2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby 1UZFE » October 2nd, 2012, 12:42 pm

ingalook wrote:Pakaskas lives on with me... I will always be from Pakaskas though my planet is no more :(

respect...

Postby Rooki3 » October 2nd, 2012, 12:51 pm

Damien wrote:Bring back pnm

this real funny comin from u jedd

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 2nd, 2012, 12:58 pm

if those corolla 1nz-fe and tiida hr16de boys damage their motors as a result of using super instead of premium which is for audi and bmw etc...(the 6% group) then they all should sue the PM. You expect the PM to know what grade fuel dem tiida using?

They didn't increase diesel because them injun with the hilux and prado will get orn (hard core party supporters).

Postby rfari » October 2nd, 2012, 1:00 pm

acesinghit wrote:if those corolla 1nz-fe and tiida hr16de boys damage their motors as a result of using super instead of premium which is for audi and bmw etc...(the 6% group) then they all should sue the PM. You expect the PM to know what grade fuel dem tiida using?

They didn't increase diesel because them injun with the hilux and prado will get orn (hard core party supporters).

Diesel men would file an injunction if this happens

Postby toyolink » October 2nd, 2012, 1:01 pm

The increase in fuel price wasn't totally unexpected,it was just a matter of what fuel they picked.
What is unfortunate is the voicing of a justification which tells me the authorities have their facts very wrong.
Only 6% of the vehicle population would be affected------wrong.
Only wealthy with BMW etc impacted ......wrong again.
The x5 (majority diesel),Korean suv's (many diesel),Luxury pick-ups (almost all diesel),Audi (Q class almost all diesel) and the list goes on.
The fact is that some group was due to feel pain right away but what more concerns me is the possibility of poor analysis being done by technical personnel who don't have a clue.
The use of premium fuel in T&T is not strictly governed nor determined by octane tolerances as stated in some manuals.Many owner have to take into consideration the differences in 'purity' and consistence of quality.
There can be no argument eg. the nze121 and nze141 performs much better equipted with toyota iridium s/plugs and running premium which also results in better operating cost experiences.Those of us who are pushed to use super and the low end platinum s/plug just don't get operating efficiences which the vehicles are capable of and thus end up paying higher running costs.
CNG as a broad based alternative fuel comes with big challenges some of which could be huge deal breakers.
Yes,gov't needs to reduce the fuel subsidies bill but this must be achieved by using valid information and creative thinking.......but alas that and GOD'S face we may only see at the end.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 1:01 pm

Kamla troll us. She just bought a turbodiesel rover. She knew d writing was on d wall.

Postby Morpheus » October 2nd, 2012, 1:04 pm

My humble CK4. Rubbing shoulders with Audis and BMWs according to the PM. Therefore I can afford to pay the hike. :roll: Well yes.

I guess they have no clue about high compression engines. VVL, VVT, MIVEC, VTEC unite!! :lol:

IMG00577-20121002-1253.jpg

My bad with the +98 I mentioned earlier. Dunno where I got that :lol:

:| :cry:

Postby tr1ad » October 2nd, 2012, 1:05 pm

we the members of the 6% taking premium to a new level yo!

Grudge

Postby Grudge » October 2nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

So the woman claims that only 6% of drivers will be affected. So they let 6% of the population feel the burden of the reduced subsidy.
So 94% of the population feels no effect (so they think). Does this come across to you guys as good governance?
From the figures the PM have, had they just raised super by $0.14 and say premium by $0.40 lets not even discuss the dirty diesel, that should reduce the subsidy by alot more.

But they know governance.

I doh have a problem with increase eh but even if is only 6%, this little of the population must pay this. And from their logic this will also be the 6% who are taxed heavier. Shaft from both sides.
02.png
02.png (3.62 KiB) Viewed 1699 times
01.png
01.png (3.27 KiB) Viewed 1734 times
Last edited by Grudge on October 2nd, 2012, 1:28 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:we the members of the 6% taking premium to a new level yo!

Lmao according to kamla. Everyone in this thread with the exception of TRAE and nervewrecker drives an audi / BMW :lol:

solidust

Postby solidust » October 2nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

^^^yea bro poor ck :(

Postby tr1ad » October 2nd, 2012, 1:10 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Lmao according to kamla. Everyone in this thread with the exception of TRAE and nervewrecker drives an audi / BMW :lol:

so sorry..... apparently you didn't get the memo

WE are the 6% almera and lancer don't count...

premium thing yo

subaru
audi
bmw
benz
mazda
evo
range

represent!!!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 2nd, 2012, 1:12 pm

That should be the new badge/sticker on cars now........6%er driving on silk

Postby TRAE » October 2nd, 2012, 1:13 pm

duane driving evoooooo

Postby pioneer » October 2nd, 2012, 1:17 pm

I find de forum politicians kinda quiet...wam dem not in de 6%?

Using this woman failedlogic...gas stations should only have 6% premium pumps?

Postby TRAE » October 2nd, 2012, 1:21 pm

i sure diesel getting shaft just now eh

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 2nd, 2012, 1:21 pm

turboconch2 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Can somebody confirm for me the recommended fuel for a HR15DE engine, please?

Super from manual,90/91

What about the MR20DE in the 2.0 L Sylphy?

Grudge

Postby Grudge » October 2nd, 2012, 1:24 pm

"Using this woman failedlogic...gas stations should only have 6% premium pumps?"

^^^ That is correct pioneer........
Fooling the people....
Their figures probably show 50% using CNG

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 1:24 pm

TRAE wrote:i sure diesel getting shaft just now eh

I suspect diesel will get shaft but not as much as premium. I feel it will increase from $1.50 per litre to something like $3.00 per litre. 100% price hike but still nowhere near the real cost of diesel.

Postby tr1ad » October 2nd, 2012, 1:34 pm

pioneer wrote:I find de forum politicians kinda quiet...wam dem not in de 6%?

they not premium enough yo.....

besides they have hilux, navara, ranger etc

Postby RBphoto » October 2nd, 2012, 1:37 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

so sorry..... apparently you didn't get the memo

WE are the 6% almera and lancer don't count...

premium thing yo

subaru
audi
bmw
benz
mazda
evo
range
Tiida
represent!!!

0X

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 1:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Colm Imbert wrote:Kamla makes the most absurd statements. There is no thought process, or research, just incoherence. If her theory is correct, and one in every 16 car owners use premium, then why are there so many premium pumps in our gas stations? Based on her figures, there should only be one premium pump out of every 16 pumps, but in reality, some stations have more premium pumps than super pumps, while in most gas stations there is a 50/50 split. The true figure is much more than 6%

Daran

Postby Daran » October 2nd, 2012, 1:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How this affecting vehicle prices though?

I see men doen selling off vehicles that require premium unleaded cheap.

Does this mean owners of cars that require super unleaded gonna increase prices?

Thanks for the suggestion, just added 10k to the price of by PBT corolla...PM if interested.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 2nd, 2012, 2:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Colm Imbert wrote:Kamla makes the most absurd statements. There is no thought process, or research, just incoherence. If her theory is correct, and one in every 16 car owners use premium, then why are there so many premium pumps in our gas stations? Based on her figures, there should only be one premium pump out of every 16 pumps, but in reality, some stations have more premium pumps than super pumps, while in most gas stations there is a 50/50 split. The true figure is much more than 6%

She was clever with words (maybe unintentionally), but she said 6% of the subsidy, not users.

Anybody with a gas station care to give a more realistic figure of % of cars that need to use premium?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 2nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

Daran wrote:She was clever with words (maybe unintentionally), but she said 6% of the subsidy, not users.

Anybody with a gas station care to give a more realistic figure of % of cars that need to use premium?

TRINIDAD EXPRESS NEWSPAPERS - Kamla:Only 6% will feel gas hike wrote:Persad-Bissessar said she was "advised that only about six per cent of the motoring public will be affected by the lifting of the subsidy on premium gas. But let us be very clear, that is on the high-end vehicles, that will be your Audis and your BMWs. So it is a very small percentage of people who will be affected and they will be the ones who will very well be able to afford to pay the extra increased price. So it will not impact upon the ordinary citizen, the middle-class citizen. It will go at the high-end motor user and we feel it is justified because we must get the revenue to carry out all these projects and that is one area in which the revenue can come in to us".

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kam ... 17181.html

Won't be the first time the newspapers misquote someone right?

So is this price reflecting the complete removal of the fuel subsidy on premium gasoline? If so, not bad.

Postby rollingstock » October 2nd, 2012, 2:08 pm

Morpheus wrote:My humble CK4. Rubbing shoulders with Audis and BMWs according to the PM. Therefore I can afford to pay the hike. :roll: Well yes.

I guess they have no clue about high compression engines. VVL, VVT, MIVEC, VTEC unite!! :lol:

IMG00577-20121002-1253.jpg

My bad with the +98 I mentioned earlier. Dunno where I got that :lol:

:| :cry:

Wha'm no love for the gdi folks :(
Last edited by rollingstock on October 2nd, 2012, 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby toyolink » October 2nd, 2012, 2:09 pm

The new Minister Of Finance clearly didn't demonstrate an ability to exercise critical thinking when it came to this particular adjustment.
A big banker and senior exe. don't have a gut feeling about being led down a flawed justification?
Why doesn't the gov't consider a regulated approach for the sale of diesel by issuing some form of licsence to qualify for subsidised prices with preference given to 'goods',public transport and heavy industrial vehicles and equiptment.This must be based on an application process with 'T' registration not facilitating automatic qualification.
Weed out the luxury liners!

Postby 16 cycles » October 2nd, 2012, 2:21 pm

think PM was pulling that 6% figure out her ....out of thin air....

in the background, technocrats hopefully would have looked at the volume of sales for premium and done the maths to help reduce the gas subsidy.....

the 43% increase in the price basically signals to super and diesel users....brace allyuh MC

Postby teems1 » October 2nd, 2012, 2:33 pm

toyolink wrote:The new Minister Of Finance clearly didn't demonstrate an ability to exercise critical thinking when it came to this particular adjustment.
A big banker and senior exe. don't have a gut feeling about being led down a flawed justification?
Why doesn't the gov't consider a regulated approach for the sale of diesel by issuing some form of licsence to qualify for subsidised prices with preference given to 'goods',public transport and heavy industrial vehicles and equiptment.This must be based on an application process with 'T' registration not facilitating automatic qualification.
Weed out the luxury liners!

this won't work in a banana republic

there will be bobol and corruption in that process

Postby tr1ad » October 2nd, 2012, 2:39 pm

16 cycles wrote:
the 43% increase in the price basically signals to super and diesel users....brace allyuh MC

re think that, if diesel goes up say by 100%.... who exactly feeling the full brunt of that, not the owners of such, would be everyone else