The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 18th, 2012, 11:24 am

Strauss wrote:Guys please remember that Google also make apps for the iPhone, iPad and Macintosh.
So have some respect. Poking fun is one thing but remember you Apple folks use Google on a daily basis.

If this is aimed at me I'd like to say I honestly wasn't poking fun, jus saying, the whole page almost, when I commented was about problems on various devices.

Idk why Casper went all but hurt over it :/

And I'm serious, men could see a diff between 1080p and 720p on a handheld screen?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 18th, 2012, 11:34 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:And I'm serious, men could see a diff between 1080p and 720p on a handheld screen?

No you can't.

The reason, though, why a 1080p screen looks better than a 720p screen on a phone, is perhaps that the screen itself is brighter, has better contrast, newer, less reflective etc. and nothing to do with the ppi.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 18th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Greypatch wrote:got my update OTA for 4.1.2 this morning

Look how this gone over everyone heads........

Relevant to my interests, this is a US i9300?

Postby pete » October 18th, 2012, 1:03 pm

No, patch has a Google phone. Hence he always gets updates fast.

Postby gastly369 » October 18th, 2012, 1:08 pm

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 18th, 2012, 2:08 pm

What antivirus software do you gentlemen use on your S3?

Postby S_2NR » October 18th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Anti virus? Is that really necessary?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 18th, 2012, 2:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:Anti virus? Is that really necessary?

Malware on android is pretty real.

I use avg, it's free and works. Had one time it kept showing a threat doh even after I got rid of the file but a hard restart and it was back to normal.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 18th, 2012, 2:16 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

I use avg, it's free and works. Had one time it kept showing a threat doh even after I got rid of the file but a hard restart and it was back to normal.

Malware is my biggest concern really.

Postby tr1ad » October 18th, 2012, 2:16 pm

clearly far from your mind, but a very big reality

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 18th, 2012, 2:20 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Malware is my biggest concern really.

http://www.av-test.org/fileadmin/pdf/av ... nglish.pdf

Long story short, advast and dr.web won the detection rates test.

Postby S_2NR » October 18th, 2012, 2:25 pm

*installs avast*

What is the effect of a virus scan on battery life? For the people that using avast,avg etc for some time..

Postby Greypatch » October 18th, 2012, 2:31 pm

ZeroOne & Casper its a Galaxy Nexus

shivanandrs

Postby shivanandrs » October 18th, 2012, 2:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:*installs avast*

What is the effect of a virus scan on battery life? For the people that using avast,avg etc for some time..

Been using it since it came out and couldn't find any change in battery life. Never saw it pop up on the battery usage page so I assume it never uses more than 1% of battery power. Memory usage is low as well, usually around 5 MB.

I used it on my Xperia for months and recently installed it on the Galaxy S3, so far not a complaint on either.

Postby S_2NR » October 18th, 2012, 3:02 pm

Some nice features

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » October 19th, 2012, 8:02 am

4.1.2 out for galaxy nexus

casper

Postby casper » October 19th, 2012, 8:09 am

and a newer build of Jelly Bean too...the UK version...i think i gonna put on the UK Jelly Bean as its a later bbuild than the Poland version

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 19th, 2012, 8:15 am

casper wrote:Dude if u don't like android OS or the devices that run them then kool for u...but it amazes me how u still come on this page every day religiously to point out the bad and beat up over it...if ur preference is apple then u should be in the apple thread talkin bout how kool the iPhone 5 is and how they added an amazing 5th row of icons and a headphone jack at the bottom Lolz

oooh ooooh..............

Dont forget that the headphones are now made for ears :o

casper

Postby casper » October 19th, 2012, 8:45 am

^^^FINALLY!!!!!!

i dont even use those ear buds that i have for my ipad anymore cuz it hurts after long periods.....happened to put a cut digicel sim card i had to see if it woulda work on my b-mobile s3 and it does... i cud be wrong but i think the S3s b-mobile have sellin are all factory unlocked as they are the international version...if not all then probably a certain batch cuz i suprised to see a digi sim workin on mine :? ....dont know why its necessary for a $1500 - $2000 TT increase in price on an already pricey handset just cuz its a factory unlocked iphone...men does go through so much headache when time to update their firmware for a device they paying $4000 + for

achillies

Postby achillies » October 19th, 2012, 1:41 pm

casper wrote:^^^FINALLY!!!!!!

i dont even use those ear buds that i have for my ipad anymore cuz it hurts after long periods.....happened to put a cut digicel sim card i had to see if it woulda work on my b-mobile s3 and it does... i cud be wrong but i think the S3s b-mobile have sellin are all factory unlocked as they are the international version...if not all then probably a certain batch cuz i suprised to see a digi sim workin on mine :? ....dont know why its necessary for a $1500 - $2000 TT increase in price on an already pricey handset just cuz its a factory unlocked iphone...men does go through so much headache when time to update their firmware for a device they paying $4000 + for

People does only go through headache to update their device because they choose too, why wait for a specific ROM released for a particular region, when the only difference in the ROM is sometimes the CSC and the radios, it's usually the same ROM compiled on a sometimes a different date, and sometimes with different languages.

I always used XX or XW based ROMs on my S2 when I was using pure Samsung stock, updating sometimes on a monthly basis once early flashers didn't report any regressions

All of the above ^^^^ was based on Samsung flagship devices, S, S2 and the S3, can't speak for other brands (HTC) though

Postby r3iXmann » October 19th, 2012, 1:50 pm

anybody else using Orbot?

casper

Postby casper » October 19th, 2012, 3:10 pm

achillies wrote:

People does only go through headache to update their device because they choose too, why wait for a specific ROM released for a particular region, when the only difference in the ROM is sometimes the CSC and the radios, it's usually the same ROM compiled on a sometimes a different date, and sometimes with different languages.

I always used XX or XW based ROMs on my S2 when I was using pure Samsung stock, updating sometimes on a monthly basis once early flashers didn't report any regressions

All of the above ^^^^ was based on Samsung flagship devices, S, S2 and the S3, can't speak for other brands (HTC) though

i think u need to read over my post...i wasnt talkin bout android devices

achillies

Postby achillies » October 19th, 2012, 6:23 pm

casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

i think u need to read over my post...i wasn't talkin bout android devices

Ahhh, I now see the "i" before the phone in "iPhone"

My epic bad :oops:

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 19th, 2012, 8:33 pm

^^ not your fault, his wording and punctuation sucks balls in that statement, natural human reaction took over nd you made a mistake most others properly did too.

#justsaying before I get run again.

casper

Postby casper » October 20th, 2012, 2:05 am

^^^check how u gettin on like ah a$$ for a friggin cell phone thread nah boi

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 20th, 2012, 10:26 am

It's true, that is how the human brain works.

I stated a fact not assness.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 20th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Lolllll

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 21st, 2012, 12:15 am

As reximan stated earlier they are unlocked. Bought mine from bmobile and presently using a digiel sim with no issues. 8-)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 21st, 2012, 11:08 am

Google reportedly set to announce 10-inch high-res Samsung Nexus tablet with Android 4.2

Google and Samsung will announce a new 10-inch tablet codenamed "Manta" at its October 29th event, according to The Next Web. If the sites unnamed sources are to be believed the Manta will feature a 10-inch 2560 x 1600 display with an iPad-beating pixel density of around 300ppi. The tablet, which if real will likely be released as the Nexus 10, will reportedly be sold alongside the existing Asus Nexus 7 and new LG Nexus 4 as part of a multi-manufacturer Nexus program. There aren't any further details on the purported Nexus 10; processor and pricing will be key to the tablet's success.

At the same event, Google will announce a slight refresh to its Nexus 7 line, bringing HSPA+ 3G connectivity to the tablet for the first time, as well as the now-confirmed internal storage bump. The Next Web also reports that both the Nexus 4 and Nexus 10 will launch with an updated OS, Android 4.2. It named "content in the center" (a new Play Store Widget), "Tablet Sharing" (multiple user accounts on one device), and panoramic photo capture as headline features for the new OS. It's not clear if Google will release 4.2 under a new codename or if it will still be named Jelly Bean. Although, as with any rumor, these details should be taken with a pinch of salt, The Next Web seems pretty certain that its sources are accurate.

The Verge

blacklight

Postby blacklight » October 21st, 2012, 1:54 pm

If anyone interested in a Asus Transformer Infinity link me....

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=467154