where did I make fun of someone else's belief?sparky wrote:You guys makes fun of other people belief and religion and it is ok for you
megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1, what is your opinion on SDA and their beliefs and practices?
nothing much , they carry certain beliefs within Christianity based on a founder
with his/her theology
sparky wrote:You guys makes fun of other people belief and religion and it is ok for you
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1, what is your opinion on SDA and their beliefs and practices?
nothing much , they carry certain beliefs within Christianity based on a founder
with his/her theology
Good grief. Is there anyone here willing to translate this into English for me, please?
The words used in his answer I can recognize, but the order in which they have been placed don't make much sense.
His opinion is "nothing much"? (I have been saying that all along, and it's nice to know that he finally agrees with me)
How does one "carry" one's beliefs? Is this a reference to those folk who wear large crucifixes on a chain around their necks? Or those who walk around with magazines and bibles?
They carry them "within Christianity"? They don't go anywhere else, eh?
"Based on a founder"? If that is how you want to phrase it... what else does a "founder" do?
"with his/her theology" The gum-bumpers on this thread have been misusing this word when they want to refer to someone's personal religious view. (It makes them sound as though they know what they are talking about.) I have pointed this out before... there is no "your theology" and "my theology".
For God's sake, speak English!!!!
d spike wrote:Megadoc either has no idea of what he is talking about, or he doesn't think while he writes. SDA beliefs are not at all the same as what he spouts.
Seventh-Day Adventism began in the mid-nineteenth century, when a Baptist preacher, who later repented of his folly, predicted that Jesus Christ would return in 1844. Miller had over 10,000 followers, many of whom sold their homes, gave away all their earthly possessions, quit their jobs, and waited eagerly for the Lord's return...
In came Ellen G. White to save the day, claiming that instead of returning to the earth, Jesus entered into the Holy of Holies in Heaven to finish His work of atonement. She termed this event the "Investigative Judgment," a doctrine not found anywhere in Christianity and or the bible.
"Carrying certain beliefs within Christianity", huh? The clear implication that Jesus' suffering and death on the cross did not complete the atonement for the sins of the world (in other words, Jesus is still working out Man's redemption) is a concept Megadoc has no problem accepting as being "within Christianity".
SDAs believe very strongly in both Faith and Good Works being necessary for salvation - not either one or the other, but both... and we all know where Megadoc stands on this issue! ...but Megadoc considers them fellow Christians...
"In ancient times God spoke to men by the mouth of prophets and apostles. In these days He speaks to them by the testimonies of His Spirit. There was never a time when God instructed His people more earnestly than He instructs them now concerning His will and the course that He would have them pursue." Ellen G. White. SDAs accept their prophetess' words as they do scripture. (In fact, their leaders used to get thrown out of the church for publicly doubting her veracity.) Is Megadoc saying that God's instructions via the apostles or Jesus wasn't as "earnestly" done as it was through this gracious lady? He's "cool" with that, I suppose.
I have no problem with the Adventists believing what they do. (The most honest and hard-working people I know are Muslims and Adventists.)
My 'beef' here has to do with good ol' Megadoc shooting from the hip, as he does, without first engaging his brain. His football match mentality simply places SDA on his side of his "us vs. them" scale - without knowing or caring what they actually believe.sparky wrote:You guys makes fun of other people belief and religion and it is ok for you
Perhaps, Sparky, if you gave a few examples of such an occurrence, instead of making a generalized statement like this, people might take you seriously. Whatever are you talking about?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 why can't you apply those all embracing words of the scripture to Catholics or Anglicans or Presbyterians? I do but I will get back to you on this laterI didn't name any group does it matter ? I think thats the easiest way to put this behind oneself call the group a cult and call it a day, no proof needed, hearsay is good enough to convince oneself but when positive claims are made bring proof them a sayillumin@ti wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup some also people find solace in a cult and they call it a "group".
What group you talkin bout dey? de Non-Denominational group in woodbrook?
what eet name? Champion Dynamics?![]()
cultmegadoc1 wrote:does it matter ? I think thats the easiest way to put this behind oneself call the group a cult and call it a day, no proof needed, hearsay is good enough to convince oneself but when positive claims are made bring proof them a say[/color]
megadoc1 wrote:here we go policing again
megadoc1 wrote:d spike you are so wrong about what u are saying concerning me
Really? Considering that this is not a real response to my post that you quoted, I fail to see how you can claim this without proof or argument... or are you going to do like you did in the last thread, and claim that I am a liar - without proof or explanation? That is how you handle an opposing view?
and the more you try to justify what you are saying
Thanks for not reading my posts, as usual. I am not trying to justify, I gave examples to show clearly that you do not know that which you speak of. Do you have a response to that? (A lucid one, hopefully, not "cool" or "hmmm"...)
is the more you talk about what you don't know
Really? What errors did I make?
...go on now now![]()
bluefete wrote:I told you so many pages ago on this thread that there was bestiality in Avatar and that part of the love scene between Jake & Neytiri was cut from the movie. People took me to task for making such a statement. (Right, Spikey?)
Of course, there will be many of you who still would not see what I pointed out so many pages ago.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:cultmegadoc1 wrote:does it matter ? I think thats the easiest way to put this behind oneself call the group a cult and call it a day, no proof needed, hearsay is good enough to convince oneself but when positive claims are made bring proof them a say[/color]
/kʌlt/[kuhlt]
–noun
1. a group or sect bound together by veneration of the same thing, person, ideal, etc.
2. any system for treating human sickness that originated by a person usually claiming to have sole insight into the nature of disease, and that employs methods regarded as unorthodox or unscientific.
claim
/kleɪm/[kleym]
–verb
1. to assert or maintain as a fact.
2. to state as having existence; affirm; postulate.
pos·tu·late
/v. ˈpɒstʃəˌleɪt [v. pos-chuh-leyt]
–verb
1. to claim or assume the existence or truth of, esp. as a basis for reasoning or arguing.
2. to assume without proof, or as self-evident
I never specifically said your group was a cult.
You claimed in this thread that you and your group can cure disease, heal people and cast out demons. yes we do IN the name of JESUS CHRIST it is something that every Christian can/must do as commanded by Jesus
Mark 16:17
And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;
18They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.
this is not something special to a group but to anyone who truly believes in Jesus
You have since been unable to show proof of this claim in this thread.
yeah ah know
I can't see how this is putting it behind oneself.ok but look how the book of john puts it
John 3:19
And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. 20 For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. 21 But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.”
man will look for any excuse not to come into the light but thats nothing new to me
I did most of that in my time
so what I want to know is do you consider Christianity a cult?
and do you consider roman catholicism a cult?
Skanky wrote:The sooner people realise the concept of god and by extension religion, was designed to divide people and not unite them....as so aptly demonstrated in this thread.......the sooner the world will be a more peaceful place.
Hence god is the reason there will never be world peace.
megadoc1 wrote:yes we do IN the name of JESUS CHRIST it is something that every Christian can/must do as commanded by Jesus
And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;
is this considered talking in tongues? Cause I don't understand what you are trying to say.megadoc1 wrote:um Jesus never came to make peace in the world eh, doh let nobody tie you up with the jesus that just teach loving and kindness ,man in his natural state is an enemy to God
So if you drink some lanate, you will not get sick or die?megadoc1 wrote: 18They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.
this is not something special to a group but to anyone who truly believes in Jesus[/color]
because you can't prove it.megadoc1 wrote:yeah ah knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:You have since been unable to show proof of this claim in this thread.
you assume that YOUR side is the light. A Hindu or Muslim person may not agree and say THEIR side is light. I am in agreement with the concept that John has put forward, but there are similar passages in every other religious text. SO what makes yours "light" and the others "dark"??megadoc1 wrote:ok but look how the book of john puts it
And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. 20 For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. 21 But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.”
man will look for any excuse not to come into the light but thats nothing new to me
today neither is considered unorthodox.megadoc1 wrote:[color=#00BF40]so what I want to know is do you consider Christianity a cult?
megadoc1 wrote:um Jesus never came to make peace in the world eh, doh let nobody tie you up with the jesus that just teach loving and kindness ,man in his natural state is an enemy to God but people who believes in and loves Jesus becomes his agents here on earth in which he manifest himself through them and because men hate God, they will hate on his agents
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:yes we do IN the name of JESUS CHRIST it is something that every Christian can/must do as commanded by Jesus
And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;is this considered talking in tongues? Cause I don't understand what you are trying to say.Jesus never come to make peace on earth as some people believes and man in his sinful nature is an enemy to Godmegadoc1 wrote:um Jesus never came to make peace in the world eh, doh let nobody tie you up with the jesus that just teach loving and kindness ,man in his natural state is an enemy to GodSo if you drink some lanate, you will not get sick or die?megadoc1 wrote: 18They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.
this is not something special to a group but to anyone who truly believes in Jesus[/color]
if someone tries to poison a Christian it is not gonna work as promised in the scripturesbecause you can't prove it.you not coming to find out any time soon remember?megadoc1 wrote:yeah ah knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:You have since been unable to show proof of this claim in this thread.you assume that YOUR side is the light. A Hindu or Muslim person may not agree and say THEIR side is light. I am in agreement with the concept that John has put forward, but there are similar passages in every other religious text. SO what makes yours "light" and the others "dark"??[color=#00FF40]megadoc1 wrote:ok but look how the book of john puts it
we went tru that already and I told you it can be tested but you are not interested in finding out yourselftoday neither is considered unorthodox. do you consider the group where I fellowship unorthodox ?megadoc1 wrote:so what I want to know is do you consider Christianity a cult?
megadoc1 wrote:Skanky wrote:The sooner people realise the concept of god and by extension religion, was designed to divide people and not unite them....as so aptly demonstrated in this thread.......the sooner the world will be a more peaceful place.
Hence god is the reason there will never be world peace.
um Jesus never came to make peace in the world eh, doh let nobody tie you up with the jesus that just teach loving and kindness ,man in his natural state is an enemy to God but people who believes in and loves Jesus becomes his agents here on earth in which he manifest himself through them and because men hate God, they will hate on his agents
Jesus tells us
Matthew 10:34
34Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.
35For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.
36And a man's foes shall be they of his own household.
37He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.
38And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.
39He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.
40He that receiveth you receiveth me, and he that receiveth me receiveth him that sent me.
and
John 15:18
18If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.
19If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.
20Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.
21But all these things will they do unto you for my name's sake, because they know not him that sent me.
now it is not the Christians who are the ones hating but the ones who does not know Christ will hate the ones who do ,any Christian who hates anyone good or bad does not know God
megadoc1 wrote:Hence god is the reason there will never be world peace.
um Jesus never came to make peace in the world eh, doh let nobody tie you up with the jesus that just teach loving and kindness ,man in his natural state is an enemy to God but people who believes in and loves Jesus becomes his agents here on earth in which he manifest himself through them and because men hate God, they will hate on his agents
Jesus tells us
34Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.
16 cycles wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Hence god is the reason there will never be world peace.
Jesus tells us
When did Jesus say this? Trying to gain some understanding in the context of what was said? Who was he speaking to / for what purpose?
megadoc1 wrote:man in his natural state is an enemy to God
d spike wrote:bluefete wrote:I told you so many pages ago on this thread that there was bestiality in Avatar and that part of the love scene between Jake & Neytiri was cut from the movie. People took me to task for making such a statement. (Right, Spikey?)
Of course, there will be many of you who still would not see what I pointed out so many pages ago.
" People took me to task for making such a statement" - I certainly didn't take you to task about any love scenes in the movie... If you have a problem with movie love scenes, then your cinema viewing opportunities must be limited to Pokemon and suchlike.
I had a problem with your claim of bestiality, though... if you could be more specific, that would help one understand your point of view - unless, of course, the site you clipped your rant from didn't have an explanation either...
Bestiality is unfortunately not uncommon where I grew up, so I think I would know it when I see it... (and remembering what some of the ex-wives looked like, I think I may have had some first hand knowledge!![]()
)
d spike wrote:Tall male blue frog copulates with tall female blue frog... how is that bestiality?
Bluefete, acquisition of an existence apart from your book, your paranoia, and the websites you browse for pickings to paste up (which are full of the writings of other little people stricken with a book and paranoia) should be attempted on your part, from time to time. Reality does exist beyond the glow of your monitor.
illumin@ti wrote:
wheres my boy blue
bluefete wrote:I made the point that Jake was a human inhabiting an animal/human body on Pandora. When he made love to Neytiri, (my ponytail into your ponytail), this was a very open expression of a human having sex with an animal!