Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby sharkman121 » May 31st, 2012, 4:12 pm

ok update: Went Arawak today, they dont have skinless neither boneless chicken breasts. They selling it however you want it, a case of 24 packs is $300.. so u could buy 12 packs for $150. they also have a kinda special where you can buy 8 packs for $100 which is what i bought. Yet to check out the other place in arima industrial estate, so inna timin go let you guys know.

If any of you other guys get other bess deals especially on boneless or skinless chicken breast fillets please post here and let us know.

Mih George Foreman sposed to be coming in tomorrow hopefully by skybox so by weekend i go be grilling away.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 31st, 2012, 4:32 pm

Bess price there sharky.

I does end up paying about ~$62 for 6 fillets in Pricemart.

Postby AllTrac » May 31st, 2012, 5:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:ok update: Went Arawak today, they dont have skinless neither boneless chicken breasts. They selling it however you want it, a case of 24 packs is $300.. so u could buy 12 packs for $150. they also have a kinda special where you can buy 8 packs for $100 which is what i bought. Yet to check out the other place in arima industrial estate, so inna timin go let you guys know.

If any of you other guys get other bess deals especially on boneless or skinless chicken breast fillets please post here and let us know.

Mih George Foreman sposed to be coming in tomorrow hopefully by skybox so by weekend i go be grilling away.

the price not bad, is just for me to find de time to clean and cut. Still open to boneless, skinless chicken breast wholesale suggestions.

icefox

Postby icefox » May 31st, 2012, 6:02 pm

AllTrac wrote:
icefox wrote:is dere a limit to how much protein shake u can drink during a 24 hr period

how much are you drinking per day? what are your goals? to lose weight or are you trying to build muscle? if you are trying to do both, then forget it, try losing the weight first then see what you are working with then start a muscle building program.

I use my protein shake as a post workout drink within an hour right after, as the milk plus banana has loads of carbs then there is the insulin spike, once i use it then my body uses up the carbs instantly and it doesnt spike my insulin to go into fat storage mode.

Other time when i use it as a mean replace men or as a mid morning snack/meal i make it with just warm water and 1table spoon of peanut butter, dont want the additional carbs and sugars from the milk and banana.

my goal is to lose weight, currently i take one like 10, 11 in d morning an half hr after gym, dats wat d guy told me at d body building shop

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2012, 6:44 pm

another interesting study i've been following up...
its called protein pulsing
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/protein ... eeding.htm

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2012, 7:53 pm

the best prices for boneless skinless chicken breast is imported case price
most of the dealers(malabar, westco, blooms) have similar price/lb around $20/lb 10lb case or more

that's what the gyro fellas all use, local chicken can't compete with them

Postby AllTrac » May 31st, 2012, 7:55 pm

icefox wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
icefox wrote:is dere a limit to how much protein shake u can drink during a 24 hr period

how much are you drinking per day? what are your goals? to lose weight or are you trying to build muscle? if you are trying to do both, then forget it, try losing the weight first then see what you are working with then start a muscle building program.

I use my protein shake as a post workout drink within an hour right after, as the milk plus banana has loads of carbs then there is the insulin spike, once i use it then my body uses up the carbs instantly and it doesnt spike my insulin to go into fat storage mode.

Other time when i use it as a mean replace men or as a mid morning snack/meal i make it with just warm water and 1table spoon of peanut butter, dont want the additional carbs and sugars from the milk and banana.

my goal is to lose weight, currently i take one like 10, 11 in d morning an half hr after gym, dats wat d guy told me at d body building shop

the guy is right, half hour after gym is perfect, thats when your body is ready to use it for rebuild and repair as soon as it its your stomach.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 31st, 2012, 9:30 pm

made a trip to China Supermarket earlier, got Long Kou Bean Vermicelli (green beans, peas, water) for $14.99 (400g, 8 servings), Rice Macaroni for $19.99 (56g), Mori-Nu Japanese Tofu (349g, 4 servings).

Had the bean noodles & one of the previously bought veggie patties for dinner, no sauces, tasted great & was fulling. This is my 2nd day of no wheat, corn, dairy, sugar, few other stuff I forgot, and I've been off of meat for a couple weeks now. So far so good...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 31st, 2012, 9:54 pm

bad afternoon for me.....ate kfc and fries......but that will work itself out...

Postby 1UZFE » May 31st, 2012, 10:03 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:bad afternoon for me.....ate kfc and fries......but that will work itself out...

Vega i was just about to tell yuh how after d pooja u were doing good but yuh kill it they..lol...
hoss try d fish to replace the chicken, use shrimp(shrimp bad e.g.) n crabs to reduce the cravings n before u no it protien will come in the form of nuts and protein shake/ granules....

Postby 1UZFE » May 31st, 2012, 10:07 pm

sharkman121 wrote:ok update: Went Arawak today, they dont have skinless neither boneless chicken breasts. They selling it however you want it, a case of 24 packs is $300.. so u could buy 12 packs for $150. they also have a kinda special where you can buy 8 packs for $100 which is what i bought. Yet to check out the other place in arima industrial estate, so inna timin go let you guys know.

@sharkman i passed there (super store)today n i was tellin my gf that someone wanted the directions to there.Just remember its opposite the paper factory, third right.Just after Yorke drive..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 31st, 2012, 10:23 pm

1UZFE wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:bad afternoon for me.....ate kfc and fries......but that will work itself out...

Vega i was just about to tell yuh how after d pooja u were doing good but yuh kill it they..lol...
hoss try d fish to replace the chicken, use shrimp(shrimp bad e.g.) n crabs to reduce the cravings n before u no it protien will come in the form of nuts and protein shake/ granules....

I know ent!!! And the crappy thing is that it did not taste good....

I mix up the meats...I try to have chicken once or twice per week, and the same with tuna and eggs.....I don't want to deal with shrimps....and tbh I enjoy my seeds/nuts mixture very much....

Postby sharkman121 » May 31st, 2012, 10:33 pm

1UZFE wrote:

@sharkman i passed there (super store)today n i was tellin my gf that someone wanted the directions to there.Just remember its opposite the paper factory, third right.Just after Yorke drive..

yuh coulda check out d prices one time :|

Postby 1UZFE » May 31st, 2012, 10:50 pm

hard luck hoss... i forgot i just remembered that someone needed directions..lol...

Postby sharkman121 » May 31st, 2012, 10:52 pm

no scn... will try and pass tom or this wkend

Postby AllTrac » June 1st, 2012, 5:48 am

Soundwave wrote:and I've been off of meat for a couple weeks now. So far so good...

wow, you real good, i doh think i could make that jump nah, good for you!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 1st, 2012, 8:55 am

what was the weight of the 8 packs?

Postby AllTrac » June 2nd, 2012, 10:24 am

locally done, every ingredient available. Home made pizza, only 350cals for the whole pizza

Postby AllTrac » June 2nd, 2012, 10:28 am

Postby AllTrac » June 2nd, 2012, 11:07 am

on my way to check out these 2 places now, gonna buy some free range eggs and hopefully get natural organic peanut butter to add to my recovery drink so i can further cut out the hydrogenated oils found in the supermarket peanut butter, would check the prices out for you guys.

Live Green

Natural & Organic Earth Friendly Products
4 Ariapita Drive, Woodbrook, Trinidad & Tobago
Telephone: (868) 622-8911
Cell Number: (868) 685-9291
Store Hours: Mon-Fri 8.30am-4.30pm - Sat 9.00am-1.00pm
Facebook: Live Green

New Earth

An organic, food co-operative, making a difference in our community.
#80 Roberts Street, Woodbrook, Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
(between Carlos and Murray)
Telephone: (868)622-3643

Postby 1UZFE » June 2nd, 2012, 11:19 am

Trac Prepare to pay cause in dat area sheit rhel expensive..
Have u ever tried the place on Barataria main Rd that mainly sells nuts. They did a mixture of Sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds for me and that was crazy good, it aids with digestion and hunger cravings. Really good prices on their Pistachio too...
Ps free range eggs if its fertilized it may contain more Cholesterol than unfertilized eggs...

Postby sharkman121 » June 2nd, 2012, 11:24 am

eggs just got more complicated?

Postby 1UZFE » June 2nd, 2012, 11:27 am

sharkman121 wrote:eggs just got more complicated?

aye!! did u go down to superstore????

Postby sharkman121 » June 2nd, 2012, 11:31 am

nah i now wake up.. :|

what time they close on weekends?

Postby 1UZFE » June 2nd, 2012, 11:33 am

around 2 ah think...

Postby sharkman121 » June 2nd, 2012, 11:35 am

Also, i trying all kinda ways to duck eating broccoli...but i may have to suck it up and eat it i guess as the more i read, the more i see what a wonder food broccoli really is.

Cant really stomach the taste at all but im thinking if i cut them up small or maybe grate them over the food, they will still have the same effect because ill still be eating them. Maybe use some low fat salad dressing to help mask the taste a bit.

Also was doing some research on what would be a good substitute to broccoli, came up with cabbage, spinach and asparagus etc etc...

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2012, 11:44 am

Man, I been tryin my hand in tha kitchen recently, think I'm gonna give that pizza a go, seems simple enough. ChallengeAccepted.jpg

Postby AllTrac » June 2nd, 2012, 2:17 pm

1UZFE wrote:Trac Prepare to pay cause in dat area sheit rhel expensive..
Have u ever tried the place on Barataria main Rd that mainly sells nuts. They did a mixture of Sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds for me and that was crazy good, it aids with digestion and hunger cravings. Really good prices on their Pistachio too...
Ps free range eggs if its fertilized it may contain more Cholesterol than unfertilized eggs...

expensive is joke :lol:
one egg is $3
jar of organic peanut butter is $65
jar of organic almond butter - $98
snacks range from $13 (4 burbon size cookies) and up
They have lots of organic stuff tho but word of caution, please check the expiry dates on all items before purchasing.

I ended up buying the peanut butter, just to try it but ill be making my own peanut butter and almond butter soon, its quite simple.

Where exactly is the place in barataria? directions?

Stephon, where you getting whole wheat pita bread to buy?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 2nd, 2012, 6:57 pm

regular thing will work just nicely for me thank you......I ain't all that of a purist.

Postby meccalli » June 2nd, 2012, 7:09 pm

For those cheat days for morale, can't really have snapper any old plain way , damn near kryptonite hehe.