3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby MISHI » March 11th, 2011, 11:13 pm

You see the problem is, I don't keep these settings when using the cam. Yes there are one or two basics regarding apateure and shutter priority, but generally it's more about playing with the camera... These shots you see I usually take a few of each till I'm satisfied with the one I want...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 12th, 2011, 5:44 am

if you upload your shots to flickr, each photo has a spec's list on the sidebar - with exposure settings, f/stop, shutter speed, iso, etc.

Also in windows 7, if you right click on the picture in windows explorer and select properties, you'll see the same listing of spec's for that photo.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 12th, 2011, 8:08 pm

28-135mm lens.

ISO-400, 135mm, 1/250s, f6.3

Postby Rainman » March 12th, 2011, 8:27 pm

hoverauto wrote:
BlueIce wrote:i wish you guys would post the camera model , lens , settings etc for all the pics you post ...it would certainly help the noobs like me pick up tricks faster :)

^^ What he said!

If you're running firefox you can download a plug in called exif viewer, it will give you all the info you need.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » March 12th, 2011, 8:29 pm

rainman wrote:
hoverauto wrote:
BlueIce wrote:i wish you guys would post the camera model , lens , settings etc for all the pics you post ...it would certainly help the noobs like me pick up tricks faster :)

^^ What he said!

If you're running firefox you can download a plug in called exif viewer, it will give you all the info you need.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 12th, 2011, 8:39 pm

Doesn't always work for edited images... especially if the image is resized.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 12th, 2011, 11:36 pm

hoverauto wrote:Here are a couple from my trip to Panama:

Also got a question for you guys: my digital camera allows me to have shutter priority, ie set any shutter speed I want and the camera will automatically set the aperture. I was trying to take pics of the rain today, trying to capture the drops mid air, so I was using a very fast shutter speed but the pics were coming out very dark. I know that faster shutter speeds means less light coming in, but my question is, if the less light is a big factor...how to people take nice shots of fast moving objects? Is it that they have cameras with better image sensors? Does my little canon not have a large enough sensor for those types of shots?

Btw, doh ring meh out nah....I'm still learning.

man in blue isnt that the bear? must be a thrill workin with him

Postby M_2NR » March 13th, 2011, 12:10 am

rainman wrote:
hoverauto wrote:

^^ What he said!

sweet! didnt realize there was a plugin... i used to use exifread.exe
MISHI wrote:Doesn't always work for edited images... especially if the image is resized.

i saw exif sometimes get preserved after a resize. i think its more compression side of things get rid of the exif.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 13th, 2011, 6:27 am

turbohead wrote:

Also got a question for you guys: my digital camera allows me to have shutter priority, ie set any shutter speed I want and the camera will automatically set the aperture. I was trying to take pics of the rain today, trying to capture the drops mid air, so I was using a very fast shutter speed but the pics were coming out very dark. I know that faster shutter speeds means less light coming in, but my question is, if the less light is a big factor...how to people take nice shots of fast moving objects? Is it that they have cameras with better image sensors? Does my little canon not have a large enough sensor for those types of shots?

Wait nah... DAIZ BEAR GRYLLS???

Wheeeyyy... I hear that his camera crew does be eating and sleeping in tents while he has to sit outside and make wet-suits out of dead seals.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 13th, 2011, 6:52 am

Went on a toco lime yesterday...

Taken with a Blackberry Bold 9700.

plex

Postby plex » March 13th, 2011, 8:18 am

ISO Speed 200
Lens EF24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Av F3.5
Shutter Speed 1/500Sec.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 13th, 2011, 7:25 pm

ISO: 400
Exposure: 1/30 sec
Aperture: 5.6
Focal Length: 18mm

ISO: 200
Exposure: 1/13 sec
Aperture: 4.0
Focal Length: 70mm

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 13th, 2011, 7:41 pm

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 13th, 2011, 7:52 pm

lighthammer wrote:
turbohead wrote:

Wheeeyyy... I hear that his camera crew does be eating and sleeping in tents while he has to sit outside and make wet-suits out of dead seals.

Yep the man in blue is Bear. Didnt actually 'work' with him. I was lucky enough to be offered a chance to tag along with the helicopter crew while he was shooting his Panama Pearl Islands episode. Real cool guy....very funny. Wasnt suppose to take any pics so everything shown here, except the R22 in the sand, was taken under lows with my cell, lolol

And yes his camera crew has the benefit of tents. lol Bear doh need that tho.....he hard like ur big head.

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » March 14th, 2011, 2:32 am

slightly blurry

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 14th, 2011, 9:59 am

hoverauto wrote:
lighthammer wrote:
turbohead wrote:

Yep the man in blue is Bear. Didnt actually 'work' with him. I was lucky enough to be offered a chance to tag along with the helicopter crew while he was shooting his Panama Pearl Islands episode. Real cool guy....very funny. Wasnt suppose to take any pics so everything shown here, except the R22 in the sand, was taken under lows with my cell, lolol

And yes his camera crew has the benefit of tents. lol Bear doh need that tho.....he hard like ur big head.

Wow, that's super cool man. I would love to meet bear grylls in person, he seems like a pretty down-to-earth kinda guy. I used to watch his show regularly too, the guy seems genuine, even if he has a camera-crew with him. The last show I saw was him voluntarily swimming under an artic ice-shelf with air-holes set up at regular intervals, to show how hypothermia works.

Aye this thread inspiring me to go take some pics.... where did I put the ol' Nikon D200?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 14th, 2011, 10:31 am

lighthammer wrote:Aye this thread inspiring me to go take some pics.... where did I put the ol' Nikon D200?

When you find the D200...you need to get one of these for it. :D :D :D

http://weeklydrop.com/2009/05/talcs-nik ... fle-stock/
tactical-camera-assault-long-range-stock.jpg

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 14th, 2011, 10:56 am

One "shot" with that could get you arrested for a long time...

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 15th, 2011, 12:21 pm

IMG_1006 by mglgranville, on Flickr
IMG_1049 by mglgranville, on Flickr

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 15th, 2011, 6:18 pm

Look what me and my ol' D200 can do....

Hold dat (some Rally pics from the last event in Feb - Cedar Hill)

And antics on the side... epic stickage by a Hilux :D

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » March 15th, 2011, 8:19 pm

Good Morning Atlantis
image[3].jpg

Postby RBphoto » March 16th, 2011, 7:16 am

Atlantis is the bomb digidy yo!!!

You gone swimming with the dolphins?

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » March 16th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Swam with some sting rays actually :shock:

Postby RBphoto » March 17th, 2011, 10:28 am

Did that in Gran Cayman... I like them. I got a back massage from one... that was quite nice. If you go for the "swimming with the dolphin" excursions, here is a tip: do the shallow water one. Every man jack wants to do the "swimming" but all they really get is a group show and tell, 40 seconds of interaction with the dolphin, pluss a quick picture (and about 40 in a group). The "Kiddie" activity only has about 5 families max, everyone gets to interact with the dolphin for the whole session, and pictures are more relaxed, and you get many tries to get the best poses with the dolphin, including the high 5, the kiss the dolphin shot, and the holding the dolphin under your arm shot. I spent $200USD on photographs that day and don't regret it.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » March 17th, 2011, 12:18 pm

Flying across the Atlantic with heavy cloud cover, amazing:
image[1].jpg

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 18th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Here's one of my favorites. My daughter. :) Isn't she adorable :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 19th, 2011, 9:54 am

Sunset in Barbados, Jan 2011

My graduation present

Mango season is coming....
(flowers of the Julie Mango tree in my yard).

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 19th, 2011, 10:06 am

lighthammer wrote:Image
Sunset in Barbados, Jan 2011

My graduation present

Mango season is coming....
(flowers of the Julie Mango tree in my yard).

What camera are you using brother?

Lance

Postby Lance » March 19th, 2011, 11:57 am

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 19th, 2011, 3:30 pm

MrGoSlow - yo dude, I use a Nikon D200. My usual lens that I keep on it is a 18-70mm f/3.5-4.0 AF-S lens.

For my zoom, I have a cheap Sigma 70-210mm f/4.0-5.6 AF-D lens that i got for 40 pounds off ebay.co.uk (was studying in the UK at the time).

For wide angle shots, got a Sigma 10-20mm f/4.5-5.6 AF-D EX lens. Bought that at B&H camera in NYC (was studying in NY at that time).

Also have the 50mm f/1.8 AF-D and 35mm f/1.8 AF-S prime lenses, as well as a couple others.