Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Re: Underwater welders missing in the Gulf of Paria??

Postby Redman » March 14th, 2022, 2:17 pm

pugboy wrote:this whole incident is a perfect snapshot of how things in the country operate in general all around

The press has him claiming an explosion a week before the incident.

If this is true- then its an indictment on every worker there.

How is it that the union is quiet on that-their members witnessing the near misses/incidents and allowing things to continue?

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2022, 2:30 pm

using the wrong equipment(scuba) may not have been associated with accident root cause

but i don’t think any high risk industry allows uncertified ppl to work regardless of how many years exp they have

you cant hire a heavy truck driver who only has light car license but 12 years exp unofficially driving trucks

paria should have checked that lmcs employees properly certified just like how drivers going into any plant in pt lisas have to show certain certifications

this is simply one example

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 15th, 2022, 12:58 am

Postby matr1x » March 15th, 2022, 4:16 am

Redman wrote:
pugboy wrote:this whole incident is a perfect snapshot of how things in the country operate in general all around

How is it that the union is quiet on that-their members witnessing the near misses/incidents and allowing things to continue?

Don't play dotish this early in the morning.

You very well man job is get threaten if they talk about the misdeeds going on

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2022, 6:45 am

matr1x wrote:
Redman wrote:

Don't play dotish this early in the morning.

You very well man job is get threaten if they talk about the misdeeds going on

Well those 4 kept their jobs for life.
Imagine of some one reported that explosion, and work stopped pending investigation.
Or God forbid the protocols were actually followed because somebody was sanctioned.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2022, 6:55 am

another company beginning with O famous for doing that threatening nonsense

they also like to quote jobs based on the full rates but using non-commercial resources to get a bigger profit spread.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 7:22 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/police- ... b5f9bba667
guardian wrote:Police team submits interim report on divers’ tragedy

by
8 hours ago
Mon Mar 14 2022

RADHICA DE SILVA

radhica.sookraj@guardian.co.tt

Police investigators have submitted an interim report on the February 25 diving tragedy which left four LMCS divers dead and the country reeling with horror and shock.

In an interview yesterday, T&T Police Service Public Affairs Officer Sheridon Hill told Guardian Media that immediately after the tragedy, they appointed a team of investigators headed by Insp Morales from the Southern Division to probe the accident.

“I can confirm that an interim report has been submitted through the Senior Supt in charge of Southern Division. However, the investigations are ongoing. The police are pursuing the matter,” Hill assured.

He noted that anytime there is sudden and unexpected death, the police get involved.

“We have to ensure there is no foul play. Moreso, if there is an incident that is of national significance like this matter, we pay attention to it,” he added.

Asked whether any information has been submitted to the TTPS by the Occupational Safety and Health Agency (OSHA), Hill said, “All I can say is that statements were recorded and an interim file was submitted.”

He noted: “As with all investigations, we expect that this investigation will be done not just speedily but in an efficient manner. We take all relevant factors into account. The police will look at all evidential issues and submit our report as promptly as they can in the circumstances.”

The OSHA says it too is conducting a probe and will submit evidence as needed to the police.

The scene of the accident has been shut down after OSHA issued prohibition notices last Friday. On Sunday, Movement for Social Justice leader David Abdulah called on the OSHA to make its report public.

The divers, Fyzal Kurban, Rishi Nagassar, Yusuf Henry and Kazim Ali Jr, died inside the pipeline and their bodies were found days later. They were doing underwater maintenance works with another diver, Christopher Boodram, inside a 30-inch diameter pipeline named the No. 36 sealine at Berth No 6 when there was a sudden rush of water inside a hyperbaric chamber which caused them to be sucked into the line.

Boodram, the lone survivor, told the Express that the job they were assigned to do entailed taking off a blank (a metal plate), taking out the first plug and then a second plug and putting down half a pipe on it, before joining a new piece of riser onto the old riser and bolt it down. He said they had just removed two plugs when Ali Jr entered the chamber and the whole room filled up with water and started to flood in an instant. They were then sucked into a vortex that hurtled him down the pipe.

The cause of the suction is still a matter of investigation.

Boodram believes that Paria Fuel should be held accountable for refusing to send divers to rescue his friends after he begged them to do so.

Commercial diving instructor Dr Glenn Cheddie has raised questions about why the divers were not equipped with proper commercial diving gear, including divers’ helmets which would provide a surface air supply. He also said LMCS should not send scuba divers to do the job of a commercial diver. He said the T&T Bureau of Standards has to account for why the development of diving standards was scrapped four years ago but the TTBS says this process is ongoing.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 7:25 am

dem take statements... it have permits and forms that need to not get doctored or replaced... f*

Postby gastly369 » March 15th, 2022, 7:31 am

sMASH wrote:dem take statements... it have permits and forms that need to not get doctored or replaced... f*
That done fix sir....

Postby 16 cycles » March 15th, 2022, 8:31 am

is there a piping diagram / alignment sheets for the pipeline?

Postby redmanjp » March 16th, 2022, 9:55 am

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/moonilal-now-a-paria-oil-rig-has-fallen-down/

Moonilal: Now a Paria oil rig has fallen down

By Guardian Media Newsroom -March 14, 2022

Gail Alexander

The Occupational Safety and Health Authority’s (OSHA) report into the recent tragedy at Paria Trading Company Limited must be made public and Heritage Petroleum must explain how a 2,000-pound oil rig fell down last week.

UNC MP Dr Roodal Moonilal made this call at last night’s UNC forum meeting. He said after the incident at Paria occurred February 24, OSHA made a statement on March 11 about it.

“This is untenable. We also demand to know the names of the OSHA officials who are conducting this investigation. Did OSHA seek to recruit any local or international experts to assist with this investigation? If not, why not?”

Moonilal added, “Information coming to us suggest another diabolical accident in the oil sector occurred. This one they’re attempting to cover up…We are told that just a few days ago, last Friday, at Forest Reserve in south Trinidad on the compound of Heritage Petroleum Company Limited an entire rig fall down!! Again a contractor is involved under the supervision of a state company.”

Displaying pictures, Moonilal added, “A Cooper 250 Workover Rig just fall down. This weighs around 2,000 pounds, it fell down from a height of over 60 feet. Had there been workers on a platform there, usually there are 4-5 workers, they’d all be dead. We call on Heritage’s CEO Arlene Chow, to state whether this incident took place?”

Moonilal also took aim at Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s boast that he was the ‘high public official’ who intervened influencing former Police Service Commission chairman Bliss Seepersad to withdraw the merit list for Police Commissioner from the President “and in so doing violate the constitution.”

Moonilal added, “Rowley and Bliss Seepersad should be investigated for alleged misbehaviour in public office and the President, having knowledge of this interference and doing nothing – should resign.”

“Worse, is that Seepersad acted on advice or instructions from Rowley, without the agreement of the rest of the PolSC members. She became a one-woman agent of the PNM doing Rowley’s bidding.”

“Rowley took matters into his own hands and committed the ultimate act of misbehaviour in public office – interfering directly in a process so important that it is detailed in the highest law of the land. His behaviour is illegal and unacceptable, as is the acquiesce of the President.”

He said Rowley couldn’t say he passed on reports to the PolSC and that was his duty.

“If you have information relating to allegations of criminal conduct you pass that on to the police not the PolSC. The PoLSC is not the police…He undermined the work of an independent constitutional authority and in so doing can be accused of misbehaviour in public office.”

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2022, 1:54 pm

Christopher Boodram - DAMN! I now understand why someone said he had Covid.

There is no way Paria / LMCS would have wanted that information to get out.

Postby The_Honourable » March 17th, 2022, 12:19 pm

For those interested:

Help Support Christopher Boodram: Lone Diving Tragedy Survivor

This campaign is created following the tragic diving incident that occured on Friday 25th February 2022 involving five Trinidadian divers. The purpose is to raise funds for Christopher Boodram, the sole survivor of that diving horror to aid with all expenses which includes medical in order to heal from psychological & emotional trauma, family expenses since he is unable to work for the foreseeable future and legal expenses.

https://fundmetnt.com/campaign/help-sup ... y-survivor

Postby teems1 » March 17th, 2022, 3:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:For those interested:

This campaign is created following the tragic diving incident that occured on Friday 25th February 2022 involving five Trinidadian divers. The purpose is to raise funds for Christopher Boodram, the sole survivor of that diving horror to aid with all expenses which includes medical in order to heal from psychological & emotional trauma, family expenses since he is unable to work for the foreseeable future and legal expenses.

Aren't underwater welders usually paid very well?

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2022, 4:07 pm

qualified commercial certified ones yes

not sure about ones using a recreational certification to do commercial work

teems1 wrote:

Postby Redman » March 17th, 2022, 4:40 pm

Eugene Tiah.....Ra Ra Ra Ra

RLM, Anand and Prakash.....crickets.

This place sweet.

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2022, 5:16 pm

Redman wrote:Eugene Tiah.....Ra Ra Ra Ra

This place sweet.

As usual, what is as obvious as the nose on your face needs to be pointed out to you.
RLM, Anand and Prakash are LAWYERS, representing CLIENTS
Tiah, was an ill tempered LFD RFD PNM appointee on an investigation committee.
There is a Ra Ra Ra RA about Armour already. Feel better? :roll:

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2022, 5:28 pm

re: amor.
i asked previously, if we need to bring out the pitch forks. i just recognize the man face. he accepting a post from pnm... and i doubt he is a dummy like vassant. so, he must be corrupt

Postby Redman » March 17th, 2022, 5:33 pm

This place sweet.

As usual, what is as obvious as the nose on your face needs to be pointed out to you.

Yup
Much better have 3 men who have a demonstrated track record of putting country behind their secular interest.

Sterling characters all.

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Redman wrote:

This place sweet.

Yup
Much better have 3 men who have a demonstrated track record of putting country behind their secular interest.

Sterling characters all.

:shock: :shock:
Buh RLM win de case for ollour God Black Massa JUHN Scarfy pardner!
Who appoint him legal counsel to the Paria CoE?
Why the saltiness?

Postby Redman » March 17th, 2022, 5:52 pm

Redman wrote:

This place sweet.

Yup

Sterling characters all.

Why the saltiness?

4 fkin men died breddo...
More people are going to be following them unless we get this right.

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2022, 6:21 pm

Redman wrote:

This place sweet.

Yup

Sterling characters all.

Why the saltiness?

4 fkin men died breddo...
More people are going to be following them unless we get this right.

Yet you beating up about a politically exposed appointment? :roll:
Ask yourself, minus the hissy fit, pantyman rantings of JUHN Scarfy that the GORTT "owns all the energy in T&T" :roll: , why another appointee couldn't have been nominated. There are several HSE experts with dozens of years experience in the industry, not seemingly tainted by political ties. Tiah so good, or there is such a dearth of HSE professionals, that the whole 45 day committee driven enquiry suddenly get scrapped for a 6 month CoE because of, according to you "Ra Ra Ra RA?"

Postby Redman » March 17th, 2022, 6:59 pm

You think this is about Tiah?
Steups.

IMHO RLM s appointment is to keep a gortt thumb on this thing.

The other 2 have long deep history with the man.
He keeping them in check arredy.

I am betting on a half arsed resolution with some money for the family's.
Not one fakin thing will change at the operational level.

If you feel the divers or us as a people going to get justice..you ain't paying attention.

abbow

Postby abbow » March 17th, 2022, 7:18 pm

the amount of people who have died in the O & G industry since its infancy to now is astounding. Alot gets swept under the carpet...My grandfather was killed by a exploding compressor in 1970....my uncle was in a gas explosion ~2008 where he got severe burns and a colleague of his lost his life. HSE & OSH = Joke....

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2022, 7:33 pm

depends on the company

some companies would be more stringent on their contracted companies
and do proper checks to make sure no slackness

the foreign companies would not allow a diving contractor to use scuba as a rule.

abbow wrote:the amount of people who have died in the O & G industry since its infancy to now is astounding. Alot gets swept under the carpet...My grandfather was killed by a exploding compressor in 1970....my uncle was in a gas explosion ~2008 where he got severe burns and a colleague of his lost his life. HSE & OSH = Joke....

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » March 18th, 2022, 1:22 pm

pugboy wrote:qualified commercial certified ones yes

not sure about ones using a recreational certification to do commercial work

teems1 wrote:

it confirmed that these divers were or were not trained as commercial diver?

see social media is taking it as fact that they were not, but not seeing any confirm on this.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2022, 2:13 pm

the chap who was interviewed in papers last week said he had a noncommercial certification amd 12yrs exp

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2022, 2:24 pm

Redman wrote:You think this is about Tiah?
Steups.

If you feel the divers or us as a people going to get justice..you ain't paying attention.

So the LFD RFD PNM moves as they always do, and because people died, you're suddenly upset, and seeing opaqueness in their move? :rofl: :rofl:
Also "the other 2" were HIRED by the victim's families, NOT appointed. I'm not sure you're grasping the concept of freedom of choice in legal representation.

Postby Redman » March 18th, 2022, 2:27 pm

Steups.

So the LFD RFD PNM moves as they always do, and because people died, you're suddenly upset, and seeing opaqueness in their move? :rofl: :rofl:
Also "the other 2" were HIRED by the victim's families, NOT appointed. I'm not sure you're grasping the concept of freedom of choice in legal representation.

Which explains the appointment dumbass.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2022, 2:57 pm

Redman wrote:
Steups.

Which explains the appointment dumbass.

Tunts, the LFD RFD PNM always moves to rig a process in their favour, just like your Black Massa JUHN Scarfy did with the CoP Merit List. Don't cry crocodile/Deyalsingh tears here because you want to look empathetic, or suddenly get feelings. Your record of defending LFD RFD PNM arseness, which in case you dotishly didn't know, has killed hundreds of people, isn't magically wiped away by one fake outrage post.