hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2013, 10:03 pm

desifemlove wrote:what UNC/Kamla do or think is dey own business.

u iz ah kinda skidmark or what?

political gum flappage iz expected, & @ times considered entertainment. & the thoughts of politicians only make sense to them, serving strictly to come up with schemes to achieve power/authority. but when these politicians start to do crap that affects the entire population or even only a section of the population w/o proper research and planning, or with no concern for how it affects them, it leaves the realm of being just "dey own business" & immediately becomes a everybody's business. this is the cornerstone of the purpose of democracy.

what you need to grasp is that there is a right way & a wrong way to do almost everything under the sun. & these jackasses seem to prefer to do things the wrong way, & try to convince whoever dumb enough to believe their BS. & when that fails, they resort to strong-arm tactics, smoke & mirrors & anything else they could think of to distract from the crap they did.

Postby desifemlove » November 15th, 2013, 10:39 am

er... well fine, all all de iguana, see if i care lol..

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 17th, 2013, 9:40 am

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-11-17 ... t-tomorrow

Published:
Sunday, November 17, 2013
The first hearing for the judicial review that hunters brought challenging the Government’s two-year ban on hunting on state lands imposed by the Minister of the Environment and Water Resources Ganga Singh is set for the High Court tomorrow. The ban on hunting commenced on October 1, which Singh said was necessary to protect certain species of wildlife, such as the agouti, lappe, deer and quenk (wild hog) from going extinct.

Fines for hunting were increased significantly: a fine of $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment for hunting of any animal in a game sanctuary. This was up from a fine of $1,000 or three months imprisonment. The fine of $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment for taking a dog into a game sanctuary for the purpose of hunting was increased from $1,000 or three months imprisonment.

A fine of $50,000 for each protected animal hunted without a special game licence from the chief game warden, up from $1,000 or three months imprisonment. A fine of $50,000 or 12 months imprisonment and disqualification from holding a state game licence, according to the discretion of a magistrate, for hunting on state lands contrary to the Conservation of Wildlife Act. A fine of $100,000 or 24 months imprisonment (up from $2,000 or six months imprisonment) for hunting in the closed season without a special game licence.

Singh said once the moratorium was put in place, a baseline study would be done in consultation with the University of the West Indies to determine how many animals were in the country. Hunters staged several meetings throughout the country to protest the action and gathered outside the Forestry Division requesting that they receive hunting licences to no avail, which eventually led to them taking legal action. Attorney representing the hunters are Margaret Clark and Lemuel Murphy.

Postby 88sins » November 17th, 2013, 10:07 am

I was waitin to hear this.
Chances are this course of legal action could take a while, maybe even long enough to defeat its purpose (if these wannabe despots think they can pull it off w/o being called out).
In any regard, if this works out in hunters favor politicians will now realize the public can & will attack their ill-conceived actions & put a stop to them.

It seems these idiots need to be reminded of who allows them to be where, & that they didn't just get where they are because they felt like it.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 18th, 2013, 7:20 am

i see the sale of the imported wild meat has begun!

there is a grocery in the east selling lappe from Guyana

GRIM

Postby GRIM » November 18th, 2013, 7:57 am

*KRONIK* wrote:i see the sale of the imported wild meat has begun!

But WTA is this... You should report it and find out if they can really sell wildmeat.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 18th, 2013, 8:05 am

Was waiting for this, care to share the name of the grocery? :D

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 18th, 2013, 8:18 am

:drinking:

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2013, 8:55 am

ah could only shake meh head & wonder d price dem fuggers go sell dat for, & if it have parasites or not

call name hoss, doh fraid. if dey legally allowed they can't get in trouble, but if dey bendin d law, well yuh dun kno

Postby *KRONIK* » November 18th, 2013, 9:24 am

ah could only shake meh head & wonder d price dem fuggers go sell dat for, & if it have parasites or not

call name hoss, doh fraid. if dey legally allowed they can't get in trouble, but if dey bendin d law, well yuh dun kno

i will pass by today and see if it still there...
i'll take a pic accordingly

Postby desifemlove » November 18th, 2013, 11:47 am

Sabot wrote:http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-11-17/hunters-get-day-court-tomorrow

Published:
Sunday, November 17, 2013
The first hearing for the judicial review that hunters brought challenging the Government’s two-year ban on hunting on state lands imposed by the Minister of the Environment and Water Resources Ganga Singh is set for the High Court tomorrow. The ban on hunting commenced on October 1, which Singh said was necessary to protect certain species of wildlife, such as the agouti, lappe, deer and quenk (wild hog) from going extinct.

Fines for hunting were increased significantly: a fine of $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment for hunting of any animal in a game sanctuary. This was up from a fine of $1,000 or three months imprisonment. The fine of $100,000 or 12 months imprisonment for taking a dog into a game sanctuary for the purpose of hunting was increased from $1,000 or three months imprisonment.

A fine of $50,000 for each protected animal hunted without a special game licence from the chief game warden, up from $1,000 or three months imprisonment. A fine of $50,000 or 12 months imprisonment and disqualification from holding a state game licence, according to the discretion of a magistrate, for hunting on state lands contrary to the Conservation of Wildlife Act. A fine of $100,000 or 24 months imprisonment (up from $2,000 or six months imprisonment) for hunting in the closed season without a special game licence.

Singh said once the moratorium was put in place, a baseline study would be done in consultation with the University of the West Indies to determine how many animals were in the country. Hunters staged several meetings throughout the country to protest the action and gathered outside the Forestry Division requesting that they receive hunting licences to no avail, which eventually led to them taking legal action. Attorney representing the hunters are Margaret Clark and Lemuel Murphy.

bar receiving more vexation lol... what is the hunters' problem?

dey ent realise that management needs to happen, for their own livelihood at the least to continue? lol.. MAYBE 2 years is excessive, but then when has there been a hunting ban before? I'd bet lappe and agouti populations are in critical states anyhow, and need to recover.

I tink UNC/Kamla and they are on the mark here, it's common conservation sense. If these lived in Alaska and wanted to hunt moose, you tink they'll get far in complaining to the Governor there? lol..

Postby Gem_in_i » November 18th, 2013, 12:18 pm

I don't think it was a UNC/Kamla decision. I think it was more of a Ganga Singh decision.
Anyway, he coming back in country soon. He doh have the hunters to study.

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2013, 12:59 pm

desifemlove wrote:
bar receiving more vexation lol... what is the hunters' problem?

dey ent realise that management needs to happen, for their own livelihood at the least to continue? lol.. MAYBE 2 years is excessive, but then when has there been a hunting ban before? I'd bet lappe and agouti populations are in critical states anyhow, and need to recover.

I tink UNC/Kamla and they are on the mark here, it's common conservation sense. If these lived in Alaska and wanted to hunt moose, you tink they'll get far in complaining to the Governor there? lol..

sometimes is the simple things that does be real hard fuh people to grasp.

Postby desifemlove » November 18th, 2013, 2:35 pm

All I saying is I support the ban.

it is standard game conservation measures.

yes, the hunters will lose out, but then what is the alternative? import everything from guyana, meaning higher prices? probably what they can do is have a christmas season. open hunting from June to November, and nothing else out of that. or allow small amounts from Guyana or Venezuela or Suriname or wherever for people wanting it out of hunting season.

Seems allyuh saying should be open season 12 months around, but it doh go so.

Postby desifemlove » November 18th, 2013, 2:36 pm

All I saying is I support the ban.

yes, the hunters will lose out, but then what is the alternative? import everything from guyana, meaning higher prices? probably what they can do is have a christmas season. open hunting from June to November, and nothing else out of that. or allow small amounts from Guyana or Venezuela or Suriname or wherever for people wanting it out of hunting season.

Postby 16 cycles » November 18th, 2013, 2:37 pm

prior to ban, how was the industry regulated? was a quota system implemented?

how do hunters regulate themselves?

if it covered earlier, point me to page pls - i may have missed it...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 18th, 2013, 3:09 pm

desifemlove wrote:All I saying is I support the ban.

You still refuse to read the thread...Also your recommendations are rediculous...but ok we get you...:?
Last edited by Sabot on November 18th, 2013, 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 18th, 2013, 3:22 pm

16 cycles wrote:prior to ban, how was the industry regulated? was a quota system implemented?

I sense your sarcasm even though it isnt really required here. Seems you have not been following the thread yourself, let me enlighten you.....hunters have been clamoring for regulation and bag limits et al. This and other measures were voiced in many ways during the public consultations for the draft wildlife policy. The ban is not a problem for hunter rather it was the way it was done i.e without consultation, without proper data and without a proper enforcement mechanism among other things. This being said....What have you done for wildlife?

Postby Gem_in_i » November 19th, 2013, 6:55 am

So anyone dropped in the application for bird permit yet? I spoke to a GW and all he could do was shake his head and say carriage before the horse.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 19th, 2013, 7:13 am

Gem_in_i wrote:So anyone dropped in the application for bird permit yet? I spoke to a GW and all he could do was shake his head and say carriage before the horse.

i did...

i did it in the forestry office in Guaico, Sangre Grande
2 minute procedure

Basic info required, filled in a duplicate:
Name
Address
ID card #
Contact
type of bird
type of cage/size
how you got the bird
use of bird
etc

sign/ get it stamped/ whap!, daiz it!
2 mins and you outta dey
take home the original, they keep the B&W copy!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 19th, 2013, 7:50 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-11- ... -next-year

Hunters will have to wait until next February to know if they can pursue their legal challenge against Government’s two-year ban on hunting on State lands. Lawyers representing the group and Minister of the Environment and Water Resources Ganga Singh met for a hearing of the law suit before Justice Joan Charles in the Port-of-Spain High Court yesterday.

The group, Confederation of Hunters Associations for Conservation of T&T, claims to consist of almost 12,000 hunters and is seeking leave to pursue its judicial review application over Singh’s decision to impose the ban and to increase fines for its breach. It is claiming the decision was irrational and unlawful as hunters had a legitimate expectation that they would be allowed to hunt during a specified hunting season each year.

The group, which is being led by Buddie Gordon Miller, is also claiming it was not properly consulted before Cabinet made its decision on the issue. During yesterday’s hearing Russell Martineau, SC, who is heading the State’s team of lawyers, submitted that the court did not have the jurisdiction to hear the case as it dealt with Government’s wildlife conservation policy. “The court ought not to intervene as it its a public policy decision. Government is entitled to decide on policy in various areas of governance,” Martineau said.

He said the group could not have a legitimate expectation that Parliament would not change laws related to hunting. “They can’t expect the law to remain there forever,” Martineau said. He also submitted that the hunters did not have a statutory right to consultation but noted that Singh met with them once, before announcing the ban on October 1.

The group’s lawyers did not respond to Martineau’s submissions yesterday, instead suggesting the written submissions be filed by both parties before Justice Charles gives her decision on February 10. In announcing the moratorium, at a post-Cabinet new conference Singh said it was necessary to protect certain species of wildlife, including agouti, lappe, deer and quenk (wild hog), from extinction. The hunting season is traditionally opened from October 1 and lasts to the end of February the following year.

As part of the initiative, the penalty for hunting in a game sanctuary was raised from a $1,000 fine or three months’ imprisonment to a $100,000 fine or 12 months’ imprisonment. The fine for hunting a protected animal without a special game licence from the Chief Game Warden has been raised from $1,000 or three months’ imprisonment to $50,000 for “each animal”.

Shortly after the announcement, the hunters held several public meetings throughout the country and staged a protest outside the Forestry Division requesting that they receive hunting licences. The group is being represented by Lemuel Murphy and Nirad Ramrekersingh.

Postby Gem_in_i » November 19th, 2013, 2:27 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:So anyone dropped in the application for bird permit yet? I spoke to a GW and all he could do was shake his head and say carriage before the horse.

i did...

i did it in the forestry office in Guaico, Sangre Grande
2 minute procedure

Basic info required, filled in a duplicate:
Name
Address
ID card #
Contact
type of bird
type of cage/size
how you got the bird
use of bird
etc

sign/ get it stamped/ whap!, daiz it!
2 mins and you outta dey
take home the original, they keep the B&W copy!

They do it right away? I dropped mine in at the San Fernando office couple weeks ago and the woman said she have to send it to the Wildlife Section in St. Joseph :shock:

Postby *KRONIK* » November 19th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Well the woman gave me back the coloured form with the stamp on it and she took the black and white form and put in on she desk....
And she say i good to go dey...

Postby Gem_in_i » November 19th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Oh maybe that's their new procedure now because when I dropped mine in they were unsure. I'll check back this week. I may have to re-do application. The form I used wasn't coloured. It was single, black and white sheet.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 19th, 2013, 5:22 pm

Thats probably because they dont kno they ass from dey elbow where this whole ban/permit thing is concerned!

Postby Gem_in_i » November 19th, 2013, 5:34 pm

^yes. They agree to that too.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 21st, 2013, 7:54 am

Farmers can relate and attest to this; armchair activists......not so much..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7aI8aVJ ... ture=share

Postby 16 cycles » November 21st, 2013, 8:00 am

Sabot wrote:
16 cycles wrote:prior to ban, how was the industry regulated? was a quota system implemented?

I sense your sarcasm even though it isnt really required here. Seems you have not been following the thread yourself, let me enlighten you.....hunters have been clamoring for regulation and bag limits et al. This and other measures were voiced in many ways during the public consultations for the draft wildlife policy. The ban is not a problem for hunter rather it was the way it was done i.e without consultation, without proper data and without a proper enforcement mechanism among other things. This being said....What have you done for wildlife?

no sarcasm.....

from your answer, it seems there was talk of regulation but no regulation as yet?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 21st, 2013, 8:33 am

16 cycles wrote:
Sabot wrote:

no sarcasm.....

from your answer, it seems there was talk of regulation but no regulation as yet?

Lots of talk and suggestions made by hunters over the years on ways to improve the sport and have it geared to becoming more sustainable. Things such as varying months for certain species to be hunted based on breeding cycles, bag limits, limit the use of guns for certain periods. Also on the front burner was the lack of enforcement of the game laws and an increase in penalties as a deterrent especially during the closed season when poachers have their way. It was up to the authorities to ratify these suggestions and come up with a review of the existing laws and find ways to enforce them. Instead they used the same incorrect data hunters were showing them the fallacies of to justify a ban that they cannot enforce.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » November 21st, 2013, 6:33 pm

heard dey ban hunting so that you guys wont bounce up on there friends weed fields