Re: Anil Roberts Caught on Tape

Postby PariaMan » May 30th, 2014, 5:30 am

What a great party that i voted fpr in the last election

ANIL BLOCKS COP
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 30, 2014 at 12:02 AM ECT
Story Updated: May 30, 2014 at 12:02 AM ECT
Sport Minister Anil Roberts has effectively blocked the Congress of the People (COP) from investigating a “ganja video” showing a man resembling a Government minister rolling a joint.
The minister opted not to speak on the issue when he appeared before COP officials at the COP’s Flagship House headquarters in St Clair, making it clear the matter was in the hands of his attorneys.
TV6 News last Wednesday aired a video clip which showed an individual resembling a Government minister and sounding like him unwrapping a cigarette, placing a quantity of marijuana inside the cigarette skin, and then rolling it back together, all in the presence of a group of people,
mainly comprising women, in what looked like a hotel room with the number 201.
Roberts has not confirmed or denied he is the man in the video.
He has instead attacked Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, saying no voodoo and Opposition politics will stop him from perfor­ming his duties.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, at the United National Congress’s (UNC) fourth anniversary celebrations at Mid Centre Mall in Chaguanas last Saturday, said the video was in the public domain a year ago and conveniently reappeared on the news headlines on the eve of the Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM) and Opposition march against the Government last week.
However, she assured all alle­gations of wrongdoing will be looked into.
The COP, of which Roberts is a member, appointed a commit­tee comprising COP chairman Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan, Clyde Weatherhead, Ann Mac Philip and Dr Anirudh Mahabir to investigate the matter.
Roberts met with the committee yesterday at the COP’s flagship house but opted to exercise his right to silence.
Questioned following the meeting, Roberts said he met with his party members to plan election strategy.
“Meeting with my party to determine the way forward to election 2015 to ensure that Keith Row­ley never becomes prime min-
is­ter,” he said.
Asked if he was still a COP member, he responded, “Of course!” before jumping into his vehicle and being driven away.
Seepersad-Bachan however told the media Roberts indicated he was not willing to speak. She expressed disappointment at his move, saying the matter has been too long in the public domain.
“It was a meeting where we wanted certain clarifications...but he has indicated to us that he is not willing to comment, that the matter is in the hands of his lawyers and he will be adding no further comment, so we really did not get any further information,” she said.
“May I also say that I am not very satisfied with that position either that we have not been able to resolve this matter,” she added.
Meanwhile, Mahabir said no one has come out and actually made an allegation saying it was Roberts in the video and “one wonders what is he to answer”.
However, he noted the matter has gripped public attention.
“I think at the end of the day, as public figures, we have to be transparent and accountable, and we have an obligation to put these matters to a rest; this is going on too long in the public domain in my view,” said Seepersad-Bachan.
COP political leader Prakash Ramadhar, in a brief interview with the Express yesterday, said he did not attend the meeting but received a preliminary report from committee members.
Ramadhar said he cannot divulge any details but stressed the COP has to act within the confines of the party’s constitution, and the executive will soon meet to look at how it will proceed on the way forward.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 6:44 am

and you will vote for them next year too ent^

Postby Team Loco » May 30th, 2014, 6:59 am

I will. Anything else but pnm. Although pnm has good people its the perception that goes along with them when they are in power.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » May 30th, 2014, 7:02 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:and you will vote for them next year too ent^

You playing you dont know people... Tribal Politics trumps integrity anyday on that side of the political divide.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 7:03 am

Team Loco wrote:I will. Anything else but pnm. Although pnm has good people its the perception that goes along with them when they are in power.

honestly fork voting next year yes....I wasted my in 2010 cuz my MP is ah moda cornt..

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2014, 7:45 am

"showing a man resembling a Government minister rolling a joint."

Can't believe that game still being played. He handled this about as poorly as anyone could.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 30th, 2014, 7:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:and you will vote for them next year too ent^

No way Palos I changing who I voting for like clothes. I voted tham in the last time and I voting them out this time.

I believe it is the leader that sets the tone . I cannot forever hold the past sins of the PNM, and there are many, against them.

I did the same when I voted in Kamala. I disliked Panday towards the end but I could not hold that against Kamala.

I voted in Manning in 2007 because I thought he was on the right track and voted him out in 2010 when I felt he strayed from that track. Even if he had not gotten sick I will have never voted for him again

In 2015 I will make another assessment. .

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 30th, 2014, 8:03 am

kaylex wrote:You playing you dont know people... Tribal Politics trumps integrity anyday on that side of the political divide.

that statement realer than a 2 dollar bill.....
once people get sweeten up with lil road pave and last minute they decide to hand out some half built hdc house they going straight back like chicken that see a handful of corn.... sad..

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 30th, 2014, 8:05 am

Team Loco wrote:I will. Anything else but pnm. Although pnm has good people its the perception that goes along with them when they are in power.

Therfore you are saying that you will forever vote for the other party . Thus you are giving them a free ride in that they know that whatever they do dos not matter. How ridiculous they behave you will always support them.

That my friend is the recipe for the descent in to a failed state.

As for me I will always vote out a party who i consider bad. Be it UNC ,NAR, COP, PNM, PP

The expert contend that people vote out bad governments rather than vote in good ones since we really actually never know 100 % what we are going to get.

This is why I will support where we vote for an executive Presidency. Where One man can be held responsible and not a whole party for chit.

For example OBAMA,s presidency is nothing like Clintons though both are democrats.
Last edited by PariaMan on May 30th, 2014, 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 30th, 2014, 8:10 am

Keyser Soze wrote:
kaylex wrote:You playing you dont know people... Tribal Politics trumps integrity anyday on that side of the political divide.

that statement realer than a 2 dollar bill.....
once people get sweeten up with lil road pave and last minute they decide to hand out some half built hdc house they going straight back like chicken that see a handful of corn.... sad..[/quote

Not totally tru my family never votes for the same party every election.

Also I honestly do believe that people will vote against the PNM if they are pushed. Look at the bad licks in 1986 when they won only 3 seats.

However die-hard UNCites do not matter what always guarantees that party 16 seats. History shows that clearly.

Not saying there is not tribal PNMites but the Triobal UNCites far exceed them in their level of sycophancy and their numbers

Postby Slartibartfast » May 30th, 2014, 12:21 pm

I say fcuk voting this next elections. I going in there with a pen and drawing my own box to put the "X" in. And next to the box I'm going to write "None of the Above" just like they starting to do it in India.

It's the same friends and family playing musical seats for the past 20 years. I fedup voting out the worse of two evils to have the next prime minister set the bar lower for the following elections. This time around I not voting in anyone I don't believe in. I realise not voting at all will only result in no change and I don't want my voting against someone to be confused with voting for the other person.

So I will use my right to vote to let them know I don't want any of them running my country.

Sadly, my vote by itself will just look like a crazy person thing if nobody else do it and when PNM come back in power things will go back to exactly the way it was. C'est la vie.

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2014, 12:59 pm

they will never know. all that means is that you've cast a bad ballot and they will mark it as spoilt. then throw it away. best you stay home election day.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 30th, 2014, 1:05 pm

Once we divided we will always be conquered by our politicians. Divide and conquer is the name of the game by corrupt means.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 30th, 2014, 1:54 pm

I sure once enough people do it, it will at least make news. It better than wearing a red shirt for a day IMO.

Postby j.o.e » May 30th, 2014, 1:59 pm

All that to say you are a sheep and a UNC/PP defender? lol

just say you will ALWAYS vote UNC (in whatever format) and done

Postby Morpheus » May 30th, 2014, 2:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:

All that to say you are a sheep and a UNC/PP defender? lol

just say you will ALWAYS vote UNC (in whatever format) and done

On par with "PNM till ah dedd!"

bignog

Postby bignog » May 30th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Either way nuttin will come of it .......by law as long as no one says in a court room he or she was in the room an saw anil Roberts personally roll a weed/ cocaine / meth /cigarette no charges will be discharged to him ........in other words all who was in the room already get a slice of pie to hull dey count ....... Big man ting

bignog

Postby bignog » May 30th, 2014, 2:46 pm

And for the voters who sayin this an that about party "..........scientist prove that birds of a feather flock together ........put that in yuh pipe an smoke it

Postby Morpheus » May 30th, 2014, 2:49 pm

Bignog the guy cannot be charged with anything. The issue is that he is a government minister and he is recorded in possession of an illegal substance (allegedly).

All kaka whole has to say is it was a long time ago and it was a mistake. That he regrets doing it and has not done it again since. Apologize to the nation especially athletes and youngsters.

End of story....

But you see those arrogant, childish, wrong and strong, deflection laced responses........that is what pissing off a lot of people.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 3:07 pm

all Anil had to say he was rolling that joint when he was a member of the PNM...talk done.

Postby Morpheus » May 30th, 2014, 3:43 pm

^^Even that coulda work!! :grin: :grin:
Last edited by Morpheus on May 31st, 2014, 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bignog

Postby bignog » May 30th, 2014, 4:25 pm

No in the court of law ......admittance is guilty as charged ......jus like how jack step down from FIFA .....he never say he was in scam ( although we all know ) ....he say to the people ask yuh mother .......so what I'm saying is that if one accuses he must prove ! That's the law of the land ........so he knows no one will stand in a court room an say yes I was dey ........so anil eh have to admit to nuttin .......hope this helps .....while we bicker on a forum .....anil collecting his fat pay check and traveling to Brazil an eating the best an brushing the best with our tax money ........big man ting

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 4:46 pm

your chest burns you^^ clearly...

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2014, 5:25 pm

That contribution reeks of a 2nd account though. #notbigmanting

bignog

Postby bignog » May 30th, 2014, 6:33 pm

#sigh!.........hymcwii

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2014, 6:41 pm

Rofl.

Nerve damage detected.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 7:28 pm

shogun wrote:Rofl.

Nerve damage detected.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » May 30th, 2014, 7:36 pm

Who jus heard d new audio clipping sounding like a current gov't minister on tv6?

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2014, 7:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shogun wrote:Rofl.

Nerve damage detected.

nah, I good....