PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

mickey17

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby mickey17 » June 25th, 2012, 2:22 pm

i think i see raid 0 in the future for me. lol. crusial m4 works bess. I have the 128gb.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 25th, 2012, 2:52 pm

^ cool all my SSD is Corsair or Intel to this date so it hard to switch

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 25th, 2012, 3:23 pm

^ i know for sure the intel good but crusial is almost the same just cheaper and slower writes i think. But not by much.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 25th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Yea well I might take a go at it

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 25th, 2012, 4:11 pm

Saw a vid a while ago with a drop test on an intel ssd.

The guy dropped the ssd onto the ground of a basketball court from a height and tested it after in a laptop, no damage.

I wonder if crucial could do that? :lol:

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 25th, 2012, 4:19 pm

^^ linustechtips lol. i sure crusial can

todd61

Postby todd61 » June 25th, 2012, 4:30 pm

HCCA wrote:Saw a vid a while ago with a drop test on an intel ssd.

The guy dropped the ssd onto the ground of a basketball court from a height and tested it after in a laptop, no damage.

I wonder if crucial could do that? :lol:

I'm sure most sdd's can do the same

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 25th, 2012, 6:06 pm

mickey17 wrote:^^ linustechtips lol. i sure crusial can

Yeah it have to be him.

His vids on youtube very informative and entertaining as well.

I might buy a 128gb ssd each for my three systems year end but i got so accustomed to the boot/loading times of 7200rpm hdds so i'm not in a hurry to do that upgrade. :D

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 25th, 2012, 7:37 pm

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:^^ linustechtips lol. i sure crusial can

Yeah it have to be him.

His vids on youtube very informative and entertaining as well.

I might buy a 128gb ssd each for my three systems year end but i got so accustomed to the boot/loading times of 7200rpm hdds so i'm not in a hurry to do that upgrade. :D

Yeah i look at him too. How long now i tell yuh get a ssd. yuh will want to trow away all dem HDDs dread.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 25th, 2012, 8:20 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007P7 ... B007P71J9W
this looks good. More write than the crusial.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 25th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Yall realise the differences between the top SSDs are imperceptible, right? You wouldn't know the difference between the best Samsung, Intel or Crucial if you used them for actual applications.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 25th, 2012, 11:01 pm

mickey17 wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007P71J9W/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=motherboard0a-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007P71J9W

I rocking the 180 GB in that Raid 0 . :8

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 25th, 2012, 11:02 pm

Out of all the SSD I love my Corsair GT 512 GB . Everything home by me runs with SSD down to the PS3

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 26th, 2012, 12:15 am

firstchoicett wrote:
mickey17 wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007P71J9W/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=motherboard0a-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007P71J9W

I rocking the 180 GB in that Raid 0 . :8

LOL. yea im sure it will be better. Dont know why it coulnt come out 1 month ago so i would have bought it instead.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 26th, 2012, 8:27 am

Humes wrote:Yall realise the differences between the top SSDs are imperceptible, right? You wouldn't know the difference between the best Samsung, Intel or Crucial if you used them for actual applications.

None of them realized that..
I would of kept my OCZ Agility 2 if it was more than 60GB of space. Only reason i got the crucial was for the 128GB reason and the fact i got it for 90US on sale.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 26th, 2012, 8:39 am

I think the difference in speed between the very fastest and the least, among the top brands at least, is something like 5%.

The only real differentiating factor is long-term stability and other features.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 26th, 2012, 8:58 am

I have one of the first series of Intel SSD that goes back till 2009 them clocking 3 years and some months going strong laptop on 24/7 . Intel is epic the sane is said for the 3960 CPU Blazing Fast chip .

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 26th, 2012, 10:18 am

Humes wrote:I think the difference in speed between the very fastest and the least, among the top brands at least, is something like 5%.

Same could be said for processors. :lol:

Was reading an article on a review site recently showing a comparison amongst dual straight up to 6 core processors for gaming/general apps.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 26th, 2012, 2:07 pm

saw this on amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Dragon-Age-Origin ... F8RHGSHJ3Z
$7.49!!!
Is a descent game for those who likes RPG's....

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 26th, 2012, 3:19 pm

HCCA wrote:
Humes wrote:I think the difference in speed between the very fastest and the least, among the top brands at least, is something like 5%.

Same could be said for processors. :lol:

Was reading an article on a review site recently showing a comparison amongst dual straight up to 6 core processors for gaming/general apps.

post Link

Humes

Postby Humes » June 26th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Yeah. There's no way my dual-core E6750 could perform imperceptibly similar to a i5 or a i7 system with the same GPU on the same game with the same settings. Microsoft Word or Chrome, definitely. Crysis or even a Black Ops at 1920? No.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 26th, 2012, 4:13 pm

I have an OCZ Agility 3 thats dead due to the firmware, and when I try to update it, the app to update it says it cant download the firmware :(

what to do?

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 26th, 2012, 6:51 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I have an OCZ Agility 3 thats dead due to the firmware, and when I try to update it, the app to update it says it cant download the firmware :(

what to do?

OCZ are the worst for reliability. Crusial, Intel, Samsung are best for reliability. Prices a lot higher though. crusial prices probably the best right now.

Flash the firmware on to it dont use the ultility. Download directly from the site and they will give you a guide how to do it. That happened to my vertex 1.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » June 26th, 2012, 7:04 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:saw this on amazon:
$7.49!!!

great price for a great game, unfortunately I'm one of those who bought this game back in 2009 when it first came out, then the dlc separate and then the expansion....so this is a steal for someone who's never played it

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 26th, 2012, 7:52 pm

mickey17 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:I have an OCZ Agility 3 thats dead due to the firmware, and when I try to update it, the app to update it says it cant download the firmware :(

what to do?

OCZ are the worst for reliability.Corsair, Crusial, Intel, Samsung are best for reliability. Prices a lot higher though. crusial prices probably the best right now.

Flash the firmware on to it dont use the ultility. Download directly from the site and they will give you a guide how to do it. That happened to my vertex 1.

[size=150]
Fixed
[/size]

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 26th, 2012, 7:54 pm

Elyon wrote:
$7.49!!!

great price for a great game, unfortunately I'm one of those who bought this game back in 2009 when it first came out, then the dlc separate and then the expansion....so this is a steal for someone who's never played it

Hard luck they... :(

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 26th, 2012, 8:12 pm

anyone know where i could get an 8pin and 24 pin psu extension? Supertech don't have any.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 26th, 2012, 8:16 pm

mickey17 wrote:anyone know where i could get an 8pin and 24 pin psu extension? Supertech don't have any.

Circuitzone may have.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » June 26th, 2012, 8:51 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
Elyon wrote:
$7.49!!!

Hard luck they... :(

I know eh, this is why i never buy bioware games upfront they always release dlc and then they release a complete edition a year after.
I was also hoping for a complete edition of batman arkham city, but it looks like that not happening either, seems rocksteady not like bioware.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » June 26th, 2012, 9:16 pm

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:anyone know where i could get an 8pin and 24 pin psu extension? Supertech don't have any.

Circuitzone may have.

sad thing is i went in there today and forgot. SIGH!