*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » March 31st, 2016, 11:24 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Jamo-426-HCS-WENG ... 0+speakers

i got those for around 22-2500 landed 3yrs ago ( i think)
sounds pretty good for what was paid
the price jumps up and down quite often....add it to ur cart and monitor it
under 200.00 is a steal

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 1st, 2016, 6:44 am

mero wrote:Looking for a simple 5.1 setup to go with my yamaha v779 receiver. Looking at the Energy Take classic 5.1 or the Pioneer Andrew Jones 5.1 SP-PK52FS set, which looks pretty impressive imo.

Just want a plug and play, most I'll the do is prob upgrade the woofer in time.

Anywhere locally sells those or I gonna bring them in?

I've heard installations of both these. The budget man's audiophile packages.

The Energy system iz great in smaller rooms and wall mountable. Jones iz good as well tho the front left and right are floors standers and will take up space.

Both subs are 8". So those looking to jam loud music or movies you will run into their limitations pretty quick.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 1st, 2016, 7:40 am

Energy is good stuff as well, heard a small system some years ago, pretty impressive, Klipsch is their parent company so that should say a lot too.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 1st, 2016, 7:52 am

Miktay wrote:
mero wrote:Looking for a simple 5.1 setup to go with my yamaha v779 receiver. Looking at the Energy Take classic 5.1 or the Pioneer Andrew Jones 5.1 SP-PK52FS set, which looks pretty impressive imo.

The Energy system iz great in smaller rooms and wall mountable. Jones iz good as well tho the front left and right are floors standers and will take up space.

Both subs are 8". So those looking to jam loud music or movies you will run into their limitations pretty quick.

Last time I checked Amazon had the option to buy the speakers alone (no sub). If you want you can go that route and just buy a bigger sub separately. A lot of reviews talked about pairing it with the Polk 10 inch or 12 inch sub with really good results. Especially with the bigger Andrew Jones speakers.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 1st, 2016, 9:13 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Last time I checked Amazon had the option to buy the speakers alone (no sub). If you want you can go that route and just buy a bigger sub separately. A lot of reviews talked about pairing it with the Polk 10 inch or 12 inch sub with really good results. Especially with the bigger Andrew Jones speakers.

True. U can by Jones designed Pioneers as separate fronts, center and rears. Tho I dont think u can get the Energy package in separates.

I like subs made by thiz manufacturer for separate components. Good for movies AND music.

http://www.hsuresearch.com/

Postby mero » April 1st, 2016, 10:45 am

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Jamo-426-HCS-WENGE-5-Piece/dp/B003GGXGU6/ref=sr_1_7?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1459480478&sr=1-7&keywords=5.0+speakers

i got those for around 22-2500 landed 3yrs ago ( i think)
sounds pretty good for what was paid
the price jumps up and down quite often....add it to ur cart and monitor it
under 200.00 is a steal

Will keep an eye out for a sale. Should have pulled the trigger on the Andrew Jones 5.1 last month. Amazon had it for just over 400.

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2016, 11:56 am

nick639 wrote:Does anyone know of a receiver than can give me a powered output for subs??? Trying my hand with some id8s i have collecting dust, or I thinking to get a plate amp and build a standalone sub... Hmmm

Just recently built a t line with an ID8 for my room, have it on a measly 25wrms plate amp. Go with the plate amp. This is louder and definitely lower than when I was using the Bic America v80 and the Polk psw10 in the room.

Postby SR » April 1st, 2016, 11:59 am

Agreed plate amps are quite reasonable. Make sure the amp puts out more power than the rms rating on the sub

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2016, 12:14 pm

Someone had a bash 300 fs in the misc forum, will power one or a pair of Id8.

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2016, 1:21 pm

I did a bag of sheit, had 2 t line designs for 8's, one was for a pair of Sundown e-8 for the prelude (45hz 1/4 wave) and the other was for the Id8 (30hz 1/4 wave)
Laptop crashed, just had the dimensions written down, end up building the 45hz t line thinking it was the 30hz :oops:
Still works marvelous though, easily produces bass to 20hz. Just received my Kreg ripcut so the correct enclosure will be built soon.

_20160401_131403.JPG

Lol those are not the final 45's eh. I use those as corner bracing, the 45's went over those. That an infinity sub I used initially also, not the id.
Didn't take much pics not that it matters, too much stress to upload pics here from my phone.

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2016, 1:25 pm

50wrms would be a lot for an Id8 of you do decide to go t line, they're more efficient and due to design act like they're free air so power handling is decreased. Just don't get too happy with the gain/volume knob on the plate amp.

Anton

Postby Anton » April 1st, 2016, 4:17 pm

Any recommendations on a technician to replace the dmd chip in my Dlp projector. I've ordered the chip already, just looking for someone with experience doing the swap. If not I'll do a diy but would prefer to utilize a professional.

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2016, 4:28 pm

nick639 wrote:^^ yupp thats why i was happy with this plate. We'll see how it goes

If you want me to design the enclosure for you let me know. The lower the frequency the bigger it'll be, but with a t line no need to tune to the 22hz fs of the id as a t line has a shallow roll off.

Postby Gladiator » April 1st, 2016, 6:48 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Thread is getting cornfusing.... Are we saying that car audio systems are reference audiophile because it is stereo?

The car is the most challenging environment to set up and tune for sound quality. In fact most of what is done in car audio is to try to use 2 channels to make it sound like a multi channel system... not so?

A dedicated home theater can be set up professionally to reproduce sound accurately and you don't have the reflections, distance problems, offset speaker positioning and mounting, crappy car materials etc to cater for.

no one is disputing that it can reproduce sound accurately but
reproduce what kind of sound?
music or movies?

and if u say both
which music tracks comes 5.1 and what movie in this era comes stereo 2.1
both will have its own separate and unique settings

So have you ever listened to live recordings on blu ray and concerts on the HT. On a properly designed and tuned system you can actually feel as though you are in the audience. Everything is spot on. The experience beats many 2.1 "audiophile" systems.

Movies in 2.1 is just lame... LOL

Also you can get audio in 5.1 if you look for it. I have a couple albums and the listening experience surpasses stereo by a long shot.

Postby meccalli » April 1st, 2016, 7:07 pm

I have 2 ears, good stereo over surround anyday.

Postby X_Factor » April 2nd, 2016, 11:47 pm

^ agreed....for music
a concert in 5.1 will have to be mixed in that format and totally unreal
the stage is in front for a reason
the only thing might be the clapping and audience noise

jus finished looking at mockingjay part 2 bluray original
amazing sound in that movie

Postby Gladiator » April 3rd, 2016, 9:01 am

You need to let go of those stereotypes ... no pun intended.

Get a 5.1 recorded concert and listen, then make your judgement. Get the Eagles Farewell Tour, listen to Hotel California and then compare.

Also thee are tons of DTS and Dolby test disks with concert clips, audio and stage performances. There is a Dire Straits 5.1 Blu Ray that is one of the best reference disks out.

Don't limit yourself to stereo my friend..... then there is ATMOS .... WOW and yes for audio too not just movies!

Zedenka

Postby Zedenka » April 8th, 2016, 9:05 pm

Hey guys, I am looking for these speakers and amp locally or should i order it from amazon?

Speakers-Micca MB42:
http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Booksh ... 71ACE1WV2C

Dayton Audio B652
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652 ... JBEYFZ72JS

Amp- Lepy LP-2024A+
http://www.amazon.com/Lepy-LP-2024A-Hi- ... 6DX3M22U3I

Can i get these things in Trinidad or something similar? Just a simple setup for now and after i will add a sub. Thanks for all your assistance.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 8th, 2016, 10:37 pm

The amp you can order... "cheap" speakers don't usually work out too cheap after you pay for the weight

Snap these up if you can afford it:

https://shop.pricesmart.com/tt/en/produ ... air#page=1

I had the florstanders to these and they're awesome... I got them when pricesmart online were selling for like $750 for one... now inexplicably they are double that price

carluva

Postby carluva » April 8th, 2016, 11:14 pm

If u ordering online, make sure u buy before september 2016. After that, Colm making u pay ah extra 7% on yuh online purchase

Postby rollingstock » April 9th, 2016, 1:22 am

Zedenka wrote:Hey guys, I am looking for these speakers and amp locally or should i order it from amazon?

Speakers-Micca MB42:
http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Booksh ... 71ACE1WV2C

Dayton Audio B652
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652 ... JBEYFZ72JS

Amp- Lepy LP-2024A+
http://www.amazon.com/Lepy-LP-2024A-Hi- ... 6DX3M22U3I

Can i get these things in Trinidad or something similar? Just a simple setup for now and after i will add a sub. Thanks for all your assistance.

I'd recommend the jbl loft 30 bookshelf speakers instead of those, the micca doesn't play very loud compared to other bookshelf speakers in its class, I sold mines, still have the center speaker but installed an infinity crossover internally. The Daytons quality has dropped tremendously with the newer releases.
I also got rid of those and reverted to some old Pioneer bookshelf speakers, not great looking speakers, without the grills which are a pain to remove they're positively ugly but sounds a million times better.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » April 12th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Get the Micca MB42X instead of the MB42. I paid $80 for my MB42X about a year ago and it cost me about $800TT to land here. If I had to buy again I would go with the Pioneer bookshelf from Pricesmart for $1000 and maybe better small amp (I also have the Lepai) like the SMSL SA50.

I like to read and watch this guy's posts on reddit on youtube for his opinions on audio stuff like this https://www.reddit.com/r/zeos

Postby SR » April 12th, 2016, 8:04 pm

Newest aquisition

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2016, 11:24 pm

Gladiator wrote:There is a Dire Straits 5.1 Blu Ray that is one of the best reference disks out.
have that and the SACD remaster.

they make a MASSIVE difference compared to MP3 or even regular original CD

Pity the SACD only works on my old fat PS3.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 13th, 2016, 12:23 pm

@zedenka the lepai will work but you have to do two things to get it to really shine. Replace the main power supply capacitor and use a 12v 5a power supply. I did that on both I had and the difference was night and day.

Anton

Postby Anton » April 17th, 2016, 2:31 am

Anyone ever used the service of a professional video calibrator for their monitor or projector? What's the cost like? Purchased a new pj and high contrast screen and I'm considering getting it done.
Last edited by Anton on April 17th, 2016, 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anton

Postby Anton » April 17th, 2016, 2:31 am

razi

Postby razi » April 17th, 2016, 10:34 am

Can anyone tell me who is the authorised local dealer for klipsch? I read some pages back that they were at Agostini warehouse in Laventille but what is the company's name?

Zedenka

Postby Zedenka » April 17th, 2016, 10:41 am

Thanks a lot guys for all the assistance and recommendation. I truly appreciated it. Seems Pioneer is the preferred choice so i will go with the Pioneer 80W Andrew Jones Bookshelf (Did my research and it came highly recommended by many reviewers) and the SMSL SA50. When i went to order it from Pricesmart it seems to be sold out. lol. I guess i will have to order it online. Concerning the SMSL SA50 which is 2.0 is there any 2.1 amps like that so i can add a sub woofer later on? Thanks again

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 17th, 2016, 11:46 am

this is a fully enclosed 2.1 amp with 50x2 on mid and 100x1 on sub.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/12v-50Wx2-100WT ... SwfcVUL2wy

alternatively if you have a 2.0 you have use a small plate amp like a dayton sa25 or sa70 and tap the speaker outs from the 2 channel amp and send it to the plate amp as a high level signal.