COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2020, 3:04 pm

toyolink wrote:People actually panic buying fast food.
This is confirmed at one Thai restaurant which was offering take-out.
The main chef couldn't understand why so much pressure in the kitchen (he didn't have time to listen to update).
I suppose people going and freeze fast food.
….....Now tell me people!

last lap.. is quite till the end of the month.
i did that for the doubles. did not stock pile doubles.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 6th, 2020, 3:13 pm

Absolutely stupid move in closing restaurants, just move to a pickup only model where you call or Whatsapp your order in for the very least.

We don't want a totally flat curve, that is moronic and means these measures will be pointless once removed. There is no escaping this virus unless we close off all borders until a vaccine arrives.

Do people not understand that?

Postby teems1 » April 6th, 2020, 3:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely stupid move in closing restaurants, just move to a pickup only model where you call or Whatsapp your order in for the very least.

We don't want a totally flat curve, that is moronic and means these measures will be pointless once removed. There is no escaping this virus unless we close off all borders until a vaccine arrives.

Aren't the borders closed since March 22nd?

Postby maj. tom » April 6th, 2020, 3:43 pm

I honestly do not have money to buy KFC even if I wanted it. I already in strict budget mode and have bills to pay still at the end of this month again. Because this reality going past May/June.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 3:44 pm

gg have to take the blame for this one
he want to flex on the small man but not on the 1%

govt had no choice but to act

Postby Dizzy28 » April 6th, 2020, 4:19 pm

Capture.JPG

No change from this morning

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2020, 4:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely stupid move in closing restaurants, just move to a pickup only model where you call or Whatsapp your order in for the very least.

Buh you hada be ah real d1ck....clearly you only listening to local news...lehme break it down for you...According to experts, a vaccine could be made available within the next 18 months.

Our borders are already closed(legally that is)...so imported cases would stop...We are now trying to stop community spread..Restaurants are not a necessity...cook yuh own dam food

Postby toyolink » April 6th, 2020, 4:47 pm

The real hurt here is what this new closure will mean to many who may now have no pay check.
When we refuse to comply with simple instructions and freedoms are removed people including children would suffer.
This is really another element of sadness for me.

Postby Gladiator » April 6th, 2020, 4:53 pm

I dunno if is just me.... but logically thinking about the measures taken today with time limiting shops and groceries... wouldn't it have been better to have them open for longer periods since persons can access the shop at spread out times during the day. If the shop only open for 6 hours, wouldn't everybody now have to access the shop in a shorter time span causing a greater probability of persons grouping together in the shop...

What would have made more sense to me logically is to ask certain shops/groceries to open longer hours or staggered hours to allow for less persons to meet up in the establishment at once.

Postby redmanjp » April 6th, 2020, 5:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:I honestly do not have money to buy KFC even if I wanted it. I already in strict budget mode and have bills to pay still at the end of this month again. Because this reality going past May/June.

not just kfc, is roti shop, bbq/grill, subway, and all other places- but what about essential workers? health workers?
Last edited by redmanjp on April 6th, 2020, 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » April 6th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Gladiator wrote:I dunno if is just me.... but logically thinking about the measures taken today with time limiting shops and groceries... wouldn't it have been better to have them open for longer periods since persons can access the shop at spread out times during the day. If the shop only open for 6 hours, wouldn't everybody now have to access the shop in a shorter time span causing a greater probability of persons grouping together in the shop...

What would have made more sense to me logically is to ask certain shops/groceries to open longer hours or staggered hours to allow for less persons to meet up in the establishment at once.
Word...

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 5:04 pm

i think it is moronic the govt decided to close liquor marts and delivery/curbside restaurants.

those same patrons will now go to supermarkets to buy their stocks. you'd want people spread out, far away from each other. food outlets and liquor marts allow that. More so delivery services that make contact almost nil.

but no, they want everybody to crowd into the supermarket and deal with the same lines, same shared contact surfaces, and same shared cashier. It's like they want to funnel all the infections into one single place that everybody will be forced to go to.

Postby skylinechild » April 6th, 2020, 5:12 pm

teems1 wrote:

Aren't the borders closed since March 22nd?

it supposed to be but it is alleged a flight came in from Venezuela a few days ago carrying the president wife.
met with rowley and then left.

wonder what was so important that it couldn't be discussed over a telephone call. :lol:

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2020, 5:19 pm

Hospitals hadda start preparing food for their staff if they cant get outside. What about the rituals,subway and gyro place in mt hope
redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I honestly do not have money to buy KFC even if I wanted it. I already in strict budget mode and have bills to pay still at the end of this month again. Because this reality going past May/June.

not just kfc, is roti shop, bbq/grill, subway, and all other places- but what about essential workers? health workers?

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 5:51 pm

356,942 cases in the US and 10,524 deaths

:drinking:

lewwe get back on topic

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 6th, 2020, 5:57 pm

screwbash wrote:

is arsehole know it all like u dat go cause this to spread and kill we all. just close everything and keep allyuh arse home. wat can be more simple than dat. allyuh so greedy for kfc and doubles. get a wife nah and cook yuh own food.

U do realize there is no escape from this virus, most of us will eventually get it. The whole aim of these measures are to reduce the PEAK.

The reason we need to keep take away open at the very least is so that essential workers can eat. Lots of people are working overtime due to this.

Yes there are ways around this, but was this necessary? Now we going to have more crowds at groceries.

The whole purpose for these restrictive measures is to reduce community spread, which so far it seems we are doing a fairly good job.

The delay in peak or number of cases is to get health services geared up and ready, are we doing that? It seems we're sitting ducks and PNM has had a month to prep.

All these extreme measures are unnecessary at this point, we seem to be the only country in the world that has banned food delivery.

How are doctors, nurses, people working in groceries, etc supposed to eat?
How are daily paid workers in these restaurants supposed to survive? Many get paid cash only, what happens to them? They are not the comfy middle class who panic buy in bulk, they are living paycheck to paycheck and will be out of money now.

Is this sensible to you? delay the curve for how long until WHAT??

If you take this approach when do you remove it? When we have a vaccine? come on? We need to effectively deal with this virus, not run away from it.

Look at Sweden, South Korea, there are ways to deal with this without banning everything and making poor people suffer.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 6:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i think it is moronic the govt decided to close liquor marts and delivery/curbside restaurants.

those same patrons will now go to supermarkets to buy their stocks. you'd want people spread out, far away from each other. food outlets and liquor marts allow that. More so delivery services that make contact almost nil.

but no, they want everybody to crowd into the supermarket and deal with the same lines, same shared contact surfaces, and same shared cashier. It's like they want to funnel all the infections into one single place that everybody will be forced to go to.

Hello p.i,

This is a good observation, but its up to Trinidadians to work together to avoid possible spread with the added congregating.

Do you have any idea when these complimentary “cloth masks” will be available to the public?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 6th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Max power you living trinidad still? I am mixed Syrian Trini and live here .

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2020, 6:09 pm

Lots of posts deleted. *thank you*

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 6:22 pm

So, last Thursday there were 1million confirmed cases,
As of right now there are 1.34 million cases. That's approximately 340,000 new identifications of infected people in 4 days. I suspect before the week done we crossing 2 million.

The rate of spread of this disease is frickin AMAZING, considering all the measures being taken to curb its the infection rate. I don't think any other virus throughout history has ever been this widespread, but more importantly spreading this quickly.

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 6:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:U do realize there is no escape from this virus, most of us will eventually get it.

Ah, the Boris Johnson opinion. hope he gets out of ICU soon. :drinking:

Today we had 0 new cases, down from 2 yesterday. At this rate we not all going to get it.

I starting to believe "God is a Trini" is not just some ole talk thing.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 6:39 pm

so what arawak going to do with all the surplus chicken ?

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 6:42 pm

pugboy wrote:so what arawak going to do with all the surplus chicken ?

in other countries, plenty of that surplus ends up at a discount on supermarket shelves. not just chicken but all kinda restaurant supplies too. looking forward to it if I end up in the grocery for some reason.
Last edited by paid_influencer on April 6th, 2020, 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » April 6th, 2020, 6:43 pm

Max, the cloth masks should be available from Friday, I know one person placed an order for 2000 today with the intent to give them out

Postby redmanjp » April 6th, 2020, 6:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

in other countries, plenty of that surplus ends up at a discount on supermarket shelves. not just chicken but all kinda restaurant supplies too. looking forward to it if I end up in the grocery for some reason.

any supermarkets offering take out?

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 7:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Massy and TruValu i know of, call them.

Pricesmart delivering.
Last edited by MaxPower on April 6th, 2020, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » April 6th, 2020, 7:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

as in delivery? Hearty Foods in Arima is doing free delivery to Arima and environs, Tru Value is doing whatsapp grocery lists but you still have to go collect

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2020, 7:05 pm

pricesmart still selling pizza and rotisserie btw?

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2020, 7:05 pm

88sins wrote:So, last Thursday there were 1million confirmed cases,
As of right now there are 1.34 million cases. That's approximately 340,000 new identifications of infected people in 4 days. I suspect before the week done we crossing 2 million.

The rate of spread of this disease is frickin AMAZING, considering all the measures being taken to curb its the infection rate. I don't think any other virus throughout history has ever been this widespread, but more importantly spreading this quickly.
The expected date to cross 2 million cases is April 12th.

xtech

Postby xtech » April 6th, 2020, 7:21 pm

adnj wrote:
88sins wrote:So, last Thursday there were 1million confirmed cases,

The expected date to cross 2 million cases is April 12th.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_epidemics