Postby southagain » February 26th, 2011, 9:53 am

what really going on here......?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mug ... 63413.html

even d speaker take two steps back! lol

Re: S.I.A Shocker

Postby rollingstock » February 26th, 2011, 1:11 pm

People were being run off the road. There were journalists being run off the road—on two occasions, and they (the SIA) tried to kill them.

it (the police) was being controlled by SAUTT

This man is a special breed of cacahole.

Postby rollingstock » March 20th, 2011, 11:24 am

SIA spy Browne blew whistle on Manning
Investigations reveal:

By Camini Marajh Head Investigative Desk

Story Created: Mar 19, 2011 at 11:52 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 19, 2011 at 11:52 PM ECT

Julie Browne, the chemistry school teacher-turned spy and the woman who provided false information relied on by the National Security Council (NSC) and the Cabinet to catapult a low-level technician to the top job in the country's premier intelligence agency, was the chief whistleblower who spilled the goods on the Patrick Manning sanctioned secret wiretapping of political and other civilian targets, Sunday Express investigations have revealed.

Browne, a former senior official in the Israeli-fitted intercept suite of the rogue spy agency, SIA (Security Intelligence Agency) and head of Research Associates of Trinidad and Tobago, an SIA front company, until her January promotion to the post of deputy director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA), blew the whistle on the Manning administration's electronic eavesdropping on citizens in the wake of his government's defeat in the May 24 general election, according to sources familiar with the matter.

The clandestine operations of the Nigel Clement-run spy agency was made public last November in Parliament in a dramatic presentation that read like a spy novel and contained the names of a long list of individuals said to have been placed under state surveillance by the former Prime Minister, including President Maxwell Richards, judges, politicians, lawyers, journalists and union leaders, among others.

In taking the lid off this particular Pandora's Box of dirty spy secrets, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar took careful aim at her predecessor, the Member of Parliament for San Fernando East and former prime minister Patrick Manning, who she charged was in receipt of illegally, obtained private telephone and email records of law-abiding citizens.

She had days before fired Manning's spy chief Clement, ordered an early-morning police raid on the St Vincent Street SIA facility, retained two Canadian forensic experts to sweep for further evidence of wiretapping and begun a review and restructuring of the state security apparatus. Sources say Julie Browne was a key ally to the Persad-Bissessar government's spy-busting manoeuvres which has hurt this country's relationship with critical foreign law enforcement agencies.

It was Browne's assistant Carlton Dennie, who disarmed the security systems to allow a police Special Branch swat team access to the heavily secured spy facility at 6.15 on the morning of Saturday, October 23, sources told the Sunday Express. And while the Prime Minister's public engagement and policy adviser Sasha Mohammed, has publicly flagged her close friend Reshmi Ramnarine, the junior technician who leapfrogged 22 rungs up the agency ladder to land the top spy chief job as 'the whistleblower,' sources with knowledge of the situation say it was Browne who busted the mark, reporting her suspicions about the abuse of state power to the Persad-Bissessar Government.

On November 12, when the Prime Minister dropped the Manning spy bomb in the Lower House of Representatives, she said this: 'I was shocked when I received a report, less than two weeks ago that one of our security agencies, the SIA, may also be involved in illegal wiretapping. She had earlier accused SAUTT (Special Anti-Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago) of spying on her and others and had weeks before, on September 21, fired the unit's director Brigadier Peter Joseph ostensibly to facilitate the restructuring of the anti-crime unit. Joseph has vehemently denied the spying charges and is reported to be pursuing legal action against the state. A sweep of SUATT systems at Piarco by the Canadian hired experts have turned up empty, according to sources, who questioned the reliability of the intelligence provided to the Prime Minister.

In early January, Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar appointed Browne to the post of deputy director SSA, a state intelligence agency set up in the wake of the 1990 security failure and tasked chiefly with a drug interdiction function. Days after her appointment, on January 10, Browne secretly nominated her very junior subordinate to be her boss. Her nomination letter and Ramnarine's CV were included in the material sent privately to Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar and all contained false claims.

In a matter that has gone from highly sensational to deeply embarrassing, the Persad-Bissessar administration issued several denials in its bid to save face, denying exclusive reports published by this newspaper that Ramnarine was not qualified for the job and raising the specter of age, ethnicity and gender. As those lies collapsed and the intense media scrutiny pulled up short of the Prime Minister's door, Browne on March 1 told Ramnarine it was time for her to go — for good. Ramnarine had given up the director's job on January 22 amid a firestorm of criticism and protest.

But as later reports by this newspaper would show, she was still on the agency's payroll at her old junior technician grade and pay of $5,000. a month. Anxious for the controversy to be done with and the story to go away, Browne called Ramnarine on her cell on March 1, telling her she had to resign before her vacation leave came to an end on March 14, according to sources.

Ramnarine, who is reported to have expressed concern about her financial situation and the prospect of going abroad for study submitted her resignation from the organization on Monday, as instructed. Sources say her appointment was political and intended, in part, to continue what Clement was doing, political espionage. She was also tasked, according to sources, with an assignment to sanitize whatever compromising material may have been collected on the Prime Minister and other members of the People's Partnership Government.

As previously reported by this newspaper, Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar pushed the Ramnarine appointment through the National Security Council and the Cabinet of this country on the basis of false information, information provided by Browne and Ramnarine. Neither has been censured for the lies that propelled Ramnarine to the top spy chief's job. Ramnarine is now gone, albeit reluctantly and on instructions. But Browne, who is said to have the support of both Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, has remained unscathed by the debacle.

She played a crucial role in facilitating the Prime Minister's choice of candidate for the top spy job and has maintained a stony silence in the wake of media reports raising questions about her role in the Reshmi Ramnarine affair. She outed Nigel Clement's spy career and last week, the whistle-blower was doing her own bit of witch-hunting to find out who inside the SSA was baring the guts of the organisation to the media.

But questions remain about Browne's role in the affair, the false information provided to the Prime Minister and the dubious means employed in pushing the Ramnarine appointment through. These questions are certain to engage the attention of new SSA boss Colonel Albert Griffith, as he struggles to contain the fallout from political interference, firstly by the Manning administration and then by the Persad-Bissessar Government.

Link

Intriguing.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 20th, 2011, 12:48 pm

The plot sickens.

Postby rollingstock » March 20th, 2011, 1:16 pm

If it's true, possible scenario..........

Browne sold out Manning, hoping for political favours from new government, none forthcoming as they stuck to their own, she recommended Reshmi to the post and leaked to the press her appointment and lack of qualification hoping to get the post in the ensuing drama, still got overlooked and now it's all coming to light.

That's why i don't like to work with women, too much backbiting and drama.

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2011, 2:43 am

Case closed on SIA affair

By Camini Marajh Head Investigative Desk

Story Created: Mar 26, 2011 at 10:57 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 26, 2011 at 10:57 PM ECT

The murky spy affair of one prime minister ordering the illegal wiretapping of political and other private citizens and the misleading tactics of another prime minister caught in a botched attempt to appoint an unsuitable candidate and the close friend of her public engagement and policy adviser to the director's chair of the country's top intelligence apparatus has been taken off the case list of active police files.

Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs, in a short telephone interview with the Sunday Express, yesterday confirmed that the official police investigation into the abuse of state power by the rogue spy agency SIA (Security Intelligence Agency), was over and the case now officially closed.

"For all intents and purposes that investigation is now closed," said Gibbs, who declined to say what, if any finding has been made. Commissioner Gibbs said to comment further would get into 'the details of the investigations' and he was not prepared to do that. He also declined to say what had become of the illegally-obtained spy material carted off by a Special Branch swat team in the surprise early morning raid on October 23 at the heavily secure St Vincent Street facility.

"That information is part of that investigation," said Gibbs, refusing comment on reports that clandestinely obtained files kept in respect of certain individuals have been retained and is now in the custody of the Police Special Branch. He declined to say how long the spy information may be retained, the use to which it would be put and who may have access to it.

Special Branch chief, Superintendent Surujdeen Persad, the man who led the October police raid on the state spy agency also declined comment when questioned about who had possession of the illegal files. "No, I can't answer that Ma'm. You will have to speak to the Commissioner," was all he said on the matter.

The spy caper which violated the constitutional right to privacy of ordinary citizens has raised concerns and questions about the Persad-Bissessar Government's handling of the situation, the role of the SIA operatives engaged in the Patrick Manning-sanctioned political espionage, the tens of millions of taxpayer dollars paid out to friends and family members of SIA agents masquerading as informants with hard intelligence on criminal activity and the custody chain of the intercepted material following the October spy bust.

The political storm triggered by the spy bombshell dropped in the House of Representatives last November continues to send rip tides through a weary citizenry, tired of the political double-speak across both sides of the aisle and the attempt by the previous and current administration to use the national security apparatus as a political tool against perceived enemies. Five months after the spy revelations were made public, the country is still to receive a proper account from the Persad-Bissessar administration or the police officials involved in the investigation.

Save that dismissed spy chief Nigel Clement was reporting directly to former Prime Minister Manning and that there was evidence of political espionage, the country has not been told much more in terms of who did what and who, apart from Manning, profited from this particular caper or what has become of the spy material. No explanation has been forthcoming either, on why 27 SIA agents were sent home.

Government officials said their jobs had become redundant but this politically-presented fact contradicts the claim made by deputy director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) Julie Brown that Reshmi Ramnarine was the substantive acting chief of Telecom Technology, Ministry of National Security, on January 10.

As reported previously by this newspaper, that position was held by Clint Eligon, one of the dismissed 27. Also, Ramnarine was a very junior technician until her meteoric rise to the director's chair on January 14 on a Brown recommendation sent privately to the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister has studiously refused to give a full account of why she did what she did when she pushed through the Ramnarine appointment, first at the National Security Council level and then at Cabinet. She initially defended the decision but would later backtrack in the face of Ramnarine being caught out in a series of lies.

Ramnarine has resigned as instructed but the woman at the heart of the SIA debacle, whistleblower Deputy Director Brown, continues to operate in the shadows of the state spy agency.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Case_closed_on_SIA_affair-118722749.html

Humes

Postby Humes » March 27th, 2011, 9:34 am

Gibbs is a tool.

Postby rollingstock » March 27th, 2011, 10:50 am

Can't blame the guy, must keep his lucrative contract.

Postby eliteauto » March 27th, 2011, 11:10 am

so wait.... after all the allegations of constitutional breaches, illegal wiretapping, unaccounted for millions etc, epic palancing by the AG and PM

NOBODY facing the court????

why does political posturing, sensationalism, false sense of panic and the eventual fizzling into nothing seem to be the norm now, is there misdirection because the Gov't has no direction?

Postby rollingstock » March 27th, 2011, 11:15 am

Dey asses dem still in opposition mode, not realising that matters of national security despite who may have committed what? At the end of the day they are the ones that will have to face the music and make the hard decisions as they are in power now.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 28th, 2011, 12:04 pm

This whole SIA Fiasco from inceptions was a smoke screen to cover the Fazeer Mohammed fiasco that eventually snowballed into the Reshmi scandal.

Kamla has proven herself to be a Duncee head DUTTY politician hiding behind all the GLAMOUR and accent.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 28th, 2011, 12:13 pm

rollingstock wrote:Dey asses dem still in opposition mode, not realising that matters of national security despite who may have committed what? At the end of the day they are the ones that will have to face the music and make the hard decisions as they are in power now.

The woman just stupid plain and simple........she dismantle the SIA and our security apparatus for political gimmickery and the sheeps here dont have a problem wid that..why?.....cuz they cud identify with whom doing the destruction...it satisfies them that its an Indian leader cuz its there time now..........

UML..Zcarz...Aaron...Bluespeed...ZoomRader....allyuh happy now!!!

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2011, 1:20 pm

We will never forget!

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2011, 2:21 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Dey asses dem still in opposition mode, not realising that matters of national security despite who may have committed what? At the end of the day they are the ones that will have to face the music and make the hard decisions as they are in power now.

The woman just stupid plain and simple........she dismantle the SIA and our security apparatus for political gimmickery and the sheeps here dont have a problem wid that..why?.....cuz they cud identify with whom doing the destruction...it satisfies them that its an Indian leader cuz its there time now..........

UML..Zcarz...Aaron...Bluespeed...ZoomRader....allyuh happy now!!!

SIA had to go. It was not very effective, crime increased under the SIA. It was costing the tax payer to much money for very little in return,plus it was not used to fight crime but to spy on people.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 28th, 2011, 2:25 pm

^^ exactly.....

like i stated before.....why wasnt SIA used to solve kidnappings or wasnt that part of national security???

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 28th, 2011, 2:33 pm

spy on which people?......if that was so why is the investigation closed?

Why isnt Manning facing criminal charges?

Kamla said she had name of individuals who were spied upon and that she was going to contact these people.........was that done?

She said the file will be sent to the CoP & DPP .....was that done?

DPP publicly stated neither him nor the CoP has received any files.

you guys are just ah bunch of blind followers.........

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 28th, 2011, 2:39 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^^ exactly.....

like i stated before.....why wasnt SIA used to solve kidnappings or wasnt that part of national security???

^^^^How can you state this without any proof?

You worked in the SIA? Reshmi is yuh Family? Are u a Spy?

Intelligence Angencies such as the SIA thrive on being covert and other agencies would get the Kudos for solving a case.

Is only as Kamliar assume leadership have the world ever seen a country Intelligence agency used as a political football........talk about 3rd world leadership.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 28th, 2011, 2:44 pm

^^ when my cousin was kidnapped, the two police who came to the house, walked with a sold/outdated caller id.....the head of the anti-kidnapping squad said they had no technology to triangulate the ransom calls etc to pin point a location.....

BUT YET THE SIA HAD ALL THIS EQUIPMENT........what was it being used for then??? to play dolly cook with each other??

Up to today, noone has been charged...mind you 5 people were found with the marked money....

go figure...

Patrick Manning said in Chaguanas Thursday night the alleged death threat against Kamla Persad-Bissessar is a hoax. The leader of the People's National Movement (PNM) added that the police know who made the bogus call to the police.

"I am now in a position to tell you that they (the police) have reported to me tonight (Thursday) that the entire matter is a hoax. Indeed, they have the telephone number of the telephone from which the call was made and they have a good idea of who made that call," Manning stated. However, he did not reveal the person's identity.

http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... kamla.html

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2011, 2:56 pm

What is Reshmi up to these days?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 28th, 2011, 4:47 pm

RASC wrote:What is Reshmi up to these days?

Didn't she return to her IT post in the SIA?

Postby eliteauto » March 28th, 2011, 4:50 pm

she was asked to resign from that as well recently

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2011, 4:55 pm

eliteauto wrote:she was asked to resign from that as well recently

Did she?

Humes

Postby Humes » March 28th, 2011, 10:25 pm

RASC wrote:
eliteauto wrote:she was asked to resign from that as well recently

Did she?

She did. She no longer works for the government at all. That was in Sunday Express about 3 weeks ago.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » June 9th, 2011, 4:33 pm

Galvatron wrote:wha allyuh studyin?

ent the PP make T&T cricket team mgr, chairman ah T&TEC?

wha qualifications he have?

allyuh didn't notice he hangin around Suruj when dey were touring the flooded areas after the election, after unsuccessfully tryin to go up for Point a Pierre

and he in BBdos havin a good time and collectin big money

"Iz we time now"

same sheit different party.

wha ah tell allyuh, see the TnT Mirror front page!

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 10th, 2011, 9:36 am

pioneer wrote:pretty much

which is why the brits need to take us back...i rather be ruled by white people than some backward savages

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery,
None but ourselves can free our minds.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 10th, 2011, 1:24 pm

Dats one of d biggest problems here...we look 4 others 2 come solve our problems and until dat time we beyotch n moan in quietly. U have a problem say it loud...cos wen u need 2 be ruled dat makes u d savage

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 10th, 2011, 1:38 pm

brainchild wrote:Dats one of d biggest problems here...we look 4 others 2 come solve our problems and until dat time we beyotch n moan in quietly. U have a problem say it loud...cos wen u need 2 be ruled dat makes u d savage

Umm look around the world, white people know how to get things done. While it's still politics at the end of the day, they progress. They all steal, lie and cheat but they move ahead.

We however in the third world steal, lie and cheat yet we get absolutely nowhere.

I won't mind if local politicians were stealing money from the state, but if we were actually moving ahead and fixing problems i won't mind. But sadly this government is the other side of the same coin.

Sheep will argue till kingdom come they are not, they are just in denial also and too afraid to admit they are illiterate and ignorant.

So far to date the biggest idiot in government has proven to be anand ramlogan with suruj rambachan running in close second, it's almost a tie actually. After all he STATED that UWI offers a BSc. in IT. I glad UWI officials set the record straight on that one.

Fair enough...but put dem back in charge of us and is rape! We'll turn into a tourism based economy and all oil and gas funds will head straight 2 mother england.

Take a good look at one goin on over there, ppl losing they job left n right. We stickin down here but in comparision we have it real gd.

All we really missing is ppl knowin their rights and standing up to let their voice b heard....then u'll see progress by force!

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 10th, 2011, 1:50 pm

pioneer wrote:What's wrong with a tourism based economy?

One bad occurence can destroy it overnight!

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 10th, 2011, 2:27 pm

pioneer wrote:I guess that's why the Ibiza islands and thousands of other spots around the world are so full of fail?

Ibiza has jus over 100,000 people and no other options, we have options we jus need 2 fix d ppl.
I mean come on, if u get a job payin u 60K a month for doin nx 2 nothin...would u ever leave? i'm guessin d answer is no, but u would lose it if everyone else started noticing u not doin anyting n makin noise about it.

In d very same way if somehow we started educatin ppl to b smart enough 2 make out wen they're being taken 4 a ride, then we would b on d right road. It'll take time, but we still small...it have time 2 grow.

Postby eliteauto » June 10th, 2011, 2:43 pm

brainchild wrote:
pioneer wrote:I guess that's why the Ibiza islands and thousands of other spots around the world are so full of fail?

Ibiza has jus over 100,000 people and no other options, we have options we jus need 2 fix d ppl.
I mean come on, if u get a job payin u 60K a month for doin nx 2 nothin...would u ever leave? i'm guessin d answer is no, but u would lose it if everyone else started noticing u not doin anyting n makin noise about it.

(1)In d very same way if somehow we started educatin ppl to b smart enough 2 make out wen they're being taken 4 a ride, then we would b on d right road. (2) It'll take time, but we still small...it have time 2 grow.

1) we are already smart enough to know when we getting a ride, the problem is once the "face" of the rider is one we accept we do nothing, hence the cycle of "us and them", we're not even patriotic enough to question the parties we love and support.

2) we're not small, we're lazy and inherently dishonest and lack national pride, compare our living standard, behavior and attitude to that of "small" Barbados