3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby MISHI » March 2nd, 2011, 9:11 pm

Last stuff from the shots I took... This T1i is a nice camera... the 70-300mm is brilliant! They say the Tamron SP70-300 is sharper but this lens really does a good job

Postby foss » March 2nd, 2011, 9:17 pm

really nice shots MISHI,

after carnival and I save some funds hoping to invest in something...

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 2nd, 2011, 11:46 pm

Anyone uses the Nikon D3000? I looking to venture into DSLR territory. Ah scared though...lol. So far my little point and click Canon SX210 IS has served me well.

However I can see loads of potential for me and a DSLR. Hell my father-in-law has one and he doesnt make use of it at all, as far as i can tell....such a waste.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 3rd, 2011, 8:06 am

hoverauto wrote:Anyone uses the Nikon D3000? I looking to venture into DSLR territory. Ah scared though...lol. So far my little point and click Canon SX210 IS has served me well.

However I can see loads of potential for me and a DSLR. Hell my father-in-law has one and he doesnt make use of it at all, as far as i can tell....such a waste.

check this out

Postby foss » March 3rd, 2011, 8:27 am

hoverauto wrote:Anyone uses the Nikon D3000? I looking to venture into DSLR territory. Ah scared though...lol. So far my little point and click Canon SX210 IS has served me well.

take d camera from d man!

SUPAstarr wrote:fossy i got the D3000, an thats what im shootin the above with, i can let you see what its like, fadda in law paid 499US for it

:)

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2011, 8:32 am

Buy the D3100 if you are going Nikon. The canon guys will advise you on what is the best canon out there. The 18-55mm VR lens is excellent so you can buy the kit without any upgrade remorse for a while. The only other lens you will really need is a 35mm f/1.8DX for low light and DOF effects. If you need telephoto (Which you may not right away), The 55-200 is very cheap, really sharp but not the best build quality and slow autofocus. I suggest you skip over 200m and go straight to a 300mm zoom if you can afford it.

As for me, i want to upgrade my ancient D40 soon to a D7000.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » March 3rd, 2011, 8:52 am

MISHI wrote:Image

eeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » March 3rd, 2011, 11:47 am

my bro's b'day

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 3rd, 2011, 4:37 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

Buy the D3100 if you are going Nikon. The canon guys will advise you on what is the best canon out there. The 18-55mm VR lens is excellent so you can buy the kit without any upgrade remorse for a while. The only other lens you will really need is a 35mm f/1.8DX for low light and DOF effects. If you need telephoto (Which you may not right away), The 55-200 is very cheap, really sharp but not the best build quality and slow autofocus. I suggest you skip over 200m and go straight to a 300mm zoom if you can afford it.

As for me, i want to upgrade my ancient D40 soon to a D7000.

Thanks for all the advice man, much appreciated! I will definitely check out the D3100. Still learning about the different type of lenses. The 18-55mm will be good for shooting small subjects like insects right? I have recently re-discovered the world of the small. :D

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 3rd, 2011, 4:40 pm

MISHI wrote:Image

Very cool photo. 8-) Looking to do the same kinda thing.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 3rd, 2011, 4:45 pm

foss wrote:

take d camera from d man!

SUPAstarr wrote:fossy i got the D3000, an thats what im shootin the above with, i can let you see what its like, fadda in law paid 499US for it

:)

lol...nah foss, I aint ready to get lock-up as yet. But ah feel it could go missing though...lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 5th, 2011, 6:28 am

crossdrilled wrote:Buy the D3100 if you are going Nikon.

What he said^^. The D3100 seems best suited for beginners who are new to the DSLR world and want something easy to shoot with, easy user interface, and serves as a great intro camera. But be warned, you'll soon want to upgrade! (try your best to resist the upgrade bug and work on your skills instead - it can get expensive!)

The only other lens you will really need is a 35mm f/1.8DX for low light and DOF effects. If you need telephoto (Which you may not right away), The 55-200 is very cheap, really sharp but not the best build quality and slow autofocus. I suggest you skip over 200m and go straight to a 300mm zoom if you can afford it.

The Nikon 55-200mm zoom with VR is a very good lens for someone now starting to learn how to actually use a telephoto lens for something other than just zooming on far away stuff. It's sharp, the range is good, and the VR will save you from most blurry shots. 300mm is better if you want to do some birding or want to bring far-away objects closer (i've had that feeling with my cheap-o sigma 70-210 lens) like airplanes, cars on a track, etc. If you want to get into more serious work, esp. with portraits and on-location shoots, you can always upgrade to a more "Pro" lens like the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 or F/4 L-series lenses, or the Nikon equivalents. Or you could go the slightly cheaper route and buy a set of prime lenses like the 50mm f/1.8 or the 35mm f/1.8 like crossdrilled suggested

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 5th, 2011, 2:24 pm

wide angle makes some interesting photos

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 5th, 2011, 3:58 pm

not pro photographer quality, phone pics,,,, took them to try photostitching

stitched

I used a program in Ubuntu called Huggins, really cool once you learn how to use it

but Microsoft ICE works almost instantly and it's free :mrgreen:

I want to do a huge panoramic view from Mt St Benedict one ah dese days

like http://www.70-billion-pixels-budapest.com/index_en.html
a lot smaller doh :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 6th, 2011, 2:40 am

cacasplat3 wrote:Image

Watchu using there meng?

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » March 6th, 2011, 8:20 am

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 6th, 2011, 9:34 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
cacasplat3 wrote:Image

Watchu using there meng?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=361393

it was in the housing for those pics.......

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 6th, 2011, 7:30 pm

great pics as usual!

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 6th, 2011, 10:21 pm

(2) by mglgranville, on Flickr

(3) by mglgranville, on Flickr

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 7th, 2011, 12:27 am

Here are a couple from my trip to Panama:

Also got a question for you guys: my digital camera allows me to have shutter priority, ie set any shutter speed I want and the camera will automatically set the aperture. I was trying to take pics of the rain today, trying to capture the drops mid air, so I was using a very fast shutter speed but the pics were coming out very dark. I know that faster shutter speeds means less light coming in, but my question is, if the less light is a big factor...how to people take nice shots of fast moving objects? Is it that they have cameras with better image sensors? Does my little canon not have a large enough sensor for those types of shots?

Btw, doh ring meh out nah....I'm still learning.

Postby RBphoto » March 7th, 2011, 9:27 am

^^^First off... use a higher iso, or put your iso to auto. Guaranteed perfect exposure. If you want to shoot at lower iso to reduce noise, you can use flash to freeze motion. Do not worry about your shutter speed being 1/200 seconds. The flash exposure lasts in the range of 1/1000 of a second, freezing your subject.

You real exploring the world man!!!

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 7th, 2011, 9:35 am

IMG_0985 by mglgranville, on Flickr

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 7th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2011, 12:02 am

crossdrilled wrote:^^^First off... use a higher iso, or put your iso to auto. Guaranteed perfect exposure. If you want to shoot at lower iso to reduce noise, you can use flash to freeze motion. Do not worry about your shutter speed being 1/200 seconds. The flash exposure lasts in the range of 1/1000 of a second, freezing your subject.

too high an ISO will result in a grainy photo, especially if the camera sensor cannot handle high ISOs

If you cannot use a flash to take the photo, you will need to get a "fast" lens i.e one with a low aperture like f/2.8 or f/1.8 or lower. The lower the number the wider the aperture is and so lets in more light. You can shoot at 1/200 shutter at twilight with a f/1.8 lens without using a flash

Keep in mind that the lower aperture number, the shallower your depth of field will be.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 8th, 2011, 12:21 am

crossdrilled wrote:^^^First off... use a higher iso, or put your iso to auto. Guaranteed perfect exposure. If you want to shoot at lower iso to reduce noise, you can use flash to freeze motion. Do not worry about your shutter speed being 1/200 seconds. The flash exposure lasts in the range of 1/1000 of a second, freezing your subject.

too high an ISO will result in a grainy photo, especially if the camera sensor cannot handle high ISOs

If you cannot use a flash to take the photo, you will need to get a "fast" lens i.e one with a low aperture like f/2.8 or f/1.8 or lower. The lower the number the wider the aperture is and so lets in more light. You can shoot at 1/200 shutter at twilight with a f/1.8 lens without using a flash

Keep in mind that the lower aperture number, the shallower your depth of field will be.

Thanks for all the advice, I will try the higher ISO setting and see if that works. There is no swapping of lens with this camera unfortunately. Wow, this photography thing is very very interesting. (*shaking my head, another thing for me to obsess with, lol) I'll try to hold on a while with the camera I have and resist buying something better, however....I'm very tempted. But I guess i can use the one I have to learn the basics first. Then I'll be unstoppable! :D

Postby SUPAstarr » March 9th, 2011, 10:09 am

Still messing around nature, in my mind i can see the picture, but getting it on cam seems to be eluding me

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » March 11th, 2011, 2:30 pm

i wish you guys would post the camera model , lens , settings etc for all the pics you post ...it would certainly help the noobs like me pick up tricks faster :)

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » March 11th, 2011, 6:40 pm

BlueIce wrote:i wish you guys would post the camera model , lens , settings etc for all the pics you post ...it would certainly help the noobs like me pick up tricks faster :)

^^ What he said!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 11th, 2011, 7:46 pm

hoverauto wrote:
BlueIce wrote:i wish you guys would post the camera model , lens , settings etc for all the pics you post ...it would certainly help the noobs like me pick up tricks faster :)

^^ What he said!

Ok... Camera - Canon t1i
Post processing/ resizing - Adobe Lightroom 2/ Irfanview32

iso 100, 1/160s, 165mm (70-300mm) f5

iso 1000, 1/400s, 300mm (70-300,mm) f6.3

iso 1600, 1/60s, 235mm (70-300mm) f5.6

iso 200, 1/160s, 135mm (28-135mm) f5.6

iso 200, 1/25s, 85mm (28-135mm) f36

iso 100, 1/160s, 150mm (70-300mm) f14

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » March 11th, 2011, 9:35 pm

Thanks alot Mishi. I know it might be additional work but i appreciate the effort!