Local 1972
1.jpg

TriP

Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Local 30's-40's

The steel pan is the national instrument of Trinidad and Tobago. It is the only original non-electronic musical instrument invented in the twentieth century and its early evolution dates back to the 1930’s and 1940’s.

According to the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards, the steel pan, traditionally made from a steel drum or container, is “a definite pitch percussion instrument in the idiophone class, traditionally made from a steel drum or steel container. The metallic playing surface is concave with a skirt attached. The playing surface is divided into convex sections by channels, groves and/or bores. Each convex section is played by striking the pan with sticks to produce musical note."

The range and assortment of today’s instruments make it possible to execute the simplest of melodies to the most complex arrangements found in orchestration. The steelband, which can contain numerous performers, can play a wide range of music from soca, calypso, classical, rock, reggae, to jazz, pop, Latin and rhythm and blues.

Winston “Spree” Simon, Ellie Mannette, Anthony Williams and Bertie Marshall are considered among the leading pan pioneers in developing the steel pan to what it is today.
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 10:41 pm

People of Trinidad and Tobago

“It was a bulls eye. It hit my pupil,” Christine Jackson-Hart says of the day a friend’s brother shot her in the eye with an arrow constructed from a Hibiscus bush. She was eleven years old.

“I was called One-eye Jack, Robin Hood and different things,” she recalls. “I wouldn’t let people take pictures of me. I was ashamed of having an eye that didn’t move. People couldn’t tell where I was looking.”

No one, perhaps not even Christine herself, could tell that “where she was looking” would one day be within, seeking deep, abiding peace.

Childhood in Point-a-Pierre was “incredible”. The seven-child Jackson household—“Grand Central Station”, as their mother called it—was a playful hive of activity for friends of all ages. Young Christine was a tomboy, climbing mango trees, playing pranks, pitching marbles.

When her altered visual perception caused her to stop playing sports, she expressed herself creatively, living for school concerts and pantomimes. Years later, her natural love of the stage would find her representing Trinidad and Tobago at Miss Universe 1975 in San Salvador (where she was voted ‘Miss Amity’).

“I struggled with depression but didn’t know what it was,” she says of her early years. “I wouldn’t talk to people about things. Instead, I used to write poems.”

Raised Roman Catholic and with a natural love for helping people, young Christine decided that she wanted to be a missionary in Africa.

“I didn’t know about Africa and why I wanted to be a missionary there of all places, but anybody that people ostracized or had an issue with, I would defend them,” she says.

Seeds of what she has since harvested as a woman were in her already. Years later, she and her husband would do missionary work—not in Africa, but in Canada, Canouan, Montserrat, Tobago.

Christine met her husband-to-be, Brent Hart, at the travel agency where she worked. The newly married couple lived on a 100 year-old, 100-acre estate in central Trinidad, with, no electricity or running water. “Trinidad’s darling”, accustomed to people calling her name wherever she went, was plunged into the starkly contrasting silence of country life. There, she touched peace that she had not yet known.

“Out there, God was everywhere—in Nature, in the sky, in the birds. He became a part of me, rather than me having to find him in church. He became even more real—in me, with me, about me, my Everything.”

Years later, Christine and her husband migrated to Vancouver, Canada. “We had a wonderful life, living on an acre of land with a little brook. But it was very cold and I missed home.”

The growing family eventually moved to Tobago, accepting the opportunity to look after breathtakingly beautiful Bird of Paradise Inn, on 700 acres of bird sanctuary with direct ocean access.

Brent grew vegetables, men on the reef would catch lobster, Christine would invent recipes and cook and the house, with its large kitchen, was opened up to welcome everyone.

“It was the most amazing experience,” Christine says wistfully. “Truly paradise.”

But this paradise was not enough.

“I hit a low. I couldn’t understand what was going on and started searching again for that peace. I had been looking into Eastern philosophies for a while, but I always prayed to the Lord—for every decision I had to make. The God that I grew up with never went away.”

One day Christine walked across a tiny bridge to the beachfront. There, talking aloud to the Lord, she cried out: “Lord, I need you to show me something! Why am I unhappy when everything is perfect?”

The Lord answered swiftly, sending two men who came to stay a day later at the Inn. One, “Uncle Sam”, who had a children’s television ministry, told Christine something simple that hooked her—the connection with God is a ‘personal relationship’.

The prayer in which he subsequently led Christine, asking Christ to take over her life, immediately transformed her.
“It was instantaneous. That hole, that missing thing left. I knew that I had found what I wanted and that was Jesus—whatever that meant. I was fulfilled.”

She compares the new awareness of God’s presence with having tons of money in the bank, knowing it is there and that access is immediate. “Do I use a cheque this time? Or an ATM machine?” she chuckles.

The peace she found then has never gone.

“People think it means you don’t have confrontation or experience terror, pain or heartache. Peace is always there despite those things and it contributes to how to deal with those things so we don’t get depressed.”

The words of John the Baptist are her constant prayer: “He must increase, but I must decrease”—for her will to decrease and for Jesus to be walking in her on this earth.

This mother of six, grandmother of six, with her funky-shaved hairstyle, multiple ear piercings and casually creative fashion sense wears many hats and has a wealth of stories and miraculous testimonies to share.

Marriage is her ministry now—touching and teaching couples at the weddings she officiates. She is co-founder of Tobago Weddings (Tobago’s first wedding coordinating company, 1998, which she no longer operates).

Her sense of the “personal relationship” introduced by ‘Uncle Sam’, has evolved into the experience of an intimate relationship.

“Intimate relationship—that’s what everything is about. Intimacy is a two way street. If we see God as this big thing that religion gives, how can we be intimate with that? How can He be intimate with us if we are afraid of Him? The whole thing of Sonship and I AM is real. Who we truly are and what Jesus did is a finished work. We’re not to look and beg for what is already here.”

Even her grandchildren know prayer as an expression of thanks—gratitude for what one already has, rather than begging for what one perceives as lacking.

A blackboard sign written for her grandchildren reflects the source of her deep, abiding peace: “Daddy God loves me and has my back no matter what.”
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 10:45 pm

Local Model Sarah Mahabir
2.jpg
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 10:51 pm

Local Aerial Drones - 1

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 10:55 pm

Local Aerial Drones - 2

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:00 pm

Local Model Richelle
1.jpg
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:09 pm

Local Pix's

1. Mr PoliceMan (Not Sure if Local - But it Look So)

2. And In Maraval
1.jpg
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:14 pm

Galera Point ~ Keshorn Walcott Lighthouse
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:18 pm

Trinidad and Tobago 54th Independence
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:22 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Salybia Beach - Toco

Tobago on the Horizon ~ Nice Mellow Music

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:29 pm

Local Foodie

Cross- Crossing ~ San Fernando

Magdalena Grand Resort Tobago

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:48 pm

Local Bottom

It Big - It Round - It Fine - It Attractive - Hadda Look

TriP

Postby TriP » August 28th, 2016, 11:51 pm

Local Surfer ~ Jason Apparicio

First Pro Surfer from Trinidad and Tobago Explores the 974 Area in the Indian Ocean

TriP

Postby TriP » August 29th, 2016, 12:08 am

Local Tobago ~ Healing With Horses

Tobago the place were your ptime can be spent with heading and being with horses.

Trail and swim ride on a horse that chooses you

639-0953 - 307-3425

TriP

Postby TriP » August 29th, 2016, 12:17 am

Local Aerial Drones

Night Flight Around Mt. Hope Hospital

Guanapo - Arima

TriP

Postby TriP » August 29th, 2016, 12:29 am

Local Snake ~ The Cascabel

The Cascabel (Corallus ruschenbergerii) is an arboreal (tree dwelling) species of boa that is widespread throughout Trinidad and Tobago, this species will spend most of its's life in trees away from humans but may wander into civilization occasionally.

Its diet consists of rodents, birds, bats and in some cases frogs.

These can grow to approximately 7 feet long.

The juveniles are uniquely coloured for the first few years of their life and then eventually fades into a bronze or dull brown/green however there are occasions where some may be slightly differently coloured.

This snake also tends to be very aggressive when provoked and we do not recommend that anyone should try and handle or interfere with one of these because it may cause harm to you or the animal, leave it to the professionals.

Please note that this species is a constrictor therefore non venomous and PROTECTED BY LAW.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 29th, 2016, 12:33 am

Local Liming

See Tis Making Rounds on the Net

Sum New Kinda Dance
:D

TriP

Postby TriP » August 29th, 2016, 12:38 am

Local Holidays ~ Visitors

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 10:51 pm

Local 54th Independence Parade ~ Highlites

2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
7.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
8.jpg
9.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 10:59 pm

Local Red Brocket Fawn ~ Rescued

1. Maracas to retrieve Joey, a red brocket deer fawn.

Mr. Doon a hike leader from the area was on a hike when he discovered Joey alone and crying in the forest, he observed him there for some time and then went back home. Mr. Doon said that he felt very concerned about the deer's welfare so later on at night he went back and the deer was still there all alone. He took the deer in overnight and kept it until we were able to go and collect it.

Joey will be raised and fostered by other deer in a private animal sanctuary.

We again would like to thank Mr. Doon for this selfless act and ensuring that Joey survives and is able to fend for himself!

2. Fawn rescue in Trinidad. This is cute but also sad. Must watch. Good to know there are Trinis who want to protect, not kill. We proudly call them the Bambi Brigade

On Sunday 28th August 2016, at approximately 10 a.m. Garden of Eden Adventure Tours and Camping hike leaders ventured into the Morne La Croix forest off the Arima/Blanchisseuse road to explore Mystery Pools and 3 Sprout Waterfall.

At around 12 p.m. as we crossed over the small waterfall just below 3 Sprout Waterfall we heard the cries of an what sounded like an animal. As we approached 3 Sprout we saw a fawn walking around in a daze at the edge of the pool of the waterfall. Our Hike Leader, Doon Rampharay gently picked up the crying animal to have closer look to see if it was hurt. We thought of taking the fawn out of the forest thinking that the mother was poached or ran away from hunters. We decided to leave it there and return at a later time. We assumed we would give it time for the mother to return to him after hearing the cries.

Approximately 5.30 p.m. Doon and his son, Kern Rampahray, with flash lights and gears in hand, returned into the forest to check on the animal. As expected, the fawn was still there. He was gently placed in a baby pouch bag and they made their way back out the forest. Doon kept the fawn at his home and fed him ripe paw paw as he did not accept the local milk. We contacted W.E.P.T.T. who made their way up to Doon's residence today (Monday 29th August) and retrieved the animal to put into foster care with some of the other Deers they had rescued. The fawn was handed over to Tariq and Kristopher of W.E.P.T.T.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:05 pm

Local Hunting Season 2016

Public Notice: Authorization to Exercise Dogs Normally Used for Hunting
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:09 pm

Local Hunting on State Lands

THE HUNTING SEASON IS NOW OFFICIALLY CLOSED

Absolutely NO HUNTING on STATELANDS in the Close Season

MARCH 1st 2016 to 30th September 2016: wild life regulations

"hunt" means killing, wounding, pursuing, capturing or molesting by any method, any animal, and also attempting to do, any of such things and includes any act immediately directed at the killing or capture of any animal; and includes any act immediately directed at the killing or capture of any animal

:Conservation of Wildlife Act 67:01 of Trinidad & Tobago

All animals are protected on State Lands during this period inclusive of lizards, snakes, etc.

"State Lands" includes- (a) the waste or vacant lands of the State within Trinidad and Tobago; and
(b) all lands vested in the State whether by forfeiture, purchase or exchange and not dedicated to the public :Conservation of Wildlife Act 67:01 of Trinidad & Tobago

Persons who are found hunting during this period should be rejected by the hunting fraternity, the authorities must be notified, so that legal enforcement can be initiated.

The public must also be informed that the purchase, consumption or sale of the protected species in the close season, especially animals used for food, Agouti, Lappe, Deer, Tattoo and Wild hog are not only illegal, but they contribute significantly to Close Season Hunting (poaching)

Close season hunting destroys stock animals, these are the animal populations that replenish the animals harvested during the open season.

A law abiding hunter who hunts in the open season is a poacher if and when he hunts in the close season. If therefore, you are accustom to receiving wild meat from him during the open season and you continue to receive wild meat in the close season, you are encouraging him to poach.

It is time we internalize see where the problem in conservation really is and deal with it.

CONDEM POACHING IN THE CLOSE SEASON

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:15 pm

Local Blanchisseuse ~ 3 Pools ~ Coral Lizard

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:25 pm

Local Tobago ~ Liming

Jet-Skied, Kayak and Sailing ~ Pigeon Point ~ No Man's Land

Vacationing in Tobago ~ Nice Tingz in Vid

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:32 pm

Local Liming - 2

Spearfishing Trinidad and Tobago, Kayaking Down the Islands and Shore Dive ~ North Coast Speyside Tobago and Charlotteville

Family of Cuttlefish wander the Reef at Mount Irvine - Tobago

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:37 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Tacarigua

St. Mary Anglican Church – Tacarigua

The Parish of St. Mary, Tacarigua, began in 1826 with the formation of a congregation at Tacarigua through the combined effort of the Reverend Gentlemen J. H. Keston and John Pinder who established a small Missionary outpost at the village Police Station. From this outpost, pastoral advice and conversions as well as the sacraments of baptisms, marriages and burials were undertaken.

Plans for building the first parish church started around 1841 with the contributions from ex-slaves and Roman Catholics on six acres of land donated for the mission of the church by a wealthy planter – William H. Burnley, owner of the Orange Grove Estate. The foundation stone was laid in 1842. The church building was constructed in the same year by Reverend I. Hamilton and was consecrated in 1843 by Bishop Parry. The Feast of Title, the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is observed on September 08.

The Church Building with a seating capacity of three hundred and fifty in the main is still as it was redesigned and rebuilt in 1901 by the Rev. W. M. Springer, making it the second oldest church building in this Diocese. Repairs to the roof were undertaken in 1968 and 2004, the stained glass windows were restored in 1998 and the belfry and steeple were renovated in 2001.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:40 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Chaguaramas ~ Broad Walk

TriP

Postby TriP » August 31st, 2016, 11:48 pm

Local Tobago ~ Cocoa

1. Fresh, wet cocoa beans - Ready for fermenting - Sourced off the Louis d'Or Estate.
Maybe the last beans from the 2015-2016 harvest

2. ICS [Imperial College Selection] 45. Pale/white beans, bottle shape. Yellow and green pod colour. Plump small beans.
Derived from the natural cross breeding of Nicaraguan Criollo and Venezuelan Forestaro, probably almelonado.
4.jpg
3.jpg
6.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » September 1st, 2016, 12:18 am

1. Local Tobago ~ Bloody Bay

Sewage Leaking to Beach 6 years now

2. Local Centipede ~ Big