino has the least side effects. But that Pfizer......

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » February 2nd, 2022, 5:47 am

Japan's Kowa says ivermectin showed 'antiviral effect' against Omicron in research 

By Reuters  •   01/02/2022 - 11:20

TOKYO – Japanese trading and pharmaceutical company Kowa Co Ltd said on Monday anti-parasite drug ivermectin showed an “antiviral effect” against Omicron and other variants of coronavirus in joint non-clinical research.

The company did not provide further details.

The firm has been working with Kitasato University, a medical university in Tokyo, on testing the drug which is used to treat parasites in animals and humans, as a potential treatment for COVID-19.

https://www.euronews.com/2022/02/01/us- ... japan-kowa

Postby matr1x » February 2nd, 2022, 6:23 am

I strongly suspect the doctors against ivermectin were either fake doctors or doctors who bribed their way to a medical degree and winged it

Postby Redman » February 2nd, 2022, 6:30 am

matr1x wrote:I strongly suspect the doctors against ivermectin were either fake doctors or doctors who bribed their way to a medical degree and winged it

Medical professionals were sanctioned if they voiced anything other than the narrative.

So many caves to the pressure.

Postby timelapse » February 2nd, 2022, 7:15 am

matr1x wrote:Sino has the least side effects. But that Pfizer......
Speaking of which, we haven't heard from the 'chinee water' guy in a while

Postby adnj » February 2nd, 2022, 7:22 am

High-dose ivermectin for early treatment of COVID-19 (COVER study): a randomised, double-blind, multicentre, phase II, dose-finding, proof-of-concept clinical trial

Available online 6 January 2022

ABSTRACT

High concentrations of ivermectin demonstrated antiviral activity against SARS-CoV-2 in vitro. The aim of this study was to assess the safety and efficacy of high-dose ivermectin in reducing viral load in individuals with early SARS-CoV-2 infection. This was a randomised, double-blind, multicentre, phase II, dose-finding, proof-of-concept clinical trial. Participants were adults recently diagnosed with asymptomatic/oligosymptomatic SARS-CoV-2 infection. Exclusion criteria were: pregnant or lactating women; CNS disease; dialysis; severe medical condition with prognosis <6 months; warfarin treatment; and antiviral/chloroquine phosphate/hydroxychloroquine treatment. Participants were assigned (ratio 1:1:1) according to a randomised permuted block procedure to one of the following arms: placebo (arm A); single-dose ivermectin 600 μg/kg plus placebo for 5 days (arm B); and single-dose ivermectin 1200 μg/kg for 5 days (arm C). Primary outcomes were serious adverse drug reactions (SADRs) and change in viral load at Day 7. From 31 July 2020 to 26 May 2021, 32 participants were randomised to arm A, 29 to arm B and 32 to arm C. Recruitment was stopped on 10 June because of a dramatic drop in cases. The safety analysis included 89 participants and the change in viral load was calculated in 87 participants. No SADRs were registered. Mean (S.D.) log10 viral load reduction was 2.9 (1.6) in arm C, 2.5 (2.2) in arm B and 2.0 (2.1) in arm A, with no significant differences (P = 0.099 and 0.122 for C vs. A and B vs. A, respectively). High-dose ivermectin was safe but did not show efficacy to reduce viral load.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/a ... 7921013571

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 2nd, 2022, 7:34 am

Redman wrote:
matr1x wrote:I strongly suspect the doctors against ivermectin were either fake doctors or doctors who bribed their way to a medical degree and winged it

Medical professionals were sanctioned if they voiced anything other than the narrative.

So many caves to the pressure.

The training these days is different. Doctors used to be trained to think for themselves, now its "do as you are told".

Grand round presentations back in med school usually had the older doctors tearing the drug reps and their doctored data to shreds while the younger doctors were nodding their heads and obeying without question.

Its turned from an education into a religion. So not so much pressure but more like brain washing.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 2nd, 2022, 7:39 am

adnj wrote:Japan's Kowa says ivermectin showed 'antiviral effect' against Omicron in research 

By Reuters  •   01/02/2022 - 11:20

TOKYO – Japanese trading and pharmaceutical company Kowa Co Ltd said on Monday anti-parasite drug ivermectin showed an “antiviral effect” against Omicron and other variants of coronavirus in joint non-clinical research.

The company did not provide further details.

The firm has been working with Kitasato University, a medical university in Tokyo, on testing the drug which is used to treat parasites in animals and humans, as a potential treatment for COVID-19.

https://www.euronews.com/2022/02/01/us- ... japan-kowa

No memes? :lol:

Postby Kenjo » February 2nd, 2022, 7:40 am

adnj wrote:High-dose ivermectin for early treatment of COVID-19 (COVER study): a randomised, double-blind, multicentre, phase II, dose-finding, proof-of-concept clinical trial

ABSTRACT

High concentrations of ivermectin demonstrated antiviral activity against SARS-CoV-2 in vitro. The aim of this study was to assess the safety and efficacy of high-dose ivermectin in reducing viral load in individuals with early SARS-CoV-2 infection. This was a randomised, double-blind, multicentre, phase II, dose-finding, proof-of-concept clinical trial. Participants were adults recently diagnosed with asymptomatic/oligosymptomatic SARS-CoV-2 infection. Exclusion criteria were: pregnant or lactating women; CNS disease; dialysis; severe medical condition with prognosis <6 months; warfarin treatment; and antiviral/chloroquine phosphate/hydroxychloroquine treatment. Participants were assigned (ratio 1:1:1) according to a randomised permuted block procedure to one of the following arms: placebo (arm A); single-dose ivermectin 600 μg/kg plus placebo for 5 days (arm B); and single-dose ivermectin 1200 μg/kg for 5 days (arm C). Primary outcomes were serious adverse drug reactions (SADRs) and change in viral load at Day 7. From 31 July 2020 to 26 May 2021, 32 participants were randomised to arm A, 29 to arm B and 32 to arm C. Recruitment was stopped on 10 June because of a dramatic drop in cases. The safety analysis included 89 participants and the change in viral load was calculated in 87 participants. No SADRs were registered. Mean (S.D.) log10 viral load reduction was 2.9 (1.6) in arm C, 2.5 (2.2) in arm B and 2.0 (2.1) in arm A, with no significant differences (P = 0.099 and 0.122 for C vs. A and B vs. A, respectively). High-dose ivermectin was safe but did not show efficacy to reduce viral load.

Wait so finally some studies coming out ? Wasn’t the narrative that it had insufficient evidence all along ?

Postby Redman » February 2nd, 2022, 7:49 am

There is ample evidence of successful usage of ivermectin globally.
And multiple studies.
There are.protocols online videos of doctors who have successfully used the drug in their practice.

You have to pick your poison... literally and figuratively.

Postby hover11 » February 2nd, 2022, 7:56 am

Kenjo wrote:
adnj wrote:High-dose ivermectin for early treatment of COVID-19 (COVER study): a randomised, double-blind, multicentre, phase II, dose-finding, proof-of-concept clinical trial

ABSTRACT

Wait so finally some studies coming out ? Wasn’t the narrative that it had insufficient evidence all along ?
Yup
FB_IMG_1643802885897.jpg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 2nd, 2022, 8:39 am

The Narrative is collapsing ...

Postby matr1x » February 2nd, 2022, 8:48 am

Remember when it turned out alot of uwi graduates cheated and payed for degrees? And many were in med science?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2022, 8:54 am

Did you all read the conclusion of the paper or just the headline?

Postby adnj » February 2nd, 2022, 8:56 am

Redman wrote:There is ample evidence of successful usage of ivermectin globally.
And multiple studies.
There are.protocols online videos of doctors who have successfully used the drug in their practice.

You have to pick your poison... literally and figuratively.
drchaos wrote:The Narrative is collapsing ...
single-dose ivermectin 1200 μg/kg for 5 days...
High-dose ivermectin was safe but did not show efficacy to reduce viral load.

Last edited by adnj on February 2nd, 2022, 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.