Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2016, 8:42 pm

Juice? I didn't know that.
Sounds delicious

Re: RE: Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby gastly369 » September 11th, 2016, 9:54 am

shogun wrote:What it tasted like? (if you tried it)

Looking like a variation on regular plum?

Nah didn't try it....coulda set Meh up for de kill ...didn't take de chance XD

Keeshan Bachan

Postby Keeshan Bachan » September 11th, 2016, 10:02 am

Local coconut in Caroni.Three (3) in one (1).
Triplets
1473602598182.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 8:50 pm

woww nice triplets....!!! 8-)

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:28 pm

Local Boat Ride ~ Ciroc Cat Fight

Making its rounds on the net

We are Trinidadians we don't part fight, we take out our phones and tape

4.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:37 pm

Local Coconut Oil ~ How to Make

12 large coconuts chipped up ~ 10 cups water

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Local Taste of Trini ~ Curry Home-Fowl

Check Ma - Eating with her Fingers

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:43 pm

Manzanilla
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:46 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Pricesmart Movietowne Chaguanas

Pricesmart and Movietowne and Medford Fly Over

TriP

Postby TriP » September 12th, 2016, 9:49 pm

<<<<<<Ciroc Boat Ride Fight

TriP

Postby TriP » September 13th, 2016, 4:59 pm

Local Real Facts on the Ciroc Boat Ride Fight

From Social Media to Radio station

Expletive Language

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

https://www.facebook.com/kia.diamonddice?fref=ts
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 13th, 2016, 5:23 pm

Victim in boat brawl: I didn't pick fight...report made to police, suspects named

A Point Fortin woman has stepped forward to say she's the one seen in a viral video being kicked, cuffed, stomped on, and whacked over the head with a cell phone during a parking lot fight in Chaguaramas on Sunday.

Kelly-ann Ramlal said that she suffered a “fractured chest plate”, swollen face, knees, head and bruises to her back, arms, chest and thighs.

Ramlal, 28, said she was also suffering blurred vision. She underwent treatment at the Point Fortin District Hospital and was on Tuesday resting, having been given a medical leave by her employers, a car sales company.

On Monday night, she was taken to the St James Police Station and reported the attack. She named two people and said at least six people were involved in her beating. Ramlal recounted the events that led to the assault.

She said that on Sunday, she went by min bus with friends to a boat cruise where everyone wore white clothing. While on the cruise, she said she met a businesswoman who she knew from social media interaction. She said that after the cruise ended and the patrons returned to the parking lot, the woman and a group of her friends became hostile and shouted insults and threatened to hurt her, and a male friend. She said the woman came out of a parked vehicle and “just jumped me.” The beating happened over three minutes, and Ramlal said she tried to fight back and defend herself but was overwhelmed by the sheer number of people. It only ended when her friends rescued her. She said: “It is as if it was premeditated.

I am a car representative and I won't tarnish my character like that to pick fights with anyone. I try to curb a situation. All I remember I was on the ground being beaten. It just happened so quick”.

She said she was also considering civil action against at least two of her attackers. Ramlal said during the melee, she lost a purse, and iPhone 6 cellular phone. She said when she tracked down her phone, the Arima man who was also seen in the video kicking her and attempted to remove his shoe, said he had her phone.

Ramlal, who is also the producer of a Jouvert band in Point Fortin, said she made reports to Point Fortin Police Station and St James Police Station.

She said the man have since brought the phone to the St James Police station after he was contacted by the police.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160913 ... pick-fight

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 7:29 pm

Local Doh Run Slack vs Pommerack Legs Saga

Expletive Language

The Tit For Tat Ran Till the End of this Week-Till Rachel Attack Darrel Dookoo

1. ThursdaySeptember15th

2. FridaySeptember16th

3. Live on Boomchampions TT - Rachel in Studio

4. Boom station NYC Live

5. Trinivibes Radio NYC

6. Rachel Price Attack Darrel Dookoo on Radio Station

7. Comment from .......

Saga Continues to Sunday18thSeptember on 91.9FM

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 7:33 pm

Moving On....................... :D

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 8:33 pm

Local Rock ~ Recession Session 3

Ladies of Rock

Held on SaturdaySeptember3rd at Lion's Cultural Centre - Port of Spain
3.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 8:38 pm

Local Rock ~ Recession Session 3

Ladies of Rock - Minus 1

Held on SaturdaySeptember3rd at Lion's Cultural Centre - Port of Spain
13.jpg
1.jpg
8.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg
11.jpg
12.jpg
14.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Local Fishing - 1

Fishing Down De Islands ~ Hooked up to a 17lb Cavali

Inshore River Fishing for Small Tarpon using Lures in West Trinidad

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:15 pm

Local Fishing - 2

Toco

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:20 pm

Local Caimans - 1

1. A young man by the name of Mr. Frank from Freeport saw his friend keeping a caiman during the closed season and knowing that it's a protected species he asked the friend for it to hand it over to us for safe release.

Just a reminder, Caiman are a game species (can be hunted during the open season) but when the season is over they are PROTECTED.

2. We headed into central Trinidad to respond to a call concerning a caiman in front of someone's house.

The caiman was quickly captured and examined. It was observed that the caiman was a pregnant female just over 4 feet long and about 30 pounds and was given the name Betty.

We would like to thank the residents for contacting us to move this caiman before it injured someone or itself

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Local Caimans - 2

1. We went down to Cunupia after receiving a call from Mr. Inshan Hosein​ about a caiman that's been coming up on a driveway.

This caiman was under a driveway about 20 feet long and it took us about an hour to get her out from there.

Very often situations like these arise where these animals venture into residential areas and come into contact with people

2. We release 3 juvenile caimans, Philbert, Sarah and Starboy.

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Local 1960's ~ Clips

Tobago

Hilton

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:34 pm

Local Model ~ Vanessa Hill Milyva
1.jpg
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:40 pm

People of Trinidad and Tobago ~ Onika

I remember my grandmother used to say if there is one thing for me, I have a hot mouth, so I can pray,” she says. “I used to pray for God to remove me from this situation alive, so I could share my story and make a difference—help someone who is going through something similar.”

The sudden death by accident of her grandmother in Tobago gave Onika Mars, mother of two, the courage and excuse to escape from a severely abusive relationship in Trinidad, where she lived at the time.

“I left everything and returned to Tobago with my children and two pieces of underwear each. I uprooted them, and trusted God for a new start,” she says.

Supported by loving family and friends, Onika found the strength to make a new life for herself and her two young sons. She had been working at T & TEC in Trinidad, so transferred to the Tobago branch, where she worked for a year and a half.

“One night I was going in on the ten p.m. to six a.m. shift and my younger son asked ‘Mummy, you going to work again?’ It kind of pierced me, so I thought about it and I quit.”

After all they had been through, she wanted her sons to experience the comfort of having her around. The situation had left the boys angry, hurting and withdrawn at school. To help take their minds off the situation, Onika enrolled the boys in golf, football and counseling. With the added the input of her loving parents, her sons began to transform.

Jobless, and concerned about how their life would be without a steady income, Onika turned to God and challenged Him to take care her herself and her offspring.

“God, Your word says that You will supply our every need according to Your riches and glory,” she recounts herself saying.

At that time she was doing business part time from her vehicle, driving to offices and homes selling clothing. Coming from a family where both parents and grandparents were entrepreneurs, a strong business sense was in her blood. It was from the car-based venture that her current registered business, Elonis International, was born.

“One night I asked my boys for us to come up with a name,” she says. “I include them in everything. Together we came up with Elonis” (a combination of their names—Elan, Onika, Israel). The ‘International’ part of the name relates to her shopping trips abroad (the USA, Europe and now, Thailand) and her visions of the business expanding globally.

Elonis International started off at the TLH building, Scarborough, moved to Tino’s Plaza, then to Allen’s Plaza before settling in its own building in Lowlands in December 2015.

““During our daily morning devotions my children and I always trusted God for our own building,” Onika says. “Anyone reading this will realize that with faith anything is possible.”

Painted in bright, modern colours, the Elonis International outlet is cozy and inviting. Quality items for adornment of the human body (female and male) are on festive display— clothing, shoes accessories, bags, hats, underwear, make up.

And what makes Elonis International different from other clothing stores in Tobago?

“I do not bring more than two pieces per style—mainly just one,” Onika says. “I understand most of my customers and have a personal relationship with them. While I’m shopping, I can buy stuff and say this is for this customer and I’m guaranteed that they will like it.”

She particularly enjoys shopping for full figured women. “I enjoy boosting their self esteem and telling them how beautiful they are. I encourage them to wear bright colours to boost their spirit, to help change their mood and how they see themselves.”

Once, chatting with a pastor’s wife, Onika mentioned that a lot of women were coming into the store and without knowing her, were pouring themselves out to her.

The pastor’s wife told her that God hadn’t only blessed her with a store, but also a Ministry.

Onika has shared her story openly on TV6, TIN (Tobago Inspiration Network), Channel 5 and Radio Tambrin.

“I survived . . . and there is life after abuse,” she says. “There is no need to be ashamed. In sharing my story I’ve helped a lot of women.”

Many women who were either in an abusive situation or had come out of one were encouraged by her words after visiting her store.

Onika admits that speaking out helped immensely with her healing process. “I always tell women when you share your story you help somebody—rather than keeping it in and feeling angry, ashamed, discouraged and losing confidence.”

As we neared the end of our conversation, Onika offered spontaneous words of prayer for fellow women:
“Father, we thank You for our women. You have created them for a special purpose. Help us to be confident in who we are. Help us to be confident in whose we are. Help us to understand the power of a praying woman, the power of a praying wife, the power of a praying mother. Father, in the name of Jesus we commit our women into Your hands.

We commit hurting women into Your hands. We commit victims of abuse into Your hands. Father, continue to direct our women according to Your will. Give us hearts that forgive. Help us to zip our mouths at times and ask You for directions rather than deal with stuff on our own, carnally. We thank You that our women will rise and that our women will seek You and be still and know that You are God and You are in control. Father, we thank You. As we commit our women into Your hands, we pray for continued direction on their behalf. Amen.”

By Elspeth Duncan
1.jpg

baigan

Postby baigan » September 17th, 2016, 9:43 pm

TriP wrote:Local 1960's ~ Clips

Tobago

Hilton

Thx for this

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:44 pm

Local Aerial Drones ~ San Fernando

Flight at the Pricesmart Car Park - South Trinidad

Mid-Day Flight at Palmiste Park

TriP

Postby TriP » September 17th, 2016, 9:57 pm

People of Trinidad and Tobago ~ Richard Fung

Born in Trinidad, based in Canada, navigating between identities — gay, Chinese-descended, Caribbean diaspora — filmmaker Richard Fung was “intersectional” before the term even existed, writes Jonathan Ali, and his complicated background informs his pioneering, innovative work

My conversation with Richard Fung doesn’t begin with the most pleasant of topics. It’s only a few days after the horrific incident in Orlando, Florida, that saw forty-nine people gunned down at a gay nightclub, and Fung is telling me his thoughts on the matter.

“One of the things that struck me,” he says via Skype from his home in Toronto, “was that the overwhelming majority of the victims of the Orlando shooting were Latino. And that racial aspect has been erased here, which for me is disturbing on a number of levels.”

Fung — who’s affable, engaging, and has clearly thought long and deeply about every subject he touches on — then launches into a disquisition about queer identity and American politics, before coming to the question of the person who committed this most savage of acts.

“In terms of the shooter himself, there’s so much information that suggests conflict,” he notes, “like the fact that he apparently at one point claimed allegiance to both Al Qaeda and Hezbollah — one is Shia, one is Sunni. All of these things don’t make for an easy reading.”

No easy readings: Richard Fung could just as well be talking about his own, multitudinous self. Born in Trinidad, educated there and in Ireland and Canada, gay and of Chinese descent, Fung has spent his life both embodying and interrogating the complicated, complicating identity that the British-Jamaican multicultural theorist Stuart Hall declared to be archetypal of the postcolonial experience. He personified intersectionality long before the word existed.

Fung is an academic and a writer, but he is best known as a filmmaker. He has directed many documentary and experimental works, exploring such issues as immigration, AIDS, homophobia, and racism in Canada. He has also sought to elucidate his own family’s story through a series of films that, taken together, stand as an invaluable repository for the Chinese-Trinidadian experience. (He’s made a film about roti, too.)

Writing of Fung in 2002, Cameron Bailey, the Barbadian-descended artistic director of the Toronto International Film Festival (and no less a Hallian archetype of the postcolonial experience himself) had this to say: “You can choose your Richard Fung. To the queer video crowd he’s the sly provocateur . . . To the postcolonial seminar heads he’s the taskmaster . . . And to a generation of young Asian artists all across North America, he’s Frida Kahlo. Richard Fung blazed the trail.”

Now, with his most recent film, this year’s Re:Orientations, this trailblazer — recipient of the Bell Canada Award for Outstanding Achievement in Video Art, the Toronto Arts Award for Media Art, and, most recently, the Kessler Award from the City University of New York for “a substantive body of work that has had a significant influence on the field of LGBTQ Studies” — finds himself circling back to his beginnings as a filmmaker, as he revisits his first film, Orientations. Made in 1984 and built around the lives of several LGBT-identified Asian-Canadian individuals, Orientations was a groundbreaking documentary about a then liminal community and their struggles to make themselves visible.

Thirty years on, Fung thought it was the right time to take the pulse of the community again. “Not only have LGBT rights changed, but immigration has changed Toronto,” he says. “When I tell people that [back then] you’d go to a gay bar or gay event and see [only] one person of colour, they can’t understand that. The demographics of the city as well as the gay community have changed a lot.”

He also wanted to give young LGBT people of colour in Canada a sense of the history of the movement, and also highlight the fact that — as the Orlando attack tragically showed — the lives of gay people in North America remain at risk, even in supposed bastions of tolerance like Toronto. “Queer people aren’t safe anywhere at this point,” he declares.

Born in Port of Spain in 1954, Richard Fung was the lagniappe in a family of eight children. His siblings grew up “behind a shop in Cedros,” in rural Trinidad; he was the only one raised fully in an urban milieu. His father, who was Hakka Chinese, migrated to Trinidad in the 1920s, while his mother — a relation of the seminal Trinidad and Tobago artist Sybil Atteck — was third-generation Chinese from Canton.

Fung was raised within an extended family that was ethnically mixed. Racism in the family was not alien, and as he entered his teenage years in the late 1960s, he felt the profound influence of Black Power. “I began to look at these racisms through the lens of Black Power,” Fung says, adding that he started to understand that while the country may have been independent, the society was still “heavily colonial.”

From a Roman Catholic family, Fung attended the island’s foremost Catholic secondary school for boys, a further eye-opener. “I began to see the petty corruptions of race and class and how that played out in the school,” he says. “I became very alienated from that establishment kind of institution.” He also became critical of Mother Church herself, noting that while the priests were meant to have taken vows of chastity, obedience, and poverty, “I [wasn’t] seeing the poverty.”

A “feminine child” who “always knew I was whatever ‘that thing’ was,” Fung remembers experiencing homophobia growing up in conservative, repressive Trinidad. After O-Levels he left for “equally repressive, equally Catholic” Ireland to finish secondary school, before moving to Canada for university.

It was in Canada that a sympathetic and enlightened therapist reconciled Fung with the fact of his homosexuality, and in 1975, at a Marxist study group, he met the man who was to become his partner in life, and who remains his partner to this day. (“Marxism and a psychiatrist — two unlikely roots into gay life,” Fung notes with a laugh.)

Wanting to be an architect but unable to live up to the stereotype of Chinese prowess at mathematics, Fung entered the Ontario College of Art (now OCAD University, where he is a professor in the Faculty of Art) and began studying industrial design. He gave it up after what he comically calls “the flowerpot assignment” and switched to what was then the photoelectric arts department.

After graduation he worked at a community television station teaching people how to make videos — working with “ordinary people’s voices.” It was this on-the-ground experience that inspired Fung to want to become a filmmaker himself, and he returned to university to take a degree in film studies.

In Ireland, Fung had seen a British film, The Ruling Class, in which Peter O’Toole plays a feckless aristocrat who believes he’s Jesus Christ, which made a particular impression on him. He then saw Eric Rohmer’s masterpiece of suppressed sexuality, Claire’s Knee, “which made me really fall in love with film.” But it was in film school, when he encountered the work of people like pioneering Afro-British artist-filmmakers Isaac Julien and John Akomfrah, filmmakers for whom the beauty of the image could never be divorced from the meaning it was imbued with, that Fung found the intersection of aesthetics and politics within the medium where he felt most comfortable.

Fung’s filmography, from Orientations all the way up to Re:Orientations, reflects this. His work includes archival material, repurposed footage, and even dramatic reconstruction — often with the filmmaker’s own incisive voice-over narration overlaying the visuals — to create multi-layered, complex tales that attempt to disturb the white, hetero-normative, historical status quo.

In films such as Fighting Chance (the story of four Asian-Canadian men at different stages of HIV infection) and Out of the Blue (about a young black Toronto man arrested in a case of “mistaken identity”), Fung probed marginalised, hyphenated Canadian lives, with eye-opening, often provocative results. The Way to My Father’s Village, meanwhile, in which Fung journeyed to his father’s birthplace in Guangdong, and Islands — in which he confronts the Second World War film Heaven Knows, Mr Allison, a Hollywood vehicle for Robert Mitchum, which was shot in Tobago and featured Chinese-Trinidadian men (among them one of Fung’s uncles) playing nameless, faceless Japanese soldiers — saw him consider the Chinese-Trinidadian story through the lens of his own family’s various narratives.

Even that documentary about roti, Dal Puri Diaspora, in which Fung retraces the Trinidadian dish dhalpuri back to its Indian origins, is more than a mere gastronomic quest. Fung had first visited India in the mid-1970s. He was reading V.S. Naipaul at the time and “looking for traces of Trinidad, what I knew as Trinidadian culture” — particularly, for this obvious foodie, in the cuisine — but never found them.

Fung returned to India several times, and in 2009 became a visiting scholar at the Islamic University in New Delhi. It was at this point that one of his colleagues claimed to know of a dish from eastern Uttar Pradesh that appeared to have characteristics similar to those of dhalpuri, and thus Dal Puri Diaspora was born.

Beginning with the filmmaker tucking into a roti at his neighbourhood Trinidadian restaurant on a snowy Toronto day, Dal Puri Diaspora follows Fung as he travels first from Canada to Trinidad and then from Trinidad to India in search of his culinary holy grail. Informed by Fung’s formidable intellect and relentless curiosity, the documentary expands along the way into a fascinating exploration of the consequences of migration and proto-globalisation that characterised the colonial experience. (And — spoiler alert — the search is a successful one: Fung does find the “mother” dhalpuri.)

Now Fung is at work on yet another film in which he returns to his endlessly compelling origins. As yet unnamed, this new documentary is a portrait of his ninety-two-year-old mixed-race “outside” cousin, Nan, who has lived in the United States for several decades but was once famed artist Boscoe Holder’s dance partner, lived on the Orinoco River, and married five times.

Though Nan’s story is remarkable, “there’s a way in which [it] encapsulates a lot of other families’ stories in Trinidad, negotiating questions of race, propriety, hypocrisy,” Fung says. “I’m also interested in her re-confronting Trinidad as a contemporary space.”

Fung is aware that, as a Trinidadian who has not lived in Trinidad for many years, he too is always re-confronting the place himself whenever he visits — both on a personal level as well as in his work. “I have a certain humility about what I can say about contemporary Trinidad,” he says, pointing out that he sees himself now as a “diasporic Trinidadian.”

That appellation is but one of several identities — including gay, Asian, Canadian, Torontonian — that he can readily claim, identities that have all gone indelibly into the making of the man and the filmmaker. And among all of these identities, Trinidadian is not necessarily the one Richard Fung feels he has to claim most, or even at all. “If I want to be Trinidadian,” he says at last, “I am free to be Trinidadian.”

A Richard Fung filmography

Re:Orientations (2016)

Dal Puri Diaspora (2012)

Rex vs Singh (2008)

Jehad in Motion (2007)

Uncomfortable: The Art of Christopher Cozier (2005)

Islands (2002)

Sea in the Blood (2000)

School Fag (1998)

Dirty Laundry (1996)

Out of the Blue (1991)

Steam Clean (1990)

My Mother’s Place (1990)

Fighting Chance (1990)

Safe Place (1989)

The Way to My Father’s Village (1988)

Chinese Characters (1986)

Orientations (1984)