SimSimmer69

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 1:12 pm

src1983 wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
src1983 wrote:Question

Is 2G enough (no movies, no music streaming)?

Nope. Movies and music streaming require more bandwidth than a 2G network can offer.

Not the network, I was talking about the data quota

If you're on a blackberry then yes, that's more than enough. Reason being is that the data compression on those devices is the best on the planet. You simply can't beat a Blackberry handset with that! With an iPhone or Android device, 2GB may be enough for one month. You would need to consistently check your usage to see whether it's enough or not.
Last edited by SimSimmer69 on May 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Wow Digicel wants to put me on a min 18 months contract! Studying if to wait for d team Green.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Well after much taught i switched to digicel. The 4G or should i say 3G is working excellent for me. Even tested this caura river and works there.

Been with tstt since day one but could not stand the dated edge anymore. If not for this hspa i never would have switched. Digicel 30 cents for 1mb prepaid is also much more attractive than tstt $2 per mb. Service is a bit expensive compared to other digicel countries but i suppose you have to pay for good thing.

I see tstt has launched free 4g in response to digi. Bzone thing in the newspapers. But its a bit inconvenient. I prefer to pay for digi 4g than go out of my way to use tstt bzone free 4g.

Btw its 1mbps in caura river.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 1:15 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Wow Digicel wants to put me on a min 18 months contract! Studying if to wait for d team Green.

What do you have to lose? You can switch from postpaid to prepaid within 1 year of contract expiration I think. Bmobile may not be ready within 6 months anyway.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 1:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well after much taught i switched to digicel. The 4G or should i say 3G is working excellent for me. Even tested this caura river and works there.

Been with tstt since day one but could not stand the dated edge anymore. If not for this hspa i never would have switched. Digicel 30 cents for 1mb prepaid is also much more attractive than tstt $2 per mb. Service is a bit expensive compared to other digicel countries but i suppose you have to pay for good thing.

I see tstt has launched free 4g in response to digi. Bzone thing in the newspapers. But its a bit inconvenient. I prefer to pay for digi 4g than go out of my way to use tstt bzone free 4g.

What kind of handset do you have? You should be getting higher than 1Mbps.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » May 11th, 2012, 1:35 pm

2 gig is enough for some youtube, browsing, communication. even did some video calling without getting close to the 2 gig.
when you want to bull it properly into the 6-10+ gig usage, streaming football, netflix, online radio and tethering to the game console for epic sweats is the way to go. nuff tatsunoko vs capcom play on 3g already... nuff

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 1:44 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
BassMekanik wrote:
honda_soldier wrote:
ray786 wrote:Did u all c the Digicel add this am by nestles intersection.....

a crashed 3 ton on a flat bed, painted green.... with digicel banners advertising 4g service.... jus brilliant marketing if u ask me...

Cause real traffic after 8 too! :@

Woke up this morning and see 3G on my phone.

On corporate plan though so.. :roll:

remember 3G just means ur handset it capable. U don't get any service unless u take a plan.

I don't know why that's so hard to comprehend. If you're seeing 3G/4G on your mobile handset, it simply means that your phone is capable of getting the speeds associated with the upgraded network. If you actually want to use it, you'll need to signup for the plans. Not because you're seeing 3G/4G on your phone means you can suddenly stream movies and watch youtube. It's the same in most markets.

If you are seeing the actual "H" symbol or "3G" symbol, that indicates the speeds you are getting, the phone indicates what service it's getting from the carrier, if you are seeing "E" or "EDGE", you are indeed getting EDGE type connectivity.

One device should be able to get "H" once there is service and if not, the phone should fall-back onto the "EDGE" network, some devices even do this depending on activity to save battery

On another note, the plans seems to include uploaded data, my phone automatically measures downloaded data, now it seems I have to rely on Digicel's website to track my usage

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 1:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well after much taught i switched to digicel. The 4G or should i say 3G is working excellent for me. Even tested this caura river and works there.

what kinda signal strength were you getting there???

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 2:07 pm

achillies wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
BassMekanik wrote:
honda_soldier wrote:
ray786 wrote:Did u all c the Digicel add this am by nestles intersection.....

a crashed 3 ton on a flat bed, painted green.... with digicel banners advertising 4g service.... jus brilliant marketing if u ask me...

Cause real traffic after 8 too! :@

Woke up this morning and see 3G on my phone.

On corporate plan though so.. :roll:

remember 3G just means ur handset it capable. U don't get any service unless u take a plan.

I don't know why that's so hard to comprehend. If you're seeing 3G/4G on your mobile handset, it simply means that your phone is capable of getting the speeds associated with the upgraded network. If you actually want to use it, you'll need to signup for the plans. Not because you're seeing 3G/4G on your phone means you can suddenly stream movies and watch youtube. It's the same in most markets.

If you are seeing the actual "H" symbol or "3G" symbol, that indicates the speeds you are getting, the phone indicates what service it's getting from the carrier, if you are seeing "E" or "EDGE", you are indeed getting EDGE type connectivity.

One device should be able to get "H" once there is service and if not, the phone should fall-back onto the "EDGE" network, some devices even do this depending on activity to save battery

On another note, the plans seems to include uploaded data, my phone automatically measures downloaded data, now it seems I have to rely on Digicel's website to track my usage

...capable of getting.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Hadda be sheit. I does get that home and I have poor indoor coverage.

Sim, I'll pm u just now

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 2:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:Hadda be sheit. I does get that home and I have poor indoor coverage.

Sim, I'll pm u just now

No sheit dude. I'm actually getting 9.35Mbps down and 1.7 Mbps up on my iPhone. Youtube, Netflix, Veetle, Movie Trailers, etc aren't even buffering. It's been consistently between 5Mbps and 10Mbps for me all day. You can't say that's not very fast on any mobile device.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 2:13 pm

Well contract off to Digicel 18 months at 600 per month .

After a few twist and turns I say I'm going face the music it should be fully integrated in my plan by this afternoon .

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 2:14 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Hadda be sheit. I does get that home and I have poor indoor coverage.

Sim, I'll pm u just now

No sheit dude. I'm actually getting 9.35Mbps down and 1.7 Mbps up on my iPhone. Youtube, Netflix, Veetle, Movie Trailers, etc aren't even buffering. It's been consistently between 5Mbps and 10Mbps for me all day. You can't say that's not very fast on any mobile device.

what area that tested in ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2012, 2:17 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:

What kind of handset do you have? You should be getting higher than 1Mbps.

I have a galaxy s2 i9100

I getting 2mb in el dorado eastern mainroad

When you going caura river you getting 1mb just around and after caura hospital

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2012, 2:21 pm

achillies wrote:

what kinda signal strength were you getting there???

The signal strength is ok. 3 bars out of 4. Closed areas is poor coverage and switches to edge. But yeah you getting 4g in tje river but closer to the hospital. If you go far up the river it turns back to edge. When signal goes low it turns to h and not + and then 3g and then g and finally edge

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 2:33 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:

Sim, I'll pm u just now

Curepe to POS

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2012, 2:41 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:

Sim, I'll pm u just now

Curepe to POS

along E-W corridor its super fast. In a moving car I got a constant 3mbit. With VPN I got about 1.7mbit on an iPhone 4 (said it before, pandora loads excellently). Stand still it peaked at 5.6mbit.

Oh and in charlieville by Abraham's I got close to 5mbit. Indoors!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2012, 2:55 pm

Can this play online pc games such as modern warfare?

Postby ismithx » May 11th, 2012, 2:56 pm

of course!!! but i don't know how dat gonna eat up yr data plan, so be careful

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Yes u can. Pings not too bad either. I'll try it later on cod4.

EDIT: Nah. don't recommend it unless you living within a good coverage area (call a service rep and see what they rate your area) today im getting like 0.6mbit where my pc is and the ping isnt stable at all.

this is coverage Image

but call them and hear what they have to say about where you live.

Also, i don't advise people go tethering although digicel allowed it. You will run through your data allowance like nothing!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 11th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Trying to sign up on http://selfcare.digiceltt.com/loginForm.do but when it's time to choose plans there is no where to do so.

Anyone else got thru via this site?

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 3:46 pm

U don't need to call anyone. Ill check ur service in ur area. Pm me :)

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Trying to sign up on http://selfcare.digiceltt.com/loginForm.do but when it's time to choose plans there is no where to do so.

Did you get a confirmation text?

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 3:51 pm

M_2NR wrote:Yes u can. Pings not too bad either. I'll try it later on cod4.

EDIT: Nah. don't recommend it unless you living within a good coverage area (call a service rep and see what they rate your area) today im getting like 0.6mbit where my pc is and the ping isnt stable at all.

this is coverage Image

but call them and hear what they have to say about where you live.

Also, i don't advise people go tethering although digicel allowed it. You will run through your data allowance like nothing!

you does still sweat cod 4?

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2012, 3:55 pm

fctt, yea why not? been a long time though.

If you all want a kml with the coverage area for use, you will have to point it to this file.

Here is the link to the kml

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 11th, 2012, 4:01 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Trying to sign up on http://selfcare.digiceltt.com/loginForm.do but when it's time to choose plans there is no where to do so.

Yes I used that to set up my account with my phone number as the account id.
I can log in but when I click on buying a 4g plan it just shows a list of different blackberry social and data plans as well as some other data plans but no "purchase" or selection button to click on.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:

Yes I used that to set up my account with my phone number as the account id.
I can log in but when I click on buying a 4g plan it just shows a list of different blackberry social and data plans as well as some other data plans but no "purchase" or selection button to click on.

What kind of plan do you have now?

Reason I'm asking is because my bredren wanna convert from bsocial to straight 4G and he has to go in to head office to disconnect plan :|
Last edited by achillies on May 11th, 2012, 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 11th, 2012, 4:11 pm

Stephon. wrote:300 per month for 3G isn't bad at all
Shaq, look there's even a plan for you too: a 25 dollar pre paid day pass, aww!

nah its ok, i cleared ur bank account and linked up the whole of south with a month service...... hope u aint mad brah

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 11th, 2012, 4:31 pm

btw i applied for a plan on my 4s, but the apn option disappeared........ anyhelp?

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 4:52 pm

shaq090 wrote:btw i applied for a plan on my 4s, but the apn option disappeared........ anyhelp?

Your apn on the iPhone should be web.digiceltt.com